Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: Thediscshop   (Taken 4/2014)



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 NEW GATEWAY

1    5/2/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: Thediscshop
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: RECENT CLEAN UP! THE FIRST 9 HOLES HAVE BEEN CLEARED WELL AND WE ARE STILL WORKING ON IT DAILY.
Cons: STILL MORE CLEAN UP NEEDED ON BACK 9 THE CITY IS REPLACING TWO MORE BASKETS AND WE WILL HAVE 18. THE MORE TRAFFIC THE BETTER THIS COURSE WILL GET.
Other Thoughts: PLEASE COME SEE US AT OUR MINI'S ON SATURDAYS 3PM. WE HAVE CLEANED UP THIS COURSE AND READY TO GET IT BACK IN ACTION!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 work in progress

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 50  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete tees (backwards)
*going to need alot of shots,
*mostly wooded so shot selection is must, not just a chunk and go course
*nice baskets
*didnt feel like i was in downtown, very outdoorsey feel
*trees make for good coverage from 100 degree days maybe only 2 or 3 open holes
*upper level course play-the most challenge i have had in awhile
*no real easy holes
*good use of land, but be ready to walk
*good use of left hooks and right hooks
Cons: *signage,
*not easy to navigate first time, as a few holes had to be "found"/map on site is off scale a bitalot of blind shots and walking around like a lost puppy looking for next tee (total game time was almost 3 hrs for us today, i feel we took 45 mins just looking for tees today)
*shared mt bike trails,so watch out for them
*can be a disc eater (several areas are densly wooded)
*can be a bit trashy around some tees
*stay in the fairway or your legs will pay the price (thorns, etc)
*hole 5 to 6 had awful smells, only time ever noticed
*is a public city park, so all sorts of people are there (even the undesirables, but there is enough other people there to keep in check, i would suggest playing in atleast pairs)
Other Thoughts: I know ive been hard with the cons, but i still give it a 3.5 because its a fun challenge, its not going to take much to make this possible one of the upper level courses in dfw, i amost want to say it felt like a more complex yet less contained cedar hills course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Descent, tough course

1    2/18/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tough. Lots of different shots. You need a big arm AND touch on some of these holes. I think it's a good use of the crap land that's over there. You get right into the woods on the first hole and it's not too bad back there. Course has a lot of potential
Cons: Not well taken care of. Long grass in the fairways, but not unmanageable. It does smell. There are horse hoof tracks, so it must be patrolled often for god knows what.
Other Thoughts: I think this course gets a bad rap. It could be better taken care of, and there are a couple of huge river views that are filthy, that I think would be an awesome addition to the area if it were just cleaned up. It is hard. If your there on sunday, a taco truck shows up for the soccer games. Do yourself a favor and grab you a burrito. They're awesome

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wear Pants

5+    11/14/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No Crowds, Everyone's Scared to Play Here
Near Impossible Shots
Playing Here Improves Your Game
True Par 5 Holes
Cons: Thorns and Thick Brush
Odd Layout
Creepy Old Men That Meet Up in the Woods
Little Variety
Other Thoughts: Best game for me is 5 over. Lesser players seem to refuse to return to this course, but the only way it's going to get better is if people keep coming and stomp down all the rough spots. I'm glad this is not a family friendly course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Much Improved

2-4    12/18/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: joshbunch
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course. I played it 2-3 time this last June/July and I hated it. It was so overgrown and nearly impossible to play. It was not enjoyable at all.
I thought after 6 months I would give it another try. It has been improved 10 fold. The lines you have to hit are still very difficult, but not impossible. I would not recommend this course to a beginner.
It is mostly a technical course with one monster hole (707ft). Also another observation...I think most of the distance markers are off quite substantially.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Still a little rough

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice concrete tee pads though they're wider in the front than the back which limits the run up angles. Nice brand new double chain Discatcher Pro baskets. Decent tee signs with hole number and distance. For most of the hole transitions there was an attempt to put in "Next Tee" signs, but they need more. This course is all about challenge on pretty narrow fairways. Well balanced course with a lot of RHBH anny shots. About 1/3 of the holes are true multi-shot holes which are virtually un-2-able by most players, they requires skill of hitting a specific landing zone to set up the next shot.
Cons:
Do not attempt to play this course by yourself the first time. There are many holes with long transitions between them that are not obvious and signage is incomplete. There are a lot of trails for hikers and bikers that weave through the course making navigation even more complicated. The walks between some holes are really long. Hopefully as the course ages it will open up a little bit as some of the holes now are a bit too tight. Some of the more complicated holes need a detailed map on the tee sign to help new-to-the-course players, e.g. #5. There was a lot of trash on the course, and not just recent Gatorade bottles, but old stuff like rusting car parts. Could use some TLC cleanup.
Other Thoughts:
Street and beyond plays OB on this course which adds some challenge hole #10. The were at one time green ribbons tied around tree branches to help navigate from one hole to the next. The brush off the fairway is really punishing usually not much chance to save a '3' once you go in. Like one of the other reviewers said big arms will be frustrated on this course. The course starts out fun, but the tight fairways suffer from law of diminishing returns. I'd about given up on the course when #18 opens up to a beautiful long wide fairway that finally allows you to rip a shot on the last hole. Overall, not really my style of course. I'd play it again, but not without a guide or a really good map.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course! The first few holes are short with tight fairways that have small little hills on them. Get used to it because this is how the rest of the course plays. Extremely tight fairways and thick brush on the sides add so much challenge to this course, but in a good way. Tunnel shots are needed here more then any other course I have played. Good variety of shots and I like how there are a few holes that open up out of the woods to give you a little break form the punishment they serve you. The baskets are nice and new and the teepads are great.
Cons: This course is very new. The lines and fairways are ill defined. Lots of weeds and branches to get in the way. Some of the hole are so tight with the trees that it is almost too much of a challenge that takes a little fun out of it. Definate trash issues with this course, most of which is from a long time ago before this course was built. Navigation issues here.
Other Thoughts: I think once this course gets used a little more, than it will make it better. Definate potential with this course. I would certianly come back and try it again. Beginners should definately stay away from this one. One of the hardest courses I have ever played, but because of that, it makes me want to try again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tough course!

5+    3/8/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/23/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The challenge level on this course is very high. There are many very tight fairways with very small windows to try to shoot through. This is definitely a course where you have to pick a line and commit to it and hit it if you want to shoot well. There is not a lot of room for error, and if you do err then you'd better get lucky or you'll end up with an even tougher second shot. There are 4 par 4 holes and 2 par 5 holes that are true pro par 4s and 5s. I really enjoyed the fact that most holes offered a variety of options on how to drive. This course has come a long way since its inception a few years ago. Fairways are much more fair and the course is much more friendly to play. Especially, during the winter time, this course is a lot of fun to play. For the most part, bad shots are penalized and good shots are rewarded. There are a few holes that run next to the Trinity river and offer a nice view. The tee boxes and signs are great here as well as great discatcher baskets.
Cons: This course will be difficult to navigate if you go without a map. You will have a better experience if you can play with someone that knows the course layout. It is somewhat easy to lose your disc if you go off the fairway and get buried in the thick…it may take some considerable searching at least. There is some poision ivy at various places on the course. No restrooms. Trash cans are sparse.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough par 62 course that is a lot of fun to play when conditions are right.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.