Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: Thediscshop Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
5 / 707ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Definite Must Play!

1    11/17/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Tobo6570
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Lots of diversity throughout the course
*From talking to players that had played there before, it sounds like a ton of work was done on the course to get it in shape
*Excellent use of the landscape
*Very tough course (I list this as a pro because playing courses like this will force you to improve your game or suffer a lot of bogeys and beyond)
*Great location for all residents of the metroplex
Cons: *Signage needs to be improved. The condition of this course is at a championship level. The signage should reflect it. If you haven't played here before take a picture of the course map by the hole 1 tee pad so that you can follow the course. It can be tricky.
*While I enjoyed the complexity of the course and the challenge it presented me, I think a few holes could stand to have a few trees removed so that it is more friendly to all levels of players
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate to be introduced to this course when I played it in the North Texas Tournament Series # 2 by StraightLine Discs. The course amazed me and could be easily on my Top 10 courses in the Metroplex. My score the day of the tournament wasn't very pretty but my appreciation of the course was on par! If you haven't played this course yet, do yourself a favor and make the trip. Make sure to bring a lot of patience with you cause this course will certainly test it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 62  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good difficulty from long to short, left to right, not much up and down. Fun course to play. Nice concrete tee pads and nice baskets. Nice use of the surroundings.
Cons: No signs showing the next tee box, most of the hole layouts were rather easy to figure out. Trash throughout the course, which is hard to believe because there were a lot of trash cans around. The front nine flowed pretty well, the back nine was a little more difficult to manage. No signs showing the way.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a good course and would play it again once The course drys out. If the locals would just spend some time picking up the trash and some maintenance/sign work this would be a really great course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not For Beginners and Awesome

5+    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: UFOWTF
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course. Lots long throws. Woods then fields. Not Easy. Wooded area. Trinity River views.
Cons: A few shared trails with mountain bike trail riders who pretty much go down ever trail it seems. High grass. High grass and Tunnel spiders and mosquitoes. Weirdos and Trash in the woods.
Other Thoughts: It is never crowded yet. This is my favorite course right now.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, lacks signs

1    4/14/2013   4/14/2013
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + challenging course

+ Course is cut into a beautifully kept park

+ Several low-key holes fit for taking breaks

+ Friendly locals

+ Played afternoon on a Sunday, consistent flow of players, but not overwhelmingly busy
Cons: - Course layout is confusing. Why is a walking path between hole 9 and 2? Signs would be really nice.

- Trash all over... Broken glass.

- paths cut into rough would be a nice to complement the thin fairways.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5: from the pad, goes through the woods and then cuts to about 10 o'clock (sign would be nice here). The pin is beyond and tote right of the electrical tower.

Hole 10: To find the pad for hole 10, follow the stepping stones over the streams after leaving the basket at 9. Exit the woods, turn right, and follow the street. Go past the large path and take the walk path about 50' further (sign would be nice here). Play forward and past the tree line cut right.

Hole 11: from the pin at 10, head back to the stop sign and blue gates. Cross the street. Pray you find the right walk path (sign would be nice here). Follow the walk path a few yards into the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Improvments

2-4    2/3/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the underbrush has been clear out. You now clear lines to throw towards the basket. Nice big tee boxes. Good paths to the next Tee Boxes good mixture of tight technical shots and long bomb shots with pars to match.
Cons: Needs better signage to guide you to the next Tee. Probably needs little more of the underbrush cleared out.
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Gateway it was so over grown with briers and thorns and if you threw into the rough you risked getting all tangled up. The course is now fun to play we'll definatly play this coursre again. If you played the course before the up grades last summer and you thought it sucked, give it another chance I think you'll be pleased

