McKinney, TX 
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 375ft.   4 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway. Basket in "A" position

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of the best in DFW

5+    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 154  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many factors make Towne Lake one of my favorite courses in DFW.

The facilities and location are premium. Right off a major freeway and a short drive away from the shorter Alex Clark, another great course in my mind. Towne Lake is set in a disc golf specific part of a much larger park that boasts a nice lake with a 1.3 mile walking path, concession stands, paddle boat rentals, baseball fields, playground, volleyball courts and horseshoe pits. A small green-space past the first line of trees off the parking lot provides a nice place away from cars and people to warm up your arm with some controlled shots or a game of catch. The practice basket is nestled in some trees with small undulations giving you the opportunity to practice putting around obstacles and with very minor elevation changes. Benches and a bulletin board are positioned away from the parking lot and other park users give you a nice place to relax before or between rounds.

The course is a good example of a modern design catering to the advanced and pro golfer. The creek in play on many holes gives you a very high risk if you are going for a birdie opportunity but isn't so close that you are forced to bring it into play. The fairways have a nice length to density ratio (long holes are open, short have tight gaps). The "line of attack" to the basket is well defined on most holes with few options available, meaning the line exists but you have to hit it clean. The concrete tees are of my favorite tapered design and are the perfect size so you don't feel cramped on your run-up. All but 5 holes have two tee boxes that do a good job of changing the hole rather than simply adding distance. It seems like every time I start thinking the baskets should move pin positions, it happens. It isn't frequent, but enough to keep it fresh. Some simply add length while most give you a completely different hole to contend with. The par 4 holes require placement as well as good distance off the tee to score well and a 3 truly feels like a birdie. The walk from hole to hole never seems like it is more than necessary. The design incorporated many interesting and beautiful trees making this secluded course enjoyable regardless of your score. The trees offer excellent shade during the blistering Texas summer and stop the wind from being a major factor on the technical holes.

A course can only be so good without a good local group of players. The efforts of the course designers that made it possible. The guys that run weekly minis and PDGA events. The players that make an effort to keep all the trash picked up and the course looking as good as possible. Sitting on a far edge of DFW keeps it from being overcrowded and the difficulty, due in part to the daunting Wilson Creek, keep it from being overcrowded with the more casual players that tend to stick to the Alex Clark.
Cons: SNAKES, be warned, I know of two people who have been bitten by deadly snakes. Mosquitoes, not as bad as some courses, but present all the same.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't too bad after a heavy rain. I've played it frequently sense it opened and it plays nice in all seasons and weather. I waited a while to write this review so I could really get a long term feel from the course.

If you catch a grammatical or spelling error, anything that would make this more readable, please send me a pm.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 thousand wood forest

1    7/30/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: cubby09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed course! paved tee boxes with the option of pro or par. The pro placements are very challenging. The tee boxes are even equipped with rubber mats to scrape mud of your shoes. There are even optional pin placements. Very seldom do you find a map of the entire course posted at hole 1 which I liked. All the signs and baskets are in excellent condition due to the course's new construction. Some of the holes were like throwing through a tunnel of trees....very pictureesque. The course was very easy to follow and very seldom doubled back on itself.
Cons: On the day I played the creek was flowing very quickly. If you lose a disc in the drink on one of these days give up all hope of retrieving it.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time yesterday. It was a bit of a drive from where I live in Denton but it was well worth the trip. I have a new favorite course!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Shot makers course

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 107  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you don't have a big arm, but want a top of the line course... this is it! Every shot is technical. Accuracy is always the premium skill. Even the long holes require accuracy or the price must be paid. If you can control the disc, this is the best course I've played. Very well maintained.
Cons: You don't want to play this course after a rain. I can't stress that enough.
Other Thoughts: IF the maintenance falls off, this course will overgrow very quickly. Until then, enjoy a great shot makers course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent concrete teepads that are wide at the back. These should be the standard for all courses.

Excellent signs that tell you everything you need to know to play this course.

Dual tees and alternate pin positions gives this course 72 different setups.

