Disc Golf Center
Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: Thediscshop Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
5 / 707ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: Chase barrett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight long 350 foot shots for lay up shot to the baskets on some par 4's was nice for a change. Really liked 18 being a par 4 ,was a free stroke for me this time overall I think the basket placements were pretty challenging.
Cons: Tee signs could use a direction path on them. Playing for the first time was a little tricky finding 10 and 17. Will need lots of trimming before summer.. Hope the progress continues.
Other Thoughts: Overall I gave it a good rating because of the placements and well thought out flight possibilitys.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gateway

2-4    3/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. You will use almost every shot in your bag on this course. Great mix of wooded/open shots and some elevation change as well.
Cons: Unfortunately I tend to feel that the cons tend to outweigh the pros on this course.
- It is not well kept up, so it is rough, unkept ground in most places.
-Pretty overgrown & some areas are very densely wooded leading to at least a few lost discs.
-I actually know of two different people who were jumped and pretty savagely beaten in this park (both were biking, not disc golfing) - I think the city has done a pretty decent job cleaning up the park since this happened so its probably less of an issue now. But its still is not in the best of neighborhoods (Just don't pay this course by yourself).
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course. I wish it would have a little better upkeep, and that the park would feel a little safer.

***Update*** I have yet to return to the course but I understand that the Funkytown Flyers have put in a significant amount of work in improving this course. Including but not limited to scraping fairways and trimming brush. So my previous statements regarding the state of upkeep of the course may no longer be accurate. Thanks to the Funkytown Flyers for the hard work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging

1    1/15/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads (about half are put in backwards)
-Very nice disc catchers
-holes marked with distance and par
-Very scenic
-Trash cans at almost every hole
-nice size parking lot at the start of 1 and the end of 18
Cons: -Difficult course to play
-Lots of thorns and fallen trees
-needs to be cleaned out
-Smelled pretty bad
-Course was not signed very well, at least on the aspect of where the next tee was, got lost on multiple occasions
-lots of paths that just lead to nowhere in particular
Other Thoughts: Ran into a lot of strange people in this park. Saw a guy playing his saxophone and also what looked like a homeless man sitting under a basket. Would recommend bringing a map, some long pants and tough shoes. The underbrush is pretty brutal and there are a lot of fallen trees. I would not recommend going to this course after it has rained b/c it sits on a flood plain. This course will test every shot that you have so get ready to use everything. Not beginner friendly but will make you a better player. Kinda wish that i got to throw over the trinity river, b/c that would have been pretty cool

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Gayway

5+    12/12/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: gigemjonny
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2011
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very Technical.....The Front nine is looking good....the back still has some problems.
Cons: Swampy, Smelly, Trash everywhere. Watch out for creepy men around the circle drive. I grew up in the area and we used to call it Gayway. I'll just leave it at that. Very thorny and brushy. No fairways. The grass is very tall. Hard to find your disc even with a well placed shot. I brought home a tick on my leg so if you play here make sure you check when you get home.
Other Thoughts: I Shot a 74 which was the best in my group. Missed my eagle putt on 12 and birdied. A few ace runs along the river but very risky shots.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun To Play

1    10/21/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Spydog1985
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout. Almost all wooded. Par 4s and 5's are entertaining. Lots of challenge with trees, etc
Cons: A bit overgrown. Tough trek. Lots of taller than 'short' grass.
Gets realllllly marshy if it's rained the last few days. Lots of standing water. Most mosquitoes on a course i've ever seen.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Just dont go if it's rained in the past week, and bring some repellent!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough and Tough

2-4    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I first played this course back in march or so. After I played I vowed not to come back for a few months because it was just too premature in the development.

About 6 months later and...it is still really really challenging... Thats for sure.

I like that there are a lot of trees and the occasional change in elevation. Most the holes do a good job of taking advantage of the space available, and there a few pretty unique holes. One of the very few courses I know of that has a public restroom close to the course.
Cons: Still needs some work. A few trees here and there could still be either trimmed of the vines hanging down from them, trees themselves could be trimmed a little and a few trees that just need to come down. Doing this would create nice lines throughout the entire course for throwing thru. Not all the holes need work, and I didn't bring a notepad to write down which holes needed a little bit more attention. Once you get out there and play you will know which holes need a little more trimming.

A lot of the underbrush and ivy that was growing on the ground has been trampled down. Not too mention the heat probably having a helping hand but there are still a lot of nubs left from cut down trees that will stop a disc dead if you try to roll it. If you're not paying attention to where you're walking you can definitely bust your a$$. I don't know if this area was once a landfill but there is a lot of old garbage strew throughout the course. Add in a few disrespectful disc golfers who leave their trash at an already overflowing trash can and it doesn't leave the course looking as pretty as it could be.

I've played the course three times now but I still went down the wrong path a couple times. I even took a picture of the course map at the beginning but it didn't help a lot. A couple more signs wouldn't hurt but it isn't like I had to walk very far out of the way before I realized I wasn't on the right path.
Other Thoughts: Basically... the course just needs a little bit more attention. Cut down a few more branches / vines, use some total vegetation killer to get rid of some of the tree nubs that are starting to grow back after being cut down, and maybe cut a tree or two down on a few holes.

