Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Eager Beaver

5+    5/24/2013   1/9/2016
Review By: dndelli
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eager Beaver at Elon Park is sometimes overshadowed by the newer Angry Beaver for experience players. Though Angry is one of my favorite courses, Eager is an absolute blast to play. The fact that it is right next to another top quality course is just an added bonus.

This course features both long and short tees making it a great course for both beginners and intermediate golfers. Advanced and Experienced players may use it as a warm up or a place to take friends who are just beginning to learn the game. There is a lot of variety on this course: different shots to take, different elevation changes, a couple split fairways, and a potential water carry (Hole #15 Hyzer Route).

The course starts off fairly simple, but picks up slightly as you get a few holes in. This course is a great place who struggle with technical shots to begin touching up their finesse game.
Cons: Some of the tees feel bit short (and I rarely use a lot of space on the tees to begin with).There is also a distinct lack of both benches and trashcans around the course.

Some might complain that it simply isn't challenging enough, but those who are looking to test their mettle can hop across the parking lot and play Angry Beaver. I do not consider this a true con.
Other Thoughts: Eager Beaver will always, and I mean always have a place in my heart. One day some friends and I decided to play 63 holes of Disc Golf in one day. We started with Eager Beaver - Long and it was going absolutely terrible. On Hole #10 I had had enough of the course, stepped onto the tee pad and just threw my disc out of sight without taking anytime to aim or set my drive up. Within the next 5-6 seconds we heard the distinctive "chinking" sound associated with the chains. My first ace.

That being said, this course is an amazing course for Ace attempts.

Favorite Holes: 8, 10, 13, 15

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver visit

1    12/25/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short tees were great for my 10 year old. This course has great drainage which after a week of rain was a huge plus. I threw a Roc3 or putter on almost every hole but still had a great time.
Cons: Tee pads are short, signage is damaged but the layout is obvious enough that it didn't matter.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Starter Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 67  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My disc golf addiction was born and grew at the Eager Beaver.

As previous reviews have stated, this is a great beginner-friendly course. There are two sets of tees, with the "super shorts" coming in at less than 200 feet per hole, on average. Even though it's a very beginner-focused course, it's still a good one that intermediate players will find enjoyable as a warm-up round before the Angry Beaver (or a cool-down to help repair a shattered ego).

From the long tees, there are some challenging, technical shots here. There's a good mix of tightly wooded and open holes. My favorite hole is #17, which has a huge, over-sized tee pad and throws downhill, with the lake off to the right.

The other big pro for me on this course is the beauty of the park. The setting is a mature forest, so playing in the fall with the changing leaves is just about a perfect afternoon in North Carolina.
Cons: This isn't a challenging course, especially by Charlotte standards. If you're looking for something more advanced, hop next door to the Angry Beaver or any of Charlotte's other, much more challenging courses.

There can be crowds here, depending on when you plan.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a pro- or advanced-level course, the Eager Beaver isn't the one for you. But if you're just starting out or want to introduce someone to the game, this is a darn near perfect course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Creative short course!

1    1/8/2015   1/12/2015
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 23.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The short course at this facility is appropriately named Eager Beaver, and it would make me eager to play more disc golf if I were new to the game. I would not only introduce people to the game here, but would also play this course on every visit in addition to its Angry cousin.

Two tee pads per hole create two experiences here. The short tees are perfect for beginners or anyone looking to have a fun and casual short game. The long tees usually add an extra level of challenge (sometimes technical, and sometimes in extra length only). It's an even mix of open, moderately wooded, and tightly wooded holes. The designer cleverly made some of the short tees an open run to the pin, while the long tees in the same holes have just enough trees in the line to add some pucker factor. Most of the holes are fairly short, but there are a few longer ones and some of the shorter ones (especially #8 - a nasty wall of trees blocking you from both tees) will punish you if you hit a tree early.
Cons: Things are pretty tight, space- wise, and it seemed there would be many ways to get hit by discs coming from adjacent fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course may not "wow" more experienced players, but I found it to be very a enjoyable way to feel better about my game after the Angry Beaver handed me my arse. I think there's a place for these types of courses and am glad they have made courses for a variety of skill levels. The only thing lacking at Elon is a mid-grade course to balance out the Easy (Eager) and Hard (Angry). But that's asking a lot, I suppose.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where you begin

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 328  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Much like Bailey on the north side of town this course is the place to take someone who is just starting. I saw a group of 7 or 8 kids and there parents using lids having a blast on this course from the shorts. It may be the easiest course when you play all short pads.

