McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    3/28/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4.0 - Excellent
This is a very challenging course. With the creek coming into play on nearly every hole it keeps you in check. This is definitely a next gen course made with future players in mind. It is a BIG step up from it's sister course a mile away. GREAT use of the landscape and creek.

This course will make you a better player!

The long and short tees combined with A and B pin placement make this a new course every time I go back. I originally rated this course lower (3.5) but find myself in love after this season.

It is just really well thought out and no noobs are playing here which is great.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc here. Watch closely and bring out your disc retrieval system. Have yet to lose a disc here, but a common scene is playing by people who do.

Other Thoughts: This course combined with Harry Myers are top notch in North Texas. This is a must play.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Soon to be the best course in North Dallas

5+    3/19/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an awesome course designed by the locals in including Ron Silliman. This course has and Red (Am) Tee and a Blue (Pro) Tee for 16 of the 18 Holes. Every hole has an A and a B pin location. They are moved frequently. There is talk of adding a C location on a few holes soon.

As far as the course layout, it is obvious a lot of thought went into every hole on the course. Holes such a 1, 5, 6, 11, and 18 where there is a is a small 10 to 20ft lane to the pin. If you miss the lane you are gambling with hitting the trees. There are a few open fairways with very little trees, 3, 16, and 17 when the pin is in the B location. Others are short 4, 5 and 8. Then there are the long 2,15 and 12 the 400 foot tunnel. I use every disc in my bag every time I play. This is not a pitch and putt course like Alex Clark a mile away.

And I almost forgot about the creek. It play of 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, and 9. Watch out for 9 the creek runs behind the pin when it is in the A location. If you over drive you will end up wet..

This is a course worth traveling to get to. And if you live in the DFW area it is a must play.


Cons: The only con I can think of comes with this being a new course. The course is unrefined. Meaning the city hasn't started moving yet and there are quite a few sticks along the fairways. That is why my Title is Soon to be the best course in North Dallas.
Other Thoughts: With all the traffic this course gets the fairways will get cleaner. Once the sticks and debris are trappled and clear the city will begin moving and the course will be amazing.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beware the Disc Creek of Death!

1    3/15/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Towne Lake is another great McKinney course with large concrete boxes complete with rubber pads behind the box so a person can wipe the mud off their feet. There are alternate concrete tees for the pro par players, and each box has a high quality color signs with yardage.

The Mach V pins are in great shape, which should be the case since the course is so new. As a big bonus, and something rarely seen on most courses - this course has had the foresight for not only two tee placements, but two pin placements as well. Truly a person could play 72 different holes on this course.

The front nine has a number of risk versus reward shots that force a player to be accurate or risk losing a disc in what I called the disc creek of death. This baby has 15-20 straight drops into a wide murky expanse. Basically, if you go in the drink - don't waste your time - it's gone baby gone.

The back nine has a great number of diverse shots on longer holes and plays more open than the front nine - except 18 (can you say pinball hole???)

There was even a spray painted line to mark off 30 feet from each pin for putting. I don't know if I just came at the right time or what, but this is surely indicative of people who care about and will maintain the course for many years to come.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7; #16
Cons: I played after a lot of rain and the concrete tees were wet and muddy. My shoes must have weighed 20 extra pounds by the end of the round, and not even the rubber pads helped.

It may have been just me but the front nine, though beautifully laid out in an old-growth forest following the death creek, got a little boring by the end - lot's of water, but not much beyond that. I was thankful the back nine felt different than the front (could have just been the butt kicking I was getting form the course).

We started the course at dawn so it was empty, but by the time we finished it was packed. I believe it was a mini tournament, but I would imagine this course stays crowded most of the time.

WORST HOLE/S: #18
Other Thoughts: Towne Lake felt like a shiny new car when compared to Alex Clark Memorial DGC a mile away. Not that Alex Clark isn't a good course - it's just that Towne Lake is truly the evolved disc golf course for the times. It's long, tightly wooded, full of risk/reward, and complete with the first class amenities any golfer could ask for.

Located at the back of the park, which had bathroom facilities and areas to keep the family happy, since you couldn't traverse this course very easily with the kids.

Granted, Towne Lake is not a course for beginners. This is a course meant for serious players who want to stretch their golf abilities in shot creativity and accuracy. I never debated about a half a star so much, but until the alternate pins are placed I'm sticking with 4.0 for now. The lack of true elevation shots and a defining signature hole leaves it just ever so short in my book, but if you are serious about your game - this is the serious course for you.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Towne Lake

5+    3/1/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right down the road from another great course. Thanks to Mckinney for being such a supporter of the sport. Great new holes, with two tees for almost every hole. The blue tees are always completely different shots than red tees; the tees were placed with great thought. The creek can be bothersome, but it is only a real worry on one hole. Most of the time, it isn't too difficult to avoid it. Good mixture of open and wooded shots. I love the tunnel shot on 12. The trees make the course, since they change up every shot. Excellent signs, and beautiful location. The designer knew what they were doing...Enjoy.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about here. The creek can be a problem on a few holes, so be careful. Trash cans are limited, and there isn't a bathroom that I found. Watch for kids running through the parking lot...the baseball fields can get pretty busy.
Other Thoughts: The little stumps/twigs are a con for other players, but you have to keep in mind that this course was only finished recently. I think McKinney did a great job clearing this monster-of-a-course out, and after it has been played for a few months, it will be trampled down perfectly. Why not stomp a few down while you play...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/10/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Fore4
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good course. wide open shots to wooded shots. the creek keeps you in check.
Cons: could use more trash cans. WATCH YOUR STEP! course is new so there are quite a few stumps to trip on. lots of thorns in the bushes. only a couple holes with elevation change.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical course

