Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #13 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
the g-way

5+    2/15/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: there is a great mix of long and short holes. none of the short holes save 2 or 3 are easy birdies. trees are large abundant and fairways are fair. gateway will challenge players of all skill levels. easy enough to navigate, and not very crowded unless theres a tourney. the park itself is very secluded. fairways continue to get easier and is no longer as much of a jungle as it was. the city did away with the big concrete deals on hole 5 so the smell is gone. trust me it was really bad. most holes are wooded with only a third being out in a field. wind isnt as much of a problem here except on a few holes. water is practicly non existant most of the year and drains pretty well after a rain. there are plenty of places to stop and take a break along the way. i play here often and shoot in the high 50's low 60's so dont expect to be 6 under unless you're a god.
Cons: can become boring if played too often. this course really does favor a rhbh thrower. some people may count this as a pro but i like some variety.there arent any elevation changes which takes away from the rating. trash is a big problem here and not much is being done to help. there are a few trashcans but they are almost always overflowing. come on ft worth its bad. at the moment holes 6 and 10 are missing baskets. also due to the construction on hole 5, the basket has been moved about 300 feet closer to the tee. hole 5 used to be 707 ft and was one of the signature holes. bikers do use some of the trails around here so watch out.
Other Thoughts: very fun course with a few flaws. one of the better courses in dfw. on a side note if you notice the loop in the back of the park you will notice many cars parked or driving around. these are not golfers. do what you can (within reason) to get these people out of the park. they are up to no good and in my opinion take away from the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Definite Must Play!

1    11/17/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Tobo6570
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Lots of diversity throughout the course
*From talking to players that had played there before, it sounds like a ton of work was done on the course to get it in shape
*Excellent use of the landscape
*Very tough course (I list this as a pro because playing courses like this will force you to improve your game or suffer a lot of bogeys and beyond)
*Great location for all residents of the metroplex
Cons: *Signage needs to be improved. The condition of this course is at a championship level. The signage should reflect it. If you haven't played here before take a picture of the course map by the hole 1 tee pad so that you can follow the course. It can be tricky.
*While I enjoyed the complexity of the course and the challenge it presented me, I think a few holes could stand to have a few trees removed so that it is more friendly to all levels of players
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate to be introduced to this course when I played it in the North Texas Tournament Series # 2 by StraightLine Discs. The course amazed me and could be easily on my Top 10 courses in the Metroplex. My score the day of the tournament wasn't very pretty but my appreciation of the course was on par! If you haven't played this course yet, do yourself a favor and make the trip. Make sure to bring a lot of patience with you cause this course will certainly test it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not For Beginners and Awesome

5+    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course. Lots long throws. Woods then fields. Not Easy. Wooded area. Trinity River views.
Cons: A few shared trails with mountain bike trail riders who pretty much go down ever trail it seems. High grass. High grass and Tunnel spiders and mosquitoes. Weirdos and Trash in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It is never crowded yet. This is my favorite course right now.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Improvments

2-4    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the underbrush has been clear out. You now clear lines to throw towards the basket. Nice big tee boxes. Good paths to the next Tee Boxes good mixture of tight technical shots and long bomb shots with pars to match.
Cons: Needs better signage to guide you to the next Tee. Probably needs little more of the underbrush cleared out.
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Gateway it was so over grown with briers and thorns and if you threw into the rough you risked getting all tangled up. The course is now fun to play we'll definatly play this coursre again. If you played the course before the up grades last summer and you thought it sucked, give it another chance I think you'll be pleased

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/26/2013   1/26/2013
Review By: ThXinc
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Landscaping is making some great progress....some nice lines starting to develop.
Cons: Next tee markings after the front 9 are kinda confusing...there are some markings with paint on the trails, but some added signage would take this course to the next level.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! Difficult, but I like the challenge....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

got a bad rap

2-4    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome, challenging, wooded fairways
-legit par 4's and 5's
-multi-throw holes with necessary landing zones
-nice concrete pads, some are a bit short though
-discatchers easy to see in the woods and in good condition
-double loop design
-tee signs are there but new signs are needed
-lots of really challenging shots
-great variety of distances
-water danger on 13 & 14
-lots of subtle elevation changes in the fairways
-well-balanced between lefty and righty shots
-a few open shots are a relief from the thick woods
-colored spokes on the baskets indicating direction to next tee
-plenty of parking, restrooms, sport fields, etc
Cons: -navigation is tough the first time, bring the map here on the site; there was a map at the kiosk but right now it is all faded and basically gone.
-many stumps and brush along the fairways, the condition is much improved after the summer 2012 renovations but there are still areas with heavy underbrush and stumps that need to be ground.
-the signage is fairly inadequate, there are posts with the hole number and par but with lots of blind, wooded fairways this place needs better signs. a few well-placed next tee signs would be very helpful too, particularly at the 2-3/4-5 trail intersection and after 14 and 16.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with shady beginnings. It's nickname, "The Privy" was well-earned but it's starting to apply less and less. There was a huge amount of work put into the course in Summer 2012 clearing out fairways, trimming trees and brush, lining trails with branches, etc. It is in much better shape now and smells considerably less bad than it used to.

