McKinney, TX
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #8 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Towne Lake Review

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: eloveless
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very good signs to show you the hole layout.
Most holes are shaded.
Challenging, but not to the point were you are frustrated as a beginner.
Cons: You don't know if the baskets are in pin A or pin B. You have to scope out the basket before teeing off sometimes because of this.
Creek is very DEEP down.
SNAKES
Other Thoughts: This was my first time to play this course. I have been playing dg for about 6 months or so. I thought this course was hard, but not to the point were you want to quit. Course makes you use shots you are not use to. Good mixtures of short/long holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good challenge on flat ground

1    4/12/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 87  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with sweet dual concrete tees and pads to scrape off mud. Multiple pins. Good mix of shots around the creek and varied distances. Tee signs were ok and navigation wasn't too bad first time here. Nice course map by hole 1's tee by parking lot. Good use of risk vs reward on some holes.
Cons: Mud which seems typical with the area courses. High potential for disc lost due to rough and creek. Lots of poison ivy and mosquitoes. I image moccasins are prevalent around the creek bed.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly secluded from the park. There were some people on hole 2 and 18 but not a big deal. I ran into a couple nice locals that helped me find a lost disc in the rough on hole 13. I lost a couple discs here in the creek. No way I was going after them and not sure I really could get to them. I didn't realize the water extended past the first row of trees on hole 16. The poison ivy was pretty bad in some of the rough.

Towne Lake definitely provides some good challenge and variety of shots. However with the course being so flat it's hard to get that excited about it and didn't have a whole lot of fun factor. This is not really a fault or con due the available terrain, but just a personal preference of mine. Perhaps if I was a local DFW player I'd appreciate the course a little more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good lines, bad mud

1    4/17/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large wooded area with little interference from other park activities. A handful of holes play relatively open, most with some good distance and areas of brush to stay out of. The rest of the course plays through tall trees with limited underbrush. There are lots of different lines to hit, mostly with trees rather than brush to contend with if you miss your line.

The creek comes into play on a bunch of shots, it'll definitely punish you for missing your landing zone with an ob shot or at least a tricky lie trying to get out of the deep creek bed. The distance variety is nice here, some ace runs and some long shots that still make you hit a gap or landing zone.

Dual large concrete tees are nice, all are plenty big and grippy. At least half of the holes offer pretty different lines from the two tees, and most have a decent distance differential. Both sets of tees have fantastic signs with hole layout and distance along with a marker for the next tee. The course map by the parking lot is a nice touch. Dual pin positions change up the layout a little, and up the replay value.
Cons: There are several blind shots or holes where it's tough to tell what position the pin is in from the tee, I'd like to see some way of marking current pin locations so you don't have to walk up the fairway to scout them. The course is very flat, so you don't get any fun elevation shots, and the drainage is pretty poor.

The ground is some of the stickiest mud I've seen, and it seems to stay wet for a while after rain. It felt like I was dragging 10lbs of mud around on each foot after the first couple steps. There are some spots where it's pretty impossible to get down to the creek to retrieve a disc, and when there's much water flowing it can get murky and make it impossible to find a shot that went in the water.
Other Thoughts: This is a challenging and interesting course that pairs great with the easier and less punishing course just across the highway. Beginners might find this one a little long, and the creek can be a bit daunting for less accurate players. More experienced throwers will find some nice tests here, and with the variety of two sets of tees and two pin positions (hopefully changed somewhat regularly) you can mix things up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    1/7/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great course holes are not to long but longer than alex p clark just across the highway witch is a great course for beginners .concrete teeboxes & dual pin locations at each hole.
Cons: watch out for the creeks !!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: i must dissagree with the review made by dchirish123
"Pros: Intermidiate level player with 4 years experience. Very demanding and technical. Only a experience golfer should attempt this course. Must have a big arm for most holes and be acurate."
i have only been playing since mid september 2011 much less than the 4 years exp he speaks of & play the course very well donot be discoureged by that review.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chamionship Course

5+    11/26/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gets better everytime I play it. 2 tees for most holes gives this place a fun and challenging look from the shorts and longs. Nice 2 course setup with Alex Clark right across 75. Well maintained, easy to navigate. Championship course.
Cons: Stays muddy for a while after the rain, no big deal though. Poison ivy and snakes. Nothing to be afraid of, just keep your eyes open.
Other Thoughts: Great course, go warm up at Alex Clark, then take your whole game over to town lake.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course!

