McKinney, TX
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #8 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Towne Lake Review

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: eloveless
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good signs to show you the hole layout.
Most holes are shaded.
Challenging, but not to the point were you are frustrated as a beginner.
Cons: You don't know if the baskets are in pin A or pin B. You have to scope out the basket before teeing off sometimes because of this.
Creek is very DEEP down.
SNAKES
Other Thoughts: This was my first time to play this course. I have been playing dg for about 6 months or so. I thought this course was hard, but not to the point were you want to quit. Course makes you use shots you are not use to. Good mixtures of short/long holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good lines, bad mud

1    4/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large wooded area with little interference from other park activities. A handful of holes play relatively open, most with some good distance and areas of brush to stay out of. The rest of the course plays through tall trees with limited underbrush. There are lots of different lines to hit, mostly with trees rather than brush to contend with if you miss your line.

The creek comes into play on a bunch of shots, it'll definitely punish you for missing your landing zone with an ob shot or at least a tricky lie trying to get out of the deep creek bed. The distance variety is nice here, some ace runs and some long shots that still make you hit a gap or landing zone.

Dual large concrete tees are nice, all are plenty big and grippy. At least half of the holes offer pretty different lines from the two tees, and most have a decent distance differential. Both sets of tees have fantastic signs with hole layout and distance along with a marker for the next tee. The course map by the parking lot is a nice touch. Dual pin positions change up the layout a little, and up the replay value.
Cons: There are several blind shots or holes where it's tough to tell what position the pin is in from the tee, I'd like to see some way of marking current pin locations so you don't have to walk up the fairway to scout them. The course is very flat, so you don't get any fun elevation shots, and the drainage is pretty poor.

The ground is some of the stickiest mud I've seen, and it seems to stay wet for a while after rain. It felt like I was dragging 10lbs of mud around on each foot after the first couple steps. There are some spots where it's pretty impossible to get down to the creek to retrieve a disc, and when there's much water flowing it can get murky and make it impossible to find a shot that went in the water.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging and interesting course that pairs great with the easier and less punishing course just across the highway. Beginners might find this one a little long, and the creek can be a bit daunting for less accurate players. More experienced throwers will find some nice tests here, and with the variety of two sets of tees and two pin positions (hopefully changed somewhat regularly) you can mix things up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    1/7/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great course holes are not to long but longer than alex p clark just across the highway witch is a great course for beginners .concrete teeboxes & dual pin locations at each hole.
Cons: watch out for the creeks !!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: i must dissagree with the review made by dchirish123
"Pros: Intermidiate level player with 4 years experience. Very demanding and technical. Only a experience golfer should attempt this course. Must have a big arm for most holes and be acurate."
i have only been playing since mid september 2011 much less than the 4 years exp he speaks of & play the course very well donot be discoureged by that review.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chamionship Course

5+    11/26/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gets better everytime I play it. 2 tees for most holes gives this place a fun and challenging look from the shorts and longs. Nice 2 course setup with Alex Clark right across 75. Well maintained, easy to navigate. Championship course.
Cons: Stays muddy for a while after the rain, no big deal though. Poison ivy and snakes. Nothing to be afraid of, just keep your eyes open.
Other Thoughts: Great course, go warm up at Alex Clark, then take your whole game over to town lake.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course!

5+    9/10/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual concrete tees, great signage
-dual pin positions and baskets in good condition
-mud matts at each tee, needed on this course!
-lots of great holes, variety of distance and terrain
-lots of hole shapes but the premium is on accuracy and straight shots that stay in the fairway
-ranges from wooded tunnels to semi-open bombs
-most holes have trees, all have punishing rough off the fairway
-creek winds through course, in play on several holes
-practice basket, course map, plenty of parking
-huge park with other amenities
-close to I-75, across the highway from Alex Clark
Cons: -course gets flooded and boggy after a rain
-flat, little elevation, welcome to texas
-a few places in the creek are pretty inaccessible if you toss a disc in
-can get repetitive in the middle section of the course
-rough is rough
-poison ivy
Other Thoughts: This is a great tournament level course only a mile from McKinney's other course, Alex Clark Memorial. It is uses the land available well throughout the mostly wooded terrain. There is a good variety of distances but a fairly uniform density of trees throughout. Most holes have a well-defined, semi-open fairway framed with heavy woods. Lots of tunnel-like shots and many right leaning fairways.

The dual tees and pin positions up the replay value here and the signs are the excellent Houck ones with the detailed maps. The navigation is pretty simple and there is a good course flow but the holes get a little repetitious in the middle of the course.

I really enjoy playing here during the summer. The woods provide great shade from the sun and heat and the course is usually dry. The wet season is problematic as the course is flat and right next to a large creek. It floods easily and stays boggy for a long time.

