Moab, UT 
Old City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jim Squires   (Taken 4/2010)
View from tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
fun desert course!

1    8/5/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: -nice variety of holes
-makes great use of the elevation
-wooded area on holes 7-9 is a great change of pace
-great equipment: concrete tees, nice baskets, benches, detailed signs (distances seem at little off? some holes looked shorter to me)
-great navigational signage
-water fountain in the park between hole 18 and the parking lot
Cons: -very little shade to hide from the desert sun
-distances seemed inaccurate on the signs, i wonder if the pin locations have changed over time?
-a few places with treacherous rough or drop offs, watch out on holes 9, 11, 16, 17 and beware of cactus
-speaking of drop offs, there is lots of rocky elevation so wear good shoes and watch your step
Other Thoughts: The course at Old City Park is a single out and back loop playing mostly through dry desert scrub with with lots of rocky terrain and moderate elevation changes.

The first 6 holes play along the upper part of the ridge on which the course is built. There are minor slopes to navigate and a few bushy trees to avoid but you can throw your choice of line over the top of most holes. Hole 6 is a fun, downhill ace run. After crossing the road, holes 7-9 play through a wooded area (furthest point out from the parking lot) and is a great change of pace from the preceding holes. Hole 7 is a fun downhill hyzer, 8 is a short, tight dogleg right, and 9 is an uphill challenge with a narrow fairway. Cross back over the road after holes 10 and 11 and the remaining holes occupy the lower portion of the ridge and feature some really cool elevation changes. Hole 13 is a great downhill shot to a basket perched on a small rock outcropping with a bit of a drop off on 3 sides. Hole 17 has some dangerous drop offs to avoid in the fairway and on the green and hole 18 finishes with a big downhill left to right shot.

The course is fun to play and you have the beautiful scenery of Moab and the red rock ridges all around you. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone passing through, especially if you don't have the time or appropriate vehicle to make it out to Base Camp Adventure Lodge.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

Ahhh Moab

5+    1/28/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: Moabrider
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2014
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful views,varied terrain of cactus, sage, pinion juniper ,cottonwood and open grassy field at hole 7. Holes 8 and 9 wind through the woods uphill to 10 , long distance straight shots to 11. Baskets are indicated on tee pad signage but difficult to spot throught the juniper forest. Opportunities for upshots and downhill lengthy throws(6,7 and 18) Concrete teeboxes and benches at each hole.Lots of brush and deep washes to lose a disc. Holes 1-6, 12-18 are desert terrain. Basket 13 stands on a mini-outcropping of rocks. Be accurate to avoid the prickly pear cactus patch below the basket.
Cons: No bathrooms. Trash cans coming soon! Please pack out your own trash. water fountain is not running yet.
Other Thoughts: Moab Disc Golf Club is an organized group. Events have been planned for 2014, Check the calendar!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/30/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signs, great views Lots of different shots needed, great way to build your technique. Only about an hour away from base camp.
Cons: Bring a buddy, very easy to lose a disc, lots of foliage and big plants Also going from I believe hole 4-5 I was lost for a little while. Print the map or take dgcr with you.
Other Thoughts: Bring water!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Old City Park, Moab

1    11/11/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: TexasRanger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing Views
Challenging Basket Locations
Lots of changes in elevation
Good use of a variety of obstacles to make holes unique
Cons: Can be tough to find you disc if you throw one OB
Not sure the distance reading on the 'tee signs' are very accurate.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a couple of guys form the local club, and played through with them... they were very friendly and their knowledge of the course probably helped my score a little bit. I still can't get over how beautiful the course is (Moab is right in between Arches and Canyonlands National Parks). Easily in my 'Top 3' courses ever played.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I'm Blind!

2-4    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you love Moab and disc golf then this is the place for you! This is a very well thought out and difficult course through the desert scenery up above the Old City Park.

Every tee has a good pad and color sign with a satellite shot of the hole and picture with arrow showing you where it is. They also provide instructions on best route or things to watch out for on the hole. Whoever put that together put a lot of time and effort in to it and it turned out really well.

You get a great variety of shots. The course tends to favor RHBH throwers, but for the most part us RHFH players can find a way. You get a good mix of easier shots with some long ones. There is a great use of elevation change here too, probably one of the best I've seen. You have a few tough uphill shots and some fun long downhill ones.

