Shelton, WA 
Lake Isabella State Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn   (Taken 2/2009)
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Home Sweet Home

5+    12/4/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: KG_MCDGC
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Worth the drive to see the Olympics over one of the most well hidden State Park Lake fronts in Washington State. The course circles around a huge field, and enters and exits the surrounding forests. Two tee placements for 9 object posts makes 18 holes. The course is well maintained for for having no baskets yet. Very friendly locals. This course has the potential to be a destination course.
Cons: This course has been here for over a year, and is still a "trial" course. The lack of permanent tees and baskets are a testament to that. Currently the (newly formed) Mason County Disc Golf Club is drafting a proposal to the State to include a pro-27 permanent course. The new course will utilize the 2/3 of the park most land users do not see.
The large field that the current course wraps around is leased for hay. So, 2-3 months out of the year it becomes a major problem.
The posts are not baskets, so you better be comfortable with your putting accuracy.
Also, the tee areas can get slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: The local club has a lot of support from the West Sound Disc Golf Association and Olympia Disc Golf Club. After the State okays the proposal (which is something they want to do- because since the intro of disc golf they've seen the land use, vandalism, and off-roading problems disappear) the club will be holding different fund raising tournaments, including random doubles, BYOP etc. Stay tuned!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Got to love this place

5+    11/26/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: BAKE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long holes, You can realy Huck the disc.
has some elavation to some holes. lots of trees 4,5and7. 1-3 are wide open, except for the blackberrys on the left (you dont want to go in there, brutal)
I play hear about 4-5 times a week. I Love It... There a Bunch of terriffic people out hear !!!!
Cons: The long holes. You got to huck it pretty strong to get par. we are working on tee pads, its a little muddy now that winter is apon us, so it makes it hard to plant your feet.
Other Thoughts: We just put in new Post in to replace the plastic ones we had.. Working to get Baskets, and new tee pads.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Home course..

5+    11/3/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Lil' drummerboy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is wide open. My dogs love it. Not crowded. Late day sunsets during the summer. Most holes allow you to air it out. Expansion is in the works.
Cons: The first 3 holes have hazards left in the form of blackberries. Very deadly indeed. I have the scars to prove it. No baskets (yet.) The grass can get pretty high in the spring, so watch out for raptors, and keep at least 4 eyes on your disc.
Other Thoughts: I started playing 6 months ago on this course, and I'll be there every weekend with my dogs. They would rather explore than chase discs. This is a great place to learn a really fun sport.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.