McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee: A pin straight ahead, B pin on left. Mid-Fairway pic taken from black disc



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Among DFW's best

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: i_throw_bricks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging enough to hone your skills without being too frustrating for beginners.
-Beautiful, wooded course with lots of shade.
-Trash cans conveniently placed throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Best signage of any course I have played so far, including arrows on the map pointing you to the next tee.
-Wide variety of shots. Most holes finish right, so it does force you to dig into your shot selection a little more if you are RHBH.
-Well-maintained when I played it.
-Two tee pads on most holes adds variety and additional challenge.
Cons: -The creek. Thought it adds something asthetically, its banks are very steep and they are soft dirt, so climbing back up them after retrieving a disc is a chore.
-Too many short holes. I like easy pars and birdies as much as the next guy, but no course should have more than one hole under 200 feet in my opinion and this one has one hole that is 170 feet and two that are barely over 200.
-On most holes, the "long" tee pad is only a few feet from the "short" tee pad. While they have slightly more challenging lines, there could be more difference on some of them.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for players of any skill level. It is particularly strong for players who are looking to refine their finesse game. It's scenic and shaded, which is a big bonus in the Texas heat. All in all this course is top 2 in DFW.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lefty's Dream

1    5/19/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great tee boxes & signs
- Challenging, some variety
- Woods = little wind, nice shade
Cons: - Almost every single hole finishes right, so lefties would love this; righties, get good at your forehand or leave your overstable drivers at home
- Little elevation change
- Creek has very tall, steep banks, difficult to retrieve from
- High grass

Other Thoughts: This course must have been developed by a bitter lefty, I can't see any other reason why nearly every hole has the pin to the right of the main throwing lane. If you are a righty and want to really work on your forehand, this is the course to do it on.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/15/2014 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review! Just to let you know the course was developed by righties. Depending on the pin position some holes will be turnovers. Can't really help on the tall grass issue, but repeated phone calls to the city may help. Not throwing into the creek also helps with retrieval. :)

 One Of The Best In Dallas!

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and challenging course from the beginning to the end. There is great variety of short and long shots with well defined fairways. Trees are a big factor when playing here adding great challenge to each hole and keeping most of the course in the shade. There are plenty of bomber holes and still a few chances to get some birdies or Aces. There are multiple concrete tee pads for different skill levels that are just the right size to get a good run up. The signs are really nice, providing you with all the hole information and and also directing you to the next tee.There are different pin locations on all holes and a creek does come into play adding a great challenge to some holes. This park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans throughout most of the course. This is a really clean course, I didn't see any trash at all when I played here. You can really tell that the locals put a lot of pride in there course. There is a course map at the beginning of the course to check out before you play your round. Navigation on this course is fairly easy, with each hole flowing very well from hole to hole. The course has plenty of parking and restrooms on sight.
Cons: The brush is very thick off the fairway so a good drive is very important. Otherwise it is very easy to loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a top notch course in the Dallas area. This is a must play course if you are in the area. The course is long and tough and is ready to give you a awesome disc golf experience that you have been waiting for. This is a more of a professional course and beginners will be challenged.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It has it all

5+    3/8/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Tee signs

Two sets of tee BOXES for most holes

2 pin positions for most holes.

GREAT use of land given.

Well defined fairways on every hole.

Just short of a perfect 5 from me.
Cons: Birdie alley

course floods in heavy rain (more than one tournament has been moved/canceled because of the floods)



Other Thoughts: (for all my reviews, I always play the long tees as I do in this review)

This is a GREAT course. I have played it several times over the last year in all types of conditions and have enjoyed it every time.

Get your birdies in birdie alley, you will need them. (holes 4-8)

there are several Par 4 holes that are GREAT holes to play. (#2, #12,#15, #16) These holes more than make up for the short birdie holes in Birdie alley.

