Charlotte, NC 
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Short Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Elon's little brother

1    4/6/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A complete 18 hole course in the same park as Elon long. Gives players the option of playing long, short or both courses. Every hole has at least 1 concrete pad, and most have a long and short pad. A few of the pads offer a totally different angle on the shot, which is a nice option. Navigation was simple. Nothing that took more than a glance to figure out. Just a solid, mostly short course nestled into typical NC woods. Some tight lines to hit, but nothing that will have you shaking your head. Also a decent mix of lines to hit. I never felt like the course was getting repetitive or boring. Built mostly on flat land, it does manage to sneak a little elevation change in a few spots.
Cons: Even though it is a short course it would be nice if the pads were a little larger. It is pretty easy to fall off the front or simply not have room if you prefer a little bit of a run-up or you are just a big guy.

No real signature holes that have you feeling like you should empty your bag. Nothing that sticks out as a memorable hole or shot.

A couple holes that play over a parking lot and a road. The parking lot is a little used maintenance lot so that is not a big deal. The road could cause you to hold up on occasion.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a nice option to have in a city known for its tough courses. Every once in a while it's good to go throw some putters and mids, and just try to hit some lines. Elon Short is also a good compliment to the long course. For people that want some variety or just don't feel up to the challenge of Elon Long, Elon Short is a nice little option.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favs

5+    1/24/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: Buzzs1966
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the first course my wife learned how to play on. She loves it and so do I. Great beginners course very forgiving and not real difficult!
Cons: lots of leaves actually lost a dics in them. Need to keep a good eye on your disc.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great coures

2-4    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and pros alike. Probably one of my favorite course in Charlotte. Great short and intermediate long baskets. great looking course nice fairways.
Cons: would be nice to have good signs for the long tee's. hard as heck to find your disc because of a ton of leaf's
Other Thoughts: over all a nice course fun for beginners and pros you will have a good time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elon Short

5+    11/6/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: catfishhunter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really good beginners course. Fun to play. Pretty well laid out and easy to navigate. Short and long concrete tee pads. An intermediate player can probably play the whole course with a putter and midrange disc from either the long or short tees. The short tees are very easy. Step back to the long tees for a little more of a challenge. Most of the holes are open and don't require much thought but there a few holes in the woods that require your disc to hold a definite line. A good place to work on your control.

There is also a football field on the property that is usually not being used and serves as another good place to practice.
Cons: This isn't really a bad thing but it's a pretty easy course. Even if you hit a tree or go off the fairway it's still easy to save par. Advanced players might find this course a little boring.
It can get very crowded at times. Usually on weekends it gets backed up with very new players and a round that should take 45 minutes can drag out to an hour and a half. When it's not crowded it's easy to get in a couple of quick rounds.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and still like going back there. I look at it as a practice course. Somewhere for me to practice approach shots or long long putts with some trees in the way. It's also a great place to warm up before a round on Elon Long which I think is an awesome course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun beginner course!

5+    7/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: jnuzz17
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Short fun course to start off at. Many birdie holes out there and possibly an ace.
Cons: Can get very wet if recently rained. Some holes are just too easy even for beginners.
Other Thoughts: 1st course i ever played which is where i recommend for newbies because it is not very challenging

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wassup Shorty?!

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great concrete tees and cool, artsy tee signs done by 5th graders on the short tees and by more talented artists on the longs that have a very surreal, avant garde kind of feel. It's like discing in Greenwich Village except without all the lame hipsters. Most baskets are visible from the tee which is nice because the "hip" tee signs don't tell you anything about the hole except the distance and what hole number it is, and sometimes that's kind of cryptically concealed within the art itself, so it's like playing the Da Vinci Code while you disc. The course is moderately wooded, you're in the shade most of the time but the fairways are pretty forgiving, not super tight or anything. It's pretty easy to get around the course also save for some hiccups, and there's a map available in that main building at the end of the road.

