Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 179ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best beginner course in Charlotte that can challenge the advanced player!

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 839  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees offer two very different courses. A lot of times the long tees play very similar to the short tees of courses with only an added 50' per hole, but not on this course. I suffered a 10 stroke differential playing the shorts to the longs. This course actually plays very different for some reason. I think the angle they give you for the longs is simply that much tougher that it plays so differently. Some have referred to them as short but you shouldnt need a full runup for these shots!


2) This course can be a lot of fun for a lot of people. Advanced or better players can gun for ace or duece on every hole while the beginner can try really hard to par every hole.

3) There is a tremendous variety of shot shaping and disc usage on this course. Some of the doglegs cut before the natural turn of the discs. You need to be creative to try and get close on every hole. Be prepared to think out some shots here and throw drivers for sots under 225'.

4) Nice yellow discatchers help on this tight wooded course. It wasnt as helpful when I played in January but it would be better in the summer season when the trees are fully leafed out.

5) Very creative tee signs. This is a wonderful idea for course development because it involves the local community and school. The include the hole #, distance, and par. Unfortunately the design is more decorative than functional for figuring out the hole, but as my wife (MRS.harr0140) said, it isn't a huge issue because the holes are pretty short and very easily figured out from the tee!

6) Shot shaping is incredible for such a short course. You need to have all sorts of turning shots including shots that arent normally easy to execute because of how quickly they turn.

7) Practice basket available at the parking lot. This is a good thing for this course (shared with the Long course) because putting will be a premium on the short course.

8) Picnic table at the first tee is always nice to have because you have a place to sit before and after your round.

9) Excellent design for a short course in a small piece of the property.

10) 2010 ace board is a good idea as it will keep some people from signing the baskets. I have seen this now in a few places an it helps to legitimize aces and keeping proud people from signing the baskets.

11) Very little underbrush especially for such a wooded course. This is always a positive.

12) Good course layout and flow. This course moves quickly an you can probably play in less than 30 minutes alone. I played the short tees playing through 2 groups in less than 30 minutes!!

13) Good family course set on a small property. Even if you have to disrupt your round you can be in and out in a short amount of time.
Cons: 1) Holes 12-17 are wet in spots due to what seems to be a natural drainageway on this course. It also happens to be the only turfed areas on this course.

2) Course tee signs although creative lack the diagram from being very helpful.

3) Course lacks some variety in hole distance and discs required. Althouhg you might need to throw drivers for distances that might normally be midranges, the holes do not have enough variety in distance.

4) This course throws over one road (mainly access to the maintenance department) and also access to another office building. Not a big deal because it isn't highly trafficked, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

5) My wife referred to me as legendary in her first review. I am all for lving me, but referring to me as a legend almost seems like I put her up to it . . . and I didn't!

6) Course is very short and only requires 1 or 2 true max effort drives!

7) As one of the shorter courses in the area it will be crowded with beginners at many times.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time, and so did my wife. She is a beginner who is starting to understand good disc golf courses and at the same time learning how to execute different shots rather than just heaving it as far as possible. This course is close to a 4 disc course but the only thing keeping it from ebing a four is that it doesnt challenge the advanced or pro player enough. Normally I complain about courses not being conducive to beginner play, but this is one of the few that simply does not challenge the advanced player enough. I had fun for sure as a rec/int. player and my wife as a beginner surely enjoyed, but to be a pro it simply is not enough course to challenge or keep their interest. Regardless I enjoyed it and many others will.

Give it a shot and have fun out there!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite to date!