5+    3/1/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: sp1n
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a very pretty course that will only get more beautiful as the leaves come in for spring and summer. The hole layouts are well thought and challenging. They use the land well (and in a risk v. reward kind of way). The multiple tee boxes and hole locations will keep this course fresh and distinct for any level of player (although the challenge is greared for the more intermediate).
Cons: Not a great beginer course or for the easily fatigued. Some of the terain is hard to fight through (especially if you find yourself off the fairway). The steep drop to the creek can make for some harrowing rescues of disks. Team work comes in handy in these spots (or find someone carrying around an orange tube - odds are its a local and that tube is a super long pole). The course is new so it is still getting broken in. No real bathroom or water fountains as of yet (but close to a large park with some amenities). Its an out and back design so you don't pass the parking at any point durring the round. Can eat some disks.
Other Thoughts: The locals are committed to making this a premier place to play in the metroplex. I have only been playing for 6 months now, but I still enjoy the challenge of Towne Lake. Not being a big arm there are only a couple holes that make you feel at more of a disadvantage than usual (15 and 16), but they are still par-able in theory. It can be a frustrating course, but worth the walk every time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flippin’ Beautiful!

2-4    5/21/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It has some great risk/reward shots, over water, technical holes, long bombs, tree navigation, and much more. The tee signs are some of the best. There are great cement tee pads, easy to spot large cement pin places, and well thought out holes. The longs are a real challenge that can make you really think. The shorts still have some risk/reward so that even they are a challenge. There are many trashcans and the park is very clean. Some of the holes are really picturesque. Navigation around the course was very easy.
Cons: The Mach 5 baskets are some of my least favorite style of baskets. No bathroom that I could find easily, but it is a big park. The creek is such a huge drop off, that part of the course follows, it may leave some feeling like won't be getting their disc back, even if they can see it. Pay attention not to get hurt going after your disc and watch out for some monster thorn trees.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is fantastic. I wish I lived closer to be able to play this course more often. The locals we ran into were really nice and offered help if we needed any. Thank you McKinney, TX.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Seperates Men from Boys

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: GROOVY BOSSMAN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really long and wooded, well designed to put you in several shot situations, You will use every disc you have. Double Tee boxes make for different challenges for us locals who play the two courses often, as well as the A,B pin positions (which they have already moved all the holes I have birdied back to the more difficult B position) Hole # 11 has trees everywhere and there is a very narrow fairway, makes for some interesting ping pong, I swear this is the only hole where I have seen a disc hit 5 trees before hitting the ground
Cons: THORNS!! do not wear shorts!! at least for a while, and all the damn sticks from the construction, some of my shots that would have played a nice bounce and fade lay dead thanks to a damn piece of firewood!! Everyone should do their part and remove this rubble (at least from fairways) as you are walking up the holes!! Some really good Samaritans might bring a machete and do away with the thorn vines.
Other Thoughts: No doubt this one will be one that floods!! The 20 foot bridge of El Dorado Pkwy running along the back edge of the course should offer some indication of how high those two creeks can rise when we get a good rain around here. The golf club at Mckinney (across El Dorado) often floods and has to close all together, then no carts, then cartpath only, because of how long that place takes to dry out. Also pray that you dont find the water on the left of #6 (slime pool) or off the blue tees of #17 (which is crazy long anyway) the film over the water is not too inviting.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    2/13/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bout time we got a difficult course near by. Fun and challenging with alot of different shots. You must have alot of shots in the bag and you will use them at some point during the round. Must be accurate and stay on the fairway on the wooded holes or you can get into trouble quickly and the score will skyrocket. You have short technical shots and then you get out in the open and throw some big boomers and the last couple of holes. Alot places to get your birds but none are gimmes. Lots of shade and being in the woods takes the wind out of play for the most part. Two tee pads change the shots enough to make it interesting as well. The rubber mats are great for cleaning your shoes after a rain.
Cons: Creek bed is hard to get plastic back without a pole or retriever and alot of times its gone. The rough can be just that...ROUGH! The tee sign distances are way off. Can get muddy after a rain. Grass can get tall. Watch out for snakes, they are out and they are mad.
Other Thoughts: Alex Clark across the street makes fo a great mix of courses and makes for a fun day.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Captain_K
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Careful planning went in to designing and building this course, and it shows. Large concrete tee pads and nice signs, no overlaping fairways. All holes but a couple have two tees and two pin locations. The 'pro' tees aren't much farther back, but are positioned so they require a more accurate or technical throw. I've already seen the pins changed to their alternate location, I don't know if they get moved weekly or how that works, but it keeps things fresh.

This course calls for a wide variety of throws and discs. I feel like playing this course improves my game because it forces me to make throws that are outside my comfort zone. There are several 'risk vs. reward' opportunities that flirt with the tremendous gully. The front 9 is much more heavily wooded and tight, and the creek is a factor. The back 9, especially 15-17, opens up more and gives a chance to air it out.
Cons: This isn't really a con, but the course was cleared out of a dense forest area. The ground is littered with small twigs, stumps, rocks, and thorny things. Forget about making skip shots or rollers.

If you throw a disc down in the gully (which is very easy on a few holes) you won't have a fun time retrieving it, even with a pole. The sides of the gully are very steep (about 15') and covered with giant thorny bushes. I don't mind getting cut up and wet, so I've gained a few discs from people that weren't brave enough to go after theirs.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is next to a baseball park. During baseball games in spring/summer there will be concession stands for snack and drinks. This course is good enough to travel a bit for.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.