Just like it's sister course across the highway, this land is excellent for disc golf with beautiful trees that provide huge amounts of shade and a monstrous, steep banked, deep creek that provides a pucker factor and is a challenge to avoid.
Cons: I have never played a course that was more unbalanced and lefty/sidearm favoring. I did not count but would estimate that of eighteen holes, twelve of them curve to the right (of the 72 holes 48 of them curve to the right). This is a minor con for me because I love throwing sidearm and long annies.

Many of the posted distances on the signs are obviously wrong.

Be prepared to lose discs in the deep creek. It is inevitable. I lost a blue Champion Boss, an orange Champion Monarch, and a grey DX Teebird on my first time. I will definitely be a little more conservative next time I play this course.

The first half of this course I was amazed that there was absolutely no poison ivy to be found anywhere. The second half of the course I was amazed because I have NEVER seen so much poison ivy. Stay away from this course if you're allergic.
Other Thoughts: This course gives McKinney the perfect balance of course because if it's too hard just go across the highway to the other course. If the other course is too easy just come here.

You could warm up at the other birdie fest course and get cocky and then come here and be humbled.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Course!

1    6/25/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: JimBeam
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Towne Lake DGC is probably my favorite of all the courses I have come across. I can't say enough about the attention to detail that went into this course. The course design includes all of the features of a top tier course. There is an excellent mixture of left and right doglegs, plenty of risk and reward opportunities that make playing this course challenging and fun for many repeat visits, a good variety of wide open and tight wooded fairways as well as some short and some long holes, and a wide assortment of obstacles that require many different technical shots. The tee pads are perfect. They are just the right size and shape and the rubber foot mat is great for wiping off muddy shoes. Unlike some other courses, the signage does not impede driving in any way. The signs are detailed, well placed, appealing, and cohesive to the ease of navigation on this course. The course features elevation changes, both down and uphill. The course also exhibits the beauty of Texas landscape. It is nice to see more than one par 4 on a course. The long holes make playing here a little more difficult and exciting. Overall, this is a phenomenal course. I highly recommend playing here.
Cons: This course would be perfect with a few minor adjustments. The course would benefit from the addition of benches behind the tee pads and trashcans as well. When I played this course, the grass was excessively overgrown in some areas. The creek that runs throughout the course is a con in the sense that it can be nearly impossible to retrieve a disc in some places. The presence of snakes is also slightly disturbing.
Other Thoughts: When I first played here, I lacked the mental and physical stamina required by this demanding course. Be sure to bring lots of water when playing this course. This course will boost your skill level rapidly. I will definitely be a frequent visitor to this course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/12/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: Crazy Buffalo Guy
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A lot of thought and money went into building this wonderful park. I've never seen such nice signs and tee boxes. This course has some of everything. Be sure not to miss this one.
Cons: With all the work they have done I wish they would have put in a place to get some water because as you know its hot in Texas

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Park is on a beautiful piece of land with big mature trees and steep-banked creek that runs through the course.
*Course provides the opportunity to throws lots of different shots- there is an excellent mix of short, placement holes, tight technical holes (both long and short), and wide open boomer holes.
* Concrete tees, multiple tees, multiple pins
*Course is enjoyable for all levels of players.
*There are no thoughtless, throw-away holes. Each hole was designed to challenge players to make a good shots, rewarding them when they do and punishing them (at times with thorns) when they do not.
Cons: *Not only do humans love this piece of land, critters do too! If you play during the spring/summer months be sure to bring your bug spray and be on the lookout for snakes (copperheads and water moccasins are seen fairly regularly). If you throw off of the fairway you might want to go ahead and grab yourself a snake stick.
*If you are used to hitting the center of the chains and your putt sticking you may get frustrated with the baskets at TL. The baskets are still new and shiny and ready to spit putts.
*Course is in a ready to get muddy for a few days after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Shortly after this course opened I moved 20 miles south of it. I have driven right past several courses on the way to this course for the past 3 months as this has become my home course. The course is top-notch and the locals are great. McKinney has a great Disc-Golf scene, you can show up virtually anytime and hop on with a few of the locals.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

1    4/19/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
All the equipment on this course is top notch: sweet new double chain baskets, big concrete tees for both the long and short tee pads. The tee signs are beautiful John Houck deluxe signs with individual maps on every hole. There's also a large course map at the first tee. Tons of parking right next to the first tee and 18th basket. The course is located in a multi-use park, but is in an isolated section so there's no chance of interference from non-disc golfers. The fairways were mowed and the course was in great shape. There's a practice basket with distance marker bricks. Dual tee pads offer a challenge to multiple levels of players and dual pin positions mean the course can change to keep it from growing stale.