Definitely one of the best courses on the east side of the metroplex. McKinney has a great local scene and it is obvious that the course is well cared for. Lots of minis, great players around, and the local club presence is visible.

A great course to pair with Alex Clark for a day of discing. I like to warm up at AC since it's an older, shorter course, then hit Town Lake. Definitely worth checking out and a great option for your weekly if you're in the north Dallas area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/6/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: NerdlyPeabody
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well planned out course, great signage, lots of shade, rarely crowded. multiple tees that make sense, vaiety of shots.
Cons: Lots of trees equals lots of disc dings for me. The creek can be very deep and fast moving depending on recent weather and you see it a lot in this course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely my favorite in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Among DFW's best

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: i_throw_bricks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging enough to hone your skills without being too frustrating for beginners.
-Beautiful, wooded course with lots of shade.
-Trash cans conveniently placed throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Best signage of any course I have played so far, including arrows on the map pointing you to the next tee.
-Wide variety of shots. Most holes finish right, so it does force you to dig into your shot selection a little more if you are RHBH.
-Well-maintained when I played it.
-Two tee pads on most holes adds variety and additional challenge.
Cons: -The creek. Thought it adds something asthetically, its banks are very steep and they are soft dirt, so climbing back up them after retrieving a disc is a chore.
-Too many short holes. I like easy pars and birdies as much as the next guy, but no course should have more than one hole under 200 feet in my opinion and this one has one hole that is 170 feet and two that are barely over 200.
-On most holes, the "long" tee pad is only a few feet from the "short" tee pad. While they have slightly more challenging lines, there could be more difference on some of them.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for players of any skill level. It is particularly strong for players who are looking to refine their finesse game. It's scenic and shaded, which is a big bonus in the Texas heat. All in all this course is top 2 in DFW.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The Best In Dallas!

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and challenging course from the beginning to the end. There is great variety of short and long shots with well defined fairways. Trees are a big factor when playing here adding great challenge to each hole and keeping most of the course in the shade. There are plenty of bomber holes and still a few chances to get some birdies or Aces. There are multiple concrete tee pads for different skill levels that are just the right size to get a good run up. The signs are really nice, providing you with all the hole information and and also directing you to the next tee.There are different pin locations on all holes and a creek does come into play adding a great challenge to some holes. This park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans throughout most of the course. This is a really clean course, I didn't see any trash at all when I played here. You can really tell that the locals put a lot of pride in there course. There is a course map at the beginning of the course to check out before you play your round. Navigation on this course is fairly easy, with each hole flowing very well from hole to hole. The course has plenty of parking and restrooms on sight.
Cons: The brush is very thick off the fairway so a good drive is very important. Otherwise it is very easy to loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a top notch course in the Dallas area. This is a must play course if you are in the area. The course is long and tough and is ready to give you a awesome disc golf experience that you have been waiting for. This is a more of a professional course and beginners will be challenged.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Woodedness.

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded feeling wooded course. 2 sets of concrete T-pads per hole, which is rare for a heavily wooded course. Challenging for most golfers while still being fun and not too sadistic, except for the mean ass creek of death and despair. The creek has steep banks and adds risk reward for several shots. Lots of shade and trash cans. Well maintained for a wooded course. Easy to navigate with great T-signs that has an arrow pointing to the next T-pad. A wide variety of trees offer low ceilings and mature trees with no low hanging branches. Friendly squirrels eating tennis balls. I had never seen a tennis ball tree. You figure someone would have mentioned it. Well defined fairways allows for multiple routes on several holes. Friendly locals. Holes 5 and 6 are ace runs with trees to deal with. It is so well maintained, that you will want to play it in full bloom so as to get the full affect of the trees and vegetation as it exist in the design.
Cons: Some of the distances are off from what the sign says. No benches or tables for resting.
Other Thoughts: The locals will appreciate this. I threw into the creek on the 2nd hole. I scaled the steep bank by holding on for dear life and made it to the tire, which is where I took off my socks and shoes and went in. The edge isn't that deep, except for the sink holes. So after the 2nd hole, I had to change socks, shorts and my shirt and had to wipe off mud and blood from my shins. It would have been funny to watch. This course didn't feel like it was 6800 ft., but I didn't measure it or add up the T-signs. A secluded and wooded journey that has plenty of shade and serenity. If you favor wooded courses, then you will most certainly enjoy this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice!

2-4    7/26/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of trees, nice tees, nice baskets, the maintance guys are always busy clearing and keeping up the course. I would like thank McKinney for putting so much effort in making this a great place to play. Not over crowded at all. We have played this course at least once a week for two months so far. There are always changes with the removal of weeds and smaller trees.
Cons: Can be a little muddy directly after a hard rain, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Love it and take new players here weekly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.