Disc Golf Store
Fort Worth, TX
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
got a bad rap

2-4    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome, challenging, wooded fairways
-legit par 4's and 5's
-multi-throw holes with necessary landing zones
-nice concrete pads, some are a bit short though
-discatchers easy to see in the woods and in good condition
-double loop design
-tee signs are there but new signs are needed
-lots of really challenging shots
-great variety of distances
-water danger on 13 & 14
-lots of subtle elevation changes in the fairways
-well-balanced between lefty and righty shots
-a few open shots are a relief from the thick woods
-colored spokes on the baskets indicating direction to next tee
-plenty of parking, restrooms, sport fields, etc
Cons: -navigation is tough the first time, bring the map here on the site; there was a map at the kiosk but right now it is all faded and basically gone.
-many stumps and brush along the fairways, the condition is much improved after the summer 2012 renovations but there are still areas with heavy underbrush and stumps that need to be ground.
-the signage is fairly inadequate, there are posts with the hole number and par but with lots of blind, wooded fairways this place needs better signs. a few well-placed next tee signs would be very helpful too, particularly at the 2-3/4-5 trail intersection and after 14 and 16.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with shady beginnings. It's nickname, "The Privy" was well-earned but it's starting to apply less and less. There was a huge amount of work put into the course in Summer 2012 clearing out fairways, trimming trees and brush, lining trails with branches, etc. It is in much better shape now and smells considerably less bad than it used to.

This par 62 beast is very challenging with only two open fairways and two more that play into or out of the woods. The latter two are tough, long, multi-throw holes with landing zones you'll want to hit. There are many other holes like this where accuracy is key but distance is still a factor. These are balanced by a number of shorter, deuce-able holes but none of them are easy!

The Trinity River comes into play behind 13's basket and along the right side of 14's fairway. There are lots of mounds and minor but sudden changes of elevation in many fairways. There is also a great balance of lefty and righty holes and various S shapes and doglegs.

This course is a great challenge for the advanced player or intermediate players that like a little abuse. Probably too frustrating for beginners as the fairways require a good bit of accuracy. I thought the fun factor was great with lots of exciting tee shots and holes that I really want to play again immediately. 3, 5, 7, & 16 are awesome long holes and 8, 9, 13, & 15 are great shorter holes, with 15 being a particularly fun ace run.

The amount of work put into this course recently has really made it a much more enjoyable experience. Much thanks to those that helped. Probably the most challenging wooded holes in the metroplex behind the Lester Lorch courses. Not my favorite course in the area but definitely worth checking out if you are into difficult wooded courses.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 SO GOOD

2-4    11/10/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: ButtermilkJenkins
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Not too simple. Not too tough.
- All 18 holes give you a great opportunity to work on all different kinds of shots.
- Large concrete tee pads.
- The adventure!
Cons: - Heads up for cut down trees and random tree stumps! They'll trip you up if you're not paying attention.
- Navigating around the course your first time may be a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: From what I've been told, this course has very recently had a TON of work put into it as far as cleaning up goes. Last time I played it, I loved every second of it. Play this bad boy!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Golf with discs

1    9/2/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: True golf! Not just drive and putt. The multiple shot holes are true par 5's and 4's. Tournament friendly now that it has been cleaned up.

Cons: Gold boxes are not in yet. As it plays now (par 62) to shoot even is a 960-970 rated round, so it is a blue level course. Need gold boxes on a few of the 4's and 5's to make it gold level.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Mental Mastering of Gateway

5+    8/8/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: BigE
Played: 100  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has since the first Hangover Classic been my favorite course in the Metroplex. I know at times this course has been rough. I have seen past all of that and really enjoyed everything about this park (except some of the patrons) with all of the shots needed to score well out there. Shout out to Brandon and everyone else that has put in tons of non payed hours to make this course shine. The course has a feeling that you are all alone but it is one exit away from downtown Fort Worth. Did I mention that this course requires a wide selection of shots. This is the reason I have learned the forhand because you cant always score well with a backhand out here. Another aspect I really enjoy that is rare in the Metro is long wooded hole and wooded to open holes. Most holes have multiple routes to take. The locals have done a ton of clearing and plan on more to showcase what this course is under some of the overgrowth! This course is a mental test on every hole that has left me blown away when it gets the best of me. Mental focus is key to manage this course.
Cons: Bugs can be bad during the summer months because of the standing water on a couple of holes There are some creepy people that park in the parking lot that are not disc golfers but are there for ANOTHER REASON. Use the Buddy system. The more action the course has the less people like this will hang around. They need Tee Signs. There is a bad smell on hole seven once in a while, but its not the hole course.
Other Thoughts: Every time I come out there are more locals playing it. I think over time the more course play this park gets the more the overfriendly patrons will start to find another park to hug at. The Media Picture are not current so dont go by those as thing are way diffrent at the present as far a fairway conditions!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gateway

2-4    3/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. You will use almost every shot in your bag on this course. Great mix of wooded/open shots and some elevation change as well.
Cons: Unfortunately I tend to feel that the cons tend to outweigh the pros on this course.
- It is not well kept up, so it is rough, unkept ground in most places.
-Pretty overgrown & some areas are very densely wooded leading to at least a few lost discs.
-I actually know of two different people who were jumped and pretty savagely beaten in this park (both were biking, not disc golfing) - I think the city has done a pretty decent job cleaning up the park since this happened so its probably less of an issue now. But its still is not in the best of neighborhoods (Just don't pay this course by yourself).
Other Thoughts: This is a well designed course. I wish it would have a little better upkeep, and that the park would feel a little safer.

