McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #8 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Tee: A pin shown across creek, B pin to the right.



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good challenge on flat ground

1    4/12/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with sweet dual concrete tees and pads to scrape off mud. Multiple pins. Good mix of shots around the creek and varied distances. Tee signs were ok and navigation wasn't too bad first time here. Nice course map by hole 1's tee by parking lot. Good use of risk vs reward on some holes.
Cons: Mud which seems typical with the area courses. High potential for disc lost due to rough and creek. Lots of poison ivy and mosquitoes. I image moccasins are prevalent around the creek bed.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly secluded from the park. There were some people on hole 2 and 18 but not a big deal. I ran into a couple nice locals that helped me find a lost disc in the rough on hole 13. I lost a couple discs here in the creek. No way I was going after them and not sure I really could get to them. I didn't realize the water extended past the first row of trees on hole 16. The poison ivy was pretty bad in some of the rough.

Towne Lake definitely provides some good challenge and variety of shots. However with the course being so flat it's hard to get that excited about it and didn't have a whole lot of fun factor. This is not really a fault or con due the available terrain, but just a personal preference of mine. Perhaps if I was a local DFW player I'd appreciate the course a little more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/21/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good long hole course. Lots of trees and great signage. It is very easy to find every hole and the flow takes you back to where you start. Everything is maintained very well.
Cons: in the summer the grass gets a bit high and there are snakes out there. A few holes seem like they were just placed out in a pasture with no real reason. But the other holes make up for that. Last time I played there was a drunk in a wet suit wadding in the creek, getting discs. So don't expect to get your discs back unless you go get them yourselves.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun to play in a group.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sometimes the course plays you

1    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: rielpicon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wonderful shade, great baskets and tees. Risk-Reward balanced well. Enjoyed it even though I played the worst round ever.
Cons: Can be maddening beginners. Very long through thick tall trees. Low ceiling drives down tight fairways often end up in creeks and brushes.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling that I'll be confounded by this course for quite some time which earns it my respect

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Luv that #16-Blue!

1    6/11/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of "D" from the Blue tees.
Well maintained course.
Lots of trees & lots of shade, and wind had little affect on most holes.
Nice mix of shots (open & technical).
Excellent signage and easy to follow.
Multiple tees are excellent!
Cons: The shorter holes were a bit of surprise.
Mostly flat - needs better use of what elevation change there is.
Some distances on the Blue tees seemed a little off.
Other Thoughts: As a tourist-golfer, I don't often replay a course, usually opting to play a new course, but I will make it a point to play this one again and hopefully be able to play a tournament at this course. I really liked the tee shot from #16-Blue - over the trees big and a hard move left to set up a big anhyzer approach to the basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/10/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Fore4
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good course. wide open shots to wooded shots. the creek keeps you in check.
Cons: could use more trash cans. WATCH YOUR STEP! course is new so there are quite a few stumps to trip on. lots of thorns in the bushes. only a couple holes with elevation change.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Echelon Discin'

5+    1/31/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of fairways to travel, holes 2,12,15 an 16 really cool. Love to play the course in the long to long position in the future.Water mostly only mildly in play.Not alot of skip/roll on most fairways here,other then the foot traffic that leaves noticeable tracks, the thick creekside brush beneficial to keeping discs where they land and not rolling horribly too far. Course flows very well the Huge Map of the course a great touch anyway.
Cons: One week the creek was a babbling brook easy to retrieve discs days later it was a raging river,locals must have feasts off of the plastic comin outta there.MOW THIS COURSE,grass tall enough to take some of the fun outta your game.Holes 2 thru 8 all have water dangers except six.In high winds don't play hole 8 long when the water is up with a valued disc unless its a floater or you really think your that consistent keeping your disc straight enough over a creek.I was in the water searching for my lost one and three other people playing nearby all had lost one on this hole.There is nowhere to cop a squat and rest here except the tables near hole 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts: Summertime should be heaven here with the canopy of trees keeping that Texas sun off of you in my top five DFW courses.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bias

5+    1/25/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land with 2 creeks running through almost every hole. It will be a great course in the Texas heat with all the shade. Tee signs face the last basket to help navigation.
Cons: If you can't throw straight - you're screwed!
Other Thoughts: Read Rusty's review!!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.