Disc Golf Store
Charlotte, NC
Elon Park - Eager Beaver Share
Uploaded By: grodney Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pretty Good for Beginners/Kids

5+    11/25/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 113  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course for the intended skill levels (beginners/kids). Shorter holes. Fair fairways. Stroller friendly. Stays near parking lot for the first few holes, for those abbreviated rounds with the kids. Lots of fun ace runs for the more advanced player, without being total pitch-and-putt. The long tees provide enough challenge to keep mid-level players interested.
Cons: No place for big-arms, and not even many "driver" holes for mid-level players. Fire ants.
Other Thoughts:
Design/Terrain (2.5/5)
================
Shot Shape (3/5) - Reasonably good mix of left-turn, right-turn, straight, and even a couple "thrower's choice" holes with multiple fairways in the woods. Most shapes are fairly tame, with no huge curves required.
Tight v Open Variety (4/5) - Good mix. 11 open-ish and 7 woods holes. The fairly open ones border woods, and have a few mature trees to negotiate. The woods holes have a good mix of fairway widths.
Shot Length Variety (3/5) - Overall a really short course from the shorts, and pretty short from the longs, but still a good mix of shot length for the
intended skill levels. Short tees have 5 shots under 160 feet, but only 3 over 230 feet. Long tees have 3 shots under 180 feet, and 4 shots over 280 feet.
Elevation (3/5) - Holes 9,10,17,18 have a significant, but not huge, elevation change. Holes 2,3,14,15(short),16 have enough elevation that you notice it.
Layout/Flow (3/5) - Course loops back after 3 holes and 6 holes, and can be played as 9-holer by playing 1-7,17,18. Starts and ends near the parking lot. A couple road crossing aren't ideal but aren't bad. A couple spots you could make a wrong turn if you don't pay attention and don't have a map.
Water Shots (1/5) - Really only 1 water shot from the short tees, and that's behind the pin, not throwing over water. From the long tees, 1 shot over water and 1 hole where you can kick into water.
Multi-Shot Holes (0/5) - For the intended skill level (novices/kids), some holes are obviously multi-shot. But for the vast majority of "regular" players, every hole is reachable on the drive.


Basics (3.5/5)
===========
Number of Holes (5/5) - 18 holes.
Tee Signs (3/5) - Each sign has hole number, distance, and par. As of Dec 2009, tee signs only on the short tees. Unique tee signs - contain art created by local school kids. Neat.
Tee Pads (4/5) - Concrete, brushed surface. Maybe just a tad shorter than perfect, but doesn't impact you much.
Targets (4/5) - DISCatchers. A couple are slightly bent.
Map & Scorecard (4/5) - Map and Scorecard available on dgcoursereview and on course website.
Multiple Configs (2/5) - Two complete sets of tees. The two sets are different enough to be suitable for different skill levels.


General (3.5/5)
===========
Maintenance (3/5) - Pretty good maintenance. Mowing is kept up. A few muddy spots in rainy times. A little trash. A few stumps.
Lost Disc Potential (4/5) - Not likely to lose a disc. Only one or two water shots, and not too much underbrush.
Shared Use (4/5) - Almost exclusively used for disc golf. Only an occasional walker or dog-walker in the woods.
Beauty (3/5) - Great middle-age forest. The open areas are less appealing. The whole woodsy setting is pretty neat, but not too many real stunning views.


Amenities (1/3)
============
Benches (0/3) - None on the course. A picnic table at the start of the course.
Trash Cans (1/3) - Three trash cans available, with one serving two spots (holes 9 and 16).
Restrooms (1/3) - Available in the Rec Center when it is open.
Practice Facilities (1/3) - Practice basket on the edge of the parking lot.
Message Board (1/3) - Nice message board, but not used much.



Overall (57/100) == C == (3/5)


12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Shouldn't be considered a real course...

1    10/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Emerett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Very easy, and good for beginners.
Cons: No hole is driveable, no signs to next pin, every hole is a straight line.
Other Thoughts: If you can throw a disc over 200 feet, don't bother coming here, you won't have a good time.

If you need a lot of practice throwing a approach disc, this course is for you...

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Great for Beginners

5+    9/27/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: jathey88
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the course I play the most. It is a great course for beginners. Great for working on mid-range and putts.
Cons: It is not a good course to practice drives b/c most of the holes are short.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are par 4s but my friends and I always play the whole course as par 3s.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 lovin some elon

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a real nice piece of land that will be a haven for all arm strengths.Stan McDaniel is my favorite course designer.( play Renny and tell me how a man's brain could come up with such abstract, playable art.)I have heard that in the future this course will become 2 courses, the other being a longer separate course.I shoot am tees all par 3, because 185 feet is not par 4 for me. Pro tees I keep to par 3, but can get bogeys quick with misplaced power.I live 8 miles from Elon and play it every other week, love the place, real fun ace runs at lunch time.
Cons: The only con is short tee pads, but i didnt build them so I will shut up and throw.I have seen this course grow-up over the last year and the cons are depleting as I type.
Other Thoughts: Charlotte Power day:
Renaissance in the morning, Kilborne after lunch and red bull, Elon shorts to close out the daylight....awwwww I love this city, now I can't leave. Cant wait for the new courses, we need more than any other city because we use them, all, daily.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Course With Potential!