Playability: Pretty good, more fun than challenging. Lots of birdies and ace runs for the more seasoned disc golfer, could lead to some tight cards in competitive matches. The variety is pretty good in terms of mixing it up Left-to-Right, the distances are a little repetitive but not a whole lot. Overall, just a really fun, enjoyable course.
Cons: I have some safety issues that hurt the rating a smidge. Hole #1's pro tee has some early tree danger that could easily kick a drive into someone's windshield because the parking lot is immediately to the right of the fairway.

Hole #7 I believe, which is tricky to see at first (after you hole out at #6, go towards the main park building) actually has the long tee right behind a pretty busy park road and there was also a field of kids trying out for football on the immediate right past the building that are also within disc's length.

Hole 15's pro tee forces you to hyzer over the pond, a la Buckhorn. This is fine because it is pretty short (~165'), but the window of foliage for your disc to enter safely without being branched into the drink is pretty small right now during the summer so even some good throws could get punished, and you can't see this from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid, solid course. It's not flashy and it's not going to blow you away with difficulty or unique holes but it's like a role player on the team that does all the intangibles right that don't necessarily show up on the stat sheet. A great course for people just getting into DG b/c it'll crank up the addiction fun factor all the way to eleven.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Elon Beginner Course

2-4    6/11/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course is a great begginer course.
-some short holes
-some very short holes
-two sets of tees
-very nicely maintained
-also the site of the not so famous angry beaver course too.
Cons: -slightly compact
-sometimes not enough parking usually on saturdays
-some holes are a little to short to call them holes (my opinion)
Other Thoughts: great place for the family to come and also short enough for a round during lunch on a work day (maybe).

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny Gem on the Southside

5+    12/2/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course to get the kinks out of your short game, Elon's short course is a beautiful course located in a very nice area of Charlotte. This course is part of a recreational complex, which features athletic fields, recreational center and Elon's long course(Elong) on the same site.

Elon's short course is equipped with two sets of concrete tee pads(one short[red] and one long[white] on each hole). Currently, each short tee has tee signs bearing creative artwork from local schoolchildren showing hole numbers, pars and distances. Long tee signs have recently been installed. A single DISCatcher in place for each hole, in stationary pin placements, all in excellent condition. A practice basket is located at parking lot, next to hole #1.

Elon plays as a beginner-friendly course. Distances are short, averaging 185' from red tees, 245' from the white tees. Most holes would classify as excellent ace runs, and the ace board is located by Tee #1 shows it. Bring your approach game, and save your drivers for Elon's new long course.

Basket to tee distances are very reasonable, you should have no trouble navigating the short course. A very small creek comes into play on #17, a tiny creek located behind the basket. A lake is also in play from the white tee pad on hole #15. A straight line to the basket plays over the water, and a clear line plays around the lake for a safer shot.
Cons: Only a few minor complaints about the course, in order of importance;
-Lack of trash cans, only a few in range of any holes on the course,
-Course is not challanging to anyone other than a beginner
-Dranage is a problem on the back 9, sure to be sloppy if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: I've rated Elon-Short Course 3.5 discs. Deductions for no trash cans, benches and overall length/difficulty of course. Rated a little higher because of the pro level course on the same site makes up for the Short Course's difficulty.

Entrance for the park is on Audrey Kell. Take park access road passed athletic fields, parking lot in the back of park before recreational center.

The addition of Elon-Long Course really hasn't affected the course traffic on the Short Course. Short holes, and short distances between holes should allow you to get two rounds in in an hour if playing alone. The long tee pads add about 1,100' to the course for an added challange and a different look for a few of the holes. Enjoy one of Charlotte's newest courses, but don't forget about the many others existing and others coming soon.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best beginner course in Charlotte that can challenge the advanced player!

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees offer two very different courses. A lot of times the long tees play very similar to the short tees of courses with only an added 50' per hole, but not on this course. I suffered a 10 stroke differential playing the shorts to the longs. This course actually plays very different for some reason. I think the angle they give you for the longs is simply that much tougher that it plays so differently. Some have referred to them as short but you shouldnt need a full runup for these shots!


