Disc Golf Center
Joliet, IL 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: llakeberg Hole #15
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Stop Whatever you are doing and PLAY THIS COURSE

2-4    6/21/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2009
26 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, wow. This course really, really impressed me. Dirt tees are marked by twin colored concrete circles in the ground. Teeposts at middle tee. I really liked the nice tee signs built into the sides of the teeposts, which contain good hole maps, and all tee locations and distances (helps). Three sets of tees, with enough difference to make them play differently from each, even though some holes combine 2 or all 3 tees into one spot. In the instances where the tees are all the same, however, this is fine because its the tee you'd want to shoot from anyways, on some mind-blowing holes.

As an added bonus, every hole on this course has a name, which I have only seen on one other course (Lambs Creek at Pioneer Bar north of Menomonie, WI), and on both courses the holes were all interesting enough to warrant names. The interesting thing here is all the hole monkers have someone's last name in them, such as "Delasso's Delta" or "Slope of Saenz". No recognizable ones, but still, makes me wonder who they were named for and adds further character.

Another nice thing about this course is the flow. Short walks between holes, but enough room that you don't worry about hitting people on another hole off the tee. Also, Holes 1 & 10 start by the parking lot, and holes 9 and 18 end by it, which is a really nice feature that speaks to good course design. (also great for getting more cold drinks from the car mid-round)

This course is not the longest course out there. It is very tough because it forces many very specific and unique technical challenges.

This course throws several things at you that you just don't see anywhere else, and many things that you may see elsewhere, only cranked up a notch. Other times, it just has interesting holes.

This course is seriously like the twelve days of Christmas, for technical challenges

Twelve of these holes would be signature holes on any other course, the kind you tell your friends about later, and that someone who plays this course will still remember in 5 years.

On two holes, you shoot off a wooded hilltop, over a valley with an OB abandoned road at the bottom, to a basket on the opposing hilltop (see photos). In both cases, you are shooting into a tree window on the other hilltop, just to avoid rolling into the valley of death. And in another case, you shoot into a hollow at the bottom of the valley, sandwiches between two roads and a hillside, with woods everywhere.

They also like to not only protect the baskets amidst many trees, but they put several baskets on the edge of the abyss. On at least two holes, less than 2 ft past the pin, the fairway drops off sharply, into nasty ravines, and on several more holes the basket is on the top of an incline, to make rollaways more common. not only that, but this course will have a right curve downhill fairway, ending in a basket at the edge of a dropoff.

I would say this course had gimmicky holes, but there's no gimmick, these holes are just legitimately nuts from start to finish.

On hole 10 the basket nestled between and under two trees, which are hidden by a line of long grass on a raised ridge off to one side of the gravel field of a fairway.

On another hole, you have a 15 ft cliff straight up on the right side of the left-sloping fairway, which drops away on the wooded left side. Cars rush by 20 ft below, on the road you can see glimpses of through the trees. The basket is a left, down-sloping curve off the tee, and the washed out dirt fairway plays very fast. Think about that.

Though this is like the mother of octuplets choosing a favorite child, I'd say the signature hole is hole 13, Carey's Stonehenge. Off the tee, you are basically forced to tomahawk up onto a heavily wooded hillside, with the basket up and directly in front of you. Old concrete bench supports jut from the ground in a 20 ft circle around the basket, which is fairly close to the edge of the dropoff into the abandoned road valley.

This is a new course, and it will only get better. On three holes, there are stands of little trees (in the middle of the fairways, of course) protected by orange plastic ski fences, which create a 3 ft wall that blocks discs. Extra challenging, just as the trees once they're big enough not to need the protection.

The holes on this course are a real testament to great course design. Even the ones that are less insane are well done with multiple opportunities and much intrigue. Shot placement and selection are both key on this one. Every single hole on this course is very good, its just that some get out shined by the weird, unique ones. Even the holes on this course that would not quite be signature holes on other courses would still probably rank among your favorite holes on those courses. Here, you get spoiled rotten.

One thing this course is great at is punishing errors. After two rounds, one from whites one from red tees, I realized i had several double bogeys each round, all from different holes. As short as this course is, you would have to play a mentally tough and extremely focused round to shoot in the low 50's here, from any tee.

With so many insane holes, you really have to check this course out for yourself to believe it. PLAY THIS COURSE if you are anywhere remotely nearby. It is SOOO worth it.

I can't say enough nice things about the holes on this course, but they are jaw-dropping and amazing and you will not forget them.
Cons: Tees: On some holes, the dirt tees are a little beat up and uneven, though not too bad. On hole 10/Slope of Saenz/Giant gravel field hole, the red short tee is either missing or impossible to find, so we just approximated for our drives.

In several cases, the extreme nature of the holes could become a problem. I forsee the pins with steep dropoffs just past them will erode in the future, and some kind of terraces will need to be installed around them. However, that might make the holes even harder, so either way its a good thing, just that those hillsides will erode after a few yrs.

