Temple, TX 
Lion's Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #8 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 274ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quality Disc Golf Experience

5+    4/1/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Dr.Seuss
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I will start this review honestly, this is my home course, I may be biased towards this course, however I do believe that my 4.5 rating is correct. I will provide adequate proof to hold this course to a 4.5 rating, I will also give valid reasons that is not and will never be a 5 disc rated course unless changes are made.

My main reason in writing this review comes from the past few reviews of this course and I 100% believe that they have missed the mark in regards to their description of the course during their reviews.

1. This course has everything you are looking for in a quality course, from the tee pads to the bathrooms this course is fully equipped to handle a quick round to a full weekend tournament and everything in between. The park itself has 2 full functioning restroom facilities, each are located on the course, 1st at hole 1 & practice basket, 2nd at hole 6. This is a full functioning park with 2 full sized playgrounds for the kids, covered picnic areas, horseshoe pits, and ball fields. Bring the family for the outing and they won't be bored.

2. The TDGA has invested a lot of time and money into the upkeep towards this course, all 21 holes have identical 10x4 cement tee pads (very nice, you don't see this type of tee pad many other places), there are also pro/am tees on 9 of the holes. Each tee pro/am has quality signage. At hole 1 there is a very large map of the course, information on how to play DG and quick info about the TDGA and the sport of DG. There is also a practice basket. There are trash cans on 1/4th of the holes which are emptied by the park & rec department, they also mow the course regularly.

3. Variety of holes: this course includes every type of hole that you are going to see on any given course. Terrain change, open bombs, tight and technical, wooded shots, tunnel shots, water hazards, par 3's & 4's. One of the biggest complaints that I have read about this course is the distance this course requires you to have. I completely disagree with previous reviewers on hole 10 & 11. These are back to back 700 & 800 ft. holes, they test the big arms with accuracy and distance in order to score well. They have tight OB which forces good play to come out ahead. I understand how some players believe this to be a detriment to the course, but I believe that it adds a very challenging section you don't see other places.

4. My favorite holes are 4, a long tight drive with a high risk/reward choice, hole 11, 2 solid drives are need to 3 this hole, with OB on both sides this becomes much easier said than done, hole 17, a shorter hole with a tight window looking at the basket heading up a hill, and 21, a 300 ft shot that is very tight one mistake and par becomes much more challenging.
Cons: 1. The biggest issue to Lions Park and what I believe is something that is truly holding it back is the lack of alternate pin placements. Many would benefit greatly from adding alt pin placements, some easier, some harder. This would give a much needed variety to the course for the locals, as well as providing options for higher level tournament play.

2. The 2nd biggest issue that I have with Lions are holes 6 & 7, hands down these 2 holes take away from the technicality that the other 19 holes hold. They are the very definition of filler holes. This creates a very boring 2 hole stretch moving from the bottom half of the course to the top.

3. Summer time heat/sun, this course is fairly open on the 1-2,6-17 holes, during the summer this can really take its toll on afternoon rounds. Bring water, take advantage of the courses facilities when you can and stick to the shade.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for an easy course this is not it, this course will challenge you from the short boxes. It has a lot of distance which understandably can be seen as a con, however the distance that Lions Park presents is not without merit, the distance is challenging and rewards good drive placement.

You will be forced to bring out all of your shots to shoot well here, you can air it out, and then be forced to dial it down. The elevation changes are used to the fullest here and create challenging shots not seen at other courses.

The highlight of playing Lions Park is the little things that add up to make this such a great place to play DG, having nice facilities to traversing such a wide variety of terrain will bring you back to Lions Park over and over again.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I hate to hate on my home course

5+    3/29/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: thshistory
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 12-21 are pretty great holes with a variety of shot selection needed through modestly wooded areas. Hole 4 is nice with towering pecan trees and hole 3 is a great ace hole with water surrounding.
Cons: Quite honestly, I find the cons to this course out weigh the pros. Not that it's a terrible course, but many holes are completely unimaginative. Hole 1 is not bad, but then you get to the massive depression of the lower part of Lion's Park where, with the exception of holes 3 and 4, the designer basically placed baskets in the middle of a field trying to create a course that make some sense in terms of its layout. I realize holes 5, 6, and 7 are part of a redesign, but geeze, just scrap the holes 2-7 and 10-11 and start over. Actually holes 8 and 9 kind of suck too. And it's terribly unfortunate because holes 12-21 are pretty awesome. I just don't like throwing in massive fields disguised as disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Temple and want to play a round of disc golf, go to the 5th Street course, referred to as Lion's Junction or Rotary Club course also. As far as lay out goes, it's not the most creative course in the world, but it's consistently good (with the exception of hole 1. Again, a basket in a field). The distances are nicely diverse and holes 7-11 are commonly referred to as "birdy row" with some very entertaining par threes. Unfortunately most tournaments that make their way through Temple are at Lion's Park due to holes 12-21.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

