Joliet, IL 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #14 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/17/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 244  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic--Plays through a multi-use park but the dg areas are pretty dg exclusvie. plays over a "ghost" road several times to bring a ravine into play.

Baskets-- old, but in good repair. visible enough in the thickly wooded holes.

Routing/nav--easy, has painted tines and next tee signs to help route you through the course.

Pads-- nice big (too big?) in great repair. multiple tees. some of the "short" tees are natural but are marked with red concrete tubes.

Challenge/variety-- Love it, there is such a big amount of goodness here. tight wooded holes, open field holes, into/out of woods. long short, great variety. Never felt unchallenged here by any means.

Risk v reward- the variety here drives the risk v reward. the ravine shots push the limits of disc golf. throwing across a ravine and UP a hill after is GREAT! Some of the long tees here are INSANE. I typically played the white tees and some of the blue tees were crazy!

Bridges and steps-- great! in great repair ( a little slippy when wet) and a great help for going up and down wet hillsides.

Signage- adequate. not the best signs but definitely adequate for routing.
Cons: Wet- low areas are wet and muddy. understanding this is uncontrollable.

hole 16- no tee pad? or did I miss it? I found a sign on the ground for a hole 16 but didn't find it. I found 17 and 18 thereafter easy enough. I did see the basket for 16.

trash- a ton of trash here. the upkeep isn't as nice as channohan but it's well loved by it's locals/ regulars
Other Thoughts: A great great course, I truly enjoyed it!

edit:
apparently the teepad for 16 is non-existant but in the works, instead of staying above the road, follow the road to find the tee and basket!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Joliet Areas Finest

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: JC AceHole
Played: 294  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has alot to offer. 3 tees on many holes. Very wooded holes where you have to hit a tight gap. Elevation changes, a few open holes through mighty oaks. Some holes shorter, others very long.

Front nine loops back to parking lot so you can refill on drinks. Then play the back nine. Road leading into the park was recently repaved and is very nice now.

Pro tees are very challenging. A couple of the shots from the longs require a placement shot as its almost impossible to reach the basket because of the location of the pad. Players of all skill can have an enjoying round here.
Cons: The baskets are terrible here. They will be replaced hopefully in the near future but spit outs are gonna happen. Sometimes there can be some rif-raf around so lock your car.
Other Thoughts: A must play if in the Joliet area. This is arguably the best course in the Chicagoland area. With some new baskets installed this would really make it a 5 In my opinion. Check it out for yourself!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

1    9/14/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of obstacles
-Wide variety of distances
-Hilly terrain
-Well laid out course that flows nicely
-Challenging for players of all skill levels
-Just plain fun
-The road!! The road is now paved, Which is a huge improvement over the old road that existed one of the past times I was here.
Cons: -The baskets, These bad boys can spit out even your best putts.
-That stupid bench setup around the hole 13 basket, Who's idea was that?!?!
-Mud, If it has rained recently don't wear your new kicks out here, cause they are gonna be trashed afterwards.
-The fact that I dont live close enough to play here every day...
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I only wish it were closer to me. It is one of the few courses in the area that really kicks my butt. By the time I've thrown 18 holes here I'm ready for some cold beers and talk of the best shots of the day with my buddies.

I took a friend who is an absolute novice here and he had a tough time, by hole 15 he was ready for it to be over with so if you were thinking about bringing someone who is new to the sport here, it may not be the best idea, Just my opinion.

The mix of shots here is fantastic, I love how this course really brings all parts of your game into play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best Chicagoland Courses

5+    7/14/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple sets of concrete tee pads with good signage. A wide assortment of lines required to score well from tight wooded holes to open bombers. There is some nice elevation for a Chicagoland course. The rough is not bad here. Hole 4 is an awesome hole. From the short tee it is a extremely hard 2 to get as it is a long righty backhand flex shot. Behind 5's green is a giant drop off. It is very easy for drives to get long and down the hill. There are a few par 4s from the longs. This is a fun course with many different layouts for all skill levels.
Cons: Pretty eroded and can get busy. Gets very muddy and gross when wet. People used to dump garbage on this land before it was a course so be wary of where you are walking or looking for discs. Some of the holes are kind of boring compared to the cool holes on this course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 an instant favorite

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: freezermink
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all - the long wide open holes that make you want to rip your arm out of its socket to reach the basket, and the tight 200ft holes that are deceptively difficult. most were in the 250-320 range but were a challenge with all the tree cover. use of elevation is fantastic. the condition of the course was great, even considering the full ~24 hours of rain the day before. paths were all clear, tee boxes were clean.
Cons: if i HAVE to nit-pick... i loved the usage of the giant trees lining the fairways (ex #8), but a ~240ft hole with a random spattering of trees all over and no distinct fairway leaves more to luck than to skill when trying to reach the chains. its personal preference really, but i'd rather at least be able to pick a good line than leaving the drive to the disc-gods. as an example, #18. its tough to change without completely ripping a bunch of long standing trees out, i understand. like i said, its picky.
Other Thoughts: overall i think i have a new favorite course. the elevation changes and variance from wide open to super tight makes you use every disc in your bag. love it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The NEW West Park???