There is trash all over this course. Its nowhere near as bad as some I've seen, but its not clean by any means. I know the course is isolated, but trash cans seem few on this course, which also doesn't help. The old tires dumped into the bottom of the ravines (next to the "No No dumping, U will be prosecute" sign by hole 1) complete to refuse heap feel.

The homemade? baskets are very nice, and I hope they hold up over time, but the fact remains that playing on them is different than the chainstars and discatchers most are used to.

I really wanted to rate this a 5, because it is that unique, challenging and amazing as a course, but the junkiness stops me. In time, I have faith this will be a 5
Other Thoughts: Mediocre, basic dirt tees, homemade baskets, trashy park, we even came close to getting into a fight with some locals. All normally ingredients for disaster, and yet this course rises above it all by awesomeness alone. Never before have I played, seen or heard of a course as nuts as this, from a pure technical standpoint, aesthetics aside. Yes, the park is ugly, but this course has character up the wazoo. Legendary. With some better amenities, and a massive campaign to clean up the park, this is a no-brainer 5.5 star course, probably the best I've played, but perhaps cleaning up the park too much would ruin some of this course's urban, mean-streets, forgotten ruins feel. However, trashcans and nice teeboxes (like 16's) would certainly be welcome additions.

Without this DG course, this park is very unflattering. The course transforms it into something special.

26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Check out this rocking course!

2-4    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has variety as other reviewers have noted. It has cool elevation changes, interesting twists, and plenty of stuff growing out of the ground to knock your discs down. No hole is totally open. You want open, try Sunrise Park in Bartlett. That is open. Every hole offers something interesting.
Cons: It is hard to find any except for footing issues on the hills after some rain.
Other Thoughts: Quit complaining about garbage and lack of benches. The world is not perfect. Why let a few minor flaws bother you. That stuff in no way interferes with having a great time. I encourage all lovers of disc golf to check this place out when in the area. It blows away my home course--Sgt. Means in Olympia Fields.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

1    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: bunk'g
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2009
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded holes, but with variety. Beautiful holes requiring a drives over ravines. Tee signs make it easy to navigate. The course is fun and challenging. One of Joliet's better courses
Cons: No Bathrooms? - (1st time playing, maybe there are somewhere)
Lack of garbage cans
Other Thoughts: Help keep the park clean!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course w/ fixable flaws

2-4    5/10/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding course design; truly exceptional- one of the best I've ever seen.
-Tons of elevation, well taken advantage of; shots uphill & downhill (to varying degrees, too), shots across deep ravines, etc.
-Good signage, including little stickers on each basket pointing to the next tee.
-Alternate tees.
-Serious challenge and serious fun.
-If you've got limited time, both the front 9 and back 9 start and end at the parking lot, so it'd be easy to play half the course. (Although I can't imagine being able to resist the whole thing!)
Cons: Baskets seem a bit shallow (I've heard a rumor there are plans to replace them at some unspecified time in the future).
-Some @$$hat had driven donuts all over the fairway for hole 9, and there was still dumped trash in places; hopefully local residents will treat this place better in the future.
-The fairway for 18 was a bog, even though the rest of the course was pretty dry.
-Mosquitos: there were none when I played in May, at the end of July they were plentiful.
Other Thoughts: I had to persudade myself not to rate this 4.5 even when basket 16 was missing; now that the course is complete I came back to update my review. Could it reach 5? Hmm, maybe- I'd have to play here more times to get a really good feel for the place, and see how much they fix it up. This is the best course I've seen anywhere near Chicago- I live an hour away but definitely want to come back once a month if I can. I came here at the end of a day having just played Channahon and West Park- both great courses- and this place still blew me away. I really can't recommend it highly enough.

If you're out of shape, do be prepared for climbing lots of steps up and down hills- you'll find the course well worth the exertion, though.

Hole 13 is kinda eerie-looking; I love it! In fact, the sections of abandoned road along portions of the course gave the whole place a strange atmosphere that I enjoyed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  (Will Be) The Best Course in Chicagoland

2-4    5/17/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: golbi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of topography and tee placement. Tight holes are challenging, yet play fair. Open holes will test your discs and offer unique lines. Some holes are very memorable and leave a lasting image in your head. Course signs are well labeled.
Cons: Good amount of mud, even on high ground. Needs more amenities such as garbage cans. Missing a basket on hole 16.
Other Thoughts: This would get a 4.5 star rating if it 1) wasn't missing a pin, 2) had more garbage receptacles and 3) had concrete or padded tees. This is a young course, and will get better over time. Even with its shortcomings, it's still my favorite course in the area (just beating the course in Mokena and West Park in Joliet). Even though I haven't reviewed a lot, I have read many reviews, and I've inflated my review a little bit so that this course will get some love and improve in the future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  30 yrs later, Chicagoland has new crown course

5+    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: hacocacyb
Played: 161  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course from a pure hole perspective is perfection in my mind. Very interesting and challenging holes, great variety between short and long tees. Excellent use of hills and trees. Great design where front nine and back nine both start and end at parking lot. Steps built in to steep hills. ***16th basket placed and tee built as of 6-13-09***
***6-2-2012 update: now has concrete tees on all holes***
Cons: There are few trash bins or benches, but they are popping up. Park is dilapidated (but this is the Chicago suburbs, so land is hard to come by, in that sense, what a gem!) Watch where you step, even on paved paths. Throwing to blind baskets necessitates spotters. Didn't lose discs, but spent time looking.
***After 4 years, the course has opened up and only four holes are 'blind' from the tees but you don't need spotters.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I can't wait to return. Changed rating from 3.5 to 4 because of the final basket being placed and benches being built. Seems like there could be land for more holes. This park was made for disc golf.

