Pleasant Hill, MO 
Lake Shore DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Lovely but Confusing

2-4    5/29/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Mudflap
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, typically short drives for new players, low chance of losing discs to the lake. Very few other patrons, so it's a good place for easily-embarrassed newbies!
Cons: Hole maps are not helpful at all. Every hole says the basket is straight ahead but it almost never is, keep your eyes out. The course itself can be tricky to navigate, and the map by Pad 1 isn't helpful at all, so playing for the first time will be confusing but you should become well acquainted with the course afterwards. Hole 15 has no map and no posted par, only a tree stump with a 15 on it.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful landscape around the course, playing in the evening will provide for an amazing lake view while enjoying a relaxing game of disc golf. If you're looking for an extreme challenge, this isn't for you. If you're new and don't want to embarrass yourself in front of a million skilled players, you will be at home here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worthwhile play if you're in the area!

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a gorgeous setting, right next to Pleasant Hill Lake. The environment is really what makes this course what it is -- a very fun recreational round with some really pretty views.

Plenty of benches and areas for you to take in the scenery. There's a few trash cans around for your refuse pleasure as well.

Concrete tee pads are always a huge plus. Baskets are bright and all in good condition, mostly with a flag on top to aid navigation.

Very quiet country setting. A way to avoid the crowds in Kansas City if you happen to live out that way or want to make a trip out of it.

Decent amount of shot variation. Although straight is by far the dominant shot, there's a decent amount of elevation and what appear to be newer pin positions that keep the course interesting.

Multiple pars posted for different skill levels. This course is definitely geared towards recreational players and gives a nice change in pace from some of the more traveled, difficult courses in the KC area.

Minimal lost disc opportunities, even with the lake nearby. You'd have to really hit a bad shot to end up in there, although I'm sure it happens often.

Many holes have multiple pin positions, which is always nice to see. Not sure how often they are moved, but they exist and are somewhat marked on the signs (more on that later).

Not crowded! I think the distance keeps a lot of the players away, and for the more experienced players, there's better, more challenging options back in the city.
Cons: The signage is really not all that helpful many times. It's literally a green oval with an X and a flag on it -- in a straight line. Since there's no way to know which pin position is active, it can make navigation tricky at times.

You're throwing adjacent to people's property on several holes, and there is even an electrified fence on one of them. DON'T go into people's property to get discs!!

We got lost and started playing an alternate course after Hole 13. There is a "NEXT TEE" sign and marker pointing to what is apparently the 3rd hole of an alternate course, which appears to go deep into the woods. We turned around, and wouldn't mind playing this other course sometime if it exists, but it's not what you're looking for on the main course.

The alternate position on 16 makes it a neat dog-leg into the woods, but it's super easy to throw at 13 if you're not paying good attention.

Several holes play pretty close to one another. Roads cut through the course as well, although they aren't busy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a ways out of the KC Metro, on the far southeast edge. Reasonably easy to get to if you're in eastern Jackson County (Lee's Summit, Blue Springs), just the opposite direction you'd normally expect to go.

Bottom line is, I wouldn't say this is a destination course at all. Just a very nice, relaxing place to play a round and take in the lake view. It's a perfect opportunity for a family or couple to just relax and enjoy the day. If you're looking for a challenge or want lots of amenities, this probably isn't the course for you. Otherwise, enjoy!

PS, We didn't see any exotic animals nearby. Hopefully they'll be there next time we play the course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fall/Winter Round

1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: finchd4
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Maintained well, and tee signs on all but one hole
Cons: Other than a few holes, I was teeing off with a mid range or putter.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a recreational player, water could be frightening for a beginner though. Distances are good for beginners.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/7/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a few places to sit and rest. Most holes offer multiple pin positions and they move them often! They have made a lot of upgrades over the winter, with new pin positions that have increased the courses difficulty. Not very crowded, very safe, and a great place for night rounds too. The Lake amplifies wind which adds difficulty.
Cons: Tee-pad's are a little short and need mulch around them to level the ground with the pads. Some areas stay muddy long after the rain and need more gravel or mulch. Need signs telling people to pick up their dogs SH%T!
Other Thoughts: Very fun course! Love the neighbors animal farm, Zebras, Camels, Miniature Pony's, and more. You can see them from the course!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just right for a beginner

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Short course not terribly difficult for beginners. So I was at home. Fairly level terrain on the front nine. Back nine some gentle slopes to traverse. Good variety of shots required.
Cons: I walked right passed the first tee box down by the course map. Needs some trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Good to get out with my son and father. Meet up with local who show us (up) and around. I'll play this course again.

 Good For Beginner

5+    11/27/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: I have only been playing for about a month, but have already played several course in the KC area and I think this offers those new to the game a great place to learn, but is difficult enough to be a challenge to my more experienced friends. Course is usually not very crowded compared to others. Playground near the first tee for my kids to play around on while I warm up. Some elevation but not too much that younger kids can't walk it. Plenty of chances to make runs at the baskets on the tee shots.
Cons: Rather short and not many tunnel or real demanding tee shots. Water on #1 comes into play for shorter throwers and #2 for longer throwers. Not much variety in basket locations. Long postition of #9 makes the hole long and boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoy the course. It is usually in good condition, baskets are nice, tee pads are nice.

