Bloomsburg, PA 
Bloomsburg Town Park Share
Uploaded By: spitfire Hole #1
3 / 426ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located on a beautiful multi-use park with many amenities. There is a small lake and a river in play on hole #6 and #9.

There is a nice range of distances. 2 tees per hole gives you options for the distance.

Some baskets have bright orange flags to help locating them. I did see some arrows to help guide you to the next tee.
Cons: This is not an 18 hole course. It's just 9 holes with 2 tees per hole. The flow is very confusing and no map to help with navigation.

The park is busy but not with disc golfers. Many holes play too close to the other park patrons. Holes play over or near picnic tables, grills, pavilions, roads, sport fields, etc.

The tee areas are natural but aren't even.
Other Thoughts: The pictures on this site are not up to date since the redesign. The navigation is tough but not impossible. After #8 cross the road and go towards the river for #9.

I'm sorry to say this was a disappointing course and I wish I had just passed it by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    9/8/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: vicious
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate tees for almost each hole
Variety of holes
Good for players with any throw
Long distance holes
Short distance between holes
Cons: People and activities going on at the park
Other Thoughts: Bloomsburg is a course that was established in a large community park. Understandable that many people use the park, although the course could definitely be rearranged to make it flow better and make the layout easier to follow. Other than that I love this course and play it multiple times a week usually.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

1    3/13/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: I_Like_Juice
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Long and short tee for most holes.
- Lots of parking.
- Better than nothing at all.
Cons: - Flow of the holes is terrible.
- No course map or "to the next tee" signs to help guide you to the next hole.
- Missing basket numbers and tee signs.
- Cluttered around areas other visitors would be using the park such as pavilions and fields.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could be redesigned and the space utilized better. I personally would rather have 18 short technical holes than a 9 hole 2 tee clusterf*ck.


Hole 1 - Cross the road from the parking lot and head towards the billboard sign. Go through the cut in the fence and head forward and left to the first long tee. Basket is behind the amphitheater.

Hole 4 - When you finish hole 3, you have to walk the path to the left of the basket. Follow that path around the pond and up the hill to find the tee for basket 4 (only 1 tee for this one).

Hole 5 - There is a long tee on the top of the hill, and a short tee to left of the pavilion at the bottom of the hill.

Hole 6 - Head back to the area where holes 2/3 were, there is a small bridge to walk over. Follow the walking path and you should find it to the right.

I quit after this because it was getting dark. Hopefully this will help someone navigate their way around since it's a horrid layout.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Easy to get lost

2-4    8/15/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: Stofers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -2 tees for every hole.
-Not many obstacles to lose you disc.
-Lot of open field holes where you can really rip it.
-Hole 6 is a good hole to practice driving on
-Some nice layouts to throw
-Obstetrical in the way to make it a bit harder and challenging.
Cons: -Many other fields such as a volleyball net, baseball, grilling spots, gazebo.
-Lots of people at the park.
-Holes don't seem maintain disc catchers are missing numbers, the tee have graffiti and numbers missing.
-Easy to get lost on the course.
-Football practice on half the course
Other Thoughts: It right next to Bloomsburg University so if you go to college their a close course to go to. Right down the street, better then nothing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 rearranged

1    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been rearranged so the previous reviews are kind of invalid.

This is a nice course with 2 tees for most holes. The long tees are ofter in the 400+ range and the short tees more like 250ish. The holes are mostly pretty tight with low ceilings but they are all on mowed grass. The water is only in play on holes 6 and 9.
Cons: The park seems like it is very busy, I didn't have any troubles but I could see how you might. The course becomes a little tough to follow after hole 3 as the tee for hole 4 is in the woods on the other side of a pond. Hole 9 only has one tee that I could find, it is a very tough shot (about 420ft with water the whole way down the left side and on top of that the tee is overgrown. I just played from the fairway in front of the brush. The last thing is a little nit-picky but the tee pads are framed in wood and sunk about 2 inches, the are also kind of small which makes the footwork awkward.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, take what you can get in central PA.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A 9 hole course with a ton of water hazards!

1    12/12/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Lots of water hazards in play, if you like that sort of thing. Hole #4 is a fantastic water hazard, as it is a challenging yet entirely reasonable drive across a 100 foot body of water. The same cannot be said for #6 (see below). The last hole also requires you to be accurate and avoid the rushing river.

- Nice distance on the holes in this course. I'm used to 150-200 foot holes on municipal park courses, but there are some monster drives for big arms here! As such, I think the designers did a good job of utilizing the space of the course to create long fairways, but at the cost of the flow of the course's layout (see cons)

- Teepads are well-built and the baskets are adequately maintained.

- The course is not too far from the nucleus of Bloomsburg (or I-80 for that matter), which would be a great destination for the town's college students; they could walk there if they were really ambitious.