The longs are not all beginner friendly and can be a fun challenge to the more experienced players before or after they play angry.

Teepads are good enough for what shots are there because you dont need a massive run-up for most of these holes.

Hole 17 is a lot of fun to throw!
Cons: Some teepads get close to baskets which I'd imagine was tough to avoid in such a small area.

Although its pretty straight forward there is very little if no directional signage.

Very few trashcans. and no benches

It can be confusing to newcomers which course is which because the first few holes of angry arnt very long so theyre thinking" man I can do this" then holes 4 and 5 hit them hard.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a fun play and an accuracy challenge from the longs. Also if you are traveling through it is a nice warmup or cooldown before/after Angry has its way with you. Its worth the play since angry is right there nearbye.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Personal Favorite

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: bamadawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Clear fairways and good layout. Discatchers all in good shape. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Short tees are fair for beginners; long tees can challenge seasoned players. Practice basket in parking lot is a plus.
Cons: Can get crowded unless you play early or off peak times. Some of the rough can be unforgiving. Signage on last few holes missing, but does not affect play.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will play more often, as it is great for finesse practice. Good, quick rounds are possible. My personal favorite so far!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Fun

1    6/30/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, short course, great for playing with the family...
- Two tee boxes on each hole
- Contained within very nice park
- Great warm-up for much longer and more challenging course that is right next-door (within the same park)
- Often played so minimal undergrowth
- Decent hole maps
Cons: - All par 3s
- Very short and easy for experienced players, virtually no holes where you should not be putting on your second shot
- No benches at the tee boxes
- Hardly any trash cans throughout the course

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Rejoice

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: jamsandwich
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy, and Quick.
Nice Park Location with good quality Discatchers.
Well worn, means less lost discs and poison ivy.
Cons: Easy.
Quick.
Crowded.
Holes are on top of one another.
Other Thoughts: This course is great because it keeps amateurs off of the second course. It has two sets of tees, which makes third month 'pros' stay around longer before trying the other course.

This is a great course to introduce friends to the game without crushing their hopes of ever being decent.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    6/7/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 72  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course has two tee pads for every hole.
-Course has a practice basket.
-Course has a nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Course sets itself up nicely for a variety of shots.
Cons: -It can get crowded sometimes on the weekends.
-This couse may not be hard enough for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is the perfect place to take a beginner. It is also a nice course to warm-up on for players that are taking on the tougher Angry Beaver course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome beginner course

1    4/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a moderately wooded area that's mostly flat. Many holes have mature trees and no underbrush, with a section of the course that has a little more brush to punish errant shots. There are two full sets of concrete tees that change up the difficulty of the course quite a bit, which makes it accessible for a wide range of players.

The short tees offer mostly holes under 200' but with enough trees to keep things interesting. The long tees offer more variety in length, though none of the holes require more than a mid or maybe a fairway driver for better players. Both sets of tees offer good technical lines that aren't too tight but make players hit a variety of lines to score well. The signs are artwork done by local kids, and have the hole number and distance. More detailed signage isn't necessary here with nearly all shots pretty obvious off the tee, so I thought it was a great way to get the local school involved in the course.
Cons: More experienced players will find even the long tees here pretty straightforward and relatively easy. It's not designed to be a challenging track, but I do rate all courses on the same scale. Because almost all the holes are similar lengths, and have similar fairway widths, they can get a little repetitive at times. There are some holes that bring a park road into play, it doesn't seem heavily trafficked but it could be a safety issue at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect beginners' course, with short lengths and limited punishment for errant shots on most holes, but enough trees to force different lines off the tee so new players can't get by with just a big hyzer drive. More experienced players can have fun throwing putter rounds here and going for aces, but it's not going to test most experienced players very much at all. I loved how well the two courses in this park complement one another, I love to see that in multi-course complexes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.