Temple, TX 
Lion's Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 2/2010)
4 / 437ft.   4 / 800ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Sign (Long)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Excellent

1    12/10/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course for the first time on Dec 10, 2011. We are playing this course again for our League round on Sunday, December 18th, 2011.

#12-21 are the best part about this course for my particular style which favors technicality over distance.

Nice baskets and teepads, and some water comes into play which I always appreciate. I think every course should have a water hole or 2 to be considered excellent or better.

Has a decent variety of shots: big bombs, placement drives, thumbers, over the water throws, downhill/uphill, a few technical throws. I mainly throw RHBH and don't think I used a sidearm once?

21 holes that are all very fun to play using contrasting styles.

This is a great course to play doubles from the longs.
Cons: Perhaps unfairly, I had a friend tell me that this course was better than Circle C, which is generally considered to be the top course in Austin. It's easy to get spoiled by such courses.

I would say East Metro Park in Manor and Circle C in Austin are more worthy of a 4.5 rating as many people are giving Lion's in these reviews. Lion's had a couple of minor flow issues in comparison and holes that were long for the sake of distance. Which makes this a solid 3.5-4.0 instead.

Let me also say that I truly prefer technical woods courses since I don't throw 450'+. If you are like me, then you may want to play #12-21 twice and just skip the entire front part of the course thru Hole 11, although there are a few cool holes that are worth checking out there, too.

#9 could be improved by adding a teepad in the section of grass behind the normal tee, maybe 100' straight back or more just across the little road.

#12 could stand to have at least one good anny line towards the basket. Right now it's setup for a placement shot to the rear of the upper fairway, but would be more fun if there was a better chance to break through the line of trees and get closer to the basket for a birdie op. Maybe I don't know the secret line, yet.

The first eleven remind me a bit of Old Settlers Park, mostly wide open and mostly long holes with no need for pinpoint accuracy. You can throw almost any line and even on a yank or grip-lock you can still do about the same as if you executed your throw to perfection. I had a few really bad turnovers that left me ~100' to one side of everybody else and we still tied the holes. So if you throw ~350' on flat ground like me, then Pars are no problem here (not a con).
Other Thoughts: I did not review this to rail on Lion's, it IS a solid course. I was a bit miffed by the 4.5 ratings and wanted to give a fair clarification of my reasons why it is just a notch below that. But hey, such ratings are really arbitrary based on each reviewers frame of reference, so it's better to read the actual review than judge by # stars.

We also played the South course off 5th, which was like a baby Old Settler's Park, but actually better than OSP. It's dead flat and mostly open with a few really fun holes. It's kinda like a burger with mayo and cheese only, one that would be better with some bacon and avocado, but the restaurant just doesn't have those ingredients available. Lion's is better than that one easily. However, they are both worth checking out if you are going thru Temple. The Sin Tex Club from Austin had a great time at both places!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

1    8/5/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is quite spacious - 21 holes, and 4 long bombs 696' or greater
- The long holes come first, followed by the short technical holes, which means you're not trying to chunk it over a 900' hole with a tired arm at the end.
- Good variety of holes: long field shots (2, 7, 10, 11), birdie/ace race holes (3, 6, 9, 13, 15), and wooded holes with wicked mandos and unique lines (12, 18).
- Good use of elevation. Holes 2, 8, and 9 are greatly enhanced by fairly typical elevation changes.
- I actually appreciated the long holes. I can see how people would complain that they're "filler", but IMHO being able to consistently let off long straight drives is also a technical aspect to the game.
Cons: - The only water that comes into play is on holes 3 and 5. There's a beautiful pond between 14 and 15 just begging to be included somehow.
- I didn't see any water or bathroom facilities after hole 5. If I got that wrong, please feel free to correct me.
- The fairway of hole 6 looks like it straddles a drainage ditch. It's awkward even when it's dry out.
- While I liked the "long holes first" idea, I felt like there were two courses: holes 1-11 and 12-21. Some integration of short and long (for example, adding an extra long hole somewhere in the back 10) would be welcome.
Other Thoughts: This course came as a very pleasant surprise to me. Coming in as a low-to-mid Recreational player, I found this course quite challenging in all aspects of my game - open-field and close-quarter drives, and shorter approach-only holes. This course is not a good place for beginners to start, but once you've mastered the basic concepts of the game and can play with some consistency, this course is excellent. I would consider it a treat to have this course locally. Highly recommended as a day trip for anybody between Waco and Austin, or if you're passing by on I-35.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