The designers put a lot of effort and work into this course. There are 6(!) very nice sets of stairs to help you get up and down the ravines.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 challanging fun

1    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: you have to have a bag of tricks to play here the hardest course around and i like them hard. throwing hill to hill is amazing! not to many people go here or come back, have the course to your self.
Cons: trash is a problem but that can be fixed.
Other Thoughts: could be one the best with better baskets and better tee pads

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 course is improving

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: Trick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is improving. A LOT less trash on the course than last year. This course was just put in as of late 2008, so give it some time. I was impressed with the improvement compared to last year. Great mix of holes. Personally, I don't want a course that is all easy, or all hard. The first isn't challenging, and the latter is too frustrating. One reviewer wrote that the open holes (7-11) were too easy. But, two of them are very long. And, the fairways are lined with mature Oak trees. Sure, the fairways are about 50' wide, but for some golfers that is challenge enough. The more difficult holes have tough fairways that can be as little at 10' wide. The interesting elevation shots, both uphill and down, and across ravine like areas make this course unique in this area. I also found it to be less muddy than other area courses at this time of year (springtime). Definitely worth a visit. And no, you don't have to be afraid to go play this course by yourself.
Cons: Hole 16 is still missing while they do some work on the course. And yes, the park used to be a place that some careless individuals would use to dump trash. Putting a disc golf course here was a stroke of genius. Park is already looking better. But, there is definitely still room for improvement. Fairways and tees can be rough in places. Still experiencing some growing pains.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be one of the best in the area. Just needs time and care to improve. Play it. Unless you are a nitpicky person, you will most likely love this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best course around the Joliet area

5+    11/15/2008   3/22/2009
Review By: Elevated Greens
Played: 320  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Mix of fairway shots; Righty, Lefty, Long, Short
- Elevation; Uphill, downhill, over ravines
- Woods: everything from tight wooded shots, to curving, tree-lined fairways, to open field
- Multiple tees; not only adding distance, but changing the shots completely. Pro tees are difficult shots that force smart shots, where Am tees allow for birdie runs
- Great signage; shows all tee pads for that hole, distance, next hole
- Great pin placement; on sides of hills, by O.B., in made-made elements
- Baskets; all in good shape, regalvanized last year
- Amenities; benches and garbage cans are starting to pop up on multiple holes, something like 130-160 stairs to make those climbs much easier
- The front 9 starts & ends at the parking lot. The back 9 also starts and ends at the parking lot
Cons: - Tee pads; I think is asphalt or laid concrete. It is easy enough to throw from these pads, but they could be improved in the future. However, still offers decent traction.
- Dirty park; it was used in the past for people to illegally dump their garbage


- This is a brand new course so it is still rough around the edges, although West Park is, in my opinion, much more rough around the edges and less challenging
Other Thoughts: ** Best course in the Joliet area by far. It has everything one looks for at a disc golf course. It will challenege every skill level. It has plenty of memorable holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Newbie w/ room for improvement and much potential

1    10/31/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Map of course layout posted on board at first tee.
* Hefty size concrete tees.
* Quality tee signs clearly stating distance from each tee and providing birds eye view map of each hole.
* Balanced mix of straight/lefty/righty shots
* Multiple tees provide different approaches to each hole and appeal to a players skill level.
* Dominant "wooded" course with elevation which is a nice compliment to the other courses in the area (for those hitting the Joliet area on a disc golf trip)
Cons: * GARBAGE! It's everywhere, ranging from broken bottles/beer cans to rusted old trash cans & old tires. ( Update: Still here )
* The vegetation is sorta wild and the fairways are not as cleaned up as you'd expect on a course. For example lots of rocks,sticks, and wooded stubs in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's great they decided to add another course to the area, especially a course that offers tight wooded holes and some with elevation which is rare in this area. It's definitely a course worth checking out and a Park District employee told me all the CONS I stated, those are things they are going to be working on to improve the park & course. A major factor of the park district deciding to place a course in Highland Park was to keep people from dumping their garbage in it and have a reason for the park services to trim the trees/bushes and what have you. Before placing a course, I suppose this was a park no one used so they decided to use it for disc golf, which is good with me. Also, out of towners shouldn't be afraid of the neighborhood next to the park. I golfed on a Friday morning and it was packed with golfers, not "rough" people (like the other reviewer said). * Update: Still lots of garbage, but overall fun course to play. *

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.