Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #9 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 168ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 lovin some elon

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a real nice piece of land that will be a haven for all arm strengths.Stan McDaniel is my favorite course designer.( play Renny and tell me how a man's brain could come up with such abstract, playable art.)I have heard that in the future this course will become 2 courses, the other being a longer separate course.I shoot am tees all par 3, because 185 feet is not par 4 for me. Pro tees I keep to par 3, but can get bogeys quick with misplaced power.I live 8 miles from Elon and play it every other week, love the place, real fun ace runs at lunch time.
Cons: The only con is short tee pads, but i didnt build them so I will shut up and throw.I have seen this course grow-up over the last year and the cons are depleting as I type.
Other Thoughts: Charlotte Power day:
Renaissance in the morning, Kilborne after lunch and red bull, Elon shorts to close out the daylight....awwwww I love this city, now I can't leave. Cant wait for the new courses, we need more than any other city because we use them, all, daily.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Course With Potential!

1    7/17/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 895  Reviewed: 845  Exp: 38.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This seems to be in a very nice part of town. The course is designed as a beginner to intermediate level course. I wouldn't quite call it a pitch and putt. There is a great starting area for a course with benches, picnic tables and the fact that the course starts and finishes here. It plays mostly through the trees and the little fishing lake does come into a play on a couple of holes. There are concrete pads though they might be a bit short for some player's run-ups. It has nice new disccatchers. The tee signs are cute. They're hand drawn by elementary school kids and show the pars, distances and hole #. TI didn't have any trouble navigating the course although I was using the on-line map at times. There are forms lying around for new, longer pads getting ready to be poured. It looks as though they will be adding 20 to 50 ft. to each hole. I think this would be a pretty nice course to learn to play on. The course provides plenty of ACE Ops as well as some easy eagle opportunities if you're playing the pars as listed on the signs.
Cons: Long arms won't appreciate this course. They won't be holding any national championship tournies here but it fills a void. There are no pads yet for the longs. I think the course has the chance to be pretty wet after rains. There is some potential for lost discs on the holes near the lake, especially with newbies playing and learning the game. The pars on the signs are really easy (leading to all those eagles). I'm sure most serious players would just everything a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Another new course for a city that already has twenty courses. Charlotte is a premier disc golf destination with courses ranging from pitch and putts to championship type courses. Players in Charlotte town are very lucky to have the number and variety of courses. Appreciate them and have fun.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    7/13/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: britishdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A decent mixture of difficulty level
-In a nice part of town (not in the ghetto)
-Clean with very little trash
-A fun course to at least play a couple times
Cons: -Poor drainage, so after it rains it takes a day to dry out
-Some of the long tees aren't really longer, they're just pushed 10 ft back and put behind a tree. Kind of pointless
Other Thoughts: -The long tees aren't finished yet and the mulch hasn't all been spread around so it can be a little inconvenient, but once that's finished the course will be much nicer.
-Worth going out to at least give it a try

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Little Trouble with Ettiquette

5+    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: rosenthaljb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great S. Charlotte course. Good ladies tee's and men's tee's. Challenging with both distance and obsticles.
Cons: Too many newby's who SLOW PLAY w/o knowing to let people play through!!!!!!!

Also, some long tee's are ridiculously tree covered but that is just me whining about my score today mostly :-)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 South Charlotte DG

5+    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: DiscnDude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course flows smoothly, A good number of the holes are Ace-able.
Cons: -Sometimes can be very busy, and parking is lacking during these times.

-Some of the catchers dont have the inner chains for some reason. (Not a big deal just saying)
Other Thoughts: The course has mulch piles on alot of the holes that havent been spread yet, i think next time i go ill bring a hard rake and spread a pile or two.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The potential is there...

1    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 88  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent course for short-game practice. Trees and other obstacles are laid out nicely to provide challenges without making the course impossible to play.

- I actually thought most of the long tees provided a nice contrast compared to the short tees. The long tees on some holes add obstacles (trees), while on others they actually open the fairway up better by providing a more natural flight for the disc. Some holes have ace opportunities from the short tees while the long tees are laid out so that par isn't even a given. It's definitely worth it to play the tees from both locations.

- The course has a good mix of open and wooded shots.

- It can't be said enough how dire the need for disc golf was in this part of Charlotte. This course is easily accessible for folks in the south Charlotte/Ballantyne area and even the Fort Mill area.
Cons: - The concrete tee pads are woefully short for taller players such as myself. This was particularly problematic on the #3 short tee, which is raised by a good 2-3 inches off the ground. That makes for an impossible run-up onto the tee pad. On many holes you don't need much of a run-up with the shorter distances, but it's nice to have the option just in case.