This par 62 beast is very challenging with only two open fairways and two more that play into or out of the woods. The latter two are tough, long, multi-throw holes with landing zones you'll want to hit. There are many other holes like this where accuracy is key but distance is still a factor. These are balanced by a number of shorter, deuce-able holes but none of them are easy!

The Trinity River comes into play behind 13's basket and along the right side of 14's fairway. There are lots of mounds and minor but sudden changes of elevation in many fairways. There is also a great balance of lefty and righty holes and various S shapes and doglegs.

This course is a great challenge for the advanced player or intermediate players that like a little abuse. Probably too frustrating for beginners as the fairways require a good bit of accuracy. I thought the fun factor was great with lots of exciting tee shots and holes that I really want to play again immediately. 3, 5, 7, & 16 are awesome long holes and 8, 9, 13, & 15 are great shorter holes, with 15 being a particularly fun ace run.

The amount of work put into this course recently has really made it a much more enjoyable experience. Much thanks to those that helped. Probably the most challenging wooded holes in the metroplex behind the Lester Lorch courses. Not my favorite course in the area but definitely worth checking out if you are into difficult wooded courses.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 SO GOOD

2-4    11/10/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: ButtermilkJenkins
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Not too simple. Not too tough.
- All 18 holes give you a great opportunity to work on all different kinds of shots.
- Large concrete tee pads.
- The adventure!
Cons: - Heads up for cut down trees and random tree stumps! They'll trip you up if you're not paying attention.
- Navigating around the course your first time may be a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: From what I've been told, this course has very recently had a TON of work put into it as far as cleaning up goes. Last time I played it, I loved every second of it. Play this bad boy!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  MUCH IMPROVED

5+    6/27/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Beezy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wow.. what can i say. the type of course that makes you a better player. tight lines. punishes left handed and right handed players equally.
Cons: not enough people show up to play one of the most challenging courses in the metroplex. need signs to show where the next hole is for people who don't plkay the course much. random folks popping out in the course from nowhere can be a bit disconcerting.
Other Thoughts: the guys who cleaned up the course did an awesome job.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This course is FUN!

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DisCatchers, concrete tees and lots of fun factor. This course has a little bit of everything and only favors the player that can throw with accuracy. You will have to use every shot you have playing a single round on this course. Lots of risk/reward throughout. You will be humbled, but so will your opponents. If you and your friends are evenly matched, this course will separate you on the score sheet. Did I mention that it's fun to play?
Cons: This place needs some signs. Navigation is tough. The front nine has been played a lot more, so it's a lot better than the back. There isn't very much in the way of elevation changes. This course needs to be played often by a lot of people. The back nine needs to be beat in to speed up play. We spent a little too much time looking for discs. I'd think that this isn't the course to play after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is playable right now (November). Go play this course this winter and beat it in. The wind isn't a factor on most of the holes giving cover in the winter. If this course wasn't 45 miles from my house, I'd play it all the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very UNDERrated!

1    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course with tons of upside and potential. Nice discatchers which always rank high with me. Concrete tees even though they are installed backwards. You will need every shot in your bag to score well here and a little luck here and there wont hurt either. There are some open holes to test your arm and allow you to bomb shots and then there are alot of tight shots that test your accuracy. There are also alot of short shots that allow you to get your bird with a well placed shot but can turn into a bogey if not worse for a shot that doesnt make it. The fairways are pretty righty/lefty friendly as there is a good mix of holes for both players. Nobody out there at all, so you have the place to yourself and it allows you to throw multiple shots if you like. I love the technical aspect of this course because you cant get away with a bad shot. You get what you deserve and it makes you work for that bird and even that par for the most of the course.
Cons: Navigation is a nightmare if you dont have a map and even then its difficult at times. Very overgrown in places making it hard to find shots and baskets at times. Even some of the fairways are overgrown not making for much fun. As stated before the layout isnt that great, there are many long walks between holes. Lots of trash all over the place, dont know if trashcans would help but maybe it would be a start. The underbrush is horrible. Watch out behind hole 13 for the river, any shot that stays straight and has any power on it will be in the Trinity. Not for the faint of heart.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! If there were some upkeep here this course would rank higher then it already does in my book. A little TLC and this course would be the talk of the town. If you like short courses or those where you can shoot 54, this isnt the place for you either. Watch all shots because even if you think you know where it is, the underbrush will get it. This is a killer course and I will be back for sure even though there are alot of downsides.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.