Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #16 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Easiest in Charlotte

2-4    10/13/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elon park is a disc golf course in South Charlotte is the most fair. It's mostly for players who just got into disc golf and if you have, this course is for you.
-Nice teepads that are long enough for a drive to get you close. They are about 7 feet long because this is the shortest in Charlotte.
-The discatchers are in great shape. They aren't dirty or anything like the ones at Eastway.
-The course is easy to follow and it's easy to find each tee since there are tee signs.
-There is a practice basket close to hole four. Four is in the more wooded part of the course. It is straight past hole #6.
-There is a good use of elevation on this course, the first two are downhill and three is uphill, so is nine but that's all I will say, I want this to be a surprise so it's funner and you won't know want the next hole is like.
-I really liked the layout. For example holes four and eight have two routes and a straight shot won't get you close. You can either take left or right. #15 on the longs is a super fun teeshot. You have to throw a hyzer over the lake but you can also flick it out on the route to the left if you just started. I also agree with my bro BraveThrower43. #17 is a fun, downhill shot.
-I did the children's tournament here and Out of Bounds is taken lightly for example there are no mandos and the roads are not OB. Except the parking lot and the lake on #15 long. I was in the 15-17 division so on the holes divisible by three, the older people like me played the longs on those six holes.
-The course is very well maintained. People don't litter on the fairways or woods on this course. Y'all keep it that way.
-There is a good chance for an ace. I hit #11's basket and some teens made aces.
-The tournaments here are cheap, my total cost was only $22.26. Lunch is free and the other tournaments I have done at Sugaw and Boyd were expensive. Sugaw was about $45 and $53 for Boyd. OB is taken majorly and it's not worth spending your money unless you're skilled. For you player with children 7-17, y'all should bring your children to do the tournaments here in October if they like disc golf. It's worth the money since penalty strokes aren't major. Don't get your children to try a tournament unless you know they are ready because the woman in charge of the tournament at Sugaw was a real piece of work and took OB too strong. If you think they are ready and are around my age (15). I guess it would be fine to do a bigger tournament but this is good for any kid who likes disc golf.
Cons: -I don't like #6 at all. I don't have any problem with the distance at all but the problem is that the parking lot is behind the basket pretty closely. The course is crowded and on the first round, I hit a car. Not purposely but I did make the hole longer than it really is if you know what I mean.
-Another con is that there are no benches on any holes. There is a log on #10 but that's it. This course has been around for four years now and it still doesn't have benches. I don't think there are any at Angry Beaver either.
-I only remember one trashcan on the course. It's to the left of hole #7's tee. -#16's fairway has a tall light in the way and it possibly will mess with your head. It was hit today and if you hit right to it, you could catch a roller and there is a chance you landing in the lake. I liked this hole but it may be a con to beginners but it's only minor.
-The main con is that after the tournament a few people in the 15-17 division invited me to play Angry Beaver with them. I didn't get to. That's a big con.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because it is fair but fun. It does need benches and #6 isn't a good design and #18 isn't anything memorable as a finishing hole but it's still a good course. I loved that there was some elevation, the unique designs, the scenery and my favorite hole was #15 long. This course is more isolated than most courses in Charlotte. Go to the largest parking lot and be sure you are on Ardrey Kell road. To get to this course, you past the Angry Beaver. Keep in mind, that the Angry Beaver baskets are white and the baskets here at Eager Beaver are yellow.
I did say that there is a chance in getting in ace but don't come here and expect the ace. Come to have fun and just go for a good score. An ace doesn't come easily and it doesn't if you really expect it. This is worth the play if you live anywhere in North Carolina or if you are on vacation in North Carolina. In the reviews saying "Come here if you want an ace". They mean it's more likely to happen than an average disc golf course. My friend Joe got 16 birdies in a row but didn't ace but got closest to the pin on many holes. He has made four aces because he comes to have fun. I am not guaranteeing you will get an ace if you have lots of fun but it's not gonna happen if you expect it or high likely not. This course is short but doesn't promise an ace but it's a great course.
Enough said about aces, the Angry Beaver sounds a bit more fun than this course since there is much more variety there. If you plan to play that course after this one, bring a disc that floats because there is water. I didn't do a hole by hole review because I think I took away the surprise due to plenty of thumbs down. Send me a private message if you want to know about every hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver

