South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 254ft.   4 / 338ft.   4 / 404ft.   4 / 507ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Should be a Double Black Diamond

1    8/24/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Black Diamond is very tough, from any layout you choose. With four sets of tees, you can trim some length off of the course, but you are still looking at a par 70 or 71. Not a course that is beginner friendly. There are tee signs showing all tee positions, pin position, distances, Tee boxes are differentiated by color coded markers in the ground. Elevation changes are fantastic, water and woods are formidable, and all shots will be needed.The baskets were all in ok condition. I played the white tees, and shot a 5 over par (75). Red tees are shortest, then whites, blues, and gold the longest of all. I thought the entire front 9 was great, and 10, 14, and 18 as well. The others were not entirely without charm, either. Hole 1 is crazy, a swerving 40' wide ski run downhill with heavy woods lining both sides much of the way. White tee is listed at 934' and I pulled an awesome second shot with my roadrunner, to make an unlikely 4. 2 is another tough one, with water behind the basket. Woods are heavy, and elevation climbs through the rest of the front nine. 10 is across the street from the parking lot. The back 9 loops around another part of the park, and is a little more open, but just as challenging. 14 was a cool one downhill into woods near the edge of a stream. 17 has a very large, odd mound protecting the basket. 18 is just a good hole through beautiful old trees. This is surely one of the most challenging I have ever played. An incredible park with things you won't see in most disc golf courses.
Cons: I parked in the wrong place, near the tee for 14, and picked up with a couple of guys from there on the final 5 holes. They gave me some much appreciated tips on the rest of the course. It was a total pro they helped me out, but I did have trouble finding the beginning of the course. A map for the course can also be very useful. Some weird transitions between holes. Rough can be brutal in places, and water might get you too.
Other Thoughts: A very serious challenge. Don't go if you want a quick round, or you get frustrated easily. If you like what you're reading, the go, by all means. It is a course with lots of personality, and a favorite of mine after playing one round. Emery Park is pretty cool, I loved seeing the ski lift, waterfall, and several other points of interest and/or natural beauty.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 emery

5+    5/17/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great all around course, solid length and challenges you to use all the shots in your bag, 4 tee selections keep things interesting
Cons: please change the basket locations!!!!!!
the only ones ever rotated are #1 and # 15....terrible
many courses out west switch them up every 3-6 mos

only one legitimate ace hole

not a beginners course
Other Thoughts: great track

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BIG LONG DG Course

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You are welcomed to this course with a thousand+ foot shot down a ski slope... and that is just the beginning. The course will definitely test your arm and yet, the trees, tight fairways, and variety of shots will help to equalize most players. Its a big, tough, long course God couldn't shoot 54 here.
Cons: This course can feel excessively long at times, it is long hole after long hole after long hole. The length and rigor of the course also makes it difficulty for people to find time to play a full round.
Other Thoughts: The course might take a long time to play but it is well worth the time spent.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Take your lumps!!

1    10/27/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Truly an epic course with monster throws demanding accuracy. Imagine the largest holes on your local course. Now make those the shorter holes on the course, and litter the fairway with trees... That's Emery.

As challenging as it is, it is a beautiful course with a fun factor of 11 (Think Spinal Tap). The signage is great on each hole, and the course is easy to navigate (depending on which tees you're using... See cons).
Cons: My gripes are few, and easily fixed. Aside from these couple complaints, I would've given this course a 5.

Tee pads would be nice. The natural tees haven't eroded badly yet, but as this course catches on, I can see it being a problem. I imagine with a course this polished, they're on the way.

Tee pad markers. As great as the signs are on each hole, there is only one to mark four different pads per hole. The pads themselves are only marked by a hard to find (especially in the autumn) colored brick in the ground. Someone put small yard flags at the tees, but many have been removed, leaving us to hunt, sometimes for ten minutes or so, for the golds. A simple post painted the color of the tee would be a HUGE help ( ...and maybe concrete pads.?.?.?). That being said, navigating the course itself was easy.

Other Thoughts: We drove from Rochester to play this one and Chestnut Ridge. Three and a half hours later, daylight squashed our hopes of playing both. Leave yourself time to play this one. Dress accordingly as underbrush and mud frequent many of the holes. First time playing it, though and we never had to hunt for a disc.

Of the courses I've played, including my local favorites, this is the best. Just be ready for a high score and try not to get frustrated. I'm close to par on most courses, so I laughed at my buddy who challenged me to throw under a hundred (From the golds... Didn't drive all this way to sissy out!). Ninety-five throws later, I had beat his challenge, but wasn't laughing anymore. This course is HARD, but go into it knowing that and you'll have an amazing round.