- The long tees don't (yet) have tee pads, although that isn't so much a bad thing when taking the short tee pads into account. I do think the long tees could use better signage/markers though.

- The day I played, there was considerable construction going on around the holes beside the pond. That can't really be helped - and should be a good thing in the long run - but it made a couple of holes unplayable. I believe #9 from the long tees was blocked by a huge truck, so we had to adjust by throwing a little behind the short tees.

- To echo other comments, the course did look muddy in some areas and it hasn't even rained lately. One hole has wooden boards laid out as a walkway over a muddy area between the short tees and long tees, so I take it that area stays muddy all the time.
Other Thoughts: - I feel like Elon is a course with potential, but some of it is still untapped. It's still young, though, so I'm guessing it will continue to be improved with time.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Short Course

2-4    5/25/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun short course can be played very fast if you're in a hurry
Good Elevation Changes
Fair mix of open wooded
Course in good condition for how new it is
Fair risk reward
Cons: Tee pads were not all finished when we played
Signs were not up yet when we played
Other Thoughts: First time wife and i had played course. Played once from each set of tees. It is what it is meant to be...a fun, short, beginner course. Would recomend playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

2-4    12/30/2008   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 377  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tight

1    3/10/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 17.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Teepads
- Nice scenery and clean park
- Easy to navigate.
- Tight fairways keep the short tees challenging.
Cons: Only Cons would be lack of Teesigns and natural teepads. Work is still being done on course so both of these should be resolved soon.
Other Thoughts: Have been hearing good things about this course so decided to take a trip to check it out. Very glad I did. For a pitch and putt course it had some very tight holes and accuracy is a must. For even more of a challenge the long tees up the difficulty considerably. This is a great new course in Charlotte that will only get better as some of the upgrades are finished.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/13/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 212  Reviewed: 207  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. It was built to introduce newcomers to the game in a fast-growing part of the Charlotte area.
- Great layout, beautiful park and scenery. Park has plenty of other amenities.
- Lots of trees, accuracy is more important than distance. The only hole I thought may have been too tight was #11 long.
- Water only potentially comes into play on 2 holes - #15 long & 17, to the right.
- Almost every hole is a birdie opportunity, especially from the short tees.
- Dual tee pads. Short pads average less than 200 feet per hole, longer average about 250.
- Mostly a pitch and putt course. For people who throw 300+, only several holes to throw a driver on long pads and only 1 hole from shorts (#6).
- The course, and park as a whole, has done a tremendous job of reaching out to the community. Each hole has art work done by local elementary school students, which is a cool touch. It also hosts rec-level tournaments, which are great ways to bring more casual people to the game without them feeling overwhelmed or intimidated by playing with serious players. That said, be sure to treat the course with more respect than most courses - i.e. no littering, no signing baskets, be extra patient with all the newbies playing, etc.
Cons: - Course can be tough to navigate first time without a map. Many holes are close, so there's a risk of throwing to wrong basket/teeing off from wrong hole.
- Several holes (#3, 6 & 18) present risk of hitting cars or people due to baskets being really close to road/parking lot and picnic benches.
- Many holes have a lack of shot variety in the short and long tees. For most holes, the short tees are only 50 - 75 feet in front of the longs. A little more variety would have helped.
- Course has risk to be really muddy. I played 2 days after a light rain and there were noticeable muddy areas on some holes.
- Hole #15 long. With the leaves on trees (spring - fall), it's a blind tee shot to the pin with no direct path and the pond directly to the right. It seems the preferred path is a high, arching hyzer over the pond, through a narrow opening in the trees to get near the pin. In the winter, with no leaves on trees, it's a fair hole. The rest of the year, the hole is difficult and high lost disc potential.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course, easy to play a quick round. I usually play at least 36 holes because the rounds are so quick and easy. It's enjoyable, but won't blow you away with difficulty. It definitely gets more casual players than most courses around.
- I hit my second career ace on this course, on hole #13, from the short tee pads. Of all the ace chances on this course, it was one of less likely holes, making it even better.
- The course has the feel of a Reedy Creek light.
- This course was built to be a beginner-level course. There will eventually be a championship level course built, giving the park two distinct courses.
- It's great that the south part of Charlotte finally got some disc golf love with the addition of this course and Squirrel Lake. Previously, anyone living in this part of the city would have to drive 30 minutes to Renny or Reedy Creek/Mint Hill. Now, anywhere in Charlotte, you're within 15 minutes of disc golf. No excuses for not playing the game.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.