Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #18 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beginners Prospective

5+    8/23/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: lexxerd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Eager Beaver is a great course to play a quick round of 18. There are short tees and long tees to appeal to different skill levels. The course is very broken in and I've never lost a disc or ever had to search long to find mine. There's no brier bushes or tall weeds and the woods are very clear. Most baskets are visible and not blind. Baskets are in great condition and numbered. The next tee is typically visible from hole to hole which makes navigation easy. There are no marked mandos on this course. There are a few holes in the back 9 where water could come into play but you'd really have to lob your disc to land in the pond. Hole 17 is alot of fun! The park has several practice baskets by the entrance/parking area. There are available bathrooms in the large building next to the parking lot.
Cons: A lot of signage is missing, but its because of vandalism. Being next to a school I can only imagine kids goof off on the course and kick the signs in. Thankfully most baskets are visible and hole and par info can be found on dgcoursereviews.com
Other Thoughts: This course is very popular and can be busy at times. Do not let this discourage you from playing here, but plan a good time that is not right after school lets out or when typical 9-5ers get off work.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Easiest in Charlotte

2-4    10/13/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Elon park is a disc golf course in South Charlotte is the most fair. It's mostly for players who just got into disc golf and if you have, this course is for you.
-Nice teepads that are long enough for a drive to get you close. They are about 7 feet long because this is the shortest in Charlotte.
-The discatchers are in great shape. They aren't dirty or anything like the ones at Eastway.
-The course is easy to follow and it's easy to find each tee since there are tee signs.
-There is a practice basket close to hole four. Four is in the more wooded part of the course. It is straight past hole #6.
-There is a good use of elevation on this course, the first two are downhill and three is uphill, so is nine but that's all I will say, I want this to be a surprise so it's funner and you won't know want the next hole is like.
-I really liked the layout. For example holes four and eight have two routes and a straight shot won't get you close. You can either take left or right. #15 on the longs is a super fun teeshot. You have to throw a hyzer over the lake but you can also flick it out on the route to the left if you just started. I also agree with my bro BraveThrower43. #17 is a fun, downhill shot.
-I did the children's tournament here and Out of Bounds is taken lightly for example there are no mandos and the roads are not OB. Except the parking lot and the lake on #15 long. I was in the 15-17 division so on the holes divisible by three, the older people like me played the longs on those six holes.
-The course is very well maintained. People don't litter on the fairways or woods on this course. Y'all keep it that way.
-There is a good chance for an ace. I hit #11's basket and some teens made aces.
-The tournaments here are cheap, my total cost was only $22.26. Lunch is free and the other tournaments I have done at Sugaw and Boyd were expensive. Sugaw was about $45 and $53 for Boyd. OB is taken majorly and it's not worth spending your money unless you're skilled. For you player with children 7-17, y'all should bring your children to do the tournaments here in October if they like disc golf. It's worth the money since penalty strokes aren't major. Don't get your children to try a tournament unless you know they are ready because the woman in charge of the tournament at Sugaw was a real piece of work and took OB too strong. If you think they are ready and are around my age (15). I guess it would be fine to do a bigger tournament but this is good for any kid who likes disc golf.
Cons: -I don't like #6 at all. I don't have any problem with the distance at all but the problem is that the parking lot is behind the basket pretty closely. The course is crowded and on the first round, I hit a car. Not purposely but I did make the hole longer than it really is if you know what I mean.
-Another con is that there are no benches on any holes. There is a log on #10 but that's it. This course has been around for four years now and it still doesn't have benches. I don't think there are any at Angry Beaver either.
-I only remember one trashcan on the course. It's to the left of hole #7's tee. -#16's fairway has a tall light in the way and it possibly will mess with your head. It was hit today and if you hit right to it, you could catch a roller and there is a chance you landing in the lake. I liked this hole but it may be a con to beginners but it's only minor.
-The main con is that after the tournament a few people in the 15-17 division invited me to play Angry Beaver with them. I didn't get to. That's a big con.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because it is fair but fun. It does need benches and #6 isn't a good design and #18 isn't anything memorable as a finishing hole but it's still a good course. I loved that there was some elevation, the unique designs, the scenery and my favorite hole was #15 long. This course is more isolated than most courses in Charlotte. Go to the largest parking lot and be sure you are on Ardrey Kell road. To get to this course, you past the Angry Beaver. Keep in mind, that the Angry Beaver baskets are white and the baskets here at Eager Beaver are yellow.
I did say that there is a chance in getting in ace but don't come here and expect the ace. Come to have fun and just go for a good score. An ace doesn't come easily and it doesn't if you really expect it. This is worth the play if you live anywhere in North Carolina or if you are on vacation in North Carolina. In the reviews saying "Come here if you want an ace". They mean it's more likely to happen than an average disc golf course. My friend Joe got 16 birdies in a row but didn't ace but got closest to the pin on many holes. He has made four aces because he comes to have fun. I am not guaranteeing you will get an ace if you have lots of fun but it's not gonna happen if you expect it or high likely not. This course is short but doesn't promise an ace but it's a great course.
Enough said about aces, the Angry Beaver sounds a bit more fun than this course since there is much more variety there. If you plan to play that course after this one, bring a disc that floats because there is water. I didn't do a hole by hole review because I think I took away the surprise due to plenty of thumbs down. Send me a private message if you want to know about every hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eager Beaver

