Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Golf with discs

1    9/2/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: True golf! Not just drive and putt. The multiple shot holes are true par 5's and 4's. Tournament friendly now that it has been cleaned up.

Cons: Gold boxes are not in yet. As it plays now (par 62) to shoot even is a 960-970 rated round, so it is a blue level course. Need gold boxes on a few of the 4's and 5's to make it gold level.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Mental Mastering of Gateway

5+    8/8/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: BigE
Played: 106  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has since the first Hangover Classic been my favorite course in the Metroplex. I know at times this course has been rough. I have seen past all of that and really enjoyed everything about this park (except some of the patrons) with all of the shots needed to score well out there. Shout out to Brandon and everyone else that has put in tons of non payed hours to make this course shine. The course has a feeling that you are all alone but it is one exit away from downtown Fort Worth. Did I mention that this course requires a wide selection of shots. This is the reason I have learned the forhand because you cant always score well with a backhand out here. Another aspect I really enjoy that is rare in the Metro is long wooded hole and wooded to open holes. Most holes have multiple routes to take. The locals have done a ton of clearing and plan on more to showcase what this course is under some of the overgrowth! This course is a mental test on every hole that has left me blown away when it gets the best of me. Mental focus is key to manage this course.
Cons: Bugs can be bad during the summer months because of the standing water on a couple of holes There are some creepy people that park in the parking lot that are not disc golfers but are there for ANOTHER REASON. Use the Buddy system. The more action the course has the less people like this will hang around. They need Tee Signs. There is a bad smell on hole seven once in a while, but its not the hole course.
Other Thoughts: Every time I come out there are more locals playing it. I think over time the more course play this park gets the more the overfriendly patrons will start to find another park to hug at. The Media Picture are not current so dont go by those as thing are way diffrent at the present as far a fairway conditions!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough?

5+    7/3/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: JFink2011
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hole Design
- Technical (Rare in this area)
- Shot Selection (Whole bag needed)
- Tee Pads (Concrete is always good)
- Baskets (Innova DISCatcher Pro)
- Improves Your Game
Cons: - People (Getting better the more people play it)
- Way-finding (Long distances between holes)
- Mosquitoes (Due to standing water)
Other Thoughts: This is something special. If you're from around here, then you often hear people talk about how great Cedar Hill is... well this course is right up there with those courses.

This is a championship caliber course.

I'm so stoked that this course got the overhaul it needed! Thanks guys!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, this is in Texas??

1    1/5/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Championship level course.
Tee Pads on every hole.
Several 2 drive holes. (par 5 holes)
two holes looking over the Trinity River.
A lot of work has been put into this course to make it playable.
Cons: Not well laid out, If I didn't print out he map, I would have been lost.
Tee Pads are backwards and too short.
Fairways are a little tight and the rough is REALLY rough, I had jeans on and still got scratched up.
Other Thoughts: wow, was this course really in Texas??? I have played all over the state and this may be the most wooded course I have played. The course is NOT for beginners, it is tough. If you can't throw it straight, you will be in the rough and it IS rough.

I did manage a score in the lower 60's, I was very pleased with a few of my holes, I got 3's on #7 and #18 and managed a 5 on #5 even though my first shot didn't even make it to the mando (I had to throw a shot back to the fairway and around the mando. Stupid tree)

I had a great shot on #17 for a 2. I 3'd most of the other holes with a few 4's thrown in due to trees and rough.

I WILL BE BACK.

Oh, special note, beware of guys trolling the parking lot and in the bushes around holes #12-13. I found out the hard way........

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Lovely Little JunGle WaR

5+    1/1/2013   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top 5 in the metroplex.Very nice new benches have been recently added between holes 1 and 9! Excellent low ceiling corridor shots,tight lines thru narrow fairways,decently technical.Hole 3 and 16 have a newer longer pin from its original placement congrats to the design team it really helps keep the course tough.Long course,knowing where to land to shoot low scores here will challenge you.The short holes are difficult enough to be fun not boring,4 and a half (hole 5) out in the open holes stand out compared to the majority of the course being heavily wooded.Holes 5,12 and 16 three of the top holes in the Metroplex.Only Crossroads of Life in Duncanville, Harry Myers in Rockwall an Z Boaz own only one hole each as difficult as holes' 5(when construction is done and its back to 707ft)and 12 and 16 at beautiful Gateway Park along the Trinity river.Holes 1,2,8,9,13,17 and 18 at night have light on the fairways from the streetlights shining thru after 5:30p.m. you can start your round on hole 10 and finish on 9 and play the last three four holes with plenty of light!Sweetness! Deciding what line to take then actually hitting hit keeps this course...HARDCORE! Play this course... even if its just once.
Cons: If you throw off the fairways a weed whacker or a machete' would be very useful.Gnarly brush here.Wear jeans to keep your legs from scratches although the grounds have been cleared alot since conception.Find a buddy to play with you you'll need one to help find discs lost into the taller viney tree shrubs here.Please do your part by helping clear fairways as you play.Funkytown has taken over maintenence but every disc golfer should pull a weed or two while strolling the fairways to help out.Cutting trees down is illegal.Please respect that not all courses are plain-jane.Course put in over the top of old landfill on some holes,very little elevation throughout.A sewer ventilation shaft lies within the courses premises,the smell is god awful on hole 5.Queerbaits are thick in the parking circle near hole 13,(almost dizzying watching them drive round and round the park).hopefully we can get them to leave permenantly,watch your six.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind if you have never played here that the photos on this site are from 2009.Those photos absolutely do not look like the fairways of todays' Gateway.A whole lot of time,effort and energy has reduced the low shrubs an taller grasses you see in these old photos to almost non-existent status. It was a great experience in 2009 when the course was brand new and 62 won the Hangover and the course record.Heavy clearing of the fairways using a bobcat occured in summer of 2012.The new top scores after that "de-jungling" of the fairways really say something for the courses difficulty level then and now. A 52 is the lowest round as of 2012 in the "Meltdown."

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.