Owasso, OK 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: notrpmp Hole #18
3 / 220ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee: This picture shows the 'A' position (short).



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    2/17/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: CJshaggy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging baskets far away from the tee-off that make it fun to throw as hard as you can, great use of water in the course, very vast course that offers a good amount of play time
Cons: Finding the next basket is way more difficult than it should be. It's not as clear as most courses are. My girlfriend and I played and after a certain hole, we went to another one that was close by it which we assumed was the next hole. However, we ended up skipping the 2 holes before that one. Directions are awful, it needs improvement no question. The signs that put the hole in diagrams are also pretty sketchy, some are broken down, all of them face the wrong direction and they cause confusion by including more than one basket in their maps, making it hard to decide what the goal of this particular hole is.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a fun course. But with clearer instructions and better directions to the holes, this course could be 10 times better than it is.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Centennial Park

1    9/21/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed course with multiple pin positions, and large, really good quality tees. Even some benches behind some of the tees. Trees are not ubiquitous in this park so, the ones that are there are utilized quite thoughtfully. pin placements provide unique challenges, and water comes into play on most holes. Signs on all holes. Well maintained park with mowed grass on fairways.
Cons: Signage is good overall, but could be better - mabe a next tee position.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, it definitely caters to big arms (which personally I like) but even noodle arms will find this course offering them some interesting challenges. It isn't particularly technical, so birdie opportunities off drives are a must if you want to stay competitive. But even new players will enjoy this course. Also, I went at the end of the summer so all the creekbeds were dry meaning that there were pretty much no water hazards - which made it pretty fun too. 18 would be a lot of fun if the pond was full (its on a peninsula about 300 at the middle pin position).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Casual type course

1    6/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Decent technical shots with a couple wide open big arm throws. Great 18th hole island green.
Cons: Crummy tee signs. Flat. Most holes not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course and looking forward to playing it again. It's in a nice area of town.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New favorite big boy course

5+    7/27/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: beans
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: awsome course with great long shots and well placed baskets love the multiple baskets placements and well kept park
Cons: not to much shade so on hot days its really hot
Other Thoughts: love this course escpecially hole 18 great shot very cool

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quality course given the location

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very well groomed, bathrooms, playgrounds, pavilion.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape, and a very nice feature being that they are wider at the front to account for the multiple pin placements (which exist on almost every hole!).. Mach baskets in very good condition, they look brand new. Tee signs are present and other than the distance seeming a bit optimistic, are more than adequate to navigate the course. It is very easy to find the next tee from the basket, although next-tee markers would really help.

The layout is pretty open, with the holes using the existing trees and creek that runs through the park as sometimes-daunting obstacles.

My memorable holes:
2 - Throw out from tree cover, between two imposing old-growth trees, intimidating.
6 - Short hole, but you either have to go for it and hit the green, with a pond threatening short and left. A small layup area short and right is available if you don't want to man up..
9 - Over a creek, through a small window in the trees, lots of opportunity to get knocked sideways.
16 - Over the creek again, and through some big trees, then the basket perched elevated on a hill with a pond threatening on the right.
18 - As close to a signature hole as you can get I suppose. Throw over a nasty-muddy pond, then the basket is elevated on a mound. A real go-for-it or lay-up decision to be made on this one.
Cons: As stated above, the first con to mention is no "next-tee" indicators. The course designer could really take a cue from other local courses (Redhawk/Blackhawk, or Dovillio for example) and paint an arm on the basket indicating the direction of the next hole, or like a local course just has bricks laid into the dirt with "next tee" on them.

Flat. But hey this is Oklahoma right? What can you do? I do feel that the designer best used the land available, but the fact remains that ther basically is no elevation change. Also, while there is a good bit of old growth trees, there is nothing dense, so the only thing that was able to be done was place baskets behind or in line with what trees are there, which was done pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Even with the lack of much difficulty (for a novice anyway), I found the course to be quite fun to play. I rated it a 3 due to the lack of difficulty and diversity of hole type, and maybe a bit for wondering which of the tees/baskets in sight were the next one, until checking out the signs. One of these items can be fixed easily, while it would take some serious work to address the others.

If you are in the Tulsa area, you're in luck! There are quite a few courses in the area, and this one only being 15 minutes or so away is definitely worth hitting up if you have the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Short Course

5+    5/5/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: jbf16falcon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I call it an Excellent course for a very short course. Maybe not demanding by any strech of the imagination for the experienced, but comfrotable, clean and maintained.
Cons: What can I say, it's all par 3. It's short. The 18th hole is a disc eater with secondary pin placement accross a pond (not really a con)
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes have been installed. Lots of trees and water hazzards to make an all par 3 enjoyable. If you are learning this is a very nice course. If you are experienced and you live close, it's a clean and a nice place to go play a short tune up course. Hole four and eighteen will at least make you think.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park. Wish I could have seen some of the B pins.

1    11/3/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was a little worried I was going to take on a monster, but was pleasantly surprised to find a nice suburban course with movable pins. In a short configuration, this is a fun course for rec players, in a longer one, a more challenging layout for advanced players. Flow is fairly logical, although you need to look for the tee signs. Uses the park creek very well as a hazard.
Cons: Some holes were a bit too open for my taste. Flat as a pancake, and due to recent rains there was a lot of standing water on the course. No cement pads yet (although I hear they're in the works). I imagine this course would flood quite easy. A lot of the pins were in their shortest configuration leaving me feeling underwhelmed. Walking path through the course might mean some waiting time.
Other Thoughts: Still looks like a work in progress, but it looks like folks in Owasso will have a cool course to play once they get some pads in. Some trees to help define the fairways a little better could make this magnificent. An excellent addition to all the cool courses in metro Tulsa. Between this, the Mohawk courses, McClure and Dovillio, you could have a full day of discing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved!

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: JBaskins
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, yet all holes provide a birdie opportunity. Has both open and tight holes. In the last few weeks they have redesigned the course adding 9 holes and moving most of the already existing holes. This week they installed new signs on each tee box. Course is well groomed and in a nice part of town. Me and my friends are very exciting to have this course right here in Owasso.
Cons: 1. Dirt tee boxes.
2. Difficult to play 18 without ending up in the water a least once.
4. Some holes run parallel to the the walking path. At times you have to be patient as you wait on walkers to pass by.
Other Thoughts: Someone convinced the Shell station down the street to begin selling innova discs. This is great since the next closest store is a about 25 minutes away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Twoputt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No mosquitos, ticks or poison ivy. Nice new baskets with number plates. 18 holes with 36 basket placements. Easy to walk and plenty of shade early and late. Very clean park. No alcohol.
Cons: No concrete tees. They will install these in about 1-2 years. Need to take all fluids with you, no returning to the parking lot until you are finished. No alcohol.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course that compares to McClure Park and Dovillio in nearby Tulsa. Good for all levels of players.
It can play from around 4500ft up to about 6700ft. Pleanty of nearby restaurants and stores.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice usage of park.
- Good for a beginner with plenty of areas to work on driving distance and accuracy.
- Nice Baskets
Cons: - No signs. Right now all that is up is a stake in the ground with a sheet of paper telling distance. Was told by a local that new signs were coming so don't if what is up are the new signs or if they haven't arrived yet. The course has just been redesigned from 9 holes to 18 so hopefully they will be coming.
- if the stakes get torn up, it will be difficult for a new person to find their way around without a local.
Other Thoughts: - This is a really good course for beginners. It also has a lot of potential to be a really nice course if proper tees and signs are put up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.