5+    9/10/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual concrete tees, great signage
-dual pin positions and baskets in good condition
-mud matts at each tee, needed on this course!
-lots of great holes, variety of distance and terrain
-lots of hole shapes but the premium is on accuracy and straight shots that stay in the fairway
-ranges from wooded tunnels to semi-open bombs
-most holes have trees, all have punishing rough off the fairway
-creek winds through course, in play on several holes
-practice basket, course map, plenty of parking
-huge park with other amenities
-close to I-75, across the highway from Alex Clark
Cons: -course gets flooded and boggy after a rain
-flat, little elevation, welcome to texas
-a few places in the creek are pretty inaccessible if you toss a disc in
-can get repetitive in the middle section of the course
-rough is rough
-poison ivy
Other Thoughts: This is a great tournament level course only a mile from McKinney's other course, Alex Clark Memorial. It is uses the land available well throughout the mostly wooded terrain. There is a good variety of distances but a fairly uniform density of trees throughout. Most holes have a well-defined, semi-open fairway framed with heavy woods. Lots of tunnel-like shots and many right leaning fairways.

The dual tees and pin positions up the replay value here and the signs are the excellent Houck ones with the detailed maps. The navigation is pretty simple and there is a good course flow but the holes get a little repetitious in the middle of the course.

I really enjoy playing here during the summer. The woods provide great shade from the sun and heat and the course is usually dry. The wet season is problematic as the course is flat and right next to a large creek. It floods easily and stays boggy for a long time.

Definitely one of the best courses on the east side of the metroplex. McKinney has a great local scene and it is obvious that the course is well cared for. Lots of minis, great players around, and the local club presence is visible.

A great course to pair with Alex Clark for a day of discing. I like to warm up at AC since it's an older, shorter course, then hit Town Lake. Definitely worth checking out and a great option for your weekly if you're in the north Dallas area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in the Area?

2-4    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is carved out of the McKinney forest. You'll use and need a backhand, side arm and overhand shot to master this impressive 18. Between the constant trees to negotiate and the creek with the 20+ foot drop off following the front nine, you'll need a precision game. If it doesn't break you, this course is sure to make you a better player. The multiple basket locations and concrete tee boxes offer a wonderful variety of looks on each hole. If you have a little skill, this is a "must play" course.
Cons: Very few holes have shots where you thoughtlessly see how far you can throw your disc. The course can become a bit claustrophobic for the "grip it and rip it"/big arm types
Other Thoughts: Bring a "Golden Retriever"....unless you're the Indiana Jones type that doesn't mind a little mud.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/6/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: NerdlyPeabody
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well planned out course, great signage, lots of shade, rarely crowded. multiple tees that make sense, vaiety of shots.
Cons: Lots of trees equals lots of disc dings for me. The creek can be very deep and fast moving depending on recent weather and you see it a lot in this course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely my favorite in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Among DFW's best

1    6/4/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: i_throw_bricks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging enough to hone your skills without being too frustrating for beginners.
-Beautiful, wooded course with lots of shade.
-Trash cans conveniently placed throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Best signage of any course I have played so far, including arrows on the map pointing you to the next tee.
-Wide variety of shots. Most holes finish right, so it does force you to dig into your shot selection a little more if you are RHBH.
-Well-maintained when I played it.
-Two tee pads on most holes adds variety and additional challenge.
Cons: -The creek. Thought it adds something asthetically, its banks are very steep and they are soft dirt, so climbing back up them after retrieving a disc is a chore.
-Too many short holes. I like easy pars and birdies as much as the next guy, but no course should have more than one hole under 200 feet in my opinion and this one has one hole that is 170 feet and two that are barely over 200.
-On most holes, the "long" tee pad is only a few feet from the "short" tee pad. While they have slightly more challenging lines, there could be more difference on some of them.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course for players of any skill level. It is particularly strong for players who are looking to refine their finesse game. It's scenic and shaded, which is a big bonus in the Texas heat. All in all this course is top 2 in DFW.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lefty's Dream

1    5/19/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great tee boxes & signs
- Challenging, some variety
- Woods = little wind, nice shade
Cons: - Almost every single hole finishes right, so lefties would love this; righties, get good at your forehand or leave your overstable drivers at home
- Little elevation change
- Creek has very tall, steep banks, difficult to retrieve from
- High grass

Other Thoughts: This course must have been developed by a bitter lefty, I can't see any other reason why nearly every hole has the pin to the right of the main throwing lane. If you are a righty and want to really work on your forehand, this is the course to do it on.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/15/2014 Designer Response by: teamudgp
Thanks for the review! Just to let you know the course was developed by righties. Depending on the pin position some holes will be turnovers. Can't really help on the tall grass issue, but repeated phone calls to the city may help. Not throwing into the creek also helps with retrieval. :)

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.