1    7/17/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This seems to be in a very nice part of town. The course is designed as a beginner to intermediate level course. I wouldn't quite call it a pitch and putt. There is a great starting area for a course with benches, picnic tables and the fact that the course starts and finishes here. It plays mostly through the trees and the little fishing lake does come into a play on a couple of holes. There are concrete pads though they might be a bit short for some player's run-ups. It has nice new disccatchers. The tee signs are cute. They're hand drawn by elementary school kids and show the pars, distances and hole #. TI didn't have any trouble navigating the course although I was using the on-line map at times. There are forms lying around for new, longer pads getting ready to be poured. It looks as though they will be adding 20 to 50 ft. to each hole. I think this would be a pretty nice course to learn to play on. The course provides plenty of ACE Ops as well as some easy eagle opportunities if you're playing the pars as listed on the signs.
Cons: Long arms won't appreciate this course. They won't be holding any national championship tournies here but it fills a void. There are no pads yet for the longs. I think the course has the chance to be pretty wet after rains. There is some potential for lost discs on the holes near the lake, especially with newbies playing and learning the game. The pars on the signs are really easy (leading to all those eagles). I'm sure most serious players would just everything a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Another new course for a city that already has twenty courses. Charlotte is a premier disc golf destination with courses ranging from pitch and putts to championship type courses. Players in Charlotte town are very lucky to have the number and variety of courses. Appreciate them and have fun.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Local Course

5+    7/13/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: britishdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A decent mixture of difficulty level
-In a nice part of town (not in the ghetto)
-Clean with very little trash
-A fun course to at least play a couple times
Cons: -Poor drainage, so after it rains it takes a day to dry out
-Some of the long tees aren't really longer, they're just pushed 10 ft back and put behind a tree. Kind of pointless
Other Thoughts: -The long tees aren't finished yet and the mulch hasn't all been spread around so it can be a little inconvenient, but once that's finished the course will be much nicer.
-Worth going out to at least give it a try

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course, Little Trouble with Ettiquette

5+    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: rosenthaljb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great S. Charlotte course. Good ladies tee's and men's tee's. Challenging with both distance and obsticles.
Cons: Too many newby's who SLOW PLAY w/o knowing to let people play through!!!!!!!

Also, some long tee's are ridiculously tree covered but that is just me whining about my score today mostly :-)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 South Charlotte DG

5+    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: DiscnDude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course flows smoothly, A good number of the holes are Ace-able.
Cons: -Sometimes can be very busy, and parking is lacking during these times.

-Some of the catchers dont have the inner chains for some reason. (Not a big deal just saying)
Other Thoughts: The course has mulch piles on alot of the holes that havent been spread yet, i think next time i go ill bring a hard rake and spread a pile or two.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The potential is there...

1    6/3/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 71  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent course for short-game practice. Trees and other obstacles are laid out nicely to provide challenges without making the course impossible to play.

- I actually thought most of the long tees provided a nice contrast compared to the short tees. The long tees on some holes add obstacles (trees), while on others they actually open the fairway up better by providing a more natural flight for the disc. Some holes have ace opportunities from the short tees while the long tees are laid out so that par isn't even a given. It's definitely worth it to play the tees from both locations.

- The course has a good mix of open and wooded shots.

- It can't be said enough how dire the need for disc golf was in this part of Charlotte. This course is easily accessible for folks in the south Charlotte/Ballantyne area and even the Fort Mill area.
Cons: - The concrete tee pads are woefully short for taller players such as myself. This was particularly problematic on the #3 short tee, which is raised by a good 2-3 inches off the ground. That makes for an impossible run-up onto the tee pad. On many holes you don't need much of a run-up with the shorter distances, but it's nice to have the option just in case.

- The long tees don't (yet) have tee pads, although that isn't so much a bad thing when taking the short tee pads into account. I do think the long tees could use better signage/markers though.

- The day I played, there was considerable construction going on around the holes beside the pond. That can't really be helped - and should be a good thing in the long run - but it made a couple of holes unplayable. I believe #9 from the long tees was blocked by a huge truck, so we had to adjust by throwing a little behind the short tees.

- To echo other comments, the course did look muddy in some areas and it hasn't even rained lately. One hole has wooden boards laid out as a walkway over a muddy area between the short tees and long tees, so I take it that area stays muddy all the time.
Other Thoughts: - I feel like Elon is a course with potential, but some of it is still untapped. It's still young, though, so I'm guessing it will continue to be improved with time.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Short Course

2-4    5/25/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun short course can be played very fast if you're in a hurry
Good Elevation Changes
Fair mix of open wooded
Course in good condition for how new it is
Fair risk reward
Cons: Tee pads were not all finished when we played
Signs were not up yet when we played
Other Thoughts: First time wife and i had played course. Played once from each set of tees. It is what it is meant to be...a fun, short, beginner course. Would recomend playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.