5+    2/15/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: backward_axis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place has an awesome mix of shots. From open driving-based holes(#2,7,10,11,14) to technical 90 degree turns through heavy woods(#12,13,18), to holes with hills that seem to be able to send your disc rolling very far away from your intended lie (#8,9,12,17), to shots that go over a water hazard which will gladly take your disc forever(#3,5); this course has everything. Through all 21 holes, the scenery keeps changing and changing. It is a very big course. If you go out with a few friends, prepare to spend about two hours there if you intend to play all 21 holes. The first half of the course is mostly open. So if that's your thing, it's there for you. The last half is mostly heavily wooded areas for all you technical people. Either way, the shot balance that is set up in this course makes it a well-rounded experience for any player. The upkeep here is very nice. Taking into account the size of the park, the fact that they're able to keep the grass at a decent level is amazing. There are bathrooms in reasonable locations, (one by the parking lot by Hole #1 and another by Hole #5). My personal favorite hole is #13: it's a cool little par 3 where the basket is uphill, to the left, across a creek, and surrounded by trees. Hole #12 is also a nice one. The basket for that one is set blindly up a steep hill, which itself is surrounded by relatively tall trees, and the basket is to the right. If you don't have a good shot that will fade right, (which I don't), this hole will make you wish you did. Also, the baskets for holes #12,13,15,18 are all blind baskets.
Cons: Some fairways have mud that takes a long time to dry out. There is a walking track that runs the entire length of the fairway of Hole #6. That same walking track comes into play on a good number of other holes as well, but hole #6 is the worst in that regard. The navigation can be confusing in a couple of spots. Namely, going from the basket for #2 to the box for #3, (alot of people mistake the box for #7 for #3 because it is way closer to #2 than #3 is), and going from #9 to #10 (if you don't notice #10 and #11, which are in a field by themselves, you might accidentally continue to #12 since it is closer to #9 than #10 is). Also, there isn't anything overly special about Hole #7 and #10. #7 is just a straight ahead and open par 3. #10 and #11 are both straight ahead par 4s that are located right next to each other in the same open field, but at least Hole #11 plays across a creek, whereas #10 has nothing that is really distinguishing.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for pedestrians! First time = Bring a map. Don't lose a disc in the pond by Holes #3,4,5. I've been in there twice and neither time was enjoyable. Unless, of course, you like standing in calf-deep mud and chest-deep murky water while constantly regretting your decision to enter the pond and retrieve the special disc that you just couldn't let go of. Overall, I am very glad that I have the chance to play this course as often as I do. It is definitely the nicest and most well-rounded course between Waco and Austin.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign needs a redesign

5+    10/31/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: rgp626
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course redesign affects only holes 5, 6 and 7. 5 now plays longer and drives directly across the water. Nice reworking of the space. The remainder of the course is intact. The remaining front nine are challenging with a great use of changing elevation. 10 and 11 are skipped by many players, but offer you an opportunity to really wing it. the rest of the back nine is an assortment of uphill shots that calls for a variety of shorts and some can baffle newbies. The last tree holes should definitely not be skipped. They are all short skill shots that can play as easy as pitch and putt or end with bogies.
Cons: The redesign of 6 and 7 are weak. Seven is now longer but the tree hazzard has been taken out play. Now it is just a boring par 3. I save my most harsh criticism of the redesign for hole 6. It now plays down a narrow gap between a trench and a fence. This in itself is not the issue. What is an issue is there is a walking/jogging track the full length of the hole directly in the center of the fairway. The trench is a rancid mosquito pit in the spring .It would have been better to move the teebox to where the basket is located and take basket back nearer to the old 6 location. This jogging trail/fairway is going to be a mess during high activity times.
Other Thoughts: Long walk from 2 basket to 3 tee box.
Water and Restrooms at 1 and 5 are welcome niceties. The RR's are usually really clean.so don't be afraid to take your girlfriend or wife.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Killeen area discers.

1    5/18/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: michelsea
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course lots of variety on distance wooded clear and water. Best course my wife and I have thrown in Texas.
Cons: A little heavy on the itch weed and it seems like stray discs are in no shortage we have both found and lost discs on this course.
Other Thoughts: The back 9 and 19-21 are favorites short but wooded really test your ability to manipulate the path of your disc. A few holes should be par 5 but over all its a solid course though its no Todd park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Lions nest

5+    4/13/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: O'Malley
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: To someone that knows how to play it is a very challenging and long course. It allows all skill levels to play. It is fun on a bad day.
Cons: If you throw high on the back 9 of this course tou are more likely to lose your disc. No trash cans so people leave trash ( pack it in pack it out! ) Construction between 3-6 for soccer field changes course.
Other Thoughts: I will play every chance i get. Will suggest this course to anyone.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Unexpected Gem

1    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is surprisingly diverse. Holes lengths range from 185' to 800' over flat to hilly terrain. I loved the fact that start throwing over open terrain, then suddenly moving through that "hill country" type hole, and finally ending in some tight wooded golf that reminded me of Colorado. Four holes play water, and I'm sure hole #3 has eaten many discs, but good conservative play should keep experienced golfers dry.