Worth whatever roadtrip you need to make, so come get your lumps!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout is amazing, the course incorporates many different types of holes. The multiple tees and some alternate baskets make the course both challenging and fun for experienced/ intermediate range players. Can be very tough at times. Course par is very tough as well. Very hilly and also very scenic. Fantastic course!
Cons: can be very frustrating at times also can be a hike. Takes about 3 hours to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes from Chestnut Ridge and is ALOT less crowded. Take advantange of this until this course is discovered and taken over by slow inexperienced players!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Emery Park

5+    9/1/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was by far the longest course i've ever played, every hole could be a signature hole at any course. From the first hole down the ski hill to the gap on hole 11.
Cons: It says there is a hole 11a but i couldnt find it
Other Thoughts: I would deffinantely reccomend this course to anyone. But bring your walking shoes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Man's Course

5+    8/30/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Lots of "signature" holes. Beautiful surroundings (amazing waterfalls), nice design, 4 tee spots. Very clear the proper routes to throw, and water comes in to play just enough (not too much)

UPDATE: Added Big Red Arrows to guide you through the course. This is a huge plus as the course is now easily navigated. Also, the paths are starting to become more established, which also helps to keep you on track. Can't wait to see this place in 5 years, once it's really established.
Cons: Get your walking shoes on because this place is a WORKOUT. 2 miles of holes, which could be a major con if you're not in good shape. Some holes are a bit too long, especially for amatuers & beginners. The ravine plays on a few holes, and it's REALLY far down if you go down there. One hole plays up an old road, which could be damaging to discs.
Other Thoughts: Found a geo-cache on one of the holes, which was an amazing bonus.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

2-4    6/30/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Sche3067
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole placements are extremly well placed. I loved how long each hole ias well. With 4 diffrent tees, it caters to almost everyones skill level. The front 9 is one of the hardest 9 I have ever played (way harder than chestnut ridge). The scenery and a few select path are really nice to view as you make your way through the course. This course also tests your accuracy, as well as your ability to shoot diffrent ways. SInce this course is very long, you will not have to wait for others to throw and said before you barely have to worry about other persons discs.
Cons: -sometimes the path you walk through are not mowed and it seems like your walking through tall grass.
-Some paths can be muddy like from hole 2 to 3
-It is easy to get lost if it is your first time
-Not enough signs tell you where to go to get to the course or even around the course.
Other Thoughts: -Take a Map with you!!!!!!!
-Bring water
-Most people there are willing to help you if your lost (or if you dont have water)


-This course is still very new so I would asume that these cons posted above will eventually get taken care of.
- I myself really dont care about the mud or tall grass but some people might want to know about that so i put it in my review

I loved hole one!!! you cant beat a 1000 ft hole :)

In my opinion this is the best course in WNY

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Double Black Diamond

1    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can become a 5 with some small improvements. Awesome long opening hole down small ski hill. There are open, long driving holes as well as tight woods holes which seem to have fair lanes for the most part. Some really cool, and also tough pin placements which will really test your putting and possibly patience. Very informative signage which is a huge help, distances from each tee and directions to the next tee and information on slopes and ob's. Tees were in great shape and easy to locate with orange flags. A great challenge for players of all skill levels. Really nice course design, lots of imagination was used with many of the holes to use the hilly partly forested land.
Cons: The 6th hole sticks out in my mind, it follows an abandoned park road as the fairway so your discs can get beat up a bit for following the fairway. Otherwise there are no real cons to this course yet, hopefully trash won't become a problem like some of the other local courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is long!!! It will take at least 2 hours to play alone and a few hours to play with a group. I found it to be a great workout and beautiful walk in the woods. A championship caliber disc golf course is a great way to revitalize this underused old county park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  GO Tourney

1    5/16/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: tiggore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an educator. I played the white tees last Saturday and all I can say is WOW:^). This course WILL make you a better player. Having a full arsenal of throwing techniques will make your day easier. When my day was done I found my games weaknesses and I can't wait to play there again.
Cons: Nothing major sticks out. The only con I can see is that there needs to be better directions on the course to lead you from hole to hole. This "con" might solve itself as paths get broken in.
Other Thoughts: This course is still fresh. Due to this there are still some loose ends to tie up. Some holes can use a tee box upgrade( I do know there is a fund being set up for concrete tee-pads. I don't if this affects the lack of tee-pads). The course's length make benches a welcomed feature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.