Fort Worth, TX 
Gateway Park - West Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #13 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Descent, tough course

1    2/18/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tough. Lots of different shots. You need a big arm AND touch on some of these holes. I think it's a good use of the crap land that's over there. You get right into the woods on the first hole and it's not too bad back there. Course has a lot of potential
Cons: Not well taken care of. Long grass in the fairways, but not unmanageable. It does smell. There are horse hoof tracks, so it must be patrolled often for god knows what.
Other Thoughts: I think this course gets a bad rap. It could be better taken care of, and there are a couple of huge river views that are filthy, that I think would be an awesome addition to the area if it were just cleaned up. It is hard. If your there on sunday, a taco truck shows up for the soccer games. Do yourself a favor and grab you a burrito. They're awesome

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging

1    1/15/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads (about half are put in backwards)
-Very nice disc catchers
-holes marked with distance and par
-Very scenic
-Trash cans at almost every hole
-nice size parking lot at the start of 1 and the end of 18
Cons: -Difficult course to play
-Lots of thorns and fallen trees
-needs to be cleaned out
-Smelled pretty bad
-Course was not signed very well, at least on the aspect of where the next tee was, got lost on multiple occasions
-lots of paths that just lead to nowhere in particular
Other Thoughts: Ran into a lot of strange people in this park. Saw a guy playing his saxophone and also what looked like a homeless man sitting under a basket. Would recommend bringing a map, some long pants and tough shoes. The underbrush is pretty brutal and there are a lot of fallen trees. I would not recommend going to this course after it has rained b/c it sits on a flood plain. This course will test every shot that you have so get ready to use everything. Not beginner friendly but will make you a better player. Kinda wish that i got to throw over the trinity river, b/c that would have been pretty cool

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This course is FUN!

1    11/5/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DisCatchers, concrete tees and lots of fun factor. This course has a little bit of everything and only favors the player that can throw with accuracy. You will have to use every shot you have playing a single round on this course. Lots of risk/reward throughout. You will be humbled, but so will your opponents. If you and your friends are evenly matched, this course will separate you on the score sheet. Did I mention that it's fun to play?
Cons: This place needs some signs. Navigation is tough. The front nine has been played a lot more, so it's a lot better than the back. There isn't very much in the way of elevation changes. This course needs to be played often by a lot of people. The back nine needs to be beat in to speed up play. We spent a little too much time looking for discs. I'd think that this isn't the course to play after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is playable right now (November). Go play this course this winter and beat it in. The wind isn't a factor on most of the holes giving cover in the winter. If this course wasn't 45 miles from my house, I'd play it all the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very UNDERrated!

1    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course with tons of upside and potential. Nice discatchers which always rank high with me. Concrete tees even though they are installed backwards. You will need every shot in your bag to score well here and a little luck here and there wont hurt either. There are some open holes to test your arm and allow you to bomb shots and then there are alot of tight shots that test your accuracy. There are also alot of short shots that allow you to get your bird with a well placed shot but can turn into a bogey if not worse for a shot that doesnt make it. The fairways are pretty righty/lefty friendly as there is a good mix of holes for both players. Nobody out there at all, so you have the place to yourself and it allows you to throw multiple shots if you like. I love the technical aspect of this course because you cant get away with a bad shot. You get what you deserve and it makes you work for that bird and even that par for the most of the course.
Cons: Navigation is a nightmare if you dont have a map and even then its difficult at times. Very overgrown in places making it hard to find shots and baskets at times. Even some of the fairways are overgrown not making for much fun. As stated before the layout isnt that great, there are many long walks between holes. Lots of trash all over the place, dont know if trashcans would help but maybe it would be a start. The underbrush is horrible. Watch out behind hole 13 for the river, any shot that stays straight and has any power on it will be in the Trinity. Not for the faint of heart.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! If there were some upkeep here this course would rank higher then it already does in my book. A little TLC and this course would be the talk of the town. If you like short courses or those where you can shoot 54, this isnt the place for you either. Watch all shots because even if you think you know where it is, the underbrush will get it. This is a killer course and I will be back for sure even though there are alot of downsides.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 challenging

5+    10/1/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Lesson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very difficult will improve your game
-long holes to work on your distance
-not begginer friendly
-hardest course ive played so far its alot of fun
-tight lines to work on accuracy
-plenty of shade through most of the course so hot days are not too bad
-baskets are in good shape
-challenges you to use lots of different shots
-there is multiple lines to choose from but they are very difficult to hit
Cons: -so thick and un kept up with
-not begginer friendly
-very easy to get frustrated playing here
-if you get off the fairway it can easily cost you multiple strokes or a lost disc
-sometimes a good looking shot can take you some time to find the disc
-lots of briars and thorns to get caught up in or scratched from
-gay people get together near the course and you have to play a couple holes with them at your back
Other Thoughts: overall a great course. without the gays and briars i would rate it higher. plus when it rains and we are not in a drought the course gets overgrown. at the moment its a great place to play. will sharpen your game for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible

1    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: mtlknee3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 1) Nothing
Cons: 1) Weird men patrol this park. I don't know what they are up to, but I saw the same 3-4 guys strolling around the park in their cars the entire time I threw this course. Very creepy.

2) Course is not kept up at all. No definitive fairways out of bounds, nothing.

3) It seems like you get out of woods just to go back into the woods repeatedly

4) Did I mention the creepiness of weird guys strolling this course!!! VERY CREEPY!!!!
Other Thoughts: Course has potential to be a fun course to throw. But until I hear that the strolling people have been cleared out, I'll never return to this course. Cut down all the 4ft stumps and clear out a definitive fairway.

I've played this course once and I was in fear of my safety the entire time!!!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Super Great, not for the novice

1    3/5/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course will make you a better player. Its a big arm technical course. Awesome baskets, great scenery, and very helpful signs to other holes.
**Trails between holes are very noticeable and very well kept**
Not a crowded park at all.
Cons: The distance between holes can get kind of long.
Other Thoughts: My over all opnion is I'm not sure why people don't like this course other than they cant shoot under at it. Its a course that will develop if more people would play it. Lines would open up and such.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  horrid course

1    8/20/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: ianthrax
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Incredibly challenging for those who have absolute control of the disc.
Cons: There are no trails between the tee and the basket on most shots. Even if you throw a good shot, expect to search for your disc. even if you make it to the basket on your first throw you will trek through knee to waist high brush and thorn bushes to get to it.
Other Thoughts: Maybe if enough people played the course to get the brush down it would be playable-nice baskets/tees simply unkept for what looks like years. bring a map for sure.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 gateway to hell

1    7/7/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: tobyzelt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: on the very small good side, the course requires you to use your entire arsenal of shots.
Cons: the course is horribly kept. there are no fairways and half the time you have to search for your disc even after a good tee shot
Other Thoughts: suck a$$

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Smells like a toilet

2-4    7/1/2009   4/29/2010
Review By: jtizzle2121
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: has a few long holes that are fun to unleash some distance on once your out of the smelly forrest
Cons: extremely full of trees. Smells like a toilet but then again it is Haltom City. if playing during the warmer months bring insect repellant cuz the mosquitos are terrible(probably cuz the poop smell)

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.