Disc Golf Store
McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 182ft.   3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket in "A" position



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Best Course in the Area?

2-4    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is carved out of the McKinney forest. You'll use and need a backhand, side arm and overhand shot to master this impressive 18. Between the constant trees to negotiate and the creek with the 20+ foot drop off following the front nine, you'll need a precision game. If it doesn't break you, this course is sure to make you a better player. The multiple basket locations and concrete tee boxes offer a wonderful variety of looks on each hole. If you have a little skill, this is a "must play" course.
Cons: Very few holes have shots where you thoughtlessly see how far you can throw your disc. The course can become a bit claustrophobic for the "grip it and rip it"/big arm types
Other Thoughts: Bring a "Golden Retriever"....unless you're the Indiana Jones type that doesn't mind a little mud.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It has it all

5+    3/8/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee signs

Two sets of tee BOXES for most holes

2 pin positions for most holes.

GREAT use of land given.

Well defined fairways on every hole.

Just short of a perfect 5 from me.
Cons: Birdie alley

course floods in heavy rain (more than one tournament has been moved/canceled because of the floods)



Other Thoughts: (for all my reviews, I always play the long tees as I do in this review)

This is a GREAT course. I have played it several times over the last year in all types of conditions and have enjoyed it every time.

Get your birdies in birdie alley, you will need them. (holes 4-8)

there are several Par 4 holes that are GREAT holes to play. (#2, #12,#15, #16) These holes more than make up for the short birdie holes in Birdie alley.

I put this as one of the top 5 courses in the DFW area to play. (top 10 in the state) I think it is the best course in the North Dallas area for sure.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT Course!!!

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Has a layout that fits everyone. Some holes are more techical and some are for distance throwers.

2. Having an advance tee and a regular tee makes the course fun for all skill levels.

3. Heavy tree cover on the majority of the couse, makes it fun in the hot summers of TX.

4. Makes good use of the creek that runs along the couse. Its not that bad of a creek, but it is steep.

5. Well maintained, signs are all in place. Distance between pro and regular tees are clearly marked and mostly accurate.
Cons:
1. This course can get some people frustrated if they are beginners. (mainly the trees and creek).

2. Some of the holes the advance tee seems to be an easier shot (even though its further).

3. When its rains, this course can get extremely muddy and the creek is very steep (combine mudd and steep creek and it makes for a fun time getting back up, should you go get your disc).
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I play here often since its not too far from me. I start off at the Alex course then come over here. I have a couple of course I like better than this one but they are a trek for most people.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, technical

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Multiple Tees
-Multiple Hole locations
-Very well kept
-Good mix of technical holes with a few long distance holes
-Shade shade shade
-Creative layout
Cons: -Not very many elevation changes
-A chance to lose a disc on many of the holes
Other Thoughts: I really had a great time playing this course. So much shade, it is a great summer course. Many holes on the front nine flirt with water. I recommend bringing a DX leopard and tee bird or an equivalent because it demands accuracy and not distance. Short holes. You may end up throwing a mid range on many holes. Also, if you are making a trip of it, check out the course down the street first. It would be a good warm-up. This is more challenging

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Summer Course for Serious Players

5+    5/16/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: rkinch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For what is still a new course it is in great shape and and perfect for the hot summer days of North Texas. Given more time and more foot traffic along with continued maintenance the course should only improve with time

- great location
- good mix of hole types
- great tee boxes and baskets
- almost every hole is a challenge
- tons of shade
- very few first timers or massive groups that tend to clog the other McKinney course on the weekends
Cons: Due to the course being so new it is still a little rough in areas and tends to need a little more "clearing out". I strongly suggest at least a small first aid kit w/ snake bite kit.

- To many trees on some of the holes turn it into luck of the draw and far less about skill
- beware of local plant life, a lot of it can leave you itching or bleeding
- beware of local wild life in summer, 5 snakes on my last visit
- beware of creek, in some places getting back out is very difficult
- this is NOT a casual, easy going course like the old McKinney course. While a fun course to play it is much more difficult
Other Thoughts: It is a great course already give time it will only get better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Made Course

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Right off the Highway, but set off far enough that you don't notice it.
+Huge parking lot and easy to locate 1st tee.
+Pro (Blue) and Am (Red) tee boxes.
+Dual pin positions.
+Pins sit on top of concrete blocks. At first I thought this was just a nice aesthetic feature, but I soon realized that when used with the signage you could determine the correct pin placement without guessing. If you see a block with no basket then you know it's in the alternate position.
+From the pro pads, drives over big gaps of water. Very fun.
+Long holes with tight lines.
+Variety of shots, but lots of doglegs to the right. As a RHBH I got forced to shoot a several anhyzers and laser-straight shots.
+Signs and Tee Boxes were perfect.
+Well maintained grounds.
Cons:
-Water hazard is challenging to retrieve discs from. I didn't get one wet, but I saw someone in their underwear that did getting theirs back.
-Course stays muddy well after rain, but it's only intolerable on one hole.
-As a Fort Worth player, it's just too far to get to as much as I'd like to.
Other Thoughts: When the ground dries up we'll go back for sure. I think this is definitely one of the premier courses of DFW. Wouldn't be surprised if I ended up playing a tournament there this year.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Towne Lake Rundown!!!

