McKinney, TX
Towne Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #15 (Taken 2/2009)
4 / 493ft.   4 / 602ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beware the Disc Creek of Death!

1    3/15/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Towne Lake is another great McKinney course with large concrete boxes complete with rubber pads behind the box so a person can wipe the mud off their feet. There are alternate concrete tees for the pro par players, and each box has a high quality color signs with yardage.

The Mach V pins are in great shape, which should be the case since the course is so new. As a big bonus, and something rarely seen on most courses - this course has had the foresight for not only two tee placements, but two pin placements as well. Truly a person could play 72 different holes on this course.

The front nine has a number of risk versus reward shots that force a player to be accurate or risk losing a disc in what I called the disc creek of death. This baby has 15-20 straight drops into a wide murky expanse. Basically, if you go in the drink - don't waste your time - it's gone baby gone.

The back nine has a great number of diverse shots on longer holes and plays more open than the front nine - except 18 (can you say pinball hole???)

There was even a spray painted line to mark off 30 feet from each pin for putting. I don't know if I just came at the right time or what, but this is surely indicative of people who care about and will maintain the course for many years to come.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7; #16
Cons: I played after a lot of rain and the concrete tees were wet and muddy. My shoes must have weighed 20 extra pounds by the end of the round, and not even the rubber pads helped.

It may have been just me but the front nine, though beautifully laid out in an old-growth forest following the death creek, got a little boring by the end - lot's of water, but not much beyond that. I was thankful the back nine felt different than the front (could have just been the butt kicking I was getting form the course).

We started the course at dawn so it was empty, but by the time we finished it was packed. I believe it was a mini tournament, but I would imagine this course stays crowded most of the time.

WORST HOLE/S: #18
Other Thoughts: Towne Lake felt like a shiny new car when compared to Alex Clark Memorial DGC a mile away. Not that Alex Clark isn't a good course - it's just that Towne Lake is truly the evolved disc golf course for the times. It's long, tightly wooded, full of risk/reward, and complete with the first class amenities any golfer could ask for.

Located at the back of the park, which had bathroom facilities and areas to keep the family happy, since you couldn't traverse this course very easily with the kids.

Granted, Towne Lake is not a course for beginners. This is a course meant for serious players who want to stretch their golf abilities in shot creativity and accuracy. I never debated about a half a star so much, but until the alternate pins are placed I'm sticking with 4.0 for now. The lack of true elevation shots and a defining signature hole leaves it just ever so short in my book, but if you are serious about your game - this is the serious course for you.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Towne Lake

5+    3/1/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right down the road from another great course. Thanks to Mckinney for being such a supporter of the sport. Great new holes, with two tees for almost every hole. The blue tees are always completely different shots than red tees; the tees were placed with great thought. The creek can be bothersome, but it is only a real worry on one hole. Most of the time, it isn't too difficult to avoid it. Good mixture of open and wooded shots. I love the tunnel shot on 12. The trees make the course, since they change up every shot. Excellent signs, and beautiful location. The designer knew what they were doing...Enjoy.
Cons: Not a lot to complain about here. The creek can be a problem on a few holes, so be careful. Trash cans are limited, and there isn't a bathroom that I found. Watch for kids running through the parking lot...the baseball fields can get pretty busy.
Other Thoughts: The little stumps/twigs are a con for other players, but you have to keep in mind that this course was only finished recently. I think McKinney did a great job clearing this monster-of-a-course out, and after it has been played for a few months, it will be trampled down perfectly. Why not stomp a few down while you play...

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/10/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Fore4
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: good course. wide open shots to wooded shots. the creek keeps you in check.
Cons: could use more trash cans. WATCH YOUR STEP! course is new so there are quite a few stumps to trip on. lots of thorns in the bushes. only a couple holes with elevation change.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical course

5+    3/1/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: sp1n
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a very pretty course that will only get more beautiful as the leaves come in for spring and summer. The hole layouts are well thought and challenging. They use the land well (and in a risk v. reward kind of way). The multiple tee boxes and hole locations will keep this course fresh and distinct for any level of player (although the challenge is greared for the more intermediate).
Cons: Not a great beginer course or for the easily fatigued. Some of the terain is hard to fight through (especially if you find yourself off the fairway). The steep drop to the creek can make for some harrowing rescues of disks. Team work comes in handy in these spots (or find someone carrying around an orange tube - odds are its a local and that tube is a super long pole). The course is new so it is still getting broken in. No real bathroom or water fountains as of yet (but close to a large park with some amenities). Its an out and back design so you don't pass the parking at any point durring the round. Can eat some disks.
Other Thoughts: The locals are committed to making this a premier place to play in the metroplex. I have only been playing for 6 months now, but I still enjoy the challenge of Towne Lake. Not being a big arm there are only a couple holes that make you feel at more of a disadvantage than usual (15 and 16), but they are still par-able in theory. It can be a frustrating course, but worth the walk every time.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flippin’ Beautiful!