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: MRS.harr0140
Played: 118  Reviewed: 1
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked that it was wooded--challenging, but not impossible. Very little understory brush--that was nice. The tee boxes were well maintained--concrete with a very rough texture for good grip. GREAT way to get some communitiy involvement with the tee signs. All baskets were well marked and highly visible with the yellow top band. Course layout was good--no long walks between holes and the course started and stopped at the parking area.
Cons: Although the tee signs were cool, a diagram of the hole is always helpful. The holes were short enought that it didn't really matter in the end, but it would still be nice to have. The back nine seemed to be very wet--although I realize it was in the flood plain, some of the footing was a bit slick. There were a few places were foot bridges would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: I like to play an occasional round of dg, but by no means do I play as much as my legendary husband...harr0140...just the same, I have played several courses and am beginning to know what makes a good course good, etc. (This is my first review)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good for Beginners/Kids

5+    11/25/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 33.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for the intended skill levels (beginners/kids). Shorter holes. Fair fairways. Stroller friendly. Stays near parking lot for the first few holes, for those abbreviated rounds with the kids. Lots of fun ace runs for the more advanced player, without being total pitch-and-putt. The long tees provide enough challenge to keep mid-level players interested.
Cons: No place for big-arms, and not even many "driver" holes for mid-level players. Fire ants.
Other Thoughts:
Design/Terrain (2.5/5)
================
Shot Shape (3/5) - Reasonably good mix of left-turn, right-turn, straight, and even a couple "thrower's choice" holes with multiple fairways in the woods. Most shapes are fairly tame, with no huge curves required.
Tight v Open Variety (4/5) - Good mix. 11 open-ish and 7 woods holes. The fairly open ones border woods, and have a few mature trees to negotiate. The woods holes have a good mix of fairway widths.
Shot Length Variety (3/5) - Overall a really short course from the shorts, and pretty short from the longs, but still a good mix of shot length for the
intended skill levels. Short tees have 5 shots under 160 feet, but only 3 over 230 feet. Long tees have 3 shots under 180 feet, and 4 shots over 280 feet.
Elevation (3/5) - Holes 9,10,17,18 have a significant, but not huge, elevation change. Holes 2,3,14,15(short),16 have enough elevation that you notice it.
Layout/Flow (3/5) - Course loops back after 3 holes and 6 holes, and can be played as 9-holer by playing 1-7,17,18. Starts and ends near the parking lot. A couple road crossing aren't ideal but aren't bad. A couple spots you could make a wrong turn if you don't pay attention and don't have a map.
Water Shots (1/5) - Really only 1 water shot from the short tees, and that's behind the pin, not throwing over water. From the long tees, 1 shot over water and 1 hole where you can kick into water.
Multi-Shot Holes (0/5) - For the intended skill level (novices/kids), some holes are obviously multi-shot. But for the vast majority of "regular" players, every hole is reachable on the drive.


Basics (3.5/5)
===========
Number of Holes (5/5) - 18 holes.
Tee Signs (3/5) - Each sign has hole number, distance, and par. As of Dec 2009, tee signs only on the short tees. Unique tee signs - contain art created by local school kids. Neat.
Tee Pads (4/5) - Concrete, brushed surface. Maybe just a tad shorter than perfect, but doesn't impact you much.
Targets (4/5) - DISCatchers. A couple are slightly bent.
Map & Scorecard (4/5) - Map and Scorecard available on dgcoursereview and on course website.
Multiple Configs (2/5) - Two complete sets of tees. The two sets are different enough to be suitable for different skill levels.


General (3.5/5)
===========
Maintenance (3/5) - Pretty good maintenance. Mowing is kept up. A few muddy spots in rainy times. A little trash. A few stumps.
Lost Disc Potential (4/5) - Not likely to lose a disc. Only one or two water shots, and not too much underbrush.
Shared Use (4/5) - Almost exclusively used for disc golf. Only an occasional walker or dog-walker in the woods.
Beauty (3/5) - Great middle-age forest. The open areas are less appealing. The whole woodsy setting is pretty neat, but not too many real stunning views.


Amenities (1/3)
============
Benches (0/3) - None on the course. A picnic table at the start of the course.
Trash Cans (1/3) - Three trash cans available, with one serving two spots (holes 9 and 16).
Restrooms (1/3) - Available in the Rec Center when it is open.
Practice Facilities (1/3) - Practice basket on the edge of the parking lot.
Message Board (1/3) - Nice message board, but not used much.



Overall (57/100) == C == (3/5)


12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Shouldn't be considered a real course...

1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Emerett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Very easy, and good for beginners.
Cons: No hole is driveable, no signs to next pin, every hole is a straight line.
Other Thoughts: If you can throw a disc over 200 feet, don't bother coming here, you won't have a good time.

