McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

5+    2/13/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bout time we got a difficult course near by. Fun and challenging with alot of different shots. You must have alot of shots in the bag and you will use them at some point during the round. Must be accurate and stay on the fairway on the wooded holes or you can get into trouble quickly and the score will skyrocket. You have short technical shots and then you get out in the open and throw some big boomers and the last couple of holes. Alot places to get your birds but none are gimmes. Lots of shade and being in the woods takes the wind out of play for the most part. Two tee pads change the shots enough to make it interesting as well. The rubber mats are great for cleaning your shoes after a rain.
Cons: Creek bed is hard to get plastic back without a pole or retriever and alot of times its gone. The rough can be just that...ROUGH! The tee sign distances are way off. Can get muddy after a rain. Grass can get tall. Watch out for snakes, they are out and they are mad.
Other Thoughts: Alex Clark across the street makes fo a great mix of courses and makes for a fun day.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Captain_K
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Careful planning went in to designing and building this course, and it shows. Large concrete tee pads and nice signs, no overlaping fairways. All holes but a couple have two tees and two pin locations. The 'pro' tees aren't much farther back, but are positioned so they require a more accurate or technical throw. I've already seen the pins changed to their alternate location, I don't know if they get moved weekly or how that works, but it keeps things fresh.

This course calls for a wide variety of throws and discs. I feel like playing this course improves my game because it forces me to make throws that are outside my comfort zone. There are several 'risk vs. reward' opportunities that flirt with the tremendous gully. The front 9 is much more heavily wooded and tight, and the creek is a factor. The back 9, especially 15-17, opens up more and gives a chance to air it out.
Cons: This isn't really a con, but the course was cleared out of a dense forest area. The ground is littered with small twigs, stumps, rocks, and thorny things. Forget about making skip shots or rollers.

If you throw a disc down in the gully (which is very easy on a few holes) you won't have a fun time retrieving it, even with a pole. The sides of the gully are very steep (about 15') and covered with giant thorny bushes. I don't mind getting cut up and wet, so I've gained a few discs from people that weren't brave enough to go after theirs.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is next to a baseball park. During baseball games in spring/summer there will be concession stands for snack and drinks. This course is good enough to travel a bit for.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Echelon Discin'

5+    1/31/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 202  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of fairways to travel, holes 2,12,15 an 16 really cool. Love to play the course in the long to long position in the future.Water mostly only mildly in play.Not alot of skip/roll on most fairways here,other then the foot traffic that leaves noticeable tracks, the thick creekside brush beneficial to keeping discs where they land and not rolling horribly too far. Course flows very well the Huge Map of the course a great touch anyway.
Cons: One week the creek was a babbling brook easy to retrieve discs days later it was a raging river,locals must have feasts off of the plastic comin outta there.MOW THIS COURSE,grass tall enough to take some of the fun outta your game.Holes 2 thru 8 all have water dangers except six.In high winds don't play hole 8 long when the water is up with a valued disc unless its a floater or you really think your that consistent keeping your disc straight enough over a creek.I was in the water searching for my lost one and three other people playing nearby all had lost one on this hole.There is nowhere to cop a squat and rest here except the tables near hole 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts: Summertime should be heaven here with the canopy of trees keeping that Texas sun off of you in my top five DFW courses.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/24/2009   1/30/2009
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.6 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start with the basics...18 brand new baskets (plus 1 practice basket), with multiple pin placement on many holes. Most holes also have a long and short tee, each with it's own large concrete tee box and full-color sign (some of the best in the DFW right now). Ample parking that's very close to Hole 1 and across the street from baseball fields for warm-up drives. The park is only about 1/2 mile from the highway. Also, the city installed a VERY nice bridge near Hole 18 *just* for the course...which could do good things for the sport's reputation in this area.

Landscape...the land is moderately-to-heavily wooded with only slight elevation changes in some parts. There is a large and very steep creek that comes into play on the majority of holes. The local Colin County Club did an excellent job clearing the rough on most holes, and at this point only minor additional trimming is needed on a few holes. Many of the more interesting-looking trees were worked into the course, which is always a nice treat!

Design...great variety with tons of true "risk vs reward" shots! Most of the holes are fairly straight-forward and within the 300-400' range...but the huge amout of trees make for some challenging fairways. There are also a few tunnel shots (Hole 12 is a beautiful example), some uphill and downhill shots (Hole 14 is a wonderful 275'ish downhill shot with a low ceiling), a few doglegs (left and right), and even a few mostly open shots that let you air one out. Even the more open holes (Holes 15, 16, 17 for example) still have plenty of obstacles to keep you on your toes; distance without accuracy won't help you much at this course. The long tee boxes weren't too much longer than the shorts on most of the holes, but were placed in such a way that it alters the angle of the fairway or brings new obstacles into play.

