Hamilton, OH 
Fairfield Township Community DGC Share



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Early Spring 2014

1    3/25/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: JackRay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked course. Fairly short, but requires good throwing.
Cons: Course is being cleaned. Brush cut, nad branches down along the sides of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Will be more fun when the clean-up is finished. Haven't seen it yet with the leaves out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shape Shifter

1    8/24/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Good course to work on shaping your throws left and right. Nice and tight. Mostly in the shade and no wind for the most part. Nice practice area.
Cons: Couple spots where hole cross each other can get confusing. Few spots with thorny brush (wear pants).
Other Thoughts: This is my first week playing disc golf and this is the second time out but first on this course. Tight fairways a little scary at first but a welcoming challenge. Shot par or better on this 9 hole and in my mind you are a superstar.

9 Holes

1    8/10/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent 9 hole course, with a great, creative landscaping job done in the woods.
Cons: You only exit into the field once, then back into the woods, may be a problem for some, but theres a lot of space in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Very well taken care of 9 hole course, located in the woods.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Are you in control…enough?

2-4    7/11/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very tight and technical nine hole course tucked into the woods behind a pair of good quality ball fields behind a school, this course might be a great place for a left hander with good line shaping control to get even with his right handed power throwing buddies. Likewise a forehand (rhfh) player could do well here, if you're accurate.
To find the course, walk past the concession stand, between the ball fields, and look to your left for the practice basket. From the practice basket, look to the bushes and turn left inside the gap for the first tee. The flow of the course mostly makes sense, with a couple of exceptions (see below).
Except for two holes (the short #8, and the long, arcing #9) all the distances range between 200 and 273 feet, and force controlled left and right shots.
Each of the nine holes here has a decent sized concrete tee pad and a modernistic sign (the kind I like, stamped pvc, to discourage tagging and defacement).
Cons: The terrain did not lend itself to changes in elevation or interesting views. It's kind of like working your way through a hedge row maze. But the worst part is that the rough (sometimes only ten feet on either side of the line to the basket) is really thick and unforgiving. I know a dedicated disc golfer who has tried from time to time to gain control of the underbrush, the thorns, and the poison ivy, but it seems the parks department only takes care of mowing the fairways here.
Some of the tees have the leftover concrete piled right in front, so follow through becomes hazardous. Fortunately (but also sadly) there are no holes that require much of a run-up.
The path from the 1st basket to the 2nd tee crosses the blind, hyzering 9th fairway.
The 5th hole requires some alteration to the rules of physics if you want to park your drive. It's a hook shot to the extreme left, almost like a U-turn.
Unless you play it as a mando, on #8, using the direct line walking path to the next basket makes a deuce possible. But that means the best line to the basket is where the group in front of you needs to walk.
I think the most important thing to know, if you want to play here, is that when the foliage is on the bushes and trees, most of your errant shots will result in prolonged disc searches.
Other Thoughts: If you've got amazing control of your mids and putters, this could be an enjoyable little course.
The DGCR web site needs a map and some good pictures (possibly taken after the leaves fall?) linked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 VERY Technical

1    4/13/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Shex44
Played: 71  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and directions to the next hole. Really tight fairways. Very challenging, and I can see why others have given it a bad rating. I thought I was going to a short easy 9 hole course. It is anything but. Only one hole over 300 feet and only one hole is consistently duecable. That is how tight this course is. Only threw one driver on 9. I think it was hole 8, has two ways to get to the pin. One is a really short hyzer for RHBH, and the other way is down a narrow path directly at the pin. When I say narrow, I mean I could stand in the middle and touch both sides. It also has to be low, no more than 7 feet off the ground. I went there when there is no leaves on the trees! When there is leaves it will be nearly impossible.
Cons: Just as tight is a pro, it is also a con. You have to be ridiculously accurate. The trees are what me and my friends call "snaggeling" trees. You can't go through them, you have to go around. Thousands of little branches instead of ten big limbs. Only one tee pad allows you to get any height, Hole 4 or 5. Every other tee has overhanging branches. Also there was a huge tree blocking #9 fairway. I imagine it will be removed, but makes a tough day ever harder.
Other Thoughts: This is a 9 hole community course that has no length whatsoever, and it will kick your butt. Don't go there without your A game. Mids and putters all day. I loved it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The worst new course I've ever played