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -VERY well designed!!!
-Concreter t-pads for inter. and pro...all pads are long and wide giving you ease and freedom of shot angle and run-up...each t-box also has a rubber mat for scraping mud off of your shoes!!!
-Multiple pin position...each pin sits on a small concrete block making pin location easier noticed from box
-Signage is great. Nice large signs with great fairway depiction
-Shot variety (ani's, hyzers, skips, str8, tunnel, downhill, uphill, shorts and longs...it has it all)
-Terrain variety (lots of water hazards, heavily wooded, ups and downs, overs and unders...trees that is)
-True par 4 holes
-Very clean and well kept...lots of trash cans.
-Where there is water, it's very very clear. (if you have a retriever, you won't be losing a disc)
-Little to no traffic
-Hole-to-hole navigation is easy...no map, no problem.. you won't get lost
Cons: -Muddy after a rain (that's disc golf...no biggy)
-Creek does have very steap banks, so a water hazard shot could be difficult to get to without a retriever...X-tra string needed

Other Thoughts: There's really nothing bad to say about this course. In relation to what another viewer mention...this course is almost perfect!!!

Difficuilt course whether playing from the inter. or pro boxes. True test of your game.

This course is loaded with shot variety and terrain variety and is very, very picturesque. I would say my favorite hole was #16.

Though not centered in the metroplex, being in McKinney, this course is a MUST PLAY for sure. Travled 1 hour and 20 min. to get here....and was totally worth the drive.

If traveling to this course, you might think about checking out Alex Clark Memorial as a warm-up course being that it's right across the street and is a, or seems like a really dumbed down version of Towne Lake. If you like North Park, you'll like this course....North Park on a steroid overdose for sure.

Will definately be playing this course again for sure and if you haven't played it, I suggest you do.

FANTASTIC!!!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in DFW

5+    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many factors make Towne Lake one of my favorite courses in DFW.

The facilities and location are premium. Right off a major freeway and a short drive away from the shorter Alex Clark, another great course in my mind. Towne Lake is set in a disc golf specific part of a much larger park that boasts a nice lake with a 1.3 mile walking path, concession stands, paddle boat rentals, baseball fields, playground, volleyball courts and horseshoe pits. A small green-space past the first line of trees off the parking lot provides a nice place away from cars and people to warm up your arm with some controlled shots or a game of catch. The practice basket is nestled in some trees with small undulations giving you the opportunity to practice putting around obstacles and with very minor elevation changes. Benches and a bulletin board are positioned away from the parking lot and other park users give you a nice place to relax before or between rounds.

The course is a good example of a modern design catering to the advanced and pro golfer. The creek in play on many holes gives you a very high risk if you are going for a birdie opportunity but isn't so close that you are forced to bring it into play. The fairways have a nice length to density ratio (long holes are open, short have tight gaps). The "line of attack" to the basket is well defined on most holes with few options available, meaning the line exists but you have to hit it clean. The concrete tees are of my favorite tapered design and are the perfect size so you don't feel cramped on your run-up. All but 5 holes have two tee boxes that do a good job of changing the hole rather than simply adding distance. It seems like every time I start thinking the baskets should move pin positions, it happens. It isn't frequent, but enough to keep it fresh. Some simply add length while most give you a completely different hole to contend with. The par 4 holes require placement as well as good distance off the tee to score well and a 3 truly feels like a birdie. The walk from hole to hole never seems like it is more than necessary. The design incorporated many interesting and beautiful trees making this secluded course enjoyable regardless of your score. The trees offer excellent shade during the blistering Texas summer and stop the wind from being a major factor on the technical holes.

A course can only be so good without a good local group of players. The efforts of the course designers that made it possible. The guys that run weekly minis and PDGA events. The players that make an effort to keep all the trash picked up and the course looking as good as possible. Sitting on a far edge of DFW keeps it from being overcrowded and the difficulty, due in part to the daunting Wilson Creek, keep it from being overcrowded with the more casual players that tend to stick to the Alex Clark.
Cons: SNAKES, be warned, I know of two people who have been bitten by deadly snakes. Mosquitoes, not as bad as some courses, but present all the same.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't too bad after a heavy rain. I've played it frequently sense it opened and it plays nice in all seasons and weather. I waited a while to write this review so I could really get a long term feel from the course.

If you catch a grammatical or spelling error, anything that would make this more readable, please send me a pm.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Shot makers course

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you don't have a big arm, but want a top of the line course... this is it! Every shot is technical. Accuracy is always the premium skill. Even the long holes require accuracy or the price must be paid. If you can control the disc, this is the best course I've played. Very well maintained.
Cons: You don't want to play this course after a rain. I can't stress that enough.
Other Thoughts: IF the maintenance falls off, this course will overgrow very quickly. Until then, enjoy a great shot makers course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Course!

1    6/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Towne Lake DGC is probably my favorite of all the courses I have come across. I can't say enough about the attention to detail that went into this course. The course design includes all of the features of a top tier course. There is an excellent mixture of left and right doglegs, plenty of risk and reward opportunities that make playing this course challenging and fun for many repeat visits, a good variety of wide open and tight wooded fairways as well as some short and some long holes, and a wide assortment of obstacles that require many different technical shots. The tee pads are perfect. They are just the right size and shape and the rubber foot mat is great for wiping off muddy shoes. Unlike some other courses, the signage does not impede driving in any way. The signs are detailed, well placed, appealing, and cohesive to the ease of navigation on this course. The course features elevation changes, both down and uphill. The course also exhibits the beauty of Texas landscape. It is nice to see more than one par 4 on a course. The long holes make playing here a little more difficult and exciting. Overall, this is a phenomenal course. I highly recommend playing here.
Cons: This course would be perfect with a few minor adjustments. The course would benefit from the addition of benches behind the tee pads and trashcans as well. When I played this course, the grass was excessively overgrown in some areas. The creek that runs throughout the course is a con in the sense that it can be nearly impossible to retrieve a disc in some places. The presence of snakes is also slightly disturbing.
Other Thoughts: When I first played here, I lacked the mental and physical stamina required by this demanding course. Be sure to bring lots of water when playing this course. This course will boost your skill level rapidly. I will definitely be a frequent visitor to this course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.