If you need a lot of practice throwing a approach disc, this course is for you...

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Great for Beginners

5+    9/27/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: jathey88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the course I play the most. It is a great course for beginners. Great for working on mid-range and putts.
Cons: It is not a good course to practice drives b/c most of the holes are short.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are par 4s but my friends and I always play the whole course as par 3s.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 lovin some elon

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a real nice piece of land that will be a haven for all arm strengths.Stan McDaniel is my favorite course designer.( play Renny and tell me how a man's brain could come up with such abstract, playable art.)I have heard that in the future this course will become 2 courses, the other being a longer separate course.I shoot am tees all par 3, because 185 feet is not par 4 for me. Pro tees I keep to par 3, but can get bogeys quick with misplaced power.I live 8 miles from Elon and play it every other week, love the place, real fun ace runs at lunch time.
Cons: The only con is short tee pads, but i didnt build them so I will shut up and throw.I have seen this course grow-up over the last year and the cons are depleting as I type.
Other Thoughts: Charlotte Power day:
Renaissance in the morning, Kilborne after lunch and red bull, Elon shorts to close out the daylight....awwwww I love this city, now I can't leave. Cant wait for the new courses, we need more than any other city because we use them, all, daily.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Course With Potential!

1    7/17/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 712  Reviewed: 663  Exp: 36.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This seems to be in a very nice part of town. The course is designed as a beginner to intermediate level course. I wouldn't quite call it a pitch and putt. There is a great starting area for a course with benches, picnic tables and the fact that the course starts and finishes here. It plays mostly through the trees and the little fishing lake does come into a play on a couple of holes. There are concrete pads though they might be a bit short for some player's run-ups. It has nice new disccatchers. The tee signs are cute. They're hand drawn by elementary school kids and show the pars, distances and hole #. TI didn't have any trouble navigating the course although I was using the on-line map at times. There are forms lying around for new, longer pads getting ready to be poured. It looks as though they will be adding 20 to 50 ft. to each hole. I think this would be a pretty nice course to learn to play on. The course provides plenty of ACE Ops as well as some easy eagle opportunities if you're playing the pars as listed on the signs.
Cons: Long arms won't appreciate this course. They won't be holding any national championship tournies here but it fills a void. There are no pads yet for the longs. I think the course has the chance to be pretty wet after rains. There is some potential for lost discs on the holes near the lake, especially with newbies playing and learning the game. The pars on the signs are really easy (leading to all those eagles). I'm sure most serious players would just everything a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Another new course for a city that already has twenty courses. Charlotte is a premier disc golf destination with courses ranging from pitch and putts to championship type courses. Players in Charlotte town are very lucky to have the number and variety of courses. Appreciate them and have fun.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    7/13/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: britishdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A decent mixture of difficulty level
-In a nice part of town (not in the ghetto)
-Clean with very little trash
-A fun course to at least play a couple times
Cons: -Poor drainage, so after it rains it takes a day to dry out
-Some of the long tees aren't really longer, they're just pushed 10 ft back and put behind a tree. Kind of pointless
Other Thoughts: -The long tees aren't finished yet and the mulch hasn't all been spread around so it can be a little inconvenient, but once that's finished the course will be much nicer.
-Worth going out to at least give it a try

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Little Trouble with Ettiquette

5+    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: rosenthaljb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great S. Charlotte course. Good ladies tee's and men's tee's. Challenging with both distance and obsticles.
Cons: Too many newby's who SLOW PLAY w/o knowing to let people play through!!!!!!!

Also, some long tee's are ridiculously tree covered but that is just me whining about my score today mostly :-)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 South Charlotte DG

5+    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: DiscnDude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course flows smoothly, A good number of the holes are Ace-able.
Cons: -Sometimes can be very busy, and parking is lacking during these times.

-Some of the catchers dont have the inner chains for some reason. (Not a big deal just saying)
Other Thoughts: The course has mulch piles on alot of the holes that havent been spread yet, i think next time i go ill bring a hard rake and spread a pile or two.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.