1    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's far away from me and thus stays out of sight and out of mind
Cons: No logical disc lines, a waste of good concrete and baskets, don't ever come to this course, play frolf before you come here.
Other Thoughts: Who ever designed this course should be banned from building courses in the future. It is a scar upon the land.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A little rough

1    9/10/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through tight woods with thick punishing rough. Set in a wooded corner of a neighborhood park, there is no interference from non-disc golfers here. The holes are tight and technical and call for accurate shots. If you miss your line, the rough will almost certainly cost you a stroke.

There are some different hole shapes here, you'll need to throw left and right turning shots to score well. There are decent concrete tees that are plenty large enough for the length of the holes here. The signs are basic, but plenty informative to be able to follow the course and know where to throw. Next tee signs are also in place where necessary, as well as a sign warning you when you cross a fairway walking between holes. The baskets are pretty new, and catch great.
Cons: The layout is pretty funky here, with some odd walks including one that crosses another fairway, adding a little bit of a safety concern as well. The course still needs some work, with dead branches and brush on many of the fairways, and some silly lines that need a little more clearing to be decent holes. The rough is very thick and tends to eat discs, along with being filled with thorns waiting to draw some blood. The long walks to the course and back to the parking lot are a little annoying, you'd never know a course was in the park with how hidden away it is.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that still needs some work to really feel finished. It's still a little rough and has some room for improvement. There are some decent holes here, but there are also some silly ones. Beginners won't find it to long, but they might be frustrated by the thickness of the rough and how tight many of the holes are. More experienced players will need to bring an accurate short game, but won't really be tested here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Fairly Enjoyable Course

5+    10/5/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Sport351
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice basket just outside of the woods
-Tees are well marked with concrete pads
-Holes are varied
-Quite a technical challenge
Cons: -Very dense rough, you are almost assured to have to dig a disc out of a bush
-Frustrating if you need to improve your control due to the tight and twisting fairways
Other Thoughts: This course was the first I've played on, and as a novice it was really difficult, but fun nonetheless. Not a course I'd travel a while to get to, but if you're in the area it's worth checking out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 From a beginner's view

1    6/18/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: kbrandonbaumann
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A practice basket is at the beginning of the course to warm up and practice a few putts. The course is small and clearly laid out with nice signs (except for hole two... its sign was missing).
Cons: Very narrow fairways skirted by thorny trees (locust) and dense brush (which includes more thorny species). In other words unless you are absolutely amazing and have a perfect control over your disc your going to get stuck. This course was a bit frustrating as a beginner due to the precision required to make it from the tee to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Please know this review is written from a beginners stand point. Large mulch piles were located at hole 9. Possibly more work to be done on this course. Since I only live 2 miles away, I hope they continue to improve the design of this course. My vote would be to let men loose with some bush hogs, weedwackers, and chainsaws. :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Milikin/Morris DGC

5+    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: one5one3
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In my opinion, this is a very fun course. There are tons of technical shots, and can be a mid-level challenge due to the amount of foliage. The baskets, tee pads, and signs are all in perfect shape. Tons of shade, and a nearby playground for kids, and a baseball diamond.
Cons: The course is fairly new, so the brush can get overwhelming, and you could lose your disc a bit easy. If it has rained recently, the course is a complete mud pudde, but otherwise is fine. Also: BEWARE of the thorns....they are everywhere on this course.
Other Thoughts: Do Not park in the schools parking lot! They will tow you! Instead, park just near the playground equipment next door to the School.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.