2-4    5/21/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 205  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It has some great risk/reward shots, over water, technical holes, long bombs, tree navigation, and much more. The tee signs are some of the best. There are great cement tee pads, easy to spot large cement pin places, and well thought out holes. The longs are a real challenge that can make you really think. The shorts still have some risk/reward so that even they are a challenge. There are many trashcans and the park is very clean. Some of the holes are really picturesque. Navigation around the course was very easy.
Cons: The Mach 5 baskets are some of my least favorite style of baskets. No bathroom that I could find easily, but it is a big park. The creek is such a huge drop off, that part of the course follows, it may leave some feeling like won't be getting their disc back, even if they can see it. Pay attention not to get hurt going after your disc and watch out for some monster thorn trees.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor is fantastic. I wish I lived closer to be able to play this course more often. The locals we ran into were really nice and offered help if we needed any. Thank you McKinney, TX.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Seperates Men from Boys

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: GROOVY BOSSMAN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really long and wooded, well designed to put you in several shot situations, You will use every disc you have. Double Tee boxes make for different challenges for us locals who play the two courses often, as well as the A,B pin positions (which they have already moved all the holes I have birdied back to the more difficult B position) Hole # 11 has trees everywhere and there is a very narrow fairway, makes for some interesting ping pong, I swear this is the only hole where I have seen a disc hit 5 trees before hitting the ground
Cons: THORNS!! do not wear shorts!! at least for a while, and all the damn sticks from the construction, some of my shots that would have played a nice bounce and fade lay dead thanks to a damn piece of firewood!! Everyone should do their part and remove this rubble (at least from fairways) as you are walking up the holes!! Some really good Samaritans might bring a machete and do away with the thorn vines.
Other Thoughts: No doubt this one will be one that floods!! The 20 foot bridge of El Dorado Pkwy running along the back edge of the course should offer some indication of how high those two creeks can rise when we get a good rain around here. The golf club at Mckinney (across El Dorado) often floods and has to close all together, then no carts, then cartpath only, because of how long that place takes to dry out. Also pray that you dont find the water on the left of #6 (slime pool) or off the blue tees of #17 (which is crazy long anyway) the film over the water is not too inviting.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    2/13/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bout time we got a difficult course near by. Fun and challenging with alot of different shots. You must have alot of shots in the bag and you will use them at some point during the round. Must be accurate and stay on the fairway on the wooded holes or you can get into trouble quickly and the score will skyrocket. You have short technical shots and then you get out in the open and throw some big boomers and the last couple of holes. Alot places to get your birds but none are gimmes. Lots of shade and being in the woods takes the wind out of play for the most part. Two tee pads change the shots enough to make it interesting as well. The rubber mats are great for cleaning your shoes after a rain.
Cons: Creek bed is hard to get plastic back without a pole or retriever and alot of times its gone. The rough can be just that...ROUGH! The tee sign distances are way off. Can get muddy after a rain. Grass can get tall. Watch out for snakes, they are out and they are mad.
Other Thoughts: Alex Clark across the street makes fo a great mix of courses and makes for a fun day.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Captain_K
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Careful planning went in to designing and building this course, and it shows. Large concrete tee pads and nice signs, no overlaping fairways. All holes but a couple have two tees and two pin locations. The 'pro' tees aren't much farther back, but are positioned so they require a more accurate or technical throw. I've already seen the pins changed to their alternate location, I don't know if they get moved weekly or how that works, but it keeps things fresh.

This course calls for a wide variety of throws and discs. I feel like playing this course improves my game because it forces me to make throws that are outside my comfort zone. There are several 'risk vs. reward' opportunities that flirt with the tremendous gully. The front 9 is much more heavily wooded and tight, and the creek is a factor. The back 9, especially 15-17, opens up more and gives a chance to air it out.
Cons: This isn't really a con, but the course was cleared out of a dense forest area. The ground is littered with small twigs, stumps, rocks, and thorny things. Forget about making skip shots or rollers.

If you throw a disc down in the gully (which is very easy on a few holes) you won't have a fun time retrieving it, even with a pole. The sides of the gully are very steep (about 15') and covered with giant thorny bushes. I don't mind getting cut up and wet, so I've gained a few discs from people that weren't brave enough to go after theirs.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is next to a baseball park. During baseball games in spring/summer there will be concession stands for snack and drinks. This course is good enough to travel a bit for.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Upper Echelon Discin'

