Disc Golf Store
South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 254ft.   4 / 338ft.   4 / 404ft.   4 / 507ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Gold Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tough, long course!

1    10/12/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a great mix of open and tight wooded holes. The front nine is very challenging with a lot of elevation change and the back nine wraps it up with some more open holes that still feature the rolling hills that Emery Park has to offer. Great starting hill throwing down the ski hill, really showcases what is to come for the rest of the round. Pins are located very strategically around the course and offer great risk v award shots. 4 tee pads at each hole offer a good variety for whatever your skill level might be.
Cons: The only cons I see are the natural tee pads, the courses close proximity to the main road, and holes 3 and 4. The natural tee pads are marked by bricks sunken into the ground and can be at times tough toe see, especially when the leaves start falling. The courses close proximity to the main road (holes 10, 17, and 18) makes an issue for safety. And holes 3 and 4 had such potential to be great holes with their pin locations but the two holes are ruined by the fact that there is absolutely no defined fairway. I love tight fairways but these two holes are kind of a crap shoot when you go to throw.
Other Thoughts: The course is probably the best in Western NY but has so much more potential to be a true top notch course. All it needs is a cleanup on 3 and 4 and concrete tee pads and this course could easily support an A-tier. The course is at Emery Park and when your done playing a round you can go enjoy the other things the park has to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tough 18

1    4/28/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Four tees. The shorts/reds are actually respectable. The whites are what the locals typically play...starting to get some honest distance and challenge. The blues are a brutal 9000+ foot workout. The golds are double diamond, kick you in the face, who's your daddy now, 10,000+ feet of "did I really submit to this?" disc golf debauchery.

Strong elevation here...built on an old ski slope. Expect a heavy dose of up and down.

Typically there were defined fairways. At times, multiple lines and distances for landing zones were evident. Lots of risk/reward here.

The natural beauty toward the back was quite nice. Scenic creek, gorge and waterfalls including a deep one that has an old haggard set of stone steps leading down to the base.

The signage is top shelf.
Cons: There were times I felt the course grew monotonous. Perhaps this is simply due to the awesome length boasted here. You will throw your plastic many, many, many, times before you reach hole 18.

I wish more of the natural obstacles (besides trees) played into the course. I would have loved shooting back and forth over some valley's and water more...rather than always laying up next to them.

The four tee layout was nice but typically the tees were only separated by distance. There were few different lines and rarely did the longer tee present new challenges beyond length.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a very good course. Worthy of a road trip.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Difficulty is Foremost

2-4    11/20/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Several tee markers, sometimes they're tough to find especially beneath leaves.
- Difficulty is a plus. This course IS difficult, so it's not a con.
- It's a small workout. Other reviews complain about the walk, but I rate the difficulty of the walk as "moderate" and no more. I'm in reasonable shape, though.
- The baskets are in good shape and the course signage is nice and illustrates things reasonably well. Tee signs on just one tee, though.
- 18 basket has a cool "amongst a cluster of trees" thing going for it. Nice way to finish.
- Ample parking. And free skiing in the winter? :)
- Some awesome holes, including the first. The 17th is one of my favorites, too, and the back has several sweet holes. #2 is cool as well.
- Despite getting lots of rain lately the course was reasonably dry in most places. The bottom of the ski slope by #1 basket was the wettest for obvious reasons, and it was still just wet, not puddling.
- #9 basket can serve as a practice/warmup basket. The first time here we thought that's what it was.
Cons: - One elevated basket is fine. Two might even be okay if they're spaced out. When four or five holes in a row have the same "feature" it gets old, fast.
- Several holes in the stretch of holes 3-8 don't really seem to have obvious fairways (one, I believe it's #5 or #6, has a fairway but it's just a path about ten feet wide for 500' to 700') with little to no room for an S-curve or a longer throw.
- Some benches here and there might be nice, as would some elevated tee signs so you're able to find the tees you're playing more easily.
- A few baskets and holes seem a bit too close to some playgrounds, but it hasn't been a problem when I've played (it was cold so nobody was out).
Other Thoughts: This course presents a tale of two nines (or, really, a tale of holes 3-8 and then 1, 2, and 10-18. Holes 3-8 are "gimmicky" with elevated baskets on far too many holes in a row.

