Pleasant Hill, MO 
Lake Shore DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The course I play most often

5+    6/16/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: Omega.Rider
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * A mix of shot types to challenge righties, lefties, flicks, and backhands
* Beautiful sunsets over the lake if you play in the evening
* Diligent course management means that this course is always in good to excellent condition
*
Cons: * shorter than normal concrete tee pads, but that forced me to tighten up my form to avoid foot faults
* the underbrush does contain poison ivy and lots of it
Other Thoughts: The front nine is a nice relaxing play, even for new players. It's fairly open with moderate distances. The back nine tightens up with tunnel shots, many more trees, blind shots, and moderate distances.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Most Excellent! I Will be playing it again!

1    5/1/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: BigRedRocker
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Largely wide open holes, with few trees getting in the way.
Full 18 hole course.
Concrete Tee Pads (always a plus).
Multiple pin positions for varied difficulty.
Beautiful scenery.
Cons: It had rained like crazy the day before we got to play, so it was a bit muddy in spots. On the back end of the course, there were a couple holes that you had to play through or around a slightly overgrown area that was totally swampy.
Other Thoughts: Overall an excellent course, I'd love to play it when its totally dry. There are different pin positions, and some were a bit more challengingly placed. Overall the course had a good mix of long and short(ish) holes. I will definitely play it again, though maybe not too often due to the hour drive to get there.

One of my Favorites!

5+    8/24/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: 1 - Out in the country.
2 - New signage much more accurate representation of holes and makes it much easier to navigate.
3 - Minimal opportunities to lose a disc.
4 - Two practice baskets.
5 - Benches at every tee.
Cons: 1 - Not as varied.
2 - In mixed use park, but generally don't get any non disc golfers in the way.
3 - No lost disc return.
Other Thoughts: The course seems geared less towards distance players and technical players. I think this is a good newbie course.

First time at Lake Shore

1    8/2/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: DrAudiologist
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Freshly mowed, not busy, decent distances without being too long. Variety of shots and placements.
Cons: Some difficulty locating pins. Had to play #3 twice as I was spoting the #11 basket. Keep a copy of the map on your phone / printout with you.

Just washed my car before hitting the gravel road for the last 2-3 miles. Coming from the south west.
Other Thoughts: Will likely play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Lovely but Confusing

2-4    5/29/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Mudflap
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, typically short drives for new players, low chance of losing discs to the lake. Very few other patrons, so it's a good place for easily-embarrassed newbies!
Cons: Hole maps are not helpful at all. Every hole says the basket is straight ahead but it almost never is, keep your eyes out. The course itself can be tricky to navigate, and the map by Pad 1 isn't helpful at all, so playing for the first time will be confusing but you should become well acquainted with the course afterwards. Hole 15 has no map and no posted par, only a tree stump with a 15 on it.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful landscape around the course, playing in the evening will provide for an amazing lake view while enjoying a relaxing game of disc golf. If you're looking for an extreme challenge, this isn't for you. If you're new and don't want to embarrass yourself in front of a million skilled players, you will be at home here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worthwhile play if you're in the area!

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a gorgeous setting, right next to Pleasant Hill Lake. The environment is really what makes this course what it is -- a very fun recreational round with some really pretty views.

Plenty of benches and areas for you to take in the scenery. There's a few trash cans around for your refuse pleasure as well.

Concrete tee pads are always a huge plus. Baskets are bright and all in good condition, mostly with a flag on top to aid navigation.

Very quiet country setting. A way to avoid the crowds in Kansas City if you happen to live out that way or want to make a trip out of it.

Decent amount of shot variation. Although straight is by far the dominant shot, there's a decent amount of elevation and what appear to be newer pin positions that keep the course interesting.

Multiple pars posted for different skill levels. This course is definitely geared towards recreational players and gives a nice change in pace from some of the more traveled, difficult courses in the KC area.

Minimal lost disc opportunities, even with the lake nearby. You'd have to really hit a bad shot to end up in there, although I'm sure it happens often.

Many holes have multiple pin positions, which is always nice to see. Not sure how often they are moved, but they exist and are somewhat marked on the signs (more on that later).

Not crowded! I think the distance keeps a lot of the players away, and for the more experienced players, there's better, more challenging options back in the city.
Cons: The signage is really not all that helpful many times. It's literally a green oval with an X and a flag on it -- in a straight line. Since there's no way to know which pin position is active, it can make navigation tricky at times.

You're throwing adjacent to people's property on several holes, and there is even an electrified fence on one of them. DON'T go into people's property to get discs!!

We got lost and started playing an alternate course after Hole 13. There is a "NEXT TEE" sign and marker pointing to what is apparently the 3rd hole of an alternate course, which appears to go deep into the woods. We turned around, and wouldn't mind playing this other course sometime if it exists, but it's not what you're looking for on the main course.

The alternate position on 16 makes it a neat dog-leg into the woods, but it's super easy to throw at 13 if you're not paying good attention.

Several holes play pretty close to one another. Roads cut through the course as well, although they aren't busy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a ways out of the KC Metro, on the far southeast edge. Reasonably easy to get to if you're in eastern Jackson County (Lee's Summit, Blue Springs), just the opposite direction you'd normally expect to go.

Bottom line is, I wouldn't say this is a destination course at all. Just a very nice, relaxing place to play a round and take in the lake view. It's a perfect opportunity for a family or couple to just relax and enjoy the day. If you're looking for a challenge or want lots of amenities, this probably isn't the course for you. Otherwise, enjoy!

PS, We didn't see any exotic animals nearby. Hopefully they'll be there next time we play the course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fall/Winter Round

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: finchd4
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maintained well, and tee signs on all but one hole
Cons: Other than a few holes, I was teeing off with a mid range or putter.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a recreational player, water could be frightening for a beginner though. Distances are good for beginners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/7/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a few places to sit and rest. Most holes offer multiple pin positions and they move them often! They have made a lot of upgrades over the winter, with new pin positions that have increased the courses difficulty. Not very crowded, very safe, and a great place for night rounds too. The Lake amplifies wind which adds difficulty.
Cons: Tee-pad's are a little short and need mulch around them to level the ground with the pads. Some areas stay muddy long after the rain and need more gravel or mulch. Need signs telling people to pick up their dogs SH%T!
Other Thoughts: Very fun course! Love the neighbors animal farm, Zebras, Camels, Miniature Pony's, and more. You can see them from the course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just right for a beginner

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Short course not terribly difficult for beginners. So I was at home. Fairly level terrain on the front nine. Back nine some gentle slopes to traverse. Good variety of shots required.
Cons: I walked right passed the first tee box down by the course map. Needs some trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Good to get out with my son and father. Meet up with local who show us (up) and around. I'll play this course again.

 Good For Beginner

5+    11/27/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: I have only been playing for about a month, but have already played several course in the KC area and I think this offers those new to the game a great place to learn, but is difficult enough to be a challenge to my more experienced friends. Course is usually not very crowded compared to others. Playground near the first tee for my kids to play around on while I warm up. Some elevation but not too much that younger kids can't walk it. Plenty of chances to make runs at the baskets on the tee shots.
Cons: Rather short and not many tunnel or real demanding tee shots. Water on #1 comes into play for shorter throwers and #2 for longer throwers. Not much variety in basket locations. Long postition of #9 makes the hole long and boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoy the course. It is usually in good condition, baskets are nice, tee pads are nice.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.