5+    9/28/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play from beginner to intermediate throwers. Dual tee pads offer an additional challenge. Short tee pads make the course ideal for beginners and kids. The long tee pads do demand accurate throws through narrow, wooded fairways. For RHBH throwers, there are plenty of holes to work on your left to right fades...or practice that forehand! There is forgiveness on the wooded holes to still shoot well if you decide to chop at some trees with your disc.
Cons: I don't have too many cons for the course. It's laid out well. It has dual tee pads. The baskets are all in good shape. The course is well maintained.
The course does get crowded. If you're playing with a group, that's OK. If you're solo and just looking at getting a quick 18 in, be mindful that this is a popular course.
Other Thoughts: Several reviewers have stated it, but Eager is a great course to warm up on before Angry hands it to you, or to gain some confidence back after Angry has handed it to you! Lots of fun to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favs

5+    1/24/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: Buzzs1966
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the first course my wife learned how to play on. She loves it and so do I. Great beginners course very forgiving and not real difficult!
Cons: lots of leaves actually lost a dics in them. Need to keep a good eye on your disc.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great coures

2-4    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and pros alike. Probably one of my favorite course in Charlotte. Great short and intermediate long baskets. great looking course nice fairways.
Cons: would be nice to have good signs for the long tee's. hard as heck to find your disc because of a ton of leaf's
Other Thoughts: over all a nice course fun for beginners and pros you will have a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny Gem on the Southside

5+    12/2/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to get the kinks out of your short game, Elon's short course is a beautiful course located in a very nice area of Charlotte. This course is part of a recreational complex, which features athletic fields, recreational center and Elon's long course(Elong) on the same site.

Elon's short course is equipped with two sets of concrete tee pads(one short[red] and one long[white] on each hole). Currently, each short tee has tee signs bearing creative artwork from local schoolchildren showing hole numbers, pars and distances. Long tee signs have recently been installed. A single DISCatcher in place for each hole, in stationary pin placements, all in excellent condition. A practice basket is located at parking lot, next to hole #1.

Elon plays as a beginner-friendly course. Distances are short, averaging 185' from red tees, 245' from the white tees. Most holes would classify as excellent ace runs, and the ace board is located by Tee #1 shows it. Bring your approach game, and save your drivers for Elon's new long course.

Basket to tee distances are very reasonable, you should have no trouble navigating the short course. A very small creek comes into play on #17, a tiny creek located behind the basket. A lake is also in play from the white tee pad on hole #15. A straight line to the basket plays over the water, and a clear line plays around the lake for a safer shot.
Cons: Only a few minor complaints about the course, in order of importance;
-Lack of trash cans, only a few in range of any holes on the course,
-Course is not challanging to anyone other than a beginner
-Dranage is a problem on the back 9, sure to be sloppy if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: I've rated Elon-Short Course 3.5 discs. Deductions for no trash cans, benches and overall length/difficulty of course. Rated a little higher because of the pro level course on the same site makes up for the Short Course's difficulty.

Entrance for the park is on Audrey Kell. Take park access road passed athletic fields, parking lot in the back of park before recreational center.

The addition of Elon-Long Course really hasn't affected the course traffic on the Short Course. Short holes, and short distances between holes should allow you to get two rounds in in an hour if playing alone. The long tee pads add about 1,100' to the course for an added challange and a different look for a few of the holes. Enjoy one of Charlotte's newest courses, but don't forget about the many others existing and others coming soon.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best beginner course in Charlotte that can challenge the advanced player!

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 727  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees offer two very different courses. A lot of times the long tees play very similar to the short tees of courses with only an added 50' per hole, but not on this course. I suffered a 10 stroke differential playing the shorts to the longs. This course actually plays very different for some reason. I think the angle they give you for the longs is simply that much tougher that it plays so differently. Some have referred to them as short but you shouldnt need a full runup for these shots!


2) This course can be a lot of fun for a lot of people. Advanced or better players can gun for ace or duece on every hole while the beginner can try really hard to par every hole.

3) There is a tremendous variety of shot shaping and disc usage on this course. Some of the doglegs cut before the natural turn of the discs. You need to be creative to try and get close on every hole. Be prepared to think out some shots here and throw drivers for sots under 225'.

4) Nice yellow discatchers help on this tight wooded course. It wasnt as helpful when I played in January but it would be better in the summer season when the trees are fully leafed out.

