Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
One of the worst in DFW

1    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros:
- Concrete teepads
- Tee signs
Cons:
- Most holes have no discernable line.
- Stickers are extremely pervasive. Everyone in my party was covered in them after the first hole and every hole thereafter.
- Not remotely well maintained.
- Missing baskets on the back nine.
- Impossible to navigate without constantly checking the map.
Other Thoughts:
This course would have potential if they cleaned out all the underbrush with stickers and thorns. Many people talk about a course's "fun factor", well this course had a negative fun factor. It was more like a misery factor with the lack of reasonable lines to hit and stickers.

 NEW GATEWAY

1    5/2/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: Thediscshop
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: RECENT CLEAN UP! THE FIRST 9 HOLES HAVE BEEN CLEARED WELL AND WE ARE STILL WORKING ON IT DAILY.
Cons: STILL MORE CLEAN UP NEEDED ON BACK 9 THE CITY IS REPLACING TWO MORE BASKETS AND WE WILL HAVE 18. THE MORE TRAFFIC THE BETTER THIS COURSE WILL GET.
Other Thoughts: PLEASE COME SEE US AT OUR MINI'S ON SATURDAYS 3PM. WE HAVE CLEANED UP THIS COURSE AND READY TO GET IT BACK IN ACTION!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Times a Changing

5+    4/12/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 59  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Established course
Cons: Loss of baskets
Other Thoughts: Has comes a long way from its beginning but as of late with the theft of three baskets and the park closing the gate on the back 9 and took out all of the baskets. So the18 holes are now down to 7 out of 9 on the front 9. Thus the lack of playable holes maintenance has also dropped resulting in overgrown weeks.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 missing baskets

1    3/30/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: 1mac
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: heavily wooded on some holes and a few open areas to throw for distance.
Cons: missing baskets - hope this in not permanent
Need better signage on the back 9
Other Thoughts: missing basket on hole 6. missing all baskets on holes 10-18

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

the g-way

5+    2/15/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: there is a great mix of long and short holes. none of the short holes save 2 or 3 are easy birdies. trees are large abundant and fairways are fair. gateway will challenge players of all skill levels. easy enough to navigate, and not very crowded unless theres a tourney. the park itself is very secluded. fairways continue to get easier and is no longer as much of a jungle as it was. the city did away with the big concrete deals on hole 5 so the smell is gone. trust me it was really bad. most holes are wooded with only a third being out in a field. wind isnt as much of a problem here except on a few holes. water is practicly non existant most of the year and drains pretty well after a rain. there are plenty of places to stop and take a break along the way. i play here often and shoot in the high 50's low 60's so dont expect to be 6 under unless you're a god.
Cons: can become boring if played too often. this course really does favor a rhbh thrower. some people may count this as a pro but i like some variety.there arent any elevation changes which takes away from the rating. trash is a big problem here and not much is being done to help. there are a few trashcans but they are almost always overflowing. come on ft worth its bad. at the moment holes 6 and 10 are missing baskets. also due to the construction on hole 5, the basket has been moved about 300 feet closer to the tee. hole 5 used to be 707 ft and was one of the signature holes. bikers do use some of the trails around here so watch out.
Other Thoughts: very fun course with a few flaws. one of the better courses in dfw. on a side note if you notice the loop in the back of the park you will notice many cars parked or driving around. these are not golfers. do what you can (within reason) to get these people out of the park. they are up to no good and in my opinion take away from the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Definite Must Play!

1    11/17/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Tobo6570
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Lots of diversity throughout the course
*From talking to players that had played there before, it sounds like a ton of work was done on the course to get it in shape
*Excellent use of the landscape
*Very tough course (I list this as a pro because playing courses like this will force you to improve your game or suffer a lot of bogeys and beyond)
*Great location for all residents of the metroplex
Cons: *Signage needs to be improved. The condition of this course is at a championship level. The signage should reflect it. If you haven't played here before take a picture of the course map by the hole 1 tee pad so that you can follow the course. It can be tricky.
*While I enjoyed the complexity of the course and the challenge it presented me, I think a few holes could stand to have a few trees removed so that it is more friendly to all levels of players
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate to be introduced to this course when I played it in the North Texas Tournament Series # 2 by StraightLine Discs. The course amazed me and could be easily on my Top 10 courses in the Metroplex. My score the day of the tournament wasn't very pretty but my appreciation of the course was on par! If you haven't played this course yet, do yourself a favor and make the trip. Make sure to bring a lot of patience with you cause this course will certainly test it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/18/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good difficulty from long to short, left to right, not much up and down. Fun course to play. Nice concrete tee pads and nice baskets. Nice use of the surroundings.
Cons: No signs showing the next tee box, most of the hole layouts were rather easy to figure out. Trash throughout the course, which is hard to believe because there were a lot of trash cans around. The front nine flowed pretty well, the back nine was a little more difficult to manage. No signs showing the way.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a good course and would play it again once The course drys out. If the locals would just spend some time picking up the trash and some maintenance/sign work this would be a really great course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not For Beginners and Awesome

5+    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course. Lots long throws. Woods then fields. Not Easy. Wooded area. Trinity River views.
Cons: A few shared trails with mountain bike trail riders who pretty much go down ever trail it seems. High grass. High grass and Tunnel spiders and mosquitoes. Weirdos and Trash in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It is never crowded yet. This is my favorite course right now.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, lacks signs

1    4/14/2013   4/14/2013
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + challenging course

+ Course is cut into a beautifully kept park

+ Several low-key holes fit for taking breaks

+ Friendly locals

+ Played afternoon on a Sunday, consistent flow of players, but not overwhelmingly busy
Cons: - Course layout is confusing. Why is a walking path between hole 9 and 2? Signs would be really nice.

- Trash all over... Broken glass.

- paths cut into rough would be a nice to complement the thin fairways.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5: from the pad, goes through the woods and then cuts to about 10 o'clock (sign would be nice here). The pin is beyond and tote right of the electrical tower.

Hole 10: To find the pad for hole 10, follow the stepping stones over the streams after leaving the basket at 9. Exit the woods, turn right, and follow the street. Go past the large path and take the walk path about 50' further (sign would be nice here). Play forward and past the tree line cut right.

Hole 11: from the pin at 10, head back to the stop sign and blue gates. Cross the street. Pray you find the right walk path (sign would be nice here). Follow the walk path a few yards into the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Improvments

2-4    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the underbrush has been clear out. You now clear lines to throw towards the basket. Nice big tee boxes. Good paths to the next Tee Boxes good mixture of tight technical shots and long bomb shots with pars to match.
Cons: Needs better signage to guide you to the next Tee. Probably needs little more of the underbrush cleared out.
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Gateway it was so over grown with briers and thorns and if you threw into the rough you risked getting all tangled up. The course is now fun to play we'll definatly play this coursre again. If you played the course before the up grades last summer and you thought it sucked, give it another chance I think you'll be pleased

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.