After these few improvements I would put this as a four star course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Only for veteran disk players

5+    7/4/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with extremely challenging holes. There are lanes, but they are narrow and hard to find. It takes a few strategic shots to figure out your driving strategies. My score was through the roof the first 3 times, but I am getting closer to par now. Some Par 5s that are seriously long and challenging, and some short Par 3s that will leave you utterly dissapointed. We are talking multiple brakes for a birdie chance. Just shoot for par until you come close to it. Trying for birdies at first is futile. Very few "birdie" holes. You have to earn them. My new favorite course!
Cons: It crushes your spirit at first. Is not the best course for city folk : )
Other Thoughts: If you are tearing up a course like Bear creek and need a good, stern reality check, take a day to go to Gateway. It will humble you and make you actually think about disk again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and overgrown, needs some beat-in time to be much fun to play.

1    5/13/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: Before I get crucified by the locals for this review, please keep in mind I am rating this course based on how it existed on the day I played it (mid May 2009). This course has immense potential -- it will be a 4-star course eventually -- but it has a long way to go to get there. I love challenging, heavily treed courses, but this has a lot of problems that need to be addressed before it is worthy of 4-star status. I look forward to replaying and re-reviewing this course in the future.

First, the biggest pro for this course is the challenge that is represented. This is like no other course in the DFW Metroplex. Incredibly challenging layout and lots need for precision shots that will help shape a players game and ability to carve lines through trees.

Parking is good.

Gateway Park itself is great -- incredible facilities for all kinds of sports, and obviously a huge investment of resources by the city, so it is great that disc golf is part of this effort.

Open areas were well-mowed and the look of the park makes me believe they will stay this way.

Cons: Lots of cons -- most of the cons are due to newness of the course.

First and foremost -- and this is one of my biggest pet peeves -- I spent a lot of extra time walking the wrong way on this course. I played for the first time without a guide, and though I took a map, it was of only limited help. The map is very general and some of the holes have changed since the map was created. In addition, there are dozens of foot trails through the woods, and there are only a couple of holes that have any signage indicating which path to take to the next tee. These are long paths, partially overgrown, with little to no signage. I spent an estimated 30+ extra minutes playing this course due to needless walking. This is a huge pet peeve. Especially on a hot, humid day with bugs and thorns in abundance. Clear signage is needed. The sooner the better. Also, a better map (google-satellite based map, maybe?) would be of immense help.

In addition, the hole signs need more information. Right now, the signs have hole number and the par, but lack any other helpful information -- like a basic layout for the hole. No clues as to whether a hole turns right or left or doglegs. No clues as to OBs, Mandos, or water hazards. This also makes the course very hard to navigate, since you have to walk up every fairway to find the basket before throwing.

This is a new course, so underbrush is in abundance, as are tree stumps and roots in the fairways. Rollers are useless here because so much is uncleared. Rough is truly rough with lots of opportunities for losing discs, sometimes even in the "fairway."

Many holes are very repetitive. And by that I mean that there are so many trees in the way -- and NO clearly defined fairway -- that on a 300' hole, your best option is often to put a disc 200' up the best available line, and then pitch up for a three. This is really frustrating golf. Well-designed holes should have a line that it is possible to aim for. Here, birdies are pitch-and-pray, even on short holes. This is not good design and gets very frustrating. Hopefully age and foot traffic will open up some lines, but right now the repetition of trying for threes on ~300' holes is really frustrating.

I love challenging courses, and I love trees, but this doesn't do a good job with either. Challenge is not a matter of skill but of surrender -- play pitch shots to stay in the fairway since there are no defined lines -- and take your threes and fours. This isn't skill golf. It's an exercise in anger management.

Again, I think a lot of this is the age of the course, but it is a really frustrating experience.

Ticks and other bugs in abundance. I pulled a tick off my discs and another off my shoes. Mosquitoes all over the place. Course was so humid the discs and hands stayed slick the whole round.

Layout feels very confused -- more like a maze than a course. Good signage will help, but there is a lot of walking between holes, far more than there should be on a course with this many trees. Course feels dragged out for extra length without any good reason. Very few memorable holes -- just a lot of dejavu.
Plan for lots of walking, and then lots more walking, even if you know the layout.

Overall, design and flow are weak. Weak variety of shots necessary and poor flow to the course.

Other Thoughts: I will look forward to playing this course again, hopefully in a year or so when it is a little more broken in. I applaud the Fort Worth Parks Department and local disc golfers for including a disc golf course in this parks project, but its going to take a while to make it work.

Overall, one of the ultimate tests for a course is "did I have fun playing it." And the answer here is "no, not really."

I enjoy almost any disc golf anywhere. But here, I found myself hot, bug-ridden, tired-out, turned-around and frustraterd rather than enjoying the round, which isn't a good sign. I hope people play this -- lots -- to break it in. And I hope it gets great signage and direction markers to help navigate the course. Then someday it may be more fun to play, but for now, it just isn't worth the time, with so many other better, more fun, courses in the area.

EDIT: I've updated my rating to a 3.0 from an original 2.5 based on rethinking my experience. If I knew my way around the course and hadn't made so many side excursions trying to find the tees, I would have given this a 3.0... so keep in mind that you SHOULD NOT play this course without a guide the first time through unless you are a masochist. Hopefully this will be fixed soon. So for locals, this course is worth a 3.0 -- for visitors, consider it a 2 or 2.5 unless you're playing with locals to show you the way. This will be a great training ground and tournament course someday... it just isn't there yet, and has a long way to go.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.