5) Very creative tee signs. This is a wonderful idea for course development because it involves the local community and school. The include the hole #, distance, and par. Unfortunately the design is more decorative than functional for figuring out the hole, but as my wife (MRS.harr0140) said, it isn't a huge issue because the holes are pretty short and very easily figured out from the tee!

6) Shot shaping is incredible for such a short course. You need to have all sorts of turning shots including shots that arent normally easy to execute because of how quickly they turn.

7) Practice basket available at the parking lot. This is a good thing for this course (shared with the Long course) because putting will be a premium on the short course.

8) Picnic table at the first tee is always nice to have because you have a place to sit before and after your round.

9) Excellent design for a short course in a small piece of the property.

10) 2010 ace board is a good idea as it will keep some people from signing the baskets. I have seen this now in a few places an it helps to legitimize aces and keeping proud people from signing the baskets.

11) Very little underbrush especially for such a wooded course. This is always a positive.

12) Good course layout and flow. This course moves quickly an you can probably play in less than 30 minutes alone. I played the short tees playing through 2 groups in less than 30 minutes!!

13) Good family course set on a small property. Even if you have to disrupt your round you can be in and out in a short amount of time.
Cons: 1) Holes 12-17 are wet in spots due to what seems to be a natural drainageway on this course. It also happens to be the only turfed areas on this course.

2) Course tee signs although creative lack the diagram from being very helpful.

3) Course lacks some variety in hole distance and discs required. Althouhg you might need to throw drivers for distances that might normally be midranges, the holes do not have enough variety in distance.

4) This course throws over one road (mainly access to the maintenance department) and also access to another office building. Not a big deal because it isn't highly trafficked, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

5) My wife referred to me as legendary in her first review. I am all for lving me, but referring to me as a legend almost seems like I put her up to it . . . and I didn't!

6) Course is very short and only requires 1 or 2 true max effort drives!

7) As one of the shorter courses in the area it will be crowded with beginners at many times.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time, and so did my wife. She is a beginner who is starting to understand good disc golf courses and at the same time learning how to execute different shots rather than just heaving it as far as possible. This course is close to a 4 disc course but the only thing keeping it from ebing a four is that it doesnt challenge the advanced or pro player enough. Normally I complain about courses not being conducive to beginner play, but this is one of the few that simply does not challenge the advanced player enough. I had fun for sure as a rec/int. player and my wife as a beginner surely enjoyed, but to be a pro it simply is not enough course to challenge or keep their interest. Regardless I enjoyed it and many others will.

Give it a shot and have fun out there!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite to date!

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: MRS.harr0140
Played: 118  Reviewed: 1
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked that it was wooded--challenging, but not impossible. Very little understory brush--that was nice. The tee boxes were well maintained--concrete with a very rough texture for good grip. GREAT way to get some communitiy involvement with the tee signs. All baskets were well marked and highly visible with the yellow top band. Course layout was good--no long walks between holes and the course started and stopped at the parking area.
Cons: Although the tee signs were cool, a diagram of the hole is always helpful. The holes were short enought that it didn't really matter in the end, but it would still be nice to have. The back nine seemed to be very wet--although I realize it was in the flood plain, some of the footing was a bit slick. There were a few places were foot bridges would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: I like to play an occasional round of dg, but by no means do I play as much as my legendary husband...harr0140...just the same, I have played several courses and am beginning to know what makes a good course good, etc. (This is my first review)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Great for Beginners

5+    9/27/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: jathey88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the course I play the most. It is a great course for beginners. Great for working on mid-range and putts.
Cons: It is not a good course to practice drives b/c most of the holes are short.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are par 4s but my friends and I always play the whole course as par 3s.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    7/13/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: britishdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A decent mixture of difficulty level
-In a nice part of town (not in the ghetto)
-Clean with very little trash
-A fun course to at least play a couple times
Cons: -Poor drainage, so after it rains it takes a day to dry out
-Some of the long tees aren't really longer, they're just pushed 10 ft back and put behind a tree. Kind of pointless
Other Thoughts: -The long tees aren't finished yet and the mulch hasn't all been spread around so it can be a little inconvenient, but once that's finished the course will be much nicer.
-Worth going out to at least give it a try

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 elondiscgolf.com

5+    2/1/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Big Chipper
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/20/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course with a good mixture technical features. I like to play 18 from the long tees and then follow it up with 18 on the shorts.
Cons: Concrete pads are not in yet.
Other Thoughts: I think there's another 18 planned soon that will be the championship version.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.