South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 273ft.   4 / 373ft.   4 / 450ft.   4 / 559ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Double Black Diamond

1    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can become a 5 with some small improvements. Awesome long opening hole down small ski hill. There are open, long driving holes as well as tight woods holes which seem to have fair lanes for the most part. Some really cool, and also tough pin placements which will really test your putting and possibly patience. Very informative signage which is a huge help, distances from each tee and directions to the next tee and information on slopes and ob's. Tees were in great shape and easy to locate with orange flags. A great challenge for players of all skill levels. Really nice course design, lots of imagination was used with many of the holes to use the hilly partly forested land.
Cons: The 6th hole sticks out in my mind, it follows an abandoned park road as the fairway so your discs can get beat up a bit for following the fairway. Otherwise there are no real cons to this course yet, hopefully trash won't become a problem like some of the other local courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is long!!! It will take at least 2 hours to play alone and a few hours to play with a group. I found it to be a great workout and beautiful walk in the woods. A championship caliber disc golf course is a great way to revitalize this underused old county park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  GO Tourney

1    5/16/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: tiggore
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an educator. I played the white tees last Saturday and all I can say is WOW:^). This course WILL make you a better player. Having a full arsenal of throwing techniques will make your day easier. When my day was done I found my games weaknesses and I can't wait to play there again.
Cons: Nothing major sticks out. The only con I can see is that there needs to be better directions on the course to lead you from hole to hole. This "con" might solve itself as paths get broken in.
Other Thoughts: This course is still fresh. Due to this there are still some loose ends to tie up. Some holes can use a tee box upgrade( I do know there is a fund being set up for concrete tee-pads. I don't if this affects the lack of tee-pads). The course's length make benches a welcomed feature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not just a walk in the Park

5+    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: Traver
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lovers of distance driving and lovers of finesse will each find holes to challenge them.
-Landscape varies greatly and never becomes monotonous.
-Holes require your whole bag of throws
-There is a big difference from the different tees.
-Start of course, midpoint of course, and end of course are all near parking (of which there is ample). This is great if you want to play the back nine first or need to grab a disc from your car half-way through.
-Beautiful course with a few holes challenging for the signature title.
-Many great places to stop for a snack, smoke, or breather (you just might need one).
-Challenging! Very, very, very challenging.
Cons: -There are other, often oblivious, park goers is some areas although this is rarely an issue.
-Watch your step! Some portions of this course are potentially dangerous. Don't break an ankle trying to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: -This is one course that beginners should definitely consider throwing from the red tees on.
-Putting is tough going here, many baskets are in punishing places.
-This course is a hike, I'd have to guess about 3 miles or more and a good portion is uphill. (Wasn't sure if this would be a pro or con).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Emery The Challenge

5+    4/7/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: Buffalo disc golfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything. Every single hole is different and challenging. Hole 1 starts off by throwing down a huge ski hill and makes you use your full bag of tricks. Hole 2 is a nice shot out of the woods into the open with the basket parked only 15 feet from the water's edge. Hole 3 Is a shot up a steep hill to a basket on top of a hill and requires an accurate putt to avoid the dreaded three putt. Hole 4 starts off by throwing off a hill and across a creek, then putting to another basket on a hill. Hole 5 is an insanely tight lane that must be hit or you will be in the trees praying that you get out and yet again the basket is sitting on a hill with a steep drop off. Hole 6 is a long S shaped hole which is one of my favorites. Hole 7 is a shot up a hill with many trees blocking you from that basket. Hole 8 is right next to large ravine which makes the ridge look like child's play. Hole 9 is a short and with a nice drive through the pine trees you can easily three. Hole 10 is also a short drive along the road and a fun 3. Hole 11 has you first drive into an open field then throw threw a small gap to the basket. Hole 12 is a monster it's a big field with the basket park about a mile away. Watch out for the rose bushes to your right or you'll be in a world of pain. Hole 13 is a wide open shot to the basket with an accurate arm it can be a hole in 1. Hole 14 fallows another creek with the basket just sitting on the water's edge. Hole 15 has you throw up a hill then back down to a creek, I love this hole :) Hole 16 is a long hole with a basket put in the middle of a large group of pines watch out for those low hanging braches or they will come into play. Hole 17 is a long drive through the pine across a field and down to the basket. And lastly 18 it's a fairly open shot with the road as a hazard to your left and a basket tucked in the middle of 6 to 8 pine trees
Cons: There is not much to complain about, It is very long from the gold's you will be throwing over 2 miles! In all it's about a 3 mile walk to complete this course. If your main drivers are Dx, you might want to play the first 9 conservately. This place is brand new which means mud is all over. Tee boxes are extremely muddy but when summer comes this will no longer be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Please be careful when getting disc's back that have fallen down by hole 8, there are some stairs just on the other side next to basket 9 which is much safer. Lastly there is par set at 69 which in your best day is still going to be hard to achieve so have fun and set goals. I live 5 Minutes away and for 5 bucks I'll give you the grand tour, I could be your caddy for the day :) If you're interested email me at BenedictScottD@gmail.com

