Charlotte, NC
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 B = Better Than Average

2-4    12/30/2008   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tight

1    3/10/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Teepads
- Nice scenery and clean park
- Easy to navigate.
- Tight fairways keep the short tees challenging.
Cons: Only Cons would be lack of Teesigns and natural teepads. Work is still being done on course so both of these should be resolved soon.
Other Thoughts: Have been hearing good things about this course so decided to take a trip to check it out. Very glad I did. For a pitch and putt course it had some very tight holes and accuracy is a must. For even more of a challenge the long tees up the difficulty considerably. This is a great new course in Charlotte that will only get better as some of the upgrades are finished.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/13/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. It was built to introduce newcomers to the game in a fast-growing part of the Charlotte area.
- Great layout, beautiful park and scenery. Park has plenty of other amenities.
- Lots of trees, accuracy is more important than distance. The only hole I thought may have been too tight was #11 long.
- Water only potentially comes into play on 2 holes - #15 long & 17, to the right.
- Almost every hole is a birdie opportunity, especially from the short tees.
- Dual tee pads. Short pads average less than 200 feet per hole, longer average about 250.
- Mostly a pitch and putt course. For people who throw 300+, only several holes to throw a driver on long pads and only 1 hole from shorts (#6).
- The course, and park as a whole, has done a tremendous job of reaching out to the community. Each hole has art work done by local elementary school students, which is a cool touch. It also hosts rec-level tournaments, which are great ways to bring more casual people to the game without them feeling overwhelmed or intimidated by playing with serious players. That said, be sure to treat the course with more respect than most courses - i.e. no littering, no signing baskets, be extra patient with all the newbies playing, etc.
Cons: - Course can be tough to navigate first time without a map. Many holes are close, so there's a risk of throwing to wrong basket/teeing off from wrong hole.
- Several holes (#3, 6 & 18) present risk of hitting cars or people due to baskets being really close to road/parking lot and picnic benches.
- Many holes have a lack of shot variety in the short and long tees. For most holes, the short tees are only 50 - 75 feet in front of the longs. A little more variety would have helped.
- Course has risk to be really muddy. I played 2 days after a light rain and there were noticeable muddy areas on some holes.
- Hole #15 long. With the leaves on trees (spring - fall), it's a blind tee shot to the pin with no direct path and the pond directly to the right. It seems the preferred path is a high, arching hyzer over the pond, through a narrow opening in the trees to get near the pin. In the winter, with no leaves on trees, it's a fair hole. The rest of the year, the hole is difficult and high lost disc potential.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course, easy to play a quick round. I usually play at least 36 holes because the rounds are so quick and easy. It's enjoyable, but won't blow you away with difficulty. It definitely gets more casual players than most courses around.
- I hit my second career ace on this course, on hole #13, from the short tee pads. Of all the ace chances on this course, it was one of less likely holes, making it even better.
- The course has the feel of a Reedy Creek light.
- This course was built to be a beginner-level course. There will eventually be a championship level course built, giving the park two distinct courses.
- It's great that the south part of Charlotte finally got some disc golf love with the addition of this course and Squirrel Lake. Previously, anyone living in this part of the city would have to drive 30 minutes to Renny or Reedy Creek/Mint Hill. Now, anywhere in Charlotte, you're within 15 minutes of disc golf. No excuses for not playing the game.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 elondiscgolf.com

5+    2/1/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Big Chipper
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/20/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course with a good mixture technical features. I like to play 18 from the long tees and then follow it up with 18 on the shorts.
Cons: Concrete pads are not in yet.
Other Thoughts: I think there's another 18 planned soon that will be the championship version.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/29/2009   1/31/2009
Review By: david W
Played: 75  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety. The shorts were designed for beginners while the longs will test anyone. The course record on the shorts is -16 while the course record on the longs is -13. The longs play to the same baskets as the shorts but have longer fairways (50-150 feet) and play much tighter. The course plays very fast and can be finished in under 45 min. Good mix of open and wooded. Some elevation changes (but is very easy on the body).
Cons: -Natural tee pads (not for long)
-Sometimes a little slick and muddy.
Other Thoughts: This is the newest course to the area. Probably the best course in the city to learn how to play on. If you want to teach some friends what disc golf is about, bring them here!

Also, the master plan for this complex is to add a "pro" course that will be around a par 64-68. This course will be very difficult and will have lots of elevation along with some long par 4's and 5's.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the Woods

2-4    12/6/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The short tees play fast so you could get a quick round in (lunchtime golf). The long pads will test as they add to the tunnel effect of the trees bordering most fairways here. Technical course. Easy walk. Very clean area & family friendly. Gazebo by rec center. Swap meets on weekends for the non-golfers in the group.
Cons: No benches or tee signs (yet).
Other Thoughts: Minimal elevation changes.
I played a fund raiser tourney at this course & proceeds were going towards installation of teepads.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 521 District Park

5+    11/11/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: borndasaur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2009
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of hole types with open, wooded, water (doesn't really come into play on the short tees but the presence makes you think *see note below*) and woods-on-one-side holes make this a good beginner's course. The tight wooded holes are short to keep the frustration factor low but will challenge even experienced players. Practice basket and maps are found at the edge of the parking lot. All 18 holes have 2 concrete tee pads (long and short.) The difference in difficulty between the long and short tees is surprising given the relatively small difference in length. Paths in the woods are bordered by tree trunks. Rest rooms are located inside the rec center which has been re-opened after mold and mildew problems were cleaned up. Trash cans are located by the rec center, parking lot and at the #9 short tee.
Cons: Some low areas are muddy no matter what the weather. Be aware that fire ants abound.
Other Thoughts: The first three holes loop back to the parking lot as do the next three so, if the kids are getting antsy, escape is easy. The twelve remaining holes form another loop back to the parking lot. This course is located in a sports complex with ball fields, indoor gymnasium and fishing lake. It is a great course to introduce new players to the sport and is challenging enough for experienced players to keep their skills sharp. Sunsets over the lake are magnificent.
*Note* I wrote this review in Nov of 2008 and since then, I've sent 3 (now 4, uh, make that 5) discs to a watery grave in the lake and 3 others that I recovered for a total of 6 (now 7, thats 8) in the water that "doesn't really come into play". (A friend recommended I simply advise bringing a Dragon.) Karma?

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.