South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 211ft.   4 / 291ft.   4 / 347ft.   4 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 BIG LONG DG Course

1    10/29/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You are welcomed to this course with a thousand+ foot shot down a ski slope... and that is just the beginning. The course will definitely test your arm and yet, the trees, tight fairways, and variety of shots will help to equalize most players. Its a big, tough, long course God couldn't shoot 54 here.
Cons: This course can feel excessively long at times, it is long hole after long hole after long hole. The length and rigor of the course also makes it difficulty for people to find time to play a full round.
Other Thoughts: The course might take a long time to play but it is well worth the time spent.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Take your lumps!!

1    10/27/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Truly an epic course with monster throws demanding accuracy. Imagine the largest holes on your local course. Now make those the shorter holes on the course, and litter the fairway with trees... That's Emery.

As challenging as it is, it is a beautiful course with a fun factor of 11 (Think Spinal Tap). The signage is great on each hole, and the course is easy to navigate (depending on which tees you're using... See cons).
Cons: My gripes are few, and easily fixed. Aside from these couple complaints, I would've given this course a 5.

Tee pads would be nice. The natural tees haven't eroded badly yet, but as this course catches on, I can see it being a problem. I imagine with a course this polished, they're on the way.

Tee pad markers. As great as the signs are on each hole, there is only one to mark four different pads per hole. The pads themselves are only marked by a hard to find (especially in the autumn) colored brick in the ground. Someone put small yard flags at the tees, but many have been removed, leaving us to hunt, sometimes for ten minutes or so, for the golds. A simple post painted the color of the tee would be a HUGE help ( ...and maybe concrete pads.?.?.?). That being said, navigating the course itself was easy.

Other Thoughts: We drove from Rochester to play this one and Chestnut Ridge. Three and a half hours later, daylight squashed our hopes of playing both. Leave yourself time to play this one. Dress accordingly as underbrush and mud frequent many of the holes. First time playing it, though and we never had to hunt for a disc.

Of the courses I've played, including my local favorites, this is the best. Just be ready for a high score and try not to get frustrated. I'm close to par on most courses, so I laughed at my buddy who challenged me to throw under a hundred (From the golds... Didn't drive all this way to sissy out!). Ninety-five throws later, I had beat his challenge, but wasn't laughing anymore. This course is HARD, but go into it knowing that and you'll have an amazing round.

Worth whatever roadtrip you need to make, so come get your lumps!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Arm still hanging!

1    10/12/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape with elevation, rocks, trees and creeks. In the fall you also get the changing leaves. Multiple tee positions for different levels of abuse. If you had your Wheaties in the morning play the longs to the tune of over 10,000' of throwing. And there are more than a few uphill throws that make it seem even longer. Signs at every hole showing tee placement and basket positions. New and nice. Front 9 is a heavily wooded beast that can crush you if you are not accurate. Lots of challenge. Basket are all new and in great condition. Navigation wasn't a problem, altough there is some long walks between holes. Bring a map and keep your eyes open for the wooded arrows on the trees directing you to the correct path.
Cons: Natural tee pads. It is probably not practical to have tee pads for the 4 different tee positions available at many of the holes, but some kind of pad would be nice. Positions are marked with colored bricks that can be hard to locate, especially in the fall. When you are in the woods leaves are everywhere.

#16 plays through a playground area. Nobody around when I was there, but it could be a problem on certain days. Multi-use park, so you might have to share the space. 2 of the guys I played with hit the bathrooms off the tee, so look for pedestrians and kids.

Even on the wooded holes it didn't seem like there were holes that forced me to shape lines and make a certain shot. Many straight shots through scattered mature trees or WTF wooded fairways.
Other Thoughts: I can understand why some people have rated this course very high. It is really nice, and has a ton of long holes. Basket positions are located in areas that try to make the course more challenging also. #18 is surrounded by trees, and #14 plays right along a creek bed. But overall, it just didn't seem like a fun course. I usually star every hole that is unique or really impressed me, and I didn't have any marked on my notes. But I also don't remember seeing any bad holes either. Just good solid play. Definitely worth playing if you are in Western NY. My impression is that this course would be great for players with big arms that want to air it out. Just don't looking for a ton of technical shots. Several of the wooded holes were overly tight, bordering on a hope and a prayer. There may be lines, but they certainly aren't obvious. Overall, it's a good course, but not on the level of other top courses I have played.