What separates Towne Lake from a lot of other quality courses is the extra attention to details (with one exception). E.g. at the back of most tee pads there are rough rubber mats for players to use to wipe the mud off the bottom of their shoes before teeing off. The tee signs are up on posts to make them easy to see, but located at the back of the tee pads so there's no danger of hitting one with your hand on a follow-through. At the time I played they were in the process of installing small bricks around every basket to mark the 10M circle; a very nice feature not found on many courses. Each basket's pin location is a concrete base that is stenciled with "A" or "B" to easily identify which position it is.

The course is filled with challenging holes for players of all levels. It has lefty holes, righty holes, elevation throwing both uphill and downhill, water hazards, technical holes, and some bomber holes. Most memorable hole was #8 from the long tee to the far pin... that huge horseshoe anny route over the steep creek for a RHBH thrower is a hell of a throw.
There isn't much you'll find fault with on this course... except the posted distances: they're all over the place! It's a bit sad that a course that has obviously had a ton of work and dedication poured into it got something as basic as the distances wrong.

There is a deep creek that you need to be aware of that comes into play on several holes. A disc that finds its way to the water is not an easy retrieval without sufficient rappelling gear. There are a couple holes that I think could use a bit more clearing, but maybe I'm just not a good enough player yet.
Other Thoughts:
This course is worth traveling to play, no doubt. Read through all the reviews and just check the Con's, there aren't many if any significant cons from hardly any reviewers. I enjoyed my round at Towne Lake a lot and can see playing there again next time I'm in the area. Another course I'd love to have close to me.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great tournament level course

5+    5/31/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 123  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are concrete tees on every hole, most of which have a long and a short to choose between and most every hole has multiple pin positions. This is a huge plus creating the ability to have several different layouts to play. This is a challenging course with no holes that are way over the top long and hard nor any that are way too short and easy. Good, well-placed drives and solid putting will be rewarded here. The difficulty level added by the creek is pretty significant as it is a hazard you definitely want to avoid. The signs on the course are excellent. There is a practice basket to warm up on. All of the pins are secured in cement blocks protecting the ability to move the baskets around in the long run. The course demands a variety of shots and high quality shots to score well. There are some long tight fairways, some that you'll have to pick a line out of a maze of trees, some uphill, some downhill, some that you have to throw out over the tops of the trees, doglegs, and over the water shots. This course really has a lot to offer to challenge your game. Favorite holes: hole 1 from the short tee to the short pin, the stretch of holes from 12 to 15 are great! 12 is a long skinny lightly uphill drive with the basket either tucked into the trees on the left about 400ft up (from the short tee) or on the right side of the fairway...both difficult to get to for an easy birdie. 13 is also a skinny uphill drive. 14 is a skinny downhill drive with a ceiling of trees to keep in mind. 15 is a booming high flex shot (for some) over the top of the trees. You finish out with 2 very tough holes, especially from the long tees to finish the round here.
Cons: The only cons are that the distances on the signs aren't very accurate and shouldn't be trusted when making decisions about what to throw. Print off distances from this site before you go out and use those.
Other Thoughts: This is a phenomenal course that will really challenge your all around golf game and your arsenal of shots. Make sure you save time to go play Alex Clark right across the highway if you are making a long trip to McKinney to play this course. The city put a lot of money into this course and the local DG community put in a LOT of work to make this course happen. They did an excellent job and McKinney is definitely a legit hot spot for disc golf in the DFW area now.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: caso8690
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a very nice course for someone who is new to the area. My brother, Girlfriend and, I went and played today and it was the better course compared to Shawnee park in Plano. We lived by Lindsey park in Tyler if anyone knows where that is at we had a pretty good course there as well. I really liked the nice tees with the map of where the hole should be, unlike Shawnee Park where you have a map that is out dated. The course is very open at points but very technical as well. Great course!
Cons: The only thing that I wish it had was maybe some water fountains or maybe I just missed them.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.