Cleveland, MS 
Bear Pen Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Flat but Challenging

2-4    9/4/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Baskets are in excellent condition
-Tee signs are accurate and informative (9, 10, 11, 14, 15 have been vandalized - either missing or broken)
-The use of obstacles (ditches and trees) and OB (water and roads) makes you forget how flat this course is.
-Great mix of shots: several long wide open holes, multiple water shots, and though no area of this course could be considered wooded, the excellent use of the park trees makes for some tight technical holes with nice tight lines.
-The course flows very well. Tee signs point to next tee, all baskets have the hole number on them and most tees are just beyond the previous basket making them easy to locate.
-Course loops back to the parking area where Hole #1 tee and Hole #18 basket are located.
Cons: -Flat, very flat. The only elevation to speak of is the ditch that's in play on Holes #5 - #8
-Although, there are plenty of trash cans, benches and picnic tables in the park, there were no benches and only two trash cans on the course itself.
-There are too many paved surfaces that are in play and less than perfect shots can chew up discs really quickly.
-About half of the holes throw over or play near the main road through the park and this road must be crossed eight times each round. This is not only unsafe, but waiting on traffic causes delays in play.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, and look forward to playing it again.

I know I listed the flatness of the course as a con but with no elevation and many shaded baskets it's easy to misjudge distance and either over or under throw your shots which adds to the overall challenge of the course.

To sum it up: Go play this course! It doesn't have all the amenities but it has what matters.

 Bear Pen

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: matthew_620
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cleveland Park Commission takes great care of this park as it is the nicest park in town. Variety of shots required. Mostly open with some trees. Easy to navigate. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Easy to lose a disc for beginners, I would recommend skipping the pond holes if you are not confident enough with your shots. Winds can really increase the difficulty of this course. Also, during soccer and baseball seasons, you will have to play around people in the park.
Other Thoughts: Eagle Scout Project. This course used to be more challenging when it was first installed. The park crew cleaned up a lot of the obstacles in an effort to make the park look better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: boxmark25
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a course!!! and any course is better than no course at all.
Cons: I was not at all impressed by this course. I prefer Innova baskets and find it very hard to throw at other types. I also didn't like the layout some holes were very confusing and disjointed. I was actually throwing at the wrong basket on a few holes. The tee signs were very hard to read and were not very helpful. I lost two disc in the lake!! I know this has nothing to do with the course but the wind blew about 30 MPH the whole time i was playing and driving and putting were virtually impossible.
Other Thoughts: I did not like this course. But at least there is one there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Why on earth did they build it here?

1    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 63  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty fun to play, if you like fairly wide open courses with strategic pin placements. There is not much between you and the basket, and most holes end with the basket tucked nicely under a tree or behind a bush or something to that effect. I am not a great player by any means, and with 2 lost discs in the water (resulting in circle 4's), throwing purposely away from the baskets to avoid cars/babies/joggers/tennis courts/baseball fields/soccer fields, I shot a 57. Now, on to the cons...
Cons: This is the least DG friendly park I have ever seen. The park dept allows people to park all over the fairways and almost right on top off of the tee boxes. I don't even know why they wasted the money on the baskets. With all the available land around this tiny town, surely they could have found a better spot. There is a college here, and they have a beautiful ball golf course. Why not build the DG around that? There is a course in Bowling Green, KY that shares both golfs on the same course. I was really disappointed with the overall experience. Another weird thing was the walk..er..hike.. from 13 to 14. You cross 15 along the way...Also, there are no bridges to cross a good sized creek unless you walk a lot extra. Even on the holes where you are required to throw across it, no bridge unless you walk to the road, which adds a lot of extra walking.

Just a strange overall course.
Other Thoughts: I guess if you're here, out of gas and can't make it to some of the other awesome courses around here, you might as well stop. On second thought, if it's not baseball or soccer season, I bet the course is playable. So, there's probably a week per year that you can throw freely. The water holes were kinda cool. One is about a 280' shot and the water is lapping at the tee pad almost, then on the basket side you have about 20' of room. The hole after that plays along the edge, but don't throw at the far one to the left - that's the next hole. I did and as a result, my beloved Wraith is in the bottom of the pond. (Ya, I lost 2 discs here, but that is NOT the reason I didn't like it.)

Meh.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in small doses

5+    11/8/2008   2/25/2009
Review By: Matthew Gardner
Played: 95  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the land that was available. Course is mostly open with several OB's to make things interesting. Great powder blue DGA Baskets. They have recently added the Concrete tees which is a huge upgrade!
Cons: Not a good course for beginners. With the ditch and the pond it is easy for players to lose discs. The wind can be unforgiving. Hole 4 is taken away when soccer is being played.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing this course if you are in the area. This course and Rosedales Great River Road course is a good two courses to play and they are close together!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Bear Pen Classic

2-4    11/8/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes are well put together! It has some nicely placed holes behind trees. A few ace runs possible. The hole number 9 (i think) was a really fun water toss. Hole number 13 is a really nice ace chance if you have a prett nasty finger flick. I couldn't believe a Eagle Scout and his father had put the course together without really even knowing disc golf. At least this is what I was told.
Cons: A few water holes that you can lose a disc in pretty easily if you throw wrong. If it is a windy day you can easily be pushed up to above Par pretty quickly. The course is in a park. and the park is pretty much out in a bunch of open fields so the wind gets going pretty easily.
Other Thoughts: It was built by a Eagle scout and a father. Not too bad considering who built the course! I will be back up to play it all the time. I heard they will be putting in concrete tee pads up there! NICE! If you are in the delta you will want to stop in and check this beauty out.... and if you don't think it's a beauty stop in DSU right down the road. You WILL see some beauties there!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.