2-4    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: daveseeley
Played: 56  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Great facilities like water and restrooms, benches, and shade. Baskets are in excellent shape. Tee pads are perfect.
Cons: Very popular softball and baseball complex and community pool in same park so lots of people around, not on course, but around. Also there seems to be a consistant problem with young (middle school or jr high) kids screwin around on the course. A kind word to encourage them to move on or let pass ends with attitudes.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course, fun and well planned.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quality Disc Golf Experience

5+    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Dr.Seuss
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I will start this review honestly, this is my home course, I may be biased towards this course, however I do believe that my 4.5 rating is correct. I will provide adequate proof to hold this course to a 4.5 rating, I will also give valid reasons that is not and will never be a 5 disc rated course unless changes are made.

My main reason in writing this review comes from the past few reviews of this course and I 100% believe that they have missed the mark in regards to their description of the course during their reviews.

1. This course has everything you are looking for in a quality course, from the tee pads to the bathrooms this course is fully equipped to handle a quick round to a full weekend tournament and everything in between. The park itself has 2 full functioning restroom facilities, each are located on the course, 1st at hole 1 & practice basket, 2nd at hole 6. This is a full functioning park with 2 full sized playgrounds for the kids, covered picnic areas, horseshoe pits, and ball fields. Bring the family for the outing and they won't be bored.

2. The TDGA has invested a lot of time and money into the upkeep towards this course, all 21 holes have identical 10x4 cement tee pads (very nice, you don't see this type of tee pad many other places), there are also pro/am tees on 9 of the holes. Each tee pro/am has quality signage. At hole 1 there is a very large map of the course, information on how to play DG and quick info about the TDGA and the sport of DG. There is also a practice basket. There are trash cans on 1/4th of the holes which are emptied by the park & rec department, they also mow the course regularly.

3. Variety of holes: this course includes every type of hole that you are going to see on any given course. Terrain change, open bombs, tight and technical, wooded shots, tunnel shots, water hazards, par 3's & 4's. One of the biggest complaints that I have read about this course is the distance this course requires you to have. I completely disagree with previous reviewers on hole 10 & 11. These are back to back 700 & 800 ft. holes, they test the big arms with accuracy and distance in order to score well. They have tight OB which forces good play to come out ahead. I understand how some players believe this to be a detriment to the course, but I believe that it adds a very challenging section you don't see other places.

4. My favorite holes are 4, a long tight drive with a high risk/reward choice, hole 11, 2 solid drives are need to 3 this hole, with OB on both sides this becomes much easier said than done, hole 17, a shorter hole with a tight window looking at the basket heading up a hill, and 21, a 300 ft shot that is very tight one mistake and par becomes much more challenging.
Cons: 1. The biggest issue to Lions Park and what I believe is something that is truly holding it back is the lack of alternate pin placements. Many would benefit greatly from adding alt pin placements, some easier, some harder. This would give a much needed variety to the course for the locals, as well as providing options for higher level tournament play.

2. The 2nd biggest issue that I have with Lions are holes 6 & 7, hands down these 2 holes take away from the technicality that the other 19 holes hold. They are the very definition of filler holes. This creates a very boring 2 hole stretch moving from the bottom half of the course to the top.

3. Summer time heat/sun, this course is fairly open on the 1-2,6-17 holes, during the summer this can really take its toll on afternoon rounds. Bring water, take advantage of the courses facilities when you can and stick to the shade.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for an easy course this is not it, this course will challenge you from the short boxes. It has a lot of distance which understandably can be seen as a con, however the distance that Lions Park presents is not without merit, the distance is challenging and rewards good drive placement.

You will be forced to bring out all of your shots to shoot well here, you can air it out, and then be forced to dial it down. The elevation changes are used to the fullest here and create challenging shots not seen at other courses.