 Kangaroos, Zebras, and Orangutans…OH MY!

1    4/28/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice lake course that does not get the water too involved. There is some slight elevation here and mostly wide-open type holes. Some of these holes use multiple pins. I liked #5 that had the lake right behind the basket and hole #13 with its short tunnel drive. Navigation is not a problem as long as you remember to cross the entrance road after hole # 11. The cement tees are in great shape. This park is well maintained with a picnic area, a playground, and a nice view of the lake.
Cons: There are only maybe 2 challenging holes on the course, otherwise the straight shot is al that is needed. There really isn't much variation in hole length and this place really needs more trashcans. The tee signs and the map/sign by #1 needs updated.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor isn't much to get excited about. I enjoyed the area and all the geese running around. This is a nice course with beautiful surroundings and I did liked that it wasn't a busy place. If I were close by I would probably stop and play it again.

Here's the story to explain the title of this review. I kept hearing a broken police siren sound coming from a barn across the street from hole 10. I was creeped out, because I knew it was coming from an animal and I have been hearing the sounds since hole 6. So, as I was looking around I saw lamas, goats, ostrich, and oddly enough even camels over there in the yard. This is not totally crazy, but certainly odd. However that sound has got me really curious. Finally, I looked up above a barn and saw a small portion of a cage and got s glimpse of the source of a sound. Orangutans! There is some kind of privately owned animal sanctuary here. I ended up seeing kangaroos, zebras, and chimps too.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant indeed

2-4    4/20/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course alongside a picturesque city lake. New DGA baskets with flags on the top to make for easy spotting. Great for beginners up to intermediate level players. Second pin positions which have been added in the last year incorporating the woods better have added some challenge. Flow is very logical, but remember to cross the road into the gated area after Hole 11. Lacks a lot of the crowds you will find at some of the city courses.
Cons: Many of the holes are just sort of boring short. Pro and advanced level players will find many of these holes entirely underwhelming as they can easily be parked for a birdie. For a course that borders water, I found the water threat to be easily avoidable except for Holes 1 & 15 (may have something to do with being a lefty). Course does have some muddy spots including a swampy area on Hole 17. Course map sign at the start needs to be updated. The hole signs, while neat, don't show the exact location of where the pins are, so you may need to walk forward on a few holes to see where to aim.
Other Thoughts: This course was built with recreational play in mind, and it serves that purpose well. I first played Pleasant Hill a couple of years ago, not long after it first went in, and the new layout and added positions are a considerable improvement.

The course was reconfigured after complaints of discs going onto adjacent private property surfaced. While the new layout has improved things. There is still potential for this to happen, so be careful not to throw OB on these holes, and if you do, don't go onto that land trying to retrieve your disc.

I can't call Lake Shore a must play with all the excellent KC area courses around, but if you're looking for something between KC and the Lake of the Ozarks area, this one is decent.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lake sure makes it pretty

1    10/1/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*The lake makes this course. I love the beauty of water, and it's in play on 4 holes, but visible on many other holes throughout the course.
*Every basket has a big flag with the hole number on the top! That's a really cool addition.
*For added variety 10 holes feature long basket positions.
*Elevation changes- there are lots of hills, with mostly all up or down shots, but the elevation changes are mild. 2 Flat/ 8 Up/ 8 Down
*Wildlife- there was a raccoon just sitting on the 15th fairway, sunning himself in mid-afternoon. He placidly watched me go by.
*Nice metal tee signs with maps.
*Map available online.
Cons:
-As is true of most courses with multiple basket positions, it would help to implement a simple marking system to show which layout the baskets are in.
-Terrain variety is low (1 Grass/ 17 Mixed), so the holes can seem kind of similar after a while.
-Length variety is rather low. The mixed layout that day had 9 of 225-299/ 7 of 300-399/ 2>400. Suitable for people who throw 300-350 ft.
-Other than the online map there are few amenities. No score card, no warm basket, no message board. There were a few benches and trash cans, though.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)
Course Difficulty: 4 (out of 10)

The course is mostly nice grass with scattered trees and foliage; it's more wide open than I generally prefer

My favorite hole: 14. Nice fairway with a long, fun, downhill hole. Very scenic with the lake down the hill on the left.

This was a nice, average course. It's not a destination course, and it's kind of far from Kansas City, but there were certainly some pleasant hills near a lake shore.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a day trip...

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting
Good use of available space
A couple of challenges with trees/obstacles/water
Multiple pin placements on some holes
Good signage
Easy to navigate
Good park grounds to make a day of it with a BBQ, etc
Cons: Some of the holes were not very challenging and a little redundant...but this is more a result of availble space and having to design around public usage areas, so it's not that big of a negative...the designers did a good job
A couple fairways overlap, so you have to be attentive if it was busy/crowded...there were a few beginner groups playing the day I played, but it wasn't too bad
Other Thoughts: This is a little bit of a drive from the KC metro area, but I think well worth the trip, especially if you bring some food and make a day of it...great park...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.