South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 256ft.   4 / 340ft.   4 / 405ft.   4 / 458ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 High caliber

2-4    9/1/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Description: ranked 3rd or 4th in ny
Uniqueness: great design on cool property. 1st 9 are mostly wooded with major elevation changes. Back 9 are longer holes, mostly flat but fun holes and a nice change from the front. Get a mix of everything here
Hole designs: great use of terrain. Tight holes, more open; to the left, to the right; uphill, downhill (first hole's about a 1000 feet down a ski slope).
Basket locations: very good placements. Baskets are in challenging positions. Hole 2 has you approach downhill with the basket close to water, daring you to see how close you want to place your drive or approach. Hole 3 is uphill with the basket on a 8 foot mound which will test you to go for the birdie or settle for par. Many other baskets are in cool places, but my favorite is 18 where the basket is set in the center of a circle of pine trees with high branches.
Favorite holes: so many holes could be my favorite, it's easier to think of holes I didn't like, which was only hole 6 (see cons). Holes 1, 17, and 18 are my top 3.
Difficulty: can choose your own with 4 tees per hole
Flow: red arrows help. Long walks between some holes so you could still get lost if you don't have a map or course guide.
Tee signs: awesome. Great graphics and accurate representation of hole
$: free
Conditions/maintenance: good. 
Crowds: lots of groups were here, but pace was still good. 
Cons: Hole 6: poor considering all the other holes
Navigation: because flow is pretty difficult at points, this can be a con 1st time playing
Tees: only grass, some are hard to find
Other Thoughts: Easily best course in buffalo. In my favorites. A must play!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix of Open and Wooded holes

2-4    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 114  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great Mix of Open and Wooded holes. The wooded holes all have something unique about them and have great scenery and most of the open holes have interesting basket placements and different obstacles to keep it interesting. Bottom line the course doesn't get boring.
- Great variety of shots are required for this course. There are anhyzer, hyzer, uphill downhill, a few that you have to keep straight. This course will test every throw.
- Very good signs that show you where all the tees are, (very important on this course because they are hard to find and there are four of them for each hole), how long it is for each tee, where the basket is, and where the next tee is(pay attention to where the next tee). The signs are located at whatever tee you would reach first after finishing the last hole.
- Alternate basket placements. I haven't played the course too much but I have never noticed the baskets actually being switched. I am sure the niagra region disc golf club takes care of that
- Multiple tees allow for Pros and amateurs to both play and have fun. An ordinary hole may have tees from 877 feet to 505 feet or 508 to 315 feet. The longest hole is 1165 feet to 782 feet. This course has a good mix of long holes and average distance holes. No short ones though. I wouldn't bring a beginner here because of its length. It could get frustrating.
- The course is configured so the first nine holes start and end at the parking lot. The back nine start and end just across the street from parking lot. This is nice since this is a long course. If you want to play just nine, its easy to do.
- This park as far as I can tell is used mostly for disc golf and it is not nearly as busy as chestnut ridge. Occasionally you will see people walking their dog or having a picnic, but it rarely interferes with your game. Also there are shelters around the park that have at least sinks to fill your water bottle and probably bathrooms.
- Probably because it is not used as much, the course is in much better shape than chestnut ridge. There is less garbage and bottles lying around
Cons: - Navigation: This course is very hard to navigate even with the provided map(online DGCR). They have added red directional signs to make it better than before, but I would still play this course with someone who has played it before if it is your first time. After you get the hang of it, this will not be an issue anymore.
- Even though there are four tees, they can be very hard to find because they are just colored bricks buried in the ground. Use the signs to help you find the desired tee.
Other Thoughts: I find this course very fun to play despite its length because of the abundant variety of holes. I found that the average player (everyone I have asked) uses the white tees. These are still long(7771 ft.) but not unbearable. Also make sure you play with someone else, especially the first time, so you can spend more time playing and less time looking for the next tee. You will also have players for spotting. Although there are no disk sucking black holes, there are some blind drives. Overall this course is a "blast!"

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 emery

5+    5/17/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great all around course, solid length and challenges you to use all the shots in your bag, 4 tee selections keep things interesting
Cons: please change the basket locations!!!!!!
the only ones ever rotated are #1 and # 15....terrible
many courses out west switch them up every 3-6 mos

only one legitimate ace hole

not a beginners course
Other Thoughts: great track

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BIG LONG DG Course

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You are welcomed to this course with a thousand+ foot shot down a ski slope... and that is just the beginning. The course will definitely test your arm and yet, the trees, tight fairways, and variety of shots will help to equalize most players. Its a big, tough, long course God couldn't shoot 54 here.
Cons: This course can feel excessively long at times, it is long hole after long hole after long hole. The length and rigor of the course also makes it difficulty for people to find time to play a full round.
Other Thoughts: The course might take a long time to play but it is well worth the time spent.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Take your lumps!!

1    10/27/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 91  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Truly an epic course with monster throws demanding accuracy. Imagine the largest holes on your local course. Now make those the shorter holes on the course, and litter the fairway with trees... That's Emery.

As challenging as it is, it is a beautiful course with a fun factor of 11 (Think Spinal Tap). The signage is great on each hole, and the course is easy to navigate (depending on which tees you're using... See cons).
Cons: My gripes are few, and easily fixed. Aside from these couple complaints, I would've given this course a 5.

Tee pads would be nice. The natural tees haven't eroded badly yet, but as this course catches on, I can see it being a problem. I imagine with a course this polished, they're on the way.

Tee pad markers. As great as the signs are on each hole, there is only one to mark four different pads per hole. The pads themselves are only marked by a hard to find (especially in the autumn) colored brick in the ground. Someone put small yard flags at the tees, but many have been removed, leaving us to hunt, sometimes for ten minutes or so, for the golds. A simple post painted the color of the tee would be a HUGE help ( ...and maybe concrete pads.?.?.?). That being said, navigating the course itself was easy.

