Disc Golf Store
Shelton, WA 
Lake Isabella State Park Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #8 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 365ft.   3 / 308ft.   3 / 446ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Target to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Josh Heideman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Well if you have a cannon of an arm this is the place for you to unleash your disc

When I first played this course a few years ago I did really enjoy my time there. Now that Shelton Springs is the main course people play here in Shelton his course has been neglected.
Cons: No tee pads and there are poles not baskets. Hole 1 and 8 poles are gone but I know where to play so I just played them any way.
Other Thoughts: I have herd that the state is talking about revamping the park and making a beach access to the lake and that would mean that holes 1-3 would be removed. But I have also herd that there is a plan of adding baskets and making this a legit disc golf course by making 9 more holes across the street in the heavily forest area. I can't wait for this to happen and then I would suggest people to play here but for now I would rather play Shelton Springs or G.H. Hostel if you where in the area.

Pathetic

1    9/21/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: KD77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has a parking lot.....a bathroom.......free air......nothing else
Cons: If you are looking to lose a disc or love searching for tee boxes that don't exist then this is the place for you. Tall grass, no clue where to start, after searching found a post for #2, #3 and #8 but that was it. A complete waste of time and $10 to park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Isabella Shelton

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent bathroom and parking lot. Course is all across a meadow with very, very, very tall grass (great for losing a disk).
Cons: No signs, no baskets, 2foot tall grass-no fairways and the clincher --- $10 to park!
Other Thoughts: Will not play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Isabella DGC

2-4    1/31/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the last reviewer stated, the course truly is picturesque. After pulling up and parking you find yourself walking into a field that completely opens up with a great view of Lake Isabella and the Olympics. Because this state park is off the beaten path a bit, nature and wildlife is quite abundant. There are several trees on the course but they tend to follow the boundary lines along the property rather then growing directly in the middle. However, with the tournament layout the locals do a great job incorporating the entire land and include some wonderful elevation shots.

There is ample parking for disc golfers and dog walkers alike, although when a tournament is going on you might find yourself parking quite a ways down the road and walking in. There is a kiosk providing disc golfers and park users info as to what is going around locally, a bathroom on site, as well as a few park tables for those who might want to picnic. Apparently, there is also a whole lot of room on the other side of the park (across the street) as well where many can enjoy walking trails and the occasional temp course layout.

I too had the privilege of playing the local temp course which is used for their bigger tournaments and weekly fundraisers so when I played there were baskets! Because it was a tournament, the layout was completely different (going counter clockwise rather then clockwise). This turned the course from being completely right handed bias to more of a lefty friendly course (which was great). I have had several years to perfect my hyzer shot so I was happy to see that I would not be throwing the same shot all day long like their tone course is designed for. Instead, I found myself throwing a lot of anhyzer and side armed shots as well as several low straight tunnel shots. As I stated earlier, elevation did come into play on several shots (although fairly open), although it did have a few pins that were heavily guarded or had some obstacles blocking any direct lines to the pin. Multiple tee pads were great too, as the same layout of the nine holes would get old real quick. Also, if you print out some maps for the tone course there are four unique layouts to keep things fresh for those who play here often.
Cons: There currently are no signs or baskets and the tee pads are natural. Although natural tee pads don't bother me much usually, the northwest is a tough place to play at times and the tee pads can become very slick or worse, muddy. Also, the bathrooms can get quite ripe at times as there are a lot of park users around and yet I am not sure the bathroom is cleaned regularly so just beware!
Other Thoughts: If some of the cons were addressed (which I am sure they will) this course would quickly move up as far as its rating to perhaps a 3-3.5 and if more holes were added maybe even a 4. This course truly has a lot of potential and the local club (MCDG) is awesome. Not only are they really friendly but also awesome promoters for the sport. Talks of a new 18/27 hole course has already been approved on a near bye 50 acre piece of land giving Shelton two courses in the area. This will help make Shelton a destination area as long as they continue to make improvements. Although the obstacle course is nowhere near as fun as the temp course, it is still worth it to get out to Shelton to play one of the best obstacle courses around the state of Washington.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/31/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off let me say that I played the tournament layout of this course which uses real baskets instead of poles and the course flows in the reverse order of the pole layout. That being said I am rating this course based on what the normal layout is, if I was rating for the tournament layout I would give a 3.5 as I enjoyed it fairly well and it was well thought out for a temp course, no bad holes really and a couple of par fours.

The large piece of land here is just incredible, rolling wide open hills in the middle of the course with a tree line surrounding that area. There is also a large lake that is picturesque, with bald eagles flying through the area constantly. I am told there is a beautiful view of the Olympics when there is a clear sky, it was cloudy when I was there though.