1    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
**Kudos to Gary Lewis for his creative use of what I heard was on old dumping ground for the locals.
**The course is laid out in two 9 hole loops back to the parking lot, I like that quite a bit in a course...
**2 HUGE thumbs up, and, my personal THANKS :-) to whoever built all of those stairs (J-Town Disc Golf?). My back is killing me just thinking about it...
**Nice, basic, signs to get you throwing in the right direction.
**Risk vs. Reward is a huge factor on this course. Go for it and you might be 50 feet down the ravine behind the hole???...
**Several baskets on, or, very near steep drop offs. Even errant putts could end up 30+ feet away on some holes.
**Love the shots over the ravines, tougher to judge the distance for sure.
**#12 is a FUN downhill Ace-Run…
**#13 with all of the park benches???
Cons: .
**The Baskets…Old DGA Mach 1s upgraded with an extra set of chains. It's a little unnerving staring down those shallow trays ;-)
**Pretty muddy when we were there. Looks like the forested sections hold water for a while.
Other Thoughts: .
This course seems like a win, win situation for everyone…
It's went from a dumping ground and hangout for miscreants, to a super nice challenging DG course.
I'll be back to play this one again FOR SURE

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome and hard

5+    4/20/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Aceseekr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This is a challenging and great course! Long open field holes with short and long challenging wooded holes. Very well maintained. IL plays its championship tournaments here.
Cons: Can be muddy, the road to the parking lot is really messed up. Can be a very buggy course. Give yourself an hour to play here. Leaves in the fall make finding your disc a pain.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 In the jungle...

5+    12/20/2011   1/23/2012
Review By: gowiththeFLOW
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -New course in an old park.
-Concrete Baskets
-A long 18 hole course
-Every hole poses as a challenge
Cons: -Watch your disc!
-Not the best park of town.
-Street/Parking lot not best condition

Other Thoughts: A must play course! Close to West Park and New Lenox Disc Park,

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wet and Wild

2-4    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: earth2sean
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very challenging course with lots of length variation and plenty of trees to punish a poor line or errant throw. A lot of the pin placements will really punish you if you push the disc past the pin. It can be an exercise in masochism if you're new to the game (like me!) and aren't careful about what you're doing, but that is a good thing.
Cons: As others have mentioned, the baskets don't catch all that well, so good to great puts might bounce off of the pole or just not catch. That's about all I can think of really. Of the 6 courses I've played, this one is easily the best.
Other Thoughts: Be careful when it has recently rained. I was playing in the rain today and footing on the slopes was pretty treacherous. Stay on the fairway and you'll get to use the fancy stairs!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cue the bagpipes.

2-4    8/6/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 20.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Highland Park is a solid course. It varies from some tight, wooded shots to some lightly wooded park-type shots. The combination of open and tight holes keeps things varied and interesting. It has good variety in the hole distances, and the long blue shots top out at reasonable distances (there was no padding the overall course distance with long for long sake 800' shots.) The tees are good, the signs are good and navigation is not a problem. The course loops so you go back by your car after hole #9, which is always nice. The course has good elevation changes that are used for some fun elevated tee shots, tough uphill shots and treacherous pin placements that punish a blow-by. The overall package comes together in a challenging course that is still a lot of fun to play.
Cons: Most of the baskets are old rehabbed single chain DGA Mach I baskets with shallow baskets attachments. They had double chain attachments added, but they still don't catch well. With a lot of treacherous pin placements where you can really get bit by a roll away, it would be nice if they had decent catching baskets.

There is not a lot of O.B. here other than the park roads. Except for a couple of holes, the roads really don't come into play unless you screw up royally. There are no creeks or water to speak of. It's not really a con in my book, since the course is challenging without a lot of gimmicky O.B. Some people really are not happy unless a course has someplace for them to lose their plastic in the water, though.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is somewhat interesting in that it is a decaying old relic of a park that seems to have been abandoned at some point. There is a terrible old road pocked with potholes that you throw over three times, and there is a crazy place where there are a bunch of supports for long-removed benches in a circle near a basket. There is also a weird looking abandoned bridge abutment and some other things that can give the park a creepy Blair Witch vibe if you are back there alone. The fact that the course get a lot of traffic helps with that.

Because the park seems to be largely abandoned other than the disc golf course, the road leading to the parking lot is a mess of potholes and I really wouldn't hold my breath waiting for that to be fixed.

I lived in the Chicago area in the early 00's and the lack of good courses was a big issue. I was always amazed that the sport was growing as fast as it was on those terrible, flat 9-hole pitch and putts. Highland is a course the area can be proud of, something that the golfers in that area have needed for a long time.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.