Disc Golf Center
South Wales, NY 
Black Diamond DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 308ft.   4 / 414ft.   4 / 505ft.   4 / 586ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 We came, we saw, it kicked our butts!!

2-4    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: trainhawk2468
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety and mix of difficulty. It is now our favorite course in the area. A "must play" course for everyone.
The new tee signs are excellent. On our first visit there were none. It was difficult then, but now it is easy. If you look closely at the signs it tells you exactly where you are or need to go. Easy...if you pay attention.
Cons: Course can be muddy because of terrain. As another mentioned, there are a few places that can tear up disc for the lesser players.
Other Thoughts: Wish there were more holes :)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Real Man's Course

5+    8/30/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Lots of "signature" holes. Beautiful surroundings (amazing waterfalls), nice design, 4 tee spots. Very clear the proper routes to throw, and water comes in to play just enough (not too much)

UPDATE: Added Big Red Arrows to guide you through the course. This is a huge plus as the course is now easily navigated. Also, the paths are starting to become more established, which also helps to keep you on track. Can't wait to see this place in 5 years, once it's really established.
Cons: Get your walking shoes on because this place is a WORKOUT. 2 miles of holes, which could be a major con if you're not in good shape. Some holes are a bit too long, especially for amatuers & beginners. The ravine plays on a few holes, and it's REALLY far down if you go down there. One hole plays up an old road, which could be damaging to discs.
Other Thoughts: Found a geo-cache on one of the holes, which was an amazing bonus.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 workout in the woods.

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with multiple tees, many of which would be signature holes anywhere else.
course had a great mix of variety in elevation, open and tight holes, and tons of unique obsticles.
Trees were strategically planted and baskets were carefully placed to make you really think about your shots. On many holes putting requires major decisions that can make or break your game (baskets on mounds, hills, near water)
The hole surrounded by tees is a nice grand finale for the round at hole 18.
Cons: There is a lot of throwing blind, waiting to see the basket. It was hard to know where exactly to throw. There were also holes where you have to throw towards picnic tables. (drunks are not cool when an Orc ends up in their potato salad)
Tees were often difficult to find. I had a guide, but if I went back, even after playing it, I would not know where to go without a guide.
There needs to be arrows or signs directing you to the next basket. You will already be walking alot, you will not want to walk any extra than you need to.
(just a note: just walking from gold tee to basket on each hole is over 2 miles, that does not count the walk between baskets or walking after your discs. Plan on playing here for hours)
Par is extremely hard to acheive, the average score is around 15 strokes over par.
Other Thoughts: I like long courses, but this course went over board with an average distance of 520 feet (from blue tees) and one hole over 1,000 feet. However the scenery was great every step of the way. so it is not a pro or a con.
Bugs were a small problem, but I can't fault the course, I have played through far worse. Bring bug spray!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First time

1    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Joshh4490
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a newer player, this course gave me a good lesson on throwing my disc FAR. Which the Ridge only does once or twice. Trees not really a huge factor. Interesting scenery. The signs are nice but..... ALSO No crowd...
Cons: Very muddy on the front few holes. Lots of standing water, lots of bugs. Didn't bring a map and the signs (GRR on the 18) don't explain where the next tee is always so well. Was like a treasure hunt finding some tees and signs..
Other Thoughts: Get ready to to alot of walking.. if it's rained recent ,, play hole 1, then the back nine.. skip the mud hike through 2-8. BRING drinks. Girls ,, the only working bathroom i saw was near hole 14 or 15..Still a good time. Oh and P.S... follow the road to find the 18th hole,, just past the white building... forget the arrow !!!!!!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the toughest in WNY

2-4    7/27/2010   7/3/2009
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2010
Pros: Great variety of woods, open holes, elevation changes, longer holes and 4 tees to choose from.

Loved the last 10 holes.

[edit] The course was considerably drier this time around. Foot paths are getting nicely worn and signage is awesome. Arrows pointing the way to the next tee are extremely helpful! The other noticeable Pro about the course is how clean and well kept it is. Let's hope it stays that way for a long time.]
Cons: The first 9 may be a bit much of the back woods and mud. We played after a steady week of on and off rain in WNY so the course was very wet and muddy. The paths between several holes were nearly impassable due to the mud. Later in the summer or fall, when the weather gets a little bit drier, might make for a much more pleasurable round.
Other Thoughts: Being our first time here, even with maps and scorecards, the course is a little hard to follow. It would be very helpful if the sign makers marked a "you are here" location on the sign so the tees could be found a little easier in relation to where you are standing. Bring waterproof shoes with very good traction to walk through the muck along the course.

[edit] This course seems to reward accuracy over distance for about 75% of the holes. Pick your shots well through the wooded holes and you will do far better. Be prepared to leave with a tired arm as the total distance on this course is LONG. Nearly 10% longer from the White Tees, 25% longer from the Blue Tees and a whopping 45% longer from the Gold Tees than Como Parks Blue Tees. And Como Park is no slouch in terms of distance as it previously was one of the longest courses in Western NY]

 Amazing Course

2-4    6/30/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Sche3067
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hole placements are extremly well placed. I loved how long each hole ias well. With 4 diffrent tees, it caters to almost everyones skill level. The front 9 is one of the hardest 9 I have ever played (way harder than chestnut ridge). The scenery and a few select path are really nice to view as you make your way through the course. This course also tests your accuracy, as well as your ability to shoot diffrent ways. SInce this course is very long, you will not have to wait for others to throw and said before you barely have to worry about other persons discs.
Cons: -sometimes the path you walk through are not mowed and it seems like your walking through tall grass.
-Some paths can be muddy like from hole 2 to 3
-It is easy to get lost if it is your first time
-Not enough signs tell you where to go to get to the course or even around the course.
Other Thoughts: -Take a Map with you!!!!!!!
-Bring water
-Most people there are willing to help you if your lost (or if you dont have water)