The locals that play here will learn or have to learn to throw distance tee shots as there is plenty of spots to show off your cannon of an arm. There is such a huge open area of land here that several people could be playing ball golf, walking their dogs, playing disc golf and other activities and not be in each others way. Luckily though the designers knew that the tree line had to be involved to keep the course from getting boring too quickly which makes this the premier pole course in the state of Washington.
Cons: Well the cons are fairly obvious here, though there aren't many. You are throwing at poles instead of baskets which for some ruins the entire experience of disc golf. There are only nine holes with two tee pad areas when this course is more than large enough to accommodate eighteen wonderful holes. The pads are grass in a wet area of Washington and can get slick in a hurry.
Other Thoughts: MCDG is doing a fantastic job from what I understand, they even have another site picked out of 50+ acres for disc golf. They are working on bringing in baskets to this course through fund raising tournaments which is awesome. It actually wasn't too hard to find and I was pleasantly surprised by the course, keep up the good work!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Feels Nice

2-4    9/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really like this course. It has a certain feel to it, nastalgic (sp.) almost. It was probably one of the most relaxing courses I have ever played on.
I actually like the pole holes and dirt pads, actually I prefer them. The poles were of good quality as well.
You play in a circle around what looks like a horse pasture.
If there was a rating option of 3.75 I would have chosen that.
Cons: Some pole holes are plastic white tubing and can get confusing because all the other poles are wooden and have yellow markings.
Some of the alternate tee pads are hard to find, but with the map they are manageable.
Nothing else really nearby.
Other Thoughts: I really liked playing this course and if I'm in the neighborhood anytime soon I will definately stop by again.
Oh, and my wife beat me on the front 9 :(

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 EXCELLENT home-style course.

5+    7/2/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: "homey"
Close to Shelton
VERY nice/underutilized park
challenging
a good mix of technical and long throws.
great use of terrain and elevation.
easy to get to, play, and get back on a lunch break.
nice to play on posts instead of baskets for a change
lots of plans and room for expansion...

alternate tee boxes available for a total of 36 unique holes.
see maps in the links section.

good to picnic with for the family, although there are no Big Toys or playgrounds to play on.
Cons: no signage.
dirt tee pads.
posts, not baskets. (only a semi-con)

*download a map and bring it with you to play!
Other Thoughts: a great local course with lots of potential with 4 different 9-hole configurations.


find more connections with the locals at:
olympicdisc.com
and on facebook:
search "Mason County Disc Golf" group.

keep posted for new opening of 18 hole "Shelton Springs DGC" near the Huff n' Puff.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Diskord
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to Shelton
Not Crowded
Challenging but fun
Lots of room for expansion
Cons: No baskets
Tee boxes not clearly marked
No map of course at entrance
Other Thoughts: I am excited to hear that tee pads and baskets are scheduled to come to this course, as I just discovered it and had tons of fun. I look forward to many games over the summer on my lunch break here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course Will Rate Higher With Improvements!

2-4    2/13/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty state park with outstanding views of Lake Isabella and the Olympic Mountains. The park is dominated by a large (8 acre, I'm guessing) open field. This field would be wonderful for say....a Civil War re-enactment battle, kite flying or maybe a rock concert. But it's not particularly great for disc golfing. This forces the course designers either to design a course playing clockwise or counter clockwise around this field. Playing clockwise gives you mostly hyser shots, playing counter clockwise would give you a round of anhyser shots. Here, the designers chose to play clockwise, hence a course particularly heavy on hyser throws. The course is currently very well marked with bright yellow tee signs and next tee signs. The course currently plays twice around using the same nine target poles with different natural teepads. There are a few places to show off that big arm of yours. So remember this for later reference, This is GOOD LAND for a course but not GREAT LAND compared to some of the top courses in the country.
Cons: You're throwing at poles instead of baskets. It has natural teepads in a very wet area of Washington state. The signs are simple and effective. They show the hole number and distance. But they're just small wooden ones and will be prone to get vandilized or disappear altogether.
Other Thoughts: The Mason County Disc Club is off to a great start here. I applaud all their hard work and dedication. Unfortuantely, I see some major HBB (Home Boy Bias) in some of the previous reviews ratings. I will be closely watching the progress on this course and will gladly adjust my rating as improvements are made: One full point for baskets, One-half point for some kind of permanent teepads (concrete?). And maybe another half a point for permanent tee signs. That would bring my rating of this course up to the 3.5 to 4.0 range. That's about as good as any Washington Sate course. Now remember my previous statement about this park being good land for a course but not great land. If folks are rating this course 3.5 with no baskets, no teepads, no signs and a pretty average piece of land, then with new baskets, pads and signage, I guess they would have to rate it about a 5.5 or 6. And that would make it the # 1 course in America. And the Flip City, Michigan people will flip out!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Foggy day fun

2-4    2/8/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is always good to see new courses coming together in areas where it is many miles to the next nearest course. There was a group of volunteers working on the course while I was there. They are clearly dedicated to improving the course. The course has large scenic grassy meadows with views of Lake Isabella and some heavy woods around the edges. The park seemed clean.
Cons: Undeveloped tees and posts instead of baskets. There are only 9 posts with some of the alternate tees not changing the holes significantly.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up around the margin of a very large natural looking meadow. There are no recreational ball fields here to compete for space. There is space here to add more holes. There are 9 posts and two alternate tees per post so you can get in a round of 18. Some of the alternate tees make for a different angle or change in obstacles. Most throws are into open space. A few holes dip into the woods but mostly an open course. This course would be a nice change of pace if you have been playing other heavily wooded courses in the pacific NW.
It is nice to see a course coming together a Lake Isabella. It is not far off the main highway but it is many miles to the nearest disc course so this is a good thing for the locals. The Mason County Disc Club is apparently serious about maintaining and expanding the course. They were working on the tees while I was there and they are trying to get funds for baskets. It is a slightly different feeling playing to hit posts. It left me thinking how forgiving baskets really are. You can miss the center with a basket and have a lucky chain drop you in nonetheless.
Go play this course. It is worth checking out.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.