The directional signs for the next holes and paths are great. It's particularly useful when going between holes 3-4, 6-7 and 11-12.
Cons: For as much time and effort as was put into the signage it's kind of unfortunate that the posted lengths and some of the instructions aren't very accurate, particularly on the first 6 holes. Sign says it's 350 with a dogleg left and it's a straight shot at max 300. They also don't angle the tee pad correctly on some of the signs, so when you think it's straight ahead it's really off to the left or right a bit more than you expect, (if you're using the tee pad on the sign to orient yourself to the basket location). For example, Hole 1 says it's 320 ft. The longest I can measure it on Google Earth is 280 on a curved path.

There are an absolute plethora of blind shots on this course. Normally this would just belong in the Other Thoughts section, but there are so many that it gets a little annoying having to walk halfway up the fairway on half of the holes to see the basket, especially since you learn to not trust the sign distances in the first few holes.

There is cacti EVERYWHERE which can be pretty harsh on your discs. A few of mine have some pretty good gouges in them now.

The course is almost constantly windy, as is Moab in general.

There was a lot of garbage all over the course and not a single garbage can in sight.
Other Thoughts: I can't stress enough how important it is to have a spotter on many of the holes on this course. We spent way too much time looking for discs that had buried themselves in the countless bushes and trees.

It is hot and sandy, so sunscreen and water are absolutely needed if you don't want to be parched and crispy after a couple hours on the course.

Overall this is an awesome course! The drawbacks are minor when compared to the benefits it offers. I was down for the first Memorial Day Classic and plan to come back for more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tee pads
-Great variety of shots
-Very challenging course
-great signage making it easy to get around
Cons: Lots of cactus around so keep an eye out
Very hot
Other Thoughts: Great course, very challenging but its just very unforgiving.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/17/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful surroundings. Moab didn't become a desert tourist destination for no reason, and at Old City Park, you get to throw a round surrounded by desert beauty
-Varied terrain. There's a little bit for everyone here - you have the woods on a few holes, the desert on most, with hills, flats, doglegs. You'll have to pull a lot of shots out of your bag to handle this one.
-Excellent signage. Whoever is responsible for course upkeep clearly knows that a lot of first-timers will come here while on vacation, and the tee signs and directional signs were a great help
-The course has a great balance of challenge and accessibility. More experienced discers will have plenty of fun here, but newbies can too. There aren't many courses that have that kind of broad appeal
Cons: -HOT. I literally woke up at 6AM just to play this course before the heat came for the day by 9AM, and I'm not sure how much I succeeded (I played it in the middle of June). I went through 40 oz. of water by the 16th hole. If you plan on playing here (and you should), be prepared for the heat with water, sunscreen, etc.
-The bugs. Oh, the bugs. I felt like a street light at night with how many bugs kept swarming around me as I wound my way through the course. I didn't get bitten, but man, they were annoying.
-There are a lot of blind baskets. A lot. Bring a spotter if you can, or take the time to walk halfway up the fairway to see where you're driving, because as good as the tee signs are, you won't really know
-All of the holes are similar in length. I would have liked to see a 100 footer mixed in with a 700 footer or two, but this isn't a big deal. It's still a great course
-The desert rocks and vegetation will tear up your plastic. Leave your pro-D and DX discs at home.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course, and if you're anywhere near Moab, I highly recommend stopping by for a round... provided that round is played when it's cool outside! I did lose two discs on this course, and I never lose discs. So you'll have to be careful - but that just means it's a great challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and wild! Just like Moab!

1    7/15/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the courses I was most excited about playing on my cross-country road trip, and I wasn't disappointed.