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/26/2013   1/26/2013
Review By: ThXinc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Landscaping is making some great progress....some nice lines starting to develop.
Cons: Next tee markings after the front 9 are kinda confusing...there are some markings with paint on the trails, but some added signage would take this course to the next level.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! Difficult, but I like the challenge....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: Chase barrett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight long 350 foot shots for lay up shot to the baskets on some par 4's was nice for a change. Really liked 18 being a par 4 ,was a free stroke for me this time overall I think the basket placements were pretty challenging.
Cons: Tee signs could use a direction path on them. Playing for the first time was a little tricky finding 10 and 17. Will need lots of trimming before summer.. Hope the progress continues.
Other Thoughts: Overall I gave it a good rating because of the placements and well thought out flight possibilitys.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 got a bad rap

2-4    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome, challenging, wooded fairways
-legit par 4's and 5's
-multi-throw holes with necessary landing zones
-nice concrete pads, some are a bit short though
-discatchers easy to see in the woods and in good condition
-double loop design
-tee signs are there but new signs are needed
-lots of really challenging shots
-great variety of distances
-water danger on 13 & 14
-lots of subtle elevation changes in the fairways
-well-balanced between lefty and righty shots
-a few open shots are a relief from the thick woods
-colored spokes on the baskets indicating direction to next tee
-plenty of parking, restrooms, sport fields, etc
Cons: -navigation is tough the first time, bring the map here on the site; there was a map at the kiosk but right now it is all faded and basically gone.
-many stumps and brush along the fairways, the condition is much improved after the summer 2012 renovations but there are still areas with heavy underbrush and stumps that need to be ground.
-the signage is fairly inadequate, there are posts with the hole number and par but with lots of blind, wooded fairways this place needs better signs. a few well-placed next tee signs would be very helpful too, particularly at the 2-3/4-5 trail intersection and after 14 and 16.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with shady beginnings. It's nickname, "The Privy" was well-earned but it's starting to apply less and less. There was a huge amount of work put into the course in Summer 2012 clearing out fairways, trimming trees and brush, lining trails with branches, etc. It is in much better shape now and smells considerably less bad than it used to.

This par 62 beast is very challenging with only two open fairways and two more that play into or out of the woods. The latter two are tough, long, multi-throw holes with landing zones you'll want to hit. There are many other holes like this where accuracy is key but distance is still a factor. These are balanced by a number of shorter, deuce-able holes but none of them are easy!

The Trinity River comes into play behind 13's basket and along the right side of 14's fairway. There are lots of mounds and minor but sudden changes of elevation in many fairways. There is also a great balance of lefty and righty holes and various S shapes and doglegs.

This course is a great challenge for the advanced player or intermediate players that like a little abuse. Probably too frustrating for beginners as the fairways require a good bit of accuracy. I thought the fun factor was great with lots of exciting tee shots and holes that I really want to play again immediately. 3, 5, 7, & 16 are awesome long holes and 8, 9, 13, & 15 are great shorter holes, with 15 being a particularly fun ace run.

The amount of work put into this course recently has really made it a much more enjoyable experience. Much thanks to those that helped. Probably the most challenging wooded holes in the metroplex behind the Lester Lorch courses. Not my favorite course in the area but definitely worth checking out if you are into difficult wooded courses.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  SO GOOD

2-4    11/10/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: ButtermilkJenkins
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Not too simple. Not too tough.
- All 18 holes give you a great opportunity to work on all different kinds of shots.
- Large concrete tee pads.
- The adventure!
Cons: - Heads up for cut down trees and random tree stumps! They'll trip you up if you're not paying attention.
- Navigating around the course your first time may be a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: From what I've been told, this course has very recently had a TON of work put into it as far as cleaning up goes. Last time I played it, I loved every second of it. Play this bad boy!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Golf with discs

1    9/2/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: True golf! Not just drive and putt. The multiple shot holes are true par 5's and 4's. Tournament friendly now that it has been cleaned up.

Cons: Gold boxes are not in yet. As it plays now (par 62) to shoot even is a 960-970 rated round, so it is a blue level course. Need gold boxes on a few of the 4's and 5's to make it gold level.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.