There are adequate concrete tees, and some holes have fantastic signs with numbers and distances while others are severely lacking. Eight holes have alternate tee boxes for the big arms, and more experienced players. There are also other things to do in the park, so feel free to bring the family, but the course itself is not stroller friendly. Navigation was pretty easy, but I still recommend bringing a map to help guide your way. This especially comes handy in blind shots like #15 or #17.

The bread and butter of this course IMO is definitely holes #12 through #21. Some holes had a back nine Harry Myers DGC feel to it, coupled with fantastic tight wooded holes that I might play at Sundance Trail Ranch DGC, in Colorado. If you're a sucker for hilly short shots that force you to be accurate - you'll love this run. But, if you're into big open drives there are four to five good holes for you too.

BEST HOLE/S: #12
Cons: Holes #10 and #11 are filler, and I almost wish they would make it a 19-hole course and just forget about them. However, some people argue this provide that additional length many players want - so you can decide when you play it. Reviewers argue that part of the front nine is repetitive, but only #6, #10, and #11 are boring. Out of 21 holes - that's not bad. As previously mentioned - you may just want to skip #10 and #11 and move on to a very cool #12.

There is a walk between holes after #2, #4, and #6, and unfortunately after the big rains - it's a soggy mess. This isn't normally an issue however in the dryer climate. Also, hole #7 is the only tee without a concrete tee and it's only marked by a small temporary sign, so watch for it. Bottom line however is that more of these cons are nit-picky at best, but surely things to consider for improvement.

WORST HOLE/S: #6; #7
Other Thoughts: I think the best part of Lion's Park was how unexpectedly good it was, and it borders on having a 4.5 rating. I mean, I knew it was a well rated course, and read a lot of reviews, but this is a great example of how you truly have to experience a course for yourself to understand.

Granted, it's not polished like many courses you'd find in the Austin area, but besides my round at Rivery Park, this was by far the best disc golf experience I had in my Waco, Temple, and north Austin tour. I highly recommend this place to anyone in the area or even in the Austin and Waco area. There are always things to critique about courses, but ultimately it's about the overall experience, and this was certainly a surprising gem.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 HELL YA!!!!

5+    2/11/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course and by far the best in town. This course has great elevation and uses every bit of it, not only on the tee but on many of the greens. The shots range from open boomers shots and then you get some great tunnel shots as well. You must have all types of shots to score well. The teepads and the baskets are all sweet and in good shape. The tee signs are nice too and having dual tees is a bonus also. Plenty of areas that can get you into trouble if your not careful making the round exciting. Navigation wont be an issue even for the newcomers and there isnt too many people there so you can throw multiple shots and not worry about messing with anyone else. Almost every hole out here is sweet and makes this a sure stop for anyone!
Cons: This course is usually always windy and there isnt much shade if at all. Some of the holes are open and boring but sometimes thats what happens so not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Mix both of these courses in town for a great time and a mix of 2 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best of central Tx

1    1/26/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: texaspride73
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is well taken care of. It offers a vast array of shots. Long and short holes. There are bathrooms and water fountains in the park. Very nice mixture of setting. I have played some of Austins best courses and I would rank Lions up there with any of them. A must play if your in the area.
Cons: Three of the holes should be par 5's easily. I mean hole number two for instance is 870 feet from the back box. Ouch! Holes 10 and 11 linger around 800 from back boxes. If it rains prepare to get muddy. The park is basically a bowl.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hidden gem for out of towners. I suggest if your into disc golf that you make the trip once to play it.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Soild

1    10/15/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a solid course with good and fun shot variety. This course has a great mix of elevation and flat holes, open and tight holes that transition from one type to another in bunches. The higher elevation parts offer some fantastic central Texas views. Lion's has multiple paved and signed tee pads on most holes. A few restrooms are along the way taking advantage of the park setting yet the course finds its way to the more interesting natural terrain in the trees and along the water hazards.

Holes 12-21 are the best part as the course brings you up hill and into some wild and in the shade. The park grass gives way to alleys of forest and thick low tunnel shots under the trees. The park is popular and well kept and the course design does a great job keeping all the other activities away from throwers. This course was not crowded when I played and it was a perfect day for disc golf.
Cons: Some of the middle holes are just wide open and somewhat boring. I saw a few people skip holes ten and eleven and I thought that it was a great idea. Since it was my first time playing Lions Park I played all longs and the openness and length of the front nine felt repetitive. (I usually play the longs to get a better sense for the courses). In hindsight I think the fun factor would have been improved by switching up longs and shorts. It might be a good idea to bring shoes you don't mind getting wet or muddy. One tee pad (9 maybe) had fire ants and I suffered a couple dozen bites on one hand for the next week.
Other Thoughts: Grade this course on the back ten only and its rating would be higher than if it were only graded on the front eleven. DGCR member wtafro and his brother guided me along this course and I'm sure having great company made the course more fun in the end. I could see this place being brutal in the summer. I would recommend this course for anyone at any skill level, If you just want a quick round you may want to skip to the back half.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.