***Update*** I have yet to return to the course but I understand that the Funkytown Flyers have put in a significant amount of work in improving this course. Including but not limited to scraping fairways and trimming brush. So my previous statements regarding the state of upkeep of the course may no longer be accurate. Thanks to the Funkytown Flyers for the hard work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

work in progress

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete tees (backwards)
*going to need alot of shots,
*mostly wooded so shot selection is must, not just a chunk and go course
*nice baskets
*didnt feel like i was in downtown, very outdoorsey feel
*trees make for good coverage from 100 degree days maybe only 2 or 3 open holes
*upper level course play-the most challenge i have had in awhile
*no real easy holes
*good use of land, but be ready to walk
*good use of left hooks and right hooks
Cons: *signage,
*not easy to navigate first time, as a few holes had to be "found"/map on site is off scale a bitalot of blind shots and walking around like a lost puppy looking for next tee (total game time was almost 3 hrs for us today, i feel we took 45 mins just looking for tees today)
*shared mt bike trails,so watch out for them
*can be a disc eater (several areas are densly wooded)
*can be a bit trashy around some tees
*stay in the fairway or your legs will pay the price (thorns, etc)
*hole 5 to 6 had awful smells, only time ever noticed
*is a public city park, so all sorts of people are there (even the undesirables, but there is enough other people there to keep in check, i would suggest playing in atleast pairs)
Other Thoughts: I know ive been hard with the cons, but i still give it a 3.5 because its a fun challenge, its not going to take much to make this possible one of the upper level courses in dfw, i amost want to say it felt like a more complex yet less contained cedar hills course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 MUCH IMPROVED

5+    6/27/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Beezy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: wow.. what can i say. the type of course that makes you a better player. tight lines. punishes left handed and right handed players equally.
Cons: not enough people show up to play one of the most challenging courses in the metroplex. need signs to show where the next hole is for people who don't plkay the course much. random folks popping out in the course from nowhere can be a bit disconcerting.
Other Thoughts: the guys who cleaned up the course did an awesome job.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the rough?

5+    7/3/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: JFink2011
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Hole Design
- Technical (Rare in this area)
- Shot Selection (Whole bag needed)
- Tee Pads (Concrete is always good)
- Baskets (Innova DISCatcher Pro)
- Improves Your Game
Cons: - People (Getting better the more people play it)
- Way-finding (Long distances between holes)
- Mosquitoes (Due to standing water)
Other Thoughts: This is something special. If you're from around here, then you often hear people talk about how great Cedar Hill is... well this course is right up there with those courses.

This is a championship caliber course.

I'm so stoked that this course got the overhaul it needed! Thanks guys!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Descent, tough course

1    2/18/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tough. Lots of different shots. You need a big arm AND touch on some of these holes. I think it's a good use of the crap land that's over there. You get right into the woods on the first hole and it's not too bad back there. Course has a lot of potential
Cons: Not well taken care of. Long grass in the fairways, but not unmanageable. It does smell. There are horse hoof tracks, so it must be patrolled often for god knows what.
Other Thoughts: I think this course gets a bad rap. It could be better taken care of, and there are a couple of huge river views that are filthy, that I think would be an awesome addition to the area if it were just cleaned up. It is hard. If your there on sunday, a taco truck shows up for the soccer games. Do yourself a favor and grab you a burrito. They're awesome

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging

1    1/15/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads (about half are put in backwards)
-Very nice disc catchers
-holes marked with distance and par
-Very scenic
-Trash cans at almost every hole
-nice size parking lot at the start of 1 and the end of 18
Cons: -Difficult course to play
-Lots of thorns and fallen trees
-needs to be cleaned out
-Smelled pretty bad
-Course was not signed very well, at least on the aspect of where the next tee was, got lost on multiple occasions
-lots of paths that just lead to nowhere in particular
Other Thoughts: Ran into a lot of strange people in this park. Saw a guy playing his saxophone and also what looked like a homeless man sitting under a basket. Would recommend bringing a map, some long pants and tough shoes. The underbrush is pretty brutal and there are a lot of fallen trees. I would not recommend going to this course after it has rained b/c it sits on a flood plain. This course will test every shot that you have so get ready to use everything. Not beginner friendly but will make you a better player. Kinda wish that i got to throw over the trinity river, b/c that would have been pretty cool

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.