5+    1/31/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 168  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of different types of fairways to travel, holes 2,12,15 an 16 really cool. Love to play the course in the long to long position in the future.Water mostly only mildly in play.Not alot of skip/roll on most fairways here,other then the foot traffic that leaves noticeable tracks, the thick creekside brush beneficial to keeping discs where they land and not rolling horribly too far. Course flows very well the Huge Map of the course a great touch anyway.
Cons: One week the creek was a babbling brook easy to retrieve discs days later it was a raging river,locals must have feasts off of the plastic comin outta there.MOW THIS COURSE,grass tall enough to take some of the fun outta your game.Holes 2 thru 8 all have water dangers except six.In high winds don't play hole 8 long when the water is up with a valued disc unless its a floater or you really think your that consistent keeping your disc straight enough over a creek.I was in the water searching for my lost one and three other people playing nearby all had lost one on this hole.There is nowhere to cop a squat and rest here except the tables near hole 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts: Summertime should be heaven here with the canopy of trees keeping that Texas sun off of you in my top five DFW courses.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/24/2009   1/30/2009
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's start with the basics...18 brand new baskets (plus 1 practice basket), with multiple pin placement on many holes. Most holes also have a long and short tee, each with it's own large concrete tee box and full-color sign (some of the best in the DFW right now). Ample parking that's very close to Hole 1 and across the street from baseball fields for warm-up drives. The park is only about 1/2 mile from the highway. Also, the city installed a VERY nice bridge near Hole 18 *just* for the course...which could do good things for the sport's reputation in this area.

Landscape...the land is moderately-to-heavily wooded with only slight elevation changes in some parts. There is a large and very steep creek that comes into play on the majority of holes. The local Colin County Club did an excellent job clearing the rough on most holes, and at this point only minor additional trimming is needed on a few holes. Many of the more interesting-looking trees were worked into the course, which is always a nice treat!

Design...great variety with tons of true "risk vs reward" shots! Most of the holes are fairly straight-forward and within the 300-400' range...but the huge amout of trees make for some challenging fairways. There are also a few tunnel shots (Hole 12 is a beautiful example), some uphill and downhill shots (Hole 14 is a wonderful 275'ish downhill shot with a low ceiling), a few doglegs (left and right), and even a few mostly open shots that let you air one out. Even the more open holes (Holes 15, 16, 17 for example) still have plenty of obstacles to keep you on your toes; distance without accuracy won't help you much at this course. The long tee boxes weren't too much longer than the shorts on most of the holes, but were placed in such a way that it alters the angle of the fairway or brings new obstacles into play.

The large creek comes into play on most of the holes, and usually in a very nerve-racking way! The best example is probably Hole 2...the creek plays along the right side of the fairway for the entire length of the hole, which has a sharp dog-leg right at the end leading to the basket. Hitting the wrong tree or turning your disc over too much will send you straight into the water, and if your drive is safe but short, you'll still have to carry over the corner of the creek to get to the pin. Great hole!

Most of the baskets were placed in such a position that it made me think the designer(s) really put a lot of though into them. Several were placed *near* the creek, but not so close that a conservative approach would still land in the drink. Others were placed in such a way that you wouldn't have the same approach or putt from varying angles.

All in all, the course was both fun and challenging...it forces you to make a decisive throw and execute it well, unless you plan on shooting way over par :)
Cons: A few of the baskets were improperly installed...one with the bottom of the chains tangled, and one with the whole basket *slightly* leaning.

The distances as marked on the signs are clearly too short on some of the holes, but I didn't feel that it affected the game much.

The creek can be a dangerous to get into on some holes...bring a long pole or some other kind of disc retriever.

THORNS!!! Some holes had large areas (off the fairway) full of thorns of Biblical proportion! Watch out for those...better yet, just stay on the fairway :)

Other than those things, the course just needs a little primping...I played it on opening day, so the limbs and wood chips in the fairways were to be expected. I think that a few months of regular use (and maybe a few workdays) will clean the course up nicely.
Other Thoughts: Being a brand new course, there were still some things that need to be worked on in order to get it to it's full potential, but since it just opened, I didn't want to list them as Cons. First off, it looks like most of the holes required some serious bush-hogging, which left a lot of wood chips / branches / vines on the ground. It didn't mess with my footing much, but it did take a little away from the aesthetic value of the course. Second, the baskets were set into concrete blocks, which are still exposed. I know the locals are planning on addressing this soon, which is another reason I didn't list it under "Cons". Finally, a couple of holes needed a few more limbs removed to make them fair...this could be done manually with tools, or naturally with discs over time...nothing major though.

I'm really looking forward to seeing this course in the Spring and Summer, once the plants are in bloom and the grass is nice and green again (and hopefully the grounds will be cleared of the wood chips, branches, etc). This place will be beautiful!

I feel that over the next year, Towne Lakes will probably become one of the most popular courses in the DFW Metroplex. It's also right across the highway from Alex Clark Memorial DGC, a fun pitch-and-putt style course that hosts a popular tournament each year. Having 2 quality courses this close together could make for a great 2-day tournament (fingers crossed).

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.