- Cacti and benches on every hole!
- Great signage (especially the "next tee" signs) as well as grippy teepads and the overall care for the course's fairways and baskets.
- Varied terrain and elevation that has blind shots. (Spotter definitely recommended)
- Breathtaking views of the Moab Valley and its stunning red rock formations.
- Close to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. Go to both of them!
- Hazards omnipresent, such as cacti, trees, and avoiding hitting the numerous lizards running around.
- Goes from a complete desert on #1-7 to a quasi-grassy forest oasis on #8-12 and back to a desert on #13-17. Ends in a grassy part of the park on 18 with a downhill anhyzer.
- The experience of playing not only in the desert, but in the beautiful town of Moab!
- Free water at the fountain after hole #18. You're gonna need it if you play here in the summer. It was about 103 when I played here
- Decent hole lengths. Some top 400 feet, allowing for some really strong throws.
Cons: - Blind shots for over half the holes. Let me reiterate: you're definitely going to want a spotter. I didn't have one, but I guess I lucked out and didn't lose any discs.
- Hot hot hot! That's to be expected though here in the summer months. Bring tons of water.
- Some holes play close to the road--especially the road that bisects the course. Watch out!
- Unforgiving plants and terrain. One disc went into a nasty cactus. Many other discs banged off rocks. Save the life of your DX and Pro-D discs and bring some quality plastic that'll withstand the elements.
Other Thoughts: Wow. What a course! This is a great recreational companion to the million other things to do in the Moab Valley. Not sure how often this course is utilized by tourists, but it should be! Perhaps longer holes, fewer blind shots, and a landscape a little more like the nearby Base Camp Adventure course would fetch a higher rating, but this is by no means a lame or whimpy course. Quite the opposite!

Favorite holes:
#13: Downhill blind shot that takes a descent to a basket cemented into a pile of rocks that hugs the road. A definite risk/reward hole!
#17: One of the better holes I've played in quite some time. Throws across a very steep ravine. Better hope you make it!
#18: Nice way to end the course. A steep downhill throw into the grass makes you forget you just played in the hot desert.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most professional looking course I have played.

1    4/25/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great desert course in the city of Moab that requires some accuracy and a good drive to score well. This is your typical desert course with lots of brush, cacti, and medium sized trees that provide plenty of challenge for most players. The tee pads are nice, concrete slabs that all have a sitting bench and sign behind them with hole pictures and info. Lots of fun shots from hard straight blasts around thick brush, to tight wooded shots though the desert vegetation. Overall, a nice variety of shots are necessary to avoid disaster. The last hole is a fun downhill shot down into the park area.

This was the best marked course I have ever played and it's nearly impossible to get lost. A few holes require some walking in between, but signage will lead you right to the next hole. There is even a note and direction taped to the pole of the basket letting you know where to go.
Cons: The prickly pear, barrel cacti, and other rugged desert plants are everywhere. Watch carefully for them. The thick brush can be a easy place to lose a disc. Don't forget about snakes and scorpions that could be found here as well.

It's the desert, so bring water and snacks. I'm not sure if there are facilities at the public park.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that isn't easy.(my score reflects that) Maybe it's because I had just played Base Camp Adventure and was exhausted. Either way it is a fun course worth checking out, even if you came to the area to play BCA.

Favorite holes: #6, #8, #13, #18

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Experience

1    8/18/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: jamesmcgowan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very unique (to most people). Most of us don't get to play in a desert, yet alone one with the surrounding landscape such as this one does.
- Very well marked. This is pretty necessary too otherwise you'd probably never find a basket or know where to throw
- Emptiness. Granted I've only been once, we only saw one other person playing the course. Which was awesome considering our pace.
- Clean, I don't remember there being any trash. Which is always awesome.
- Holes were a challenge. You had to pick your shot choice wisely, and think about what you'd have to do next. Rather than the typical chunk it far as you can and hope you get close.
- Many more tourist attractions. This isn't far from 2 awesome National Parks: Arches, and Canyonlands.
- Probably fairly local to most places. Downtown Moab was probably only 10-15 minutes away. So chances are you don't really need to go out of your way to get there.
Cons: - Easy to lose a disc (Blinds). I believe it was 14 I finally lost my disc. Multiple other occasions we'd look for around half an hour trying to find a disc. I recommend if possible having a spotter go around halfway down each hole so you don't lose or have to look forever for your discs.
- Hot. Some people this will bother. Unless it's winter chances are it'll get hot. Usually over 100 in summer. So be prepared.
- Some areas have long grass, this presents both snake hazards, and more potential to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: We were here on family vacation, as we drove to the house we were staying at we passed this. I immediately wanted to try it out. We didn't have discs, so we bought 1 each hoping we wouldn't lose it. You'll definitely want to bring multiple. If you need to buy a disc I recommend Gear Heads or something like that they had great selection.
Main thing keeping this from a 4 or 4.5 was definitely due to the time I would have to spend sometimes finding a disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.