-This course is still very new so I would asume that these cons posted above will eventually get taken care of.
- I myself really dont care about the mud or tall grass but some people might want to know about that so i put it in my review

I loved hole one!!! you cant beat a 1000 ft hole :)

In my opinion this is the best course in WNY

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: MotoAce51
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATED: Long, challenging, and tons of fun. Me and a couple friends live close to Emery so we play there a bunch. Without a map the course is difficult to navigate but every Tee had signs to show you where everything was. This still confused people and we had to show them where to go but it was a lot better. You can get a map at nrdg.net site under the courses section (along with scorecards listing par and average distance of each hole). They recently put up a Kiosk with score cards and maps and that was nice to see. There were some new people there when we were and they appreciated it. A lot of people couldnt find the first tee but had no issues after that. Near each basket there were arrows on trees or somewhere pointing to where the next tee is. Last time we were there, we were very unsure where the baskets were but recently nice large flags have been installed to the tops of the baskets. The flags help determin where the basket is through the trees and obsticles.

Just learning was difficult since we cant drive too far but it did help a lot on technique. I doubled my driving distance today. Fewer people playing along the course than at other places made it a lot of fun too, you weren't stuck waiting, and you didn't have to worry about getting hit by other peoples discs.
Cons: Not a huge con but the ravine was scary. I was nervous to lose my disc because it didn't look too easy to go down the sides. After going to the park a few times we found a set of stairs near hole 9 that allows you to go down into the ravine if you lose your disc on 8 or 9. Some tee's were still harder to find if you didnt know where they were but not too bad. On the back 9 there was a tee next to a jungle gym. It would be nice to move the tee on 16 a little to the right so your not so close to the kids playing. I have no issues here but I have seen noobs messing around and having issues.
Other Thoughts: The signs at each hole were new and accurate. It helped find where the course went, it was nice seeing an arrow after the baskets showing you where to go for the next tee. The grounds were also very clean and not trashy there was no noticable garbage and it didnt seem like ratts were playing there. I have played here many times and never have a dissapointment. Its a long course and really helps your accuracy. When we were noobs, first time here it took 3 people almost 4 hours to complete (includes searching for a lost disc, and stopping at the store in between the first and last set.) Now, we can power through a round in about 2 relaxed hours. The course is long and you can play at a nice pace and have fun. Some holes seem extremely long and its nice to see how far you can drive. If you dont splice your shot really bad the long holes are not that bad but if you mess up you can easily get a high score on that hole. A friend of mine shot a 12 on hole 1 since he couldnt stay out of the woods. The starting blocks were well painted, but could use another more permanent indicator other then the flags. All in all, this is my favorite course and it really helps my game.

I have moved out of town and just played here twice this weekend and my shoulder is so sore. The course was updated and looks beautiful. Thank you for all your hard work. Everyone involved did a wonderful job and it is very appreciated.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 “Keep Your Cool”

1    5/23/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: steujr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There is to much to say about this course to write down. Front 9 is hilly, wooded and very technical. You have all types of holes here wooded, hilly, open and JAIL. That's right jail I stood on hole three and could see the basket but did not know where to begin. Trees on left trees on right and trees down the middle. So bring you new SAW disc because when you get here you will wish you really had one. Back 9 will test your "D" bring your long distance driver because you will need it.
Cons: Nothing to say bad about it.
Other Thoughts: Good course laid out great. Nice to see par 4's and 5's true ones. Park seems to have lots to do from skiing to walking trails. I had a great time playing this course will get here more

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not all its Cracked up to Be

1    5/28/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front nine is some of the best disc golf i have seen. With long winding shots and a ver in and out of the woods majestic back drop you will fall in love with this course in an istant i live in rochester and it was well worth the drive up
Cons: The back nine gets very long this is were the senary changes and you start playing through picknic areas. I played on a mild day so it was not very bussy but if it were you are playing right near a playground so im sure there will be lots of little kids to shoot around. Also plan on about two and a half hours this one is a long one
Other Thoughts: The first nine and the back nine are long enough that with the right engeneiring they coud become two 18 hole courses

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Double Black Diamond

1    6/2/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can become a 5 with some small improvements. Awesome long opening hole down small ski hill. There are open, long driving holes as well as tight woods holes which seem to have fair lanes for the most part. Some really cool, and also tough pin placements which will really test your putting and possibly patience. Very informative signage which is a huge help, distances from each tee and directions to the next tee and information on slopes and ob's. Tees were in great shape and easy to locate with orange flags. A great challenge for players of all skill levels. Really nice course design, lots of imagination was used with many of the holes to use the hilly partly forested land.
Cons: The 6th hole sticks out in my mind, it follows an abandoned park road as the fairway so your discs can get beat up a bit for following the fairway. Otherwise there are no real cons to this course yet, hopefully trash won't become a problem like some of the other local courses.
Other Thoughts: This course is long!!! It will take at least 2 hours to play alone and a few hours to play with a group. I found it to be a great workout and beautiful walk in the woods. A championship caliber disc golf course is a great way to revitalize this underused old county park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.