Moab, UT 
Old City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: klay Hole #17 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  A nice side trip from Arches

1    2/12/2007   10/14/2010
Review By: The Runner
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great setting and views
Good use of natural terrain as obstacles
Good elevation change
Nice variety of holes (long, short, left, right, up, down) after the first handful
First handful are fun since they're all down and reachable
Fun long blind shots - would make for a great ace, if you're in to that sort of thing
Empty the day we played it
Signs have been added, which would have made finding baskets and pads easier
Cons: Lots of rocks- bring your old discs
First holes are the same - hike up, throw down
Open course, so no shade and can be windy
Almost all shots are over foliage - no trees to need to throw under or around
Other Thoughts: Can play in about 35 minutes
A spotter is helpful, but not required
My friend Tim is a dick

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's even hot at 8am!

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: hakaluge
Played: 132  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the best I played on a recent road trip in the category of signage. Each tee has a sign with an overhead photograph and a distance. Without distances in an open terrain such as "the desert," it would be a total crapshoot. With distances marked, I was able to put most shots in an area where I knew to start looking for my disc. The directional arrows between holes are also a bonus, since many courses leave the first-timer to fend for themselves. Also, the scenery is unbeatable, and the weather is great, if you can get out early enough.
Cons: Some of the holes get repetetive. Many of the front six or seven are pretty much open bombs if you can elevate your shots over the low scrub. Some of the baskets are tough to find, so you end up walking the course twice to play one round. If you can talk your girlfriend or your mom into walking around in the desert, a spotter is a near necessity. I know I would have liked to have your mom out there to spot for me. Holes 9-12 as I recall are blind and have thicker vegetation than the rest of the course. These holes can be a detractor for the average player out to meander a course and catch up with friends. Serious players will be pleased to find holes of variable skill level within these 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Play this course in the early morning or the late evening. Wear a big sombrero if you plan to be out in the middle of the day. Wear leather boots; sneakers run the risk of cactus puncture. Set out as much water as you would normally bring to play disc. Double that, then double that, and you have enough water to play this course. Don't be a dummy like me - bring a spotter!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Hot and Dry!

1    8/2/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: ceallworth
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best signs at tees I have ever seen, very accurate. Nicely laid out for us visitors to Moab area. Did not lose any discs! Good combination of shot types. Scenic for the most part. Only one other player on the course when we were there. Fun last hole brings you back to parking lot.
Cons: A few hazards where you need to watch and not fall.
Other Thoughts: Very nice desert course. I have played others that are just baskets in the sage. This one is much better, and the adjacent park is a great place for barbque!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 the same shot over and over

1    3/19/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a fun course with alot of blind shots and good signs and teepads and benches on every hole
the funnesit holes to me are 9 and 18
Cons: almost every hole is a left fade shot over and over and over it got boring then it started change up around hole 10 but the first 6 holes were very boring but after that a fun course
Other Thoughts: if your in town for a while play the basecamp course u wont regret it

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Moab

1    5/6/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Great Variety/Nearly All Shot Types
Map at Beginning of Course
Concrete Tee Pads
Great Tee Signs w/Maps on Each Hole
Great Baskets (Look New)
Easy to Navigate (Arrows and paths from tee to tee.)
Amazing Scenery
Benches at Every Hole
Cons:
Course Does Not End Near First Hole
A Few Blind Spots (Not a real con, but could be harder to play without a spotter.)
Could Use Trashcans and Restrooms
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course located in a beautiful town. Parking is available across the street from the course map, and the first tee is located just up the hill from the map as well, just follow the path.

Once on the course, finding your way around the will be no problem at all. The designers took a lot of time and made sure there were markers to lead the way. There are a couple decent walks between a couple holes, but as I said, they are well marked and the scenery is beautiful so you barely notice. There is however, a bit of walk leading back to parking lot from the end of hole eighteen, if you can cut through the grass it's not so bad, but we encountered the sprinklers on full blast and had to walk around. Again, not a huge issue, but something that's nice to know in advance.

As for the layout, there is decent variety. Both lefties and righties can have equal success and frustration, and for an intermediate player the distance varies. If you are more of an advance player or able to bomb a 450' you will probably consider most of the holes pretty short.