5+    9/28/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun to play from beginner to intermediate throwers. Dual tee pads offer an additional challenge. Short tee pads make the course ideal for beginners and kids. The long tee pads do demand accurate throws through narrow, wooded fairways. For RHBH throwers, there are plenty of holes to work on your left to right fades...or practice that forehand! There is forgiveness on the wooded holes to still shoot well if you decide to chop at some trees with your disc.
Cons: I don't have too many cons for the course. It's laid out well. It has dual tee pads. The baskets are all in good shape. The course is well maintained.
The course does get crowded. If you're playing with a group, that's OK. If you're solo and just looking at getting a quick 18 in, be mindful that this is a popular course.
Other Thoughts: Several reviewers have stated it, but Eager is a great course to warm up on before Angry hands it to you, or to gain some confidence back after Angry has handed it to you! Lots of fun to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where you begin

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Much like Bailey on the north side of town this course is the place to take someone who is just starting. I saw a group of 7 or 8 kids and there parents using lids having a blast on this course from the shorts. It may be the easiest course when you play all short pads.

The longs are not all beginner friendly and can be a fun challenge to the more experienced players before or after they play angry.

Teepads are good enough for what shots are there because you dont need a massive run-up for most of these holes.

Hole 17 is a lot of fun to throw!
Cons: Some teepads get close to baskets which I'd imagine was tough to avoid in such a small area.

Although its pretty straight forward there is very little if no directional signage.

Very few trashcans. and no benches

It can be confusing to newcomers which course is which because the first few holes of angry arnt very long so theyre thinking" man I can do this" then holes 4 and 5 hit them hard.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a fun play and an accuracy challenge from the longs. Also if you are traveling through it is a nice warmup or cooldown before/after Angry has its way with you. Its worth the play since angry is right there nearbye.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Personal Favorite

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: bamadawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Clear fairways and good layout. Discatchers all in good shape. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Short tees are fair for beginners; long tees can challenge seasoned players. Practice basket in parking lot is a plus.
Cons: Can get crowded unless you play early or off peak times. Some of the rough can be unforgiving. Signage on last few holes missing, but does not affect play.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will play more often, as it is great for finesse practice. Good, quick rounds are possible. My personal favorite so far!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where I lost my Disc Golf virginity! LOL

5+    7/10/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: JGraham83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course can be short, but with all the trees it makes for a great spot to work on your finess and accuracy.
Cons: Can get overcrowded sometime especially during the school year as many students take to the course after school. It's frustrating to get stuck behind a group of 10 kids who are just messing around and won't let you pass.
Other Thoughts: Elon is always going to hold a special spot for me as I know probably every nook and cranny on the Eager Beaver course. I have been playing here for about 2 years and only since last August have I become more serious about the sport. I've gotten 3 aces here and every time I play, the Beaver offers me new challenges. It has yet to get boring, and I'd recommend this to anyone.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Fun

1    6/30/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: Buschbacher
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, short course, great for playing with the family…
- Two tee boxes on each hole
- Contained within very nice park
- Great warm-up for much longer and more challenging course that is right next-door (within the same park)
- Often played so minimal undergrowth
- Decent hole maps
Cons: - All par 3s
- Very short and easy for experienced players, virtually no holes where you should not be putting on your second shot
- No benches at the tee boxes
- Hardly any trash cans throughout the course

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners Rejoice

5+    8/22/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: jamsandwich
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy, and Quick.
Nice Park Location with good quality Discatchers.
Well worn, means less lost discs and poison ivy.
Cons: Easy.
Quick.
Crowded.
Holes are on top of one another.
Other Thoughts: This course is great because it keeps amateurs off of the second course. It has two sets of tees, which makes third month 'pros' stay around longer before trying the other course.

This is a great course to introduce friends to the game without crushing their hopes of ever being decent.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    6/7/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course has two tee pads for every hole.
-Course has a practice basket.
-Course has a nice mix of wooded and open holes.
-Course sets itself up nicely for a variety of shots.
Cons: -It can get crowded sometimes on the weekends.
-This couse may not be hard enough for advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This course is the perfect place to take a beginner. It is also a nice course to warm-up on for players that are taking on the tougher Angry Beaver course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eager Beaver

1    4/1/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Located in the same park as the longer, more difficult Angry Beaver, the Eager Beaver seems tailored for beginners or for players looking to get in a quicker round. Little elevation comes to play throughout, but that is made up for with the wealth of lines presented by the course's trees. Nothing gets too tight or pin-bally, but lines must be hit to score well. Long tees as well as short tees on most holes do a decent job of changing up the looks. Water comes into play on a couple of holes in the form of a small pond. #15 encourages a hyzer shot out over the lake and around the trees and brush straight ahead in the "fairway."
- Fun signage drawn by the local school children. Apparently the short tee signs were made by elementary or middle school students while the long tee signs were done by the high-schoolers. Concrete tees for both long and short.
Cons: - A couple of holes play over a road or paved walking path, creating a bit of a safety hazard, although it appeared as though little traffic occurred at these spots.
- The signage, although pretty to look at, is suspect at best. Often, only the hole number is given. For the long tees, the signs' distances seemed incorrect. This isn't a major factor, as almost every hole is fairly self-explanatory.
Other Thoughts: - While a great course for those looking to have a one or two disc round, or for beginners, Eager Beaver tends to be too short and repetitive for more experienced players. Fortunately, those players can cross the park and try their hand at the much more difficult Angry Beaver.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center