Other Thoughts: We drove from Rochester to play this one and Chestnut Ridge. Three and a half hours later, daylight squashed our hopes of playing both. Leave yourself time to play this one. Dress accordingly as underbrush and mud frequent many of the holes. First time playing it, though and we never had to hunt for a disc.

Of the courses I've played, including my local favorites, this is the best. Just be ready for a high score and try not to get frustrated. I'm close to par on most courses, so I laughed at my buddy who challenged me to throw under a hundred (From the golds... Didn't drive all this way to sissy out!). Ninety-five throws later, I had beat his challenge, but wasn't laughing anymore. This course is HARD, but go into it knowing that and you'll have an amazing round.

Worth whatever roadtrip you need to make, so come get your lumps!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Arm still hanging!

1    10/12/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape with elevation, rocks, trees and creeks. In the fall you also get the changing leaves. Multiple tee positions for different levels of abuse. If you had your Wheaties in the morning play the longs to the tune of over 10,000' of throwing. And there are more than a few uphill throws that make it seem even longer. Signs at every hole showing tee placement and basket positions. New and nice. Front 9 is a heavily wooded beast that can crush you if you are not accurate. Lots of challenge. Basket are all new and in great condition. Navigation wasn't a problem, altough there is some long walks between holes. Bring a map and keep your eyes open for the wooded arrows on the trees directing you to the correct path.
Cons: Natural tee pads. It is probably not practical to have tee pads for the 4 different tee positions available at many of the holes, but some kind of pad would be nice. Positions are marked with colored bricks that can be hard to locate, especially in the fall. When you are in the woods leaves are everywhere.

#16 plays through a playground area. Nobody around when I was there, but it could be a problem on certain days. Multi-use park, so you might have to share the space. 2 of the guys I played with hit the bathrooms off the tee, so look for pedestrians and kids.

Even on the wooded holes it didn't seem like there were holes that forced me to shape lines and make a certain shot. Many straight shots through scattered mature trees or WTF wooded fairways.
Other Thoughts: I can understand why some people have rated this course very high. It is really nice, and has a ton of long holes. Basket positions are located in areas that try to make the course more challenging also. #18 is surrounded by trees, and #14 plays right along a creek bed. But overall, it just didn't seem like a fun course. I usually star every hole that is unique or really impressed me, and I didn't have any marked on my notes. But I also don't remember seeing any bad holes either. Just good solid play. Definitely worth playing if you are in Western NY. My impression is that this course would be great for players with big arms that want to air it out. Just don't looking for a ton of technical shots. Several of the wooded holes were overly tight, bordering on a hope and a prayer. There may be lines, but they certainly aren't obvious. Overall, it's a good course, but not on the level of other top courses I have played.

May 30, 2012 UPDATE : Went back for another pound and tried the White tees this time. I still have the same love, hate feeling for this course. Tee pads would be a huge upgrade. The wooded holes still are a little odd. #3 has a line, I think, but from the tee it is not anywhere near obvious. #4 could be a great hole, but too many trees and too much luck get in the way. That hole makes little sense IMO. This is still a fun and very scenic course. White tees made more sense for my ability than the Golds I played before. I won't knock a course for long walks or up hill climbs, but I'd love to see a few fairways altered, and some decent pads put in here. It's a very nice course, but not quite in the upper echelon. Yet. Definitely worth a stop ifmyoumare in Western NY.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

5+    7/30/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: WaDoosh
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Course is simply amazing. Bring your accuracy for the front 9, one mistake and you can be looking at a 5 or a 6. Hole 1 is absolutely a sight to see and a must play. Lines are tight and challenging. Make sure you bring a variety of shots or it can be an ugly round. Head to the back 9 and bring out the big arm. Holes are long and flat out fun, so many holes to step up and crush it!
Cons: Very muddy in spring, path between hole 2 and 3 is ALWAYS muddy!
Other Thoughts: Once this course has cement tee pads, you're llooking at a championship caliber course. If you're ever in the area, you must stop by an play this course. Tee signs are great, makes the course easy to navigate!! PLAY THIS COURSE!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!!

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well Marked, Wide range of shots required, great scenery! loved the elevation changes, crossing the creeks and rustic bridges. there was a course map right there at the parking lot as well as some info on upcoming tournaments
Cons: Some of the holes are flat out tough, especially on the front 9. For a first time player at the course sometimes your taking your first two shots with out a visual at the basket (and i'm talking about two good shots)
Other Thoughts: Front 9 requires alot of accuracy. I found myself shooting alot of midrange discs off the Tee just for the accuracy aspect. Many tight windows to shoot through. Back 9 was more wide open, take out the drivers and bomb away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout is amazing, the course incorporates many different types of holes. The multiple tees and some alternate baskets make the course both challenging and fun for experienced/ intermediate range players. Can be very tough at times. Course par is very tough as well. Very hilly and also very scenic. Fantastic course!
Cons: can be very frustrating at times also can be a hike. Takes about 3 hours to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes from Chestnut Ridge and is ALOT less crowded. Take advantange of this until this course is discovered and taken over by slow inexperienced players!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2009   6/15/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 91  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A round here is a journey every time you play it! massive course through every type of terrain you can think of!

Detailed signage and 4 tee placements on every hole.

course is on a ski slope to give you an idea on elevation changes.
Cons: Four tees per hole yes, two colored bricks in the ground also yes.

One round with two people can take about 3 hours from the golds.

Lots of bugs in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Bring your cannon! this is a very long course with lots of ups and downs! if you like to really heave them, this course is up your alley.

I can't wait to play this one again!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.