All-in-all I had a great time and this course was a great challenge for my skill level. I would definitely recommend this one to anyone in the area.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/21/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Discbomber
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads, signs, and trails make the course very navigable on and between holes. The tee pads were all concrete and there were benches on each hole. The signs were very accurate and a must-use as many holes are blind drives. On each basket there is a piece of tape directing you to the next tee pad which always leads to a trail--it would be hard to get lost on this course. This beautiful Moab landscape scattered with cactus, desert plants, many harmless lizards, and the occasional rabbit makes it enjoyable and reminds you that this course is truly a unique disc golf experience.
Cons: There are so many ants on this course you better not wear sandals or you are sure to get bit. Also, because of the ants, I only felt comfortable setting my bag on the benches. I had one drive into some pretty rough trees and shrubbery that required I crawl under some very scratchy branches. If you can't throw straight you'll have a hard time on this course. We had a spotter on every hole and still managed to spend a bit of time searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: Bug spray, sunblock, and water are all good ideas. Bring your high quality plastics and throw clear of obvious obstacles for the first few rounds. A spotter on pretty much every hole is helpful. I played the course in the evening while the sun set and it was a remarkably enjoyable experience. I brought my girlfriend along for the outing and we soon realized the course would be too difficult for her to play. This course requires at least intermediate skill level (-0.5).

I appreciate the detail and hard work that went into the planning of the course and the ongoing maintenance. It definitely paid off as the course equipment is all top-notch and the course is uniquely challenging with a mix of upshots, downhill drives, desert hills, gulches, and trees.

I'm not really sure if anything could or should be done about the landscape so I'm not going to knock down the score for that. I also am not knocking it down for the blind holes since that made it more challenging and wouldn't even be an issue on a second round. It comes with the scenery and location so come prepared for it when you play. I plan to play next time I'm in Moab!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Bag and Your Bike to Moab

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 4/3/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're looking for pristine green fairways and lush trees - you'll hate this course. But, if you're up for the desert mileu - you'll enjoy it. If you can drive 325 and straight, you'll post a good score. (Premium on being straight.) And, there's wind on the ridge, so you have to putt well to shoot 54 or under. I played three rounds: 1st round 60, 2nd round 56, 3rd round 53 - definitely a learning curve. You can play for par pretty easy, but if you want birdies you put some pretty nasty terrain in play. Attack the front 9 because you will bleed a few shots on the back 9. A good risk, reward course. 1st timers, play away from obstacles and make upshots. The desert trees grab discs. Next rounds, blast a way. Definitely worth playing between mountain bike rides.
Cons: This needs to be fixed. On a couple of the holes, (hole 1 for example) the description signs were in front of the t-pads, which was bothersome because you have to adjust your shot to miss them. Most pins are not visible from the tee - recommend playing a 2nd round. . .
Other Thoughts: This is a desert course which has a great deal to offer if you like deserts: spiny shrubs, cactus, rock outcroppings, red rock views. Play it and try to par it.(54) It won't disappoint.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Desert terrain eats dx plastic for lunch

1    9/15/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Really fun and challenging at times. Beautiful land out there. Don't suggest it for beginners or if you're impatient.
Cons: Hard to navigate. Desert land made a few dx discs I let someone use look 15 years old. Champion plastic in the desert is the way to go.
Other Thoughts: For sure a course you should only play if you are passing through town like I was. I didn't get a chance to make it to the other one there. Apparently you must have an off-road vehicle just to get there.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  rough corse

2-4    7/4/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: joshcor11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: challenging corse uses most skills and discs in your bag
Cons: rough terrian with "hiddin" holes corse marking not the best hot take lots of water
Other Thoughts: overall good corse challenging holes corse crosses road with out much marking us trails made by local players to find holes and baskets

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play if you're in the area; not a destination course

1    3/7/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Another perk of visiting Moab
*The biggest pro is that Moab has put in a disc golf course....this is the 1st, and hopefully not the last!
*Beautiful setting on hill above the residential area of town -- red rock view on 2 sides, snowy mountain on the other
*New course; well signed (except for #9); nice innova baskets
*Mostly set apart from other park users -- watch out on 18 though
*Cheap & free camping nearby in any direction - check out the spots on the CO river
Cons: *Blind holes. Like 14 out of 18 are blind...and for no apparent reason. This weighs heavily in my review as its a pet peeve of mine. You have to walk halfway up the fairway to spot a basket that's lodged behind a bush -- make 'em visible if possible!
*Fairway trees and bushes. Seemed like absolutely no clearing on most holes....meaning there are big juniper & pine trees and disc snatching brush in the middle of the fairway. On most of these holes, the only reason to take a 4 is if your disc happens to land in a tree/shrub
*Dirt tees; only 1 set of tees
*Fairways often didn't accommodate viable disc flight patterns
Other Thoughts: When i visited this course (and before i updated the info), the description said "Par 60 and 9,820 feet length"...so i'll admit i was hoping for a championship caliber course and this was disappointing. I visit Moab every couple of years, and will probably skip playing this the next time I'm there in favor of Arches or Canyonlands NPs, unless I've got some big downtime in town.

Has a couple of very fun holes -- #14 (downhill bomber with elevation drop, 400+'). 18 is fun but seems like it could have big safety issues -- launching off the top of a hill into a basket on the edge of a verdant green grassy field in the desert

Moab is an awesome town to visit, gets very hot in the summer though -- make sure to bring your mtn bike & hiking gear

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.