That said, almost the entire back nine and all but six holes on the front are quite nice, with a wide variety of challenging shots, from the wide open to the technical, uphill, downhill, backhand, forehand, hyzer, anhyzer, etc. Your skills will be tested, and you'll have fun.

I'm steeling myself for the local players to give the review thumbs down, but I can only be honest, and I still gave the place a 3.5. It could be a 4.5 with some work. Holes 1, 2, and 9-18 (with the exception of one hole) are worth a 4.3 to 4.5. Holes 3-8 bring down the average.

I ran into some locals (six of them) the last time I played when we caught up to them on the 14th hole or so, and they told us "yeah, we jumped out on ten. We play the back nine twice and don't play the front very often."

Seems like a smart plan. :)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/19/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very technical course with a mix of play. You need a variety of skills to play the course in par, if your lucky. Terrain plays a major factor here with down hill, up hill, and heavily wooded shots making up the majority of play. Some water but mostly near baskets so be careful on the approaches not over throw. A very picturesque park to play and good accessibility.
Cons: Ok, sorry I have to be honest here so if I hurt anybody's feelings TO BAD. #1 course is quite long and akin to a hiking trip so a few benches here and there would be nice. #2 tree trimming or outright removal is needed throughout the course, this is not chestnut ridge, and yes I appreciate the use of nature on the course but let's be real, mother nature needs to be keep in check once in awhile too make play possible not impossible (hole 5 ). #3 some tee and basket locations make no sense at all, either next to shelters or playgrounds or in case of baskets (hole3) on hill after you just threw the forrest to get there.This park is big, so make use of it, when the park is busy a lot of people are there and holes 11,14,16 I've had to skip so many times due to people traffic. Simplely moving the tees a little would alleviate most of my compliant's. #4 hole 13 is the only real ace able one ( if the limbs were trimmed) so a few new holes in the future would be nice being joe Davies is the only course in the area with more than 18 holes, again this park is big so add a few shorter holes to keep the play pace varied and FUN.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I play several times a week, but I find myself becoming frustrated with it. This course has every thing it needs to be the premier course in all of WNY at all levels of player skill, but only if a little more work and thought are put into it.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First time

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Joshh4490
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a newer player, this course gave me a good lesson on throwing my disc FAR. Which the Ridge only does once or twice. Trees not really a huge factor. Interesting scenery. The signs are nice but..... ALSO No crowd...
Cons: Very muddy on the front few holes. Lots of standing water, lots of bugs. Didn't bring a map and the signs (GRR on the 18) don't explain where the next tee is always so well. Was like a treasure hunt finding some tees and signs..
Other Thoughts: Get ready to to alot of walking.. if it's rained recent ,, play hole 1, then the back nine.. skip the mud hike through 2-8. BRING drinks. Girls ,, the only working bathroom i saw was near hole 14 or 15..Still a good time. Oh and P.S... follow the road to find the 18th hole,, just past the white building... forget the arrow !!!!!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not all its Cracked up to Be

1    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine is some of the best disc golf i have seen. With long winding shots and a ver in and out of the woods majestic back drop you will fall in love with this course in an istant i live in rochester and it was well worth the drive up
Cons: The back nine gets very long this is were the senary changes and you start playing through picknic areas. I played on a mild day so it was not very bussy but if it were you are playing right near a playground so im sure there will be lots of little kids to shoot around. Also plan on about two and a half hours this one is a long one
Other Thoughts: The first nine and the back nine are long enough that with the right engeneiring they coud become two 18 hole courses

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.