I put this as one of the top 5 courses in the DFW area to play. (top 10 in the state) I think it is the best course in the North Dallas area for sure.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/21/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good long hole course. Lots of trees and great signage. It is very easy to find every hole and the flow takes you back to where you start. Everything is maintained very well.
Cons: in the summer the grass gets a bit high and there are snakes out there. A few holes seem like they were just placed out in a pasture with no real reason. But the other holes make up for that. Last time I played there was a drunk in a wet suit wadding in the creek, getting discs. So don't expect to get your discs back unless you go get them yourselves.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun to play in a group.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/20/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Intermidiate level player with 4 years experience. Very demanding and technical. Only a experience golfer should attempt this course. Must have a big arm for most holes and be acurate.
Cons: Fairways are hard to find. Throw hard and hope for the best seemed to be the norm.
Other Thoughts: I'll attempt to play again when I've got more experience or a much bigger arm.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Sometimes the course plays you

1    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: rielpicon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wonderful shade, great baskets and tees. Risk-Reward balanced well. Enjoyed it even though I played the worst round ever.
Cons: Can be maddening beginners. Very long through thick tall trees. Low ceiling drives down tight fairways often end up in creeks and brushes.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling that I'll be confounded by this course for quite some time which earns it my respect

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT Course!!!

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Has a layout that fits everyone. Some holes are more techical and some are for distance throwers.

2. Having an advance tee and a regular tee makes the course fun for all skill levels.

3. Heavy tree cover on the majority of the couse, makes it fun in the hot summers of TX.

4. Makes good use of the creek that runs along the couse. Its not that bad of a creek, but it is steep.

5. Well maintained, signs are all in place. Distance between pro and regular tees are clearly marked and mostly accurate.
Cons:
1. This course can get some people frustrated if they are beginners. (mainly the trees and creek).

2. Some of the holes the advance tee seems to be an easier shot (even though its further).

3. When its rains, this course can get extremely muddy and the creek is very steep (combine mudd and steep creek and it makes for a fun time getting back up, should you go get your disc).
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I play here often since its not too far from me. I start off at the Alex course then come over here. I have a couple of course I like better than this one but they are a trek for most people.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Woodedness.

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very secluded feeling wooded course. 2 sets of concrete T-pads per hole, which is rare for a heavily wooded course. Challenging for most golfers while still being fun and not too sadistic, except for the mean ass creek of death and despair. The creek has steep banks and adds risk reward for several shots. Lots of shade and trash cans. Well maintained for a wooded course. Easy to navigate with great T-signs that has an arrow pointing to the next T-pad. A wide variety of trees offer low ceilings and mature trees with no low hanging branches. Friendly squirrels eating tennis balls. I had never seen a tennis ball tree. You figure someone would have mentioned it. Well defined fairways allows for multiple routes on several holes. Friendly locals. Holes 5 and 6 are ace runs with trees to deal with. It is so well maintained, that you will want to play it in full bloom so as to get the full affect of the trees and vegetation as it exist in the design.
Cons: Some of the distances are off from what the sign says. No benches or tables for resting.
Other Thoughts: The locals will appreciate this. I threw into the creek on the 2nd hole. I scaled the steep bank by holding on for dear life and made it to the tire, which is where I took off my socks and shoes and went in. The edge isn't that deep, except for the sink holes. So after the 2nd hole, I had to change socks, shorts and my shirt and had to wipe off mud and blood from my shins. It would have been funny to watch. This course didn't feel like it was 6800 ft., but I didn't measure it or add up the T-signs. A secluded and wooded journey that has plenty of shade and serenity. If you favor wooded courses, then you will most certainly enjoy this one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice!

2-4    7/26/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of trees, nice tees, nice baskets, the maintance guys are always busy clearing and keeping up the course. I would like thank McKinney for putting so much effort in making this a great place to play. Not over crowded at all. We have played this course at least once a week for two months so far. There are always changes with the removal of weeds and smaller trees.
Cons: Can be a little muddy directly after a hard rain, but it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Love it and take new players here weekly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.