Temple, TX 
Lion's Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #13 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 239ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 HELL YA!!!!

5+    2/11/2010   2/13/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet course and by far the best in town. This course has great elevation and uses every bit of it, not only on the tee but on many of the greens. The shots range from open boomers shots and then you get some great tunnel shots as well. You must have all types of shots to score well. The teepads and the baskets are all sweet and in good shape. The tee signs are nice too and having dual tees is a bonus also. Plenty of areas that can get you into trouble if your not careful making the round exciting. Navigation wont be an issue even for the newcomers and there isnt too many people there so you can throw multiple shots and not worry about messing with anyone else. Almost every hole out here is sweet and makes this a sure stop for anyone!
Cons: This course is usually always windy and there isnt much shade if at all. Some of the holes are open and boring but sometimes thats what happens so not that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Mix both of these courses in town for a great time and a mix of 2 courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best of central Tx

1    1/26/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: texaspride73
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is well taken care of. It offers a vast array of shots. Long and short holes. There are bathrooms and water fountains in the park. Very nice mixture of setting. I have played some of Austins best courses and I would rank Lions up there with any of them. A must play if your in the area.
Cons: Three of the holes should be par 5's easily. I mean hole number two for instance is 870 feet from the back box. Ouch! Holes 10 and 11 linger around 800 from back boxes. If it rains prepare to get muddy. The park is basically a bowl.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hidden gem for out of towners. I suggest if your into disc golf that you make the trip once to play it.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Soild

1    10/15/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.1 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a solid course with good and fun shot variety. This course has a great mix of elevation and flat holes, open and tight holes that transition from one type to another in bunches. The higher elevation parts offer some fantastic central Texas views. Lion's has multiple paved and signed tee pads on most holes. A few restrooms are along the way taking advantage of the park setting yet the course finds its way to the more interesting natural terrain in the trees and along the water hazards.

Holes 12-21 are the best part as the course brings you up hill and into some wild and in the shade. The park grass gives way to alleys of forest and thick low tunnel shots under the trees. The park is popular and well kept and the course design does a great job keeping all the other activities away from throwers. This course was not crowded when I played and it was a perfect day for disc golf.
Cons: Some of the middle holes are just wide open and somewhat boring. I saw a few people skip holes ten and eleven and I thought that it was a great idea. Since it was my first time playing Lions Park I played all longs and the openness and length of the front nine felt repetitive. (I usually play the longs to get a better sense for the courses). In hindsight I think the fun factor would have been improved by switching up longs and shorts. It might be a good idea to bring shoes you don't mind getting wet or muddy. One tee pad (9 maybe) had fire ants and I suffered a couple dozen bites on one hand for the next week.
Other Thoughts: Grade this course on the back ten only and its rating would be higher than if it were only graded on the front eleven. DGCR member wtafro and his brother guided me along this course and I'm sure having great company made the course more fun in the end. I could see this place being brutal in the summer. I would recommend this course for anyone at any skill level, If you just want a quick round you may want to skip to the back half.

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 80  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course, which offers a bit of everything. Water, distance, narrow fairways, elevation, wooded obstacles, etc...

The course is very easy to navigate with signs on each hole.

Well maintained grass and wooded areas.

Tee boxes are concrete and not very slippery, even when wet.

There are two restrooms located on the course. They are very well maintained.
Cons: If it rains it floods.

Not alot of trash cans are available for use.
Other Thoughts: It was a really good time. A good course with 21 holes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Austin-area Courses in Envy

2-4    5/7/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: Cody
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees throughout - all big concrete pads
Signs for each tee
Plenty of elevation changes
Water in play on a few holes
Big beautiful trees
Open holes, tight holes, all shot types employed
21 holes ( some don't like 21, but I like the little bonus at the end)
Cons: The pad on the 6th tee was pointed at the 7th basket, with a bit of construction still happening to the right of the fairway, and the 7th tee was dirt ( but it's listed as temporary anyway).
A few of the signs on later holes were hand-written.
There were no par 5's at all.
Pedestrians in the park can delay shots sometimes.
If there happens to have been a lot of rain, holes 2-4 can be out of commission.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

