Temple, TX 
Lion's Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 2/2010)
4 / 437ft.   4 / 800ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Sign (Long)



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Better of the two temple courses

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: MoFlicker
Played: 126  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
Pros: Lots of variety. 1-11 are mostly open, 12-21 are like playing a totally different course. I really enjoyed these more technical holes. My favorite was 17. 220 ft to an elevated tee surrounded by trees. Came very close to an ace on this one
Cons: Navagation is tough for an out of towner like myself playing the course the first time through. After 2 I was a little confused about where to go next. Also after 9 I had mistaken the 12th tee for number 10. Some next tee signs would be really helpful in a couple of spots. Also I had to skip #3 and #6 due to both hole being completely submerged in water. Luckily it's 21 holes, so I still got plenty of disc in.
Other Thoughts: Don't know how common the flooding is on the front 9. If they maybe moved these holes to less flood prone areas, and made the navigation a little better I'd easily bump this course up to a 4.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: daveseeley
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Great facilities like water and restrooms, benches, and shade. Baskets are in excellent shape. Tee pads are perfect.
Cons: Very popular softball and baseball complex and community pool in same park so lots of people around, not on course, but around. Also there seems to be a consistant problem with young (middle school or jr high) kids screwin around on the course. A kind word to encourage them to move on or let pass ends with attitudes.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course, fun and well planned.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign needs a redesign

5+    10/31/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: rgp626
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course redesign affects only holes 5, 6 and 7. 5 now plays longer and drives directly across the water. Nice reworking of the space. The remainder of the course is intact. The remaining front nine are challenging with a great use of changing elevation. 10 and 11 are skipped by many players, but offer you an opportunity to really wing it. the rest of the back nine is an assortment of uphill shots that calls for a variety of shorts and some can baffle newbies. The last tree holes should definitely not be skipped. They are all short skill shots that can play as easy as pitch and putt or end with bogies.
Cons: The redesign of 6 and 7 are weak. Seven is now longer but the tree hazzard has been taken out play. Now it is just a boring par 3. I save my most harsh criticism of the redesign for hole 6. It now plays down a narrow gap between a trench and a fence. This in itself is not the issue. What is an issue is there is a walking/jogging track the full length of the hole directly in the center of the fairway. The trench is a rancid mosquito pit in the spring .It would have been better to move the teebox to where the basket is located and take basket back nearer to the old 6 location. This jogging trail/fairway is going to be a mess during high activity times.
Other Thoughts: Long walk from 2 basket to 3 tee box.
Water and Restrooms at 1 and 5 are welcome niceties. The RR's are usually really clean.so don't be afraid to take your girlfriend or wife.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Killeen area discers.

1    5/18/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: michelsea
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course lots of variety on distance wooded clear and water. Best course my wife and I have thrown in Texas.
Cons: A little heavy on the itch weed and it seems like stray discs are in no shortage we have both found and lost discs on this course.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 and 19-21 are favorites short but wooded really test your ability to manipulate the path of your disc. A few holes should be par 5 but over all its a solid course though its no Todd park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Soild

1    10/15/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a solid course with good and fun shot variety. This course has a great mix of elevation and flat holes, open and tight holes that transition from one type to another in bunches. The higher elevation parts offer some fantastic central Texas views. Lion's has multiple paved and signed tee pads on most holes. A few restrooms are along the way taking advantage of the park setting yet the course finds its way to the more interesting natural terrain in the trees and along the water hazards.

Holes 12-21 are the best part as the course brings you up hill and into some wild and in the shade. The park grass gives way to alleys of forest and thick low tunnel shots under the trees. The park is popular and well kept and the course design does a great job keeping all the other activities away from throwers. This course was not crowded when I played and it was a perfect day for disc golf.
Cons: Some of the middle holes are just wide open and somewhat boring. I saw a few people skip holes ten and eleven and I thought that it was a great idea. Since it was my first time playing Lions Park I played all longs and the openness and length of the front nine felt repetitive. (I usually play the longs to get a better sense for the courses). In hindsight I think the fun factor would have been improved by switching up longs and shorts. It might be a good idea to bring shoes you don't mind getting wet or muddy. One tee pad (9 maybe) had fire ants and I suffered a couple dozen bites on one hand for the next week.
Other Thoughts: Grade this course on the back ten only and its rating would be higher than if it were only graded on the front eleven. DGCR member wtafro and his brother guided me along this course and I'm sure having great company made the course more fun in the end. I could see this place being brutal in the summer. I would recommend this course for anyone at any skill level, If you just want a quick round you may want to skip to the back half.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were great concrete teepads with excellent signs that showed where the basket was, the distance, and the par. The baskets were good. The course was in great shape and very well maintained. There were even signs between holes to help with navigation. I never had a problem finding the next hole on a course that I'd never played before and was playing by myself. There were several holes that I thought were really neat because of the elevation changes and the location of the trees on the fairways. There are several very long holes on this course also, making for added challenge. I wasn't ever worried about losing a disc in any hazards. I only had a scare once on hole 14 when my disc was knocked down by a treetop and landed in the brush. Finally found it though as well as another disc to boot. There are also restrooms at the start of the course and a couple of others along the way. Really great park overall.
Cons: Not a lot of shade on some of the holes. Windy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at about 9:30 in the morning on a weekday and there were hardly any people in the entire park. Can't say that I agree with other user's statement about hole 2. The ob is very fair and easily avoidable when getting to the pin. Hole 2 is the most wide open hole on the entire course and is a fun, long downhill shot.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

2-4    7/13/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety. 15 of the 18 holes are excellent.

Parking is great and easy to find.

The signs are some of the best I've ever seen and there are none missing yet.

The flow and multiple tee configuration is very easy to follow. It starts and ends at the parking area.

The concrete pads are large and level
Cons: The Texas sun will kill you on this course in the summer due to lack of shade in some areas of the course.

3 of the 18 holes are out of the way, boring, and should be re-located.

The O.B. undergrowth is very dense and thistley. Discs that fade too much on 2 and 4 will be lost.

Some of the walks between holes are very long.
Other Thoughts: I will drive 33 miles to play this course again, but not in the summer!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.