May 30, 2012 UPDATE : Went back for another pound and tried the White tees this time. I still have the same love, hate feeling for this course. Tee pads would be a huge upgrade. The wooded holes still are a little odd. #3 has a line, I think, but from the tee it is not anywhere near obvious. #4 could be a great hole, but too many trees and too much luck get in the way. That hole makes little sense IMO. This is still a fun and very scenic course. White tees made more sense for my ability than the Golds I played before. I won't knock a course for long walks or up hill climbs, but I'd love to see a few fairways altered, and some decent pads put in here. It's a very nice course, but not quite in the upper echelon. Yet. Definitely worth a stop ifmyoumare in Western NY.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

5+    7/30/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: WaDoosh
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Course is simply amazing. Bring your accuracy for the front 9, one mistake and you can be looking at a 5 or a 6. Hole 1 is absolutely a sight to see and a must play. Lines are tight and challenging. Make sure you bring a variety of shots or it can be an ugly round. Head to the back 9 and bring out the big arm. Holes are long and flat out fun, so many holes to step up and crush it!
Cons: Very muddy in spring, path between hole 2 and 3 is ALWAYS muddy!
Other Thoughts: Once this course has cement tee pads, you're llooking at a championship caliber course. If you're ever in the area, you must stop by an play this course. Tee signs are great, makes the course easy to navigate!! PLAY THIS COURSE!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!!

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: leftyone
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well Marked, Wide range of shots required, great scenery! loved the elevation changes, crossing the creeks and rustic bridges. there was a course map right there at the parking lot as well as some info on upcoming tournaments
Cons: Some of the holes are flat out tough, especially on the front 9. For a first time player at the course sometimes your taking your first two shots with out a visual at the basket (and i'm talking about two good shots)
Other Thoughts: Front 9 requires alot of accuracy. I found myself shooting alot of midrange discs off the Tee just for the accuracy aspect. Many tight windows to shoot through. Back 9 was more wide open, take out the drivers and bomb away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout is amazing, the course incorporates many different types of holes. The multiple tees and some alternate baskets make the course both challenging and fun for experienced/ intermediate range players. Can be very tough at times. Course par is very tough as well. Very hilly and also very scenic. Fantastic course!
Cons: can be very frustrating at times also can be a hike. Takes about 3 hours to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is about 15 minutes from Chestnut Ridge and is ALOT less crowded. Take advantange of this until this course is discovered and taken over by slow inexperienced players!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/15/2009   6/15/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A round here is a journey every time you play it! massive course through every type of terrain you can think of!

Detailed signage and 4 tee placements on every hole.

course is on a ski slope to give you an idea on elevation changes.
Cons: Four tees per hole yes, two colored bricks in the ground also yes.

One round with two people can take about 3 hours from the golds.

Lots of bugs in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Bring your cannon! this is a very long course with lots of ups and downs! if you like to really heave them, this course is up your alley.

I can't wait to play this one again!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Emery Park

5+    5/23/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: mcriely
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every hole in this course is both difficult and rewarding. The course forces you to become a better player because of the wide array of routes you can find yourself attempting to throw on any given hole. The open fields reward big arms, and the wooded front nine reward accurate throwers. he scenery is simply amazing. Hole 1 is the funnest hole I've ever played.
Cons: Course can get muddy early spring, and make sure you bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: Excellent course Chad!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but in it's infancy

1    11/24/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing elevation changes, scenery, distance, and few, if any other people around. Waterfalls.
Cons: Muddy, muddy and muddy. Tee boxes are very hard to find. Worst yet, the so-called "gold" championship tee box bricks are painted with a gold that is so light in color, it is VERY EASY to confuse it as the white tee box. On about 6 holes, we mistakenly teed off from the gold tee, thinking it was the white (closer to the basket) tee. I am not a pro, and would appreciate being a throw closer to the basket, thank you very much. This problem can easily be solved by painting the gold tees bright yellow. Also, a very friendly, yet annoying dog from down the road followed us for 5 holes, fetching every disc we threw, putting teeth marks into several of our discs, before the angry owner drove up and took her home, apologetically. Hopefully this was a rare instance.
Other Thoughts: This course, though unfinished, is amazing. One of my favorites, ever. This park is perfectly suited for a disc golf course. The final basket (hole 18), is perfectly placed in a stand of old pine trees. There could easily be another 18 hole course added to this park, (yes, please!). You have to go play it! Just make sure you wear waterproof hiking boots, and clear 3 to 4 hours out of your schedule first!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Emery Park

5+    9/1/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was by far the longest course i've ever played, every hole could be a signature hole at any course. From the first hole down the ski hill to the gap on hole 11.
Cons: It says there is a hole 11a but i couldnt find it
Other Thoughts: I would deffinantely reccomend this course to anyone. But bring your walking shoes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.