The highlight of playing Lions Park is the little things that add up to make this such a great place to play DG, having nice facilities to traversing such a wide variety of terrain will bring you back to Lions Park over and over again.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I hate to hate on my home course

5+    3/29/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 12-21 are pretty great holes with a variety of shot selection needed through modestly wooded areas. Hole 4 is nice with towering pecan trees and hole 3 is a great ace hole with water surrounding.
Cons: Quite honestly, I find the cons to this course out weigh the pros. Not that it's a terrible course, but many holes are completely unimaginative. Hole 1 is not bad, but then you get to the massive depression of the lower part of Lion's Park where, with the exception of holes 3 and 4, the designer basically placed baskets in the middle of a field trying to create a course that make some sense in terms of its layout. I realize holes 5, 6, and 7 are part of a redesign, but geeze, just scrap the holes 2-7 and 10-11 and start over. Actually holes 8 and 9 kind of suck too. And it's terribly unfortunate because holes 12-21 are pretty awesome. I just don't like throwing in massive fields disguised as disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Temple and want to play a round of disc golf, go to the 5th Street course, referred to as Lion's Junction or Rotary Club course also. As far as lay out goes, it's not the most creative course in the world, but it's consistently good (with the exception of hole 1. Again, a basket in a field). The distances are nicely diverse and holes 7-11 are commonly referred to as "birdy row" with some very entertaining par threes. Unfortunately most tournaments that make their way through Temple are at Lion's Park due to holes 12-21.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

5+    2/15/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place has an awesome mix of shots. From open driving-based holes(#2,7,10,11,14) to technical 90 degree turns through heavy woods(#12,13,18), to holes with hills that seem to be able to send your disc rolling very far away from your intended lie (#8,9,12,17), to shots that go over a water hazard which will gladly take your disc forever(#3,5); this course has everything. Through all 21 holes, the scenery keeps changing and changing. It is a very big course. If you go out with a few friends, prepare to spend about two hours there if you intend to play all 21 holes. The first half of the course is mostly open. So if that's your thing, it's there for you. The last half is mostly heavily wooded areas for all you technical people. Either way, the shot balance that is set up in this course makes it a well-rounded experience for any player. The upkeep here is very nice. Taking into account the size of the park, the fact that they're able to keep the grass at a decent level is amazing. There are bathrooms in reasonable locations, (one by the parking lot by Hole #1 and another by Hole #5). My personal favorite hole is #13: it's a cool little par 3 where the basket is uphill, to the left, across a creek, and surrounded by trees. Hole #12 is also a nice one. The basket for that one is set blindly up a steep hill, which itself is surrounded by relatively tall trees, and the basket is to the right. If you don't have a good shot that will fade right, (which I don't), this hole will make you wish you did. Also, the baskets for holes #12,13,15,18 are all blind baskets.
Cons: Some fairways have mud that takes a long time to dry out. There is a walking track that runs the entire length of the fairway of Hole #6. That same walking track comes into play on a good number of other holes as well, but hole #6 is the worst in that regard. The navigation can be confusing in a couple of spots. Namely, going from the basket for #2 to the box for #3, (alot of people mistake the box for #7 for #3 because it is way closer to #2 than #3 is), and going from #9 to #10 (if you don't notice #10 and #11, which are in a field by themselves, you might accidentally continue to #12 since it is closer to #9 than #10 is). Also, there isn't anything overly special about Hole #7 and #10. #7 is just a straight ahead and open par 3. #10 and #11 are both straight ahead par 4s that are located right next to each other in the same open field, but at least Hole #11 plays across a creek, whereas #10 has nothing that is really distinguishing.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for pedestrians! First time = Bring a map. Don't lose a disc in the pond by Holes #3,4,5. I've been in there twice and neither time was enjoyable. Unless, of course, you like standing in calf-deep mud and chest-deep murky water while constantly regretting your decision to enter the pond and retrieve the special disc that you just couldn't let go of. Overall, I am very glad that I have the chance to play this course as often as I do. It is definitely the nicest and most well-rounded course between Waco and Austin.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign needs a redesign