- Amenities such as bathrooms and water fountains. I think they are closed during the winter, however.
Cons: - The course was a little difficult to navigate because some of the wooden markers are missing numbers. Coupled with the fact that there is no map at the kiosk or on this website, I tended to do more wandering than I would have liked.

- This is a standard issue with city parks, but there was too much clutter in the park. Storage sheds, power relays, swingsets, picnic tables, and other objects detract from the serenity of the course. Also, while there were no people at the park when I was golfing, I can imagine lots of people getting in the way while you're disc golfing here.

- The flow of the course isn't particularly intuitive. There are many switchbacks from hole to hole, making it even more confusing when they are not marked. I feel like it would be really common to hit another disc golfer or get in his or her way if that person was playing a different number hole.

- Few technical/trick shots, although some shots have low ceilings that require accuracy.

- As for hole #6, I concur with other reviewers when they say that playing this hole is impossible. Over 500 feet from shore to shore? Seriously?!!? Whoever designed the layout for this hole is either full of hubris or insanity -- or maybe both. I, too chickened out and played around the body of water for this hole, albeit with a double bogey.
Other Thoughts: I played this course specifically in the winter so that I would have an easier time retrieving my discs off the ice. Easier said than done! I still lost a disc on the ice. (My golden retriever wasn't long enough and I wasn't going to dare venturing out on the thin ice to get it.) Regardless, I still had a good time here and I'd like to see it with foliage and vegetation in the spring!

Check this out if you're traveling via I-80 or US-11!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Course is Bursting Out of Park!

1    3/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a whole lot of challenge for a quaint city park. Many of the holes have expert level distance. One has superhero distance and is unplayable.(more on that later) I had a hard time rating this course. If the course is empty of parkgoers I would raise it up a bit/if it was full it would drop considerably. The course itself is really a fine layout. Hole 1 is a blast across a flat open field to a basket to the left of a music stage. It's a great opener and allows you to really crank it up. Holes 2 and 3 play long and with low ceilings through a grove of trees that serve as shade for a picnic area. There is no shule here just grass and plenty of trees.A creek comes into play on hole 3. Hole 4 is a fine water hole. It's a shot over water to a protected basket on the other side perhaps 200-300 ft away with 150 ft of water carry but the trick is the basket has water in front of and to the left so placement is key here. If you hit a tree you can get doinked right back into the lake. One of the best water holes I have seen to date. Hole 5 is a big blast off a ridge over a pavillion and past some huge trees to a basket far across the field in front of a creek. This is a quality hole for any course. Hole 6 well its across the lake over 500 feet with a 500 foot carry over water with no bailout. I list it in the pros section because it is worth it just to see this hole and marvel at it but it's unplayable. Hole 7 is a shortie and hole 8 is a only slightly longer. Both of these play over picnic tables. Then you cross the street to find an amazingly scary hole. Hole 9 plays directly next to the mighty and huge Susquehanna River. You have to drive precisely over a deep spillway that empties into the river, there are knockdown trees that could definetely throw your discs into the drink below. Then it is a tight fairway with the ever present Susquehanna to the left bringing wind and messing with your head to a basket way up the river. I admit I chickened out and did not play this beast. I had already lost enough plastic in the lake earlier. It's a really nice park in Bloomsburg PA, just a few seconds off of Route 80. Definetely worth a pit stop if your visiting someone at the college or are driving through. The Bloomsburg River Rats seem to be a dedicated bunch and there are plans to improve the course and correct hole 6.
Cons: If the park has people in it there are many times where there will be conflicts. people fishing the lake. People along the river edge. Throwing across the field next to a stage? Throwing through 4 picnic areas. The best hole throws right over a very cool pavillion that is sure to have parkgoers inside or milling about. i would suggest playing it off hours or off season. 7 and 8 pale in comparision to the other holes. 6 is a joke but is almost like a tourist destination for disc golfers IMO.http://www.dgcoursereview.com...ad.php?t=2716
Other Thoughts: I would love to go back and play this course again and again. It's kind of like the incredible hulk bursting out of his shirt. There are some monster holes here for a baby course. Don't be fooled there is challenge here despite being a city park niner! I think hole 6 should be scrapped and a hole from the parking lot area after hole 4 and over the lake to the tee area for current 6 would be spectacular as well as eliminate the walk from hole 4 to current hole 5. My .02!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: spitfire
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's in my back yard. This is a basic 9 hole course at a local park that did what they would with the land they had available. We are currently in the works of making some major changes to the course.
Cons: There can be football practice baseball practice, runners dog walkers etc you can go there one day and not even be able to play any holes because there are just to many people. The course layout is in need of a big change and hopefully that will be coming soon.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.