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Read with your sense of humor on

5+    3/30/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course cannot be studied from afar, but needs to be experienced. You'll be second guessing your pitiful skills. Like a night at Gitmo, you'll be asking, "when will this be over?" And those are my positive comments.
Cons: This course has no raised wood decking between holes. Seriously, that's the only thing not awesome about this course.
Other Thoughts: You know it can only get better from here. So much work and maintenance has been done already and I thank Chad and the NRDG for continuing to promote a great sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tough, fair and interesting

2-4    5/11/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. This new course is still a work in progress and can only improve. There are great elevation changes that not only make this long course a workout for your throwing skills but a good work out for the whole body. Every basket has a very playable "fairway" that uses all your shot skills. Accuracy is a premium on approach.
Cons: Several of the intermediate (white) tee boxes are in muddy areas and are quite slippery and sloppy if the ground is wet. And since the course isn't completed quite yet there are no signs or other markers to help you find your way around the course, but you can see they are in the process of fixing that. There is a lack of garbage cans and benches or picnic tables and hopefully in time that will improve as well.
Other Thoughts: We played from the white and red tees. And although a big arm is a plus, smart placement of your shots can get you pars throughout the course. There is great scenery with picturesque ravines and waterfalls. There was a dusting of wet snow on the course when we played and the course was very muddy making for difficult walking at times. It was quite windy too, and although most of the holes were generally protected from the wind, some were quite exposed offering yet another challenge. All in all a very fun course that can only improve as they complete the marking of the course. The folks that brought this championship caliber course to Western NY deserve a round of applause for their hard work and their thoughtful design of the course.

Great job to those still working on the course! There are now garbage cans at many of the tee boxes. And the signs are very professionally done. They are making a great course even better!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond, but still in the rough.

2-4    3/7/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome new course, still nedds some refining, but very nice. Very long and hilly course through the woods. A very good mix of terrain. Makes for an excellent hike.
Cons: Played here about a month ago and there was still about 6-8" of snow which completly hid the tee off markers. which made it very hard to navigate if you dont know your way. No tee sign maps yet either, but all in good time, Im sure!
Other Thoughts: Once cleaned up and completed this will definitly be one of my favorites. Very,very challenging course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow what a course!

1    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
Pros: Very well layed out. Very imaginative with different challenges at every turn. This course is tough! Four tee-off placements for each hole.Even from the green dot "easy" tees this course would not be a walk in the park! we played the intermediate tees mainly due to the snow level and inability for a decent run-up.
Cons: Newly installed and a bit "work in progress" tees are marked only with small orange flags or so it seems anyway. some were buried under the snow.
Other Thoughts: Played this course with @ 8" of fresh powder snow on the ground. only one lost disc among @ 7 golfers. look forward to seeing this course in the summer months!

 Not much else to say

1    11/23/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: walker
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Championship level course.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I know DGCR says not to comment on the other reviews, but there really isn't anything more to say. Excellent Course. Easily the best in NY, and probably for miles around. I gave it a 5, because once it's cleaned up it will be a 5.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A whole new level

2-4    11/18/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Emery easily eclipses all nearby courses in terms of distance and difficulty. Only the best players of a particular skill level will make par at their respective tees.

The front nine are absolutely brutal and require nearly perfect golf -- distance and accuracy are mandatory. Tight, long wooded fairways punish any poor drive. Basket placements are often on drastic elevation changes or near hazards, so there's still little room for error once you line up an approach shot.

The back nine are more open but still very long for the most part, and most carry a unique problem to surmount -- a basket surrounded by huge pines, a small "thread the needle" gap though hedges hundreds of feet off the tee, a blind approach off a hill into a creek's valley.
Cons: No true cons, this is a championship-caliber course.

Right now many tees are not just muddy, but dangerous. I twisted an ankle on 18 when my x-step became an s-slide. However, this is a temporary problem related to the newness of the course and the currently poor weather.

The sheer length and scope of Emery will make it difficult for weeknight league use.
Other Thoughts: Afer a couple play throughs, Emery is almost frighteningly difficult. At the same time, however, it's fair -- there are only a couple places where potentially lost discs become a factor, and it will push most players hard to become better. This course will be a huge asset to Western New York.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.