The large creek comes into play on most of the holes, and usually in a very nerve-racking way! The best example is probably Hole 2...the creek plays along the right side of the fairway for the entire length of the hole, which has a sharp dog-leg right at the end leading to the basket. Hitting the wrong tree or turning your disc over too much will send you straight into the water, and if your drive is safe but short, you'll still have to carry over the corner of the creek to get to the pin. Great hole!

Most of the baskets were placed in such a position that it made me think the designer(s) really put a lot of though into them. Several were placed *near* the creek, but not so close that a conservative approach would still land in the drink. Others were placed in such a way that you wouldn't have the same approach or putt from varying angles.

All in all, the course was both fun and forces you to make a decisive throw and execute it well, unless you plan on shooting way over par :)
Cons: A few of the baskets were improperly with the bottom of the chains tangled, and one with the whole basket *slightly* leaning.

The distances as marked on the signs are clearly too short on some of the holes, but I didn't feel that it affected the game much.

The creek can be a dangerous to get into on some holes...bring a long pole or some other kind of disc retriever.

THORNS!!! Some holes had large areas (off the fairway) full of thorns of Biblical proportion! Watch out for those...better yet, just stay on the fairway :)

Other than those things, the course just needs a little primping...I played it on opening day, so the limbs and wood chips in the fairways were to be expected. I think that a few months of regular use (and maybe a few workdays) will clean the course up nicely.
Other Thoughts: Being a brand new course, there were still some things that need to be worked on in order to get it to it's full potential, but since it just opened, I didn't want to list them as Cons. First off, it looks like most of the holes required some serious bush-hogging, which left a lot of wood chips / branches / vines on the ground. It didn't mess with my footing much, but it did take a little away from the aesthetic value of the course. Second, the baskets were set into concrete blocks, which are still exposed. I know the locals are planning on addressing this soon, which is another reason I didn't list it under "Cons". Finally, a couple of holes needed a few more limbs removed to make them fair...this could be done manually with tools, or naturally with discs over time...nothing major though.

I'm really looking forward to seeing this course in the Spring and Summer, once the plants are in bloom and the grass is nice and green again (and hopefully the grounds will be cleared of the wood chips, branches, etc). This place will be beautiful!

I feel that over the next year, Towne Lakes will probably become one of the most popular courses in the DFW Metroplex. It's also right across the highway from Alex Clark Memorial DGC, a fun pitch-and-putt style course that hosts a popular tournament each year. Having 2 quality courses this close together could make for a great 2-day tournament (fingers crossed).

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


1    1/24/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.5 Years
8 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very well marked. Double tees on most holes. Concrete tee pads. The trees are what make this course a challenge. Excellent shade on almost every hole makes this a great summer time course. Parking is safe from flying discs.
Cons: Very little elevation changes. Only one hole really has a perched up tee pad (I want to say it is the '5 hour energy drink tree #16?'' short tee pad has a huge tree branch in front to keep you from bombing it off the only elevated tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a great new course for the far north Dallas area. The creek is not even noticable from the start, then you realized there is a 15' gully of a creek to contend with. In my group we found the creek 4 times and had a pole for retrieving. We had to get down to water level to reach our discs. The banks to the creek are very steep. If you are very acurate with your throws and not ping pongin in the creek you should be fine.

Even though this is a great new course, it didnt have a real wow factor to me. I prefer some of the holes to be a little more open. I would say this is worth the drive on a hot Texas summer day, due to the large amount of shade this course will have. But winter time DG, I wont be driving the extra distance when I can play more open courses like BB Owen and Greenbelt. I prefer the somewhat shorter drive for me of Lake Lewisville or Paschall Park when I want a little bit of woods to play in.

Pack your bag or cooler because you dont really walk past the parking lot again.

So again I am givin this course 4 discs (like all my other previous reviews). In all it is a very good course. I would play it often if it was my local course.

Thanks for reading and please rate my review;)

8 of 17 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/25/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2009
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land with 2 creeks running through almost every hole. It will be a great course in the Texas heat with all the shade. Tee signs face the last basket to help navigation.
Cons: If you can't throw straight - you're screwed!
Other Thoughts: Read Rusty's review!!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.