5+    3/9/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Lurkingturtle
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find holes and boxes. Every hole has a sign and there is a course map at the beginning. Multiple tee boxes and all boxes are concrete. The course flows very well. It's pretty scenic every time I go out there is always wild life running around at some point throughout the course. Even saw a Horned toad the other day.
Cons: There is a lot of construction happening between the 2 & 6 fairways. They could put in a couple foot bridges across some of the low lying areas making it more easily accessible for some people. Hole 18 is almost a 90 degree turn through the woods. Hole 7 has a temp box while construction is going on.
Other Thoughts: The course is very nice the front 9 are fairly open but, the back 9 and 19-21 are pretty wooded. Quite a bit of the underbrush has been cleared out making the back hole much more playable. Hole 18 now actually has a fairway of sorts (no more underbrush just some trees in line to the hole after the sharp right hook). There are a lot of people who go to this park to walk their dogs, walk, run and bike the trails out there so you have to watch out for them because, the trail runs close to the course very often. Also some of the baskets (9, 11 and 14 I think) are close or their fairways are close to the road that runs through the park so just be mindful of vehicles.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lions...King of the beasts !

5+    11/29/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: joeyr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging
Cons: Challenging
Other Thoughts: Ok just wait....This month the course gets expanded to 21 holes ! Several work days planned in December starting on the 6th. Baskets are ready to go in as soon as we finish the tee boxes. New signs will probably be installed in January. Hole 6 is getting relocated due to soccer feilds and we are adding one hole between old 6 & 7. There are also 2 holes being added between old 15 and 16. This eliminates a long walk between holes. This course when completed will be close to 7600 Ft. from the longs. Future plans include bridges and benches.

12/12/08 update....
New baskets going in tommorrow !
21 holes by the end of the day. One hole will be a temp hole until the soccer fields are completed.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

1    10/11/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice landscape, mostly open holes, nice long unique holes.
Cons: Barbed wire on the OB on the first few holes can cause you to lose discs easily, beware. Bring extra water, the only water fountain is around hole 5. By the time you get to hole 14 you are going to be very thirsty especially on a hot texas day.
Other Thoughts: Not for beginers, not forgiving. If you can't throw at least 250 feet look for a smaller course.

I threw my longest roller on this course on hole 9, about 650 feet. Took my friend 3 throws to catch up to it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic course!

1    7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 125  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There were great concrete teepads with excellent signs that showed where the basket was, the distance, and the par. The baskets were good. The course was in great shape and very well maintained. There were even signs between holes to help with navigation. I never had a problem finding the next hole on a course that I'd never played before and was playing by myself. There were several holes that I thought were really neat because of the elevation changes and the location of the trees on the fairways. There are several very long holes on this course also, making for added challenge. I wasn't ever worried about losing a disc in any hazards. I only had a scare once on hole 14 when my disc was knocked down by a treetop and landed in the brush. Finally found it though as well as another disc to boot. There are also restrooms at the start of the course and a couple of others along the way. Really great park overall.
Cons: Not a lot of shade on some of the holes. Windy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at about 9:30 in the morning on a weekday and there were hardly any people in the entire park. Can't say that I agree with other user's statement about hole 2. The ob is very fair and easily avoidable when getting to the pin. Hole 2 is the most wide open hole on the entire course and is a fun, long downhill shot.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lion's Park

2-4    7/13/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety. 15 of the 18 holes are excellent.

Parking is great and easy to find.

The signs are some of the best I've ever seen and there are none missing yet.

The flow and multiple tee configuration is very easy to follow. It starts and ends at the parking area.

The concrete pads are large and level
Cons: The Texas sun will kill you on this course in the summer due to lack of shade in some areas of the course.

3 of the 18 holes are out of the way, boring, and should be re-located.

The O.B. undergrowth is very dense and thistley. Discs that fade too much on 2 and 4 will be lost.

Some of the walks between holes are very long.
Other Thoughts: I will drive 33 miles to play this course again, but not in the summer!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.