5+    10/31/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: rgp626
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course redesign affects only holes 5, 6 and 7. 5 now plays longer and drives directly across the water. Nice reworking of the space. The remainder of the course is intact. The remaining front nine are challenging with a great use of changing elevation. 10 and 11 are skipped by many players, but offer you an opportunity to really wing it. the rest of the back nine is an assortment of uphill shots that calls for a variety of shorts and some can baffle newbies. The last tree holes should definitely not be skipped. They are all short skill shots that can play as easy as pitch and putt or end with bogies.
Cons: The redesign of 6 and 7 are weak. Seven is now longer but the tree hazzard has been taken out play. Now it is just a boring par 3. I save my most harsh criticism of the redesign for hole 6. It now plays down a narrow gap between a trench and a fence. This in itself is not the issue. What is an issue is there is a walking/jogging track the full length of the hole directly in the center of the fairway. The trench is a rancid mosquito pit in the spring .It would have been better to move the teebox to where the basket is located and take basket back nearer to the old 6 location. This jogging trail/fairway is going to be a mess during high activity times.
Other Thoughts: Long walk from 2 basket to 3 tee box.
Water and Restrooms at 1 and 5 are welcome niceties. The RR's are usually really clean.so don't be afraid to take your girlfriend or wife.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Killeen area discers.

1    5/18/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: michelsea
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course lots of variety on distance wooded clear and water. Best course my wife and I have thrown in Texas.
Cons: A little heavy on the itch weed and it seems like stray discs are in no shortage we have both found and lost discs on this course.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 and 19-21 are favorites short but wooded really test your ability to manipulate the path of your disc. A few holes should be par 5 but over all its a solid course though its no Todd park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lions nest

5+    4/13/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: O'Malley
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: To someone that knows how to play it is a very challenging and long course. It allows all skill levels to play. It is fun on a bad day.
Cons: If you throw high on the back 9 of this course tou are more likely to lose your disc. No trash cans so people leave trash ( pack it in pack it out! ) Construction between 3-6 for soccer field changes course.
Other Thoughts: I will play every chance i get. Will suggest this course to anyone.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Unexpected Gem

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is surprisingly diverse. Holes lengths range from 185' to 800' over flat to hilly terrain. I loved the fact that start throwing over open terrain, then suddenly moving through that "hill country" type hole, and finally ending in some tight wooded golf that reminded me of Colorado. Four holes play water, and I'm sure hole #3 has eaten many discs, but good conservative play should keep experienced golfers dry.

There are adequate concrete tees, and some holes have fantastic signs with numbers and distances while others are severely lacking. Eight holes have alternate tee boxes for the big arms, and more experienced players. There are also other things to do in the park, so feel free to bring the family, but the course itself is not stroller friendly. Navigation was pretty easy, but I still recommend bringing a map to help guide your way. This especially comes handy in blind shots like #15 or #17.

The bread and butter of this course IMO is definitely holes #12 through #21. Some holes had a back nine Harry Myers DGC feel to it, coupled with fantastic tight wooded holes that I might play at Sundance Trail Ranch DGC, in Colorado. If you're a sucker for hilly short shots that force you to be accurate - you'll love this run. But, if you're into big open drives there are four to five good holes for you too.

BEST HOLE/S: #12
Cons: Holes #10 and #11 are filler, and I almost wish they would make it a 19-hole course and just forget about them. However, some people argue this provide that additional length many players want - so you can decide when you play it. Reviewers argue that part of the front nine is repetitive, but only #6, #10, and #11 are boring. Out of 21 holes - that's not bad. As previously mentioned - you may just want to skip #10 and #11 and move on to a very cool #12.

There is a walk between holes after #2, #4, and #6, and unfortunately after the big rains - it's a soggy mess. This isn't normally an issue however in the dryer climate. Also, hole #7 is the only tee without a concrete tee and it's only marked by a small temporary sign, so watch for it. Bottom line however is that more of these cons are nit-picky at best, but surely things to consider for improvement.

WORST HOLE/S: #6; #7
Other Thoughts: I think the best part of Lion's Park was how unexpectedly good it was, and it borders on having a 4.5 rating. I mean, I knew it was a well rated course, and read a lot of reviews, but this is a great example of how you truly have to experience a course for yourself to understand.

Granted, it's not polished like many courses you'd find in the Austin area, but besides my round at Rivery Park, this was by far the best disc golf experience I had in my Waco, Temple, and north Austin tour. I highly recommend this place to anyone in the area or even in the Austin and Waco area. There are always things to critique about courses, but ultimately it's about the overall experience, and this was certainly a surprising gem.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.