2) This course can be a lot of fun for a lot of people. Advanced or better players can gun for ace or duece on every hole while the beginner can try really hard to par every hole.

3) There is a tremendous variety of shot shaping and disc usage on this course. Some of the doglegs cut before the natural turn of the discs. You need to be creative to try and get close on every hole. Be prepared to think out some shots here and throw drivers for sots under 225'.

4) Nice yellow discatchers help on this tight wooded course. It wasnt as helpful when I played in January but it would be better in the summer season when the trees are fully leafed out.

5) Very creative tee signs. This is a wonderful idea for course development because it involves the local community and school. The include the hole #, distance, and par. Unfortunately the design is more decorative than functional for figuring out the hole, but as my wife (MRS.harr0140) said, it isn't a huge issue because the holes are pretty short and very easily figured out from the tee!

6) Shot shaping is incredible for such a short course. You need to have all sorts of turning shots including shots that arent normally easy to execute because of how quickly they turn.

7) Practice basket available at the parking lot. This is a good thing for this course (shared with the Long course) because putting will be a premium on the short course.

8) Picnic table at the first tee is always nice to have because you have a place to sit before and after your round.

9) Excellent design for a short course in a small piece of the property.

10) 2010 ace board is a good idea as it will keep some people from signing the baskets. I have seen this now in a few places an it helps to legitimize aces and keeping proud people from signing the baskets.

11) Very little underbrush especially for such a wooded course. This is always a positive.

12) Good course layout and flow. This course moves quickly an you can probably play in less than 30 minutes alone. I played the short tees playing through 2 groups in less than 30 minutes!!

13) Good family course set on a small property. Even if you have to disrupt your round you can be in and out in a short amount of time.
Cons: 1) Holes 12-17 are wet in spots due to what seems to be a natural drainageway on this course. It also happens to be the only turfed areas on this course.

2) Course tee signs although creative lack the diagram from being very helpful.

3) Course lacks some variety in hole distance and discs required. Althouhg you might need to throw drivers for distances that might normally be midranges, the holes do not have enough variety in distance.

4) This course throws over one road (mainly access to the maintenance department) and also access to another office building. Not a big deal because it isn't highly trafficked, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

5) My wife referred to me as legendary in her first review. I am all for lving me, but referring to me as a legend almost seems like I put her up to it . . . and I didn't!

6) Course is very short and only requires 1 or 2 true max effort drives!

7) As one of the shorter courses in the area it will be crowded with beginners at many times.

Other Thoughts: I had a great time, and so did my wife. She is a beginner who is starting to understand good disc golf courses and at the same time learning how to execute different shots rather than just heaving it as far as possible. This course is close to a 4 disc course but the only thing keeping it from ebing a four is that it doesnt challenge the advanced or pro player enough. Normally I complain about courses not being conducive to beginner play, but this is one of the few that simply does not challenge the advanced player enough. I had fun for sure as a rec/int. player and my wife as a beginner surely enjoyed, but to be a pro it simply is not enough course to challenge or keep their interest. Regardless I enjoyed it and many others will.

Give it a shot and have fun out there!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  My favorite to date!

1    1/19/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: MRS.harr0140
Played: 118  Reviewed: 1
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked that it was wooded--challenging, but not impossible. Very little understory brush--that was nice. The tee boxes were well maintained--concrete with a very rough texture for good grip. GREAT way to get some communitiy involvement with the tee signs. All baskets were well marked and highly visible with the yellow top band. Course layout was good--no long walks between holes and the course started and stopped at the parking area.
Cons: Although the tee signs were cool, a diagram of the hole is always helpful. The holes were short enought that it didn't really matter in the end, but it would still be nice to have. The back nine seemed to be very wet--although I realize it was in the flood plain, some of the footing was a bit slick. There were a few places were foot bridges would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: I like to play an occasional round of dg, but by no means do I play as much as my legendary husband...harr0140...just the same, I have played several courses and am beginning to know what makes a good course good, etc. (This is my first review)

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.