North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Highland Course Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #7 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 183ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Warm Up

1    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Scott64a
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice short course to warm up on, or really good for kids and beginners. It's well laid out and easy to navigate.
Cons: It would be nice to have a marker at each basket pointing the way to the next tee. Some of us forget what the hole map said hahaha

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Putt a Birdie on it.

5+    9/15/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-The Highlands Course at Horning's Hideout is a pitch and putt, and in that context this is a wonderful course. It's quite fun for the length and I usually play a quick little warm up round here before moving onto the other courses at Horning's.

-There is a nice amount of variety at Highlands (especially for a pitch and putt) - A few holes near water, elevation changes, etc.

-This a great course for young kids and new disc golfers.

-This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign.

- Clean bathrooms near the parking lot (next to Canyon Course's hole #1 teebox).

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.

-This course makes great practice for your short game or if you just feel like going for some ace runs.
Cons:
-Some of the tees are close to either; other tees or other baskets and this can cause distractions and hold ups.

-This course has no benches, not really a big deal since it's so short though.

-The space next to and beyond hole 16 and 18 is sometimes used for parking during special events (weddings and the like), it's never fun to hit someones car with an errant drive.
Other Thoughts:
-They did a nice job of adding a certain amount of risk in going for aces on a lot of holes, usually with seep drop offs or out of bounds lines right behind the basket. Although the opposite is the case on 7, 8, 10 and 17, these all have hills behind their baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pitch N' Putt

5+    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this is a true pitch n putt, I use this course for putting practice and working on short range layups. With that said there are many positives that larger "full" courses dont have.

-Layout, for a number of holes being crammed in a tight space there isnt much overlap or danger of throwing into other people.

-Hornings Signage, all of the tee signs across all three courses are very well designed, providing all of the information play the course.

-Night/glow golf, if you are camping it is awesome to get a night round in out here.

-Challenging short shots, there are a few holes in the middle that challenge you to hit a specific line, it is great to walk out here with 3-4 putters and give the approach game a workout before going over to canyon or meadow.

-Scenery/Wildlife, as with all hornings courses it is simply beautiful out there, plus you never know what critters you will run into, I threw on 12 went down to the basket and realized a deer was standing about 15' away from my disc, it calmly wandered a few feet away let me pick up my disk and then got back to eating a shrub, pretty damn cool.

-Beginner friendly, great family activity when the wife and nieces and nephews all want to go and "throw" this is the place to make it happen.
Cons: -First few holes are kinda throwaway, just open shots not really challenging or interesting.

-Occasional pack golf, part of being beginner friendly is dealing with the packs of folks not very familiar with the game, making for a few slow rounds.
Other Thoughts: Horning is a true DG gem, and this course is great to have on site. If you take it for what it is, its a great place to warm up and to work on precise upshots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lucky Charms!

2-4    5/25/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We arrived to camp late afternoon, and immediately went and played this course, where I shot -8. At midnight we went back [nicely toasted] with two discs each[white] and headlamps and I shot -11. My buddy dinked his in the water's edge at #5 and fell in getting it. I fell all the way down the trail going to hole #12 but only got dirty. He lost a Leopard on #13 but we found it the next morning. We decided rolling down the hill at #18 was easier than walking. The hardest part was not giggling like giddy schoolgirls as we walked back to camp past the owner's residence.
Its OK as a beginner's course, as its rarely crowded and the quiet isolation is conducive to ponderous thought. But the open shots have unusual and/or sudden elevation changes, and the closed-in fairways require precision or you'll be invoking Olde Scottish oaths as you explore the local shrubbery. There's enough woods/undergrowth at the sides of the open fairways to spend some time disc-hunting if you're Driving While Imbibing. An overthrow at #2, 12, 18 can add a couple strokes each. Underthrow at #5 and you're in the lake.
None of these are a con, however: they're just stations on the way to the pot o' gold. Which is exactly what the baskets look like: giant semi rims repurposed and painted brilliant yellow, that go "DONNNNNGG!!!" like a county Cork church death knell when you flub your putt.
If you've blown your driving ability on the other two courses you might still have enough arm to play this one and really enjoy the variety of shots, elevation, woodsiness and isolation. And the peacocks.

And bring some Scotch. For the Little People.

Cons: The long concrete tees and bomber homemade baskets are lighted, but not all the lights work or solarly charge well enough to illuminate the moors. Best to play this in the daytime first and learn it.
During concert events like String Summit, all the field holes will have campers, and the woods will have drunken, wasted wanderers.
Other Thoughts: The camping is excellent and cheap, and if you're here in the off-season/weekday, you'll have enough room on the various grassy tent terraces for a large game of catch-and-toss. Quickie marts, grocery, pubs and restaurants 6 miles away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One Disc Wonder!!!!

2-4    7/15/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy course. But very fun!
- Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Layout was good, and easy to follow... you could normally see the next tee from the basket, or at least follow a trail to the next one.
- There are caged LED lights on top of the baskets and near most of the tee areas so you could play some night (glow) golf.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- A great warm up course.
Trash can were placed all around the course, which left the area very clean.
- If you need a fast game... this is course for you only took me about 35min for 18 holes. Great cooldown or warm up for the other courses.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.
Cons: - Not all of the lights (baskets or teesigns) were in working condition.
- I know it not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
- Tee pads were either short or dirt, but for me this didn't really matter since the wholes were short enough that I really wasn't doing any kind of run up.
Other Thoughts: - Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This is a great beginer, warm up, or cool down course. It's a fast round, great for family or younger players... or perhaps a skins round.
- Only need one disc if you have a good alround disc for this course. I shot under par with a Innova Roc in 32 minutes the morning before I left.
- This being the easier of the 3 courses you can get a little more challenge from the Canyon Course or even try the Pro rated Meadow Ridge course for even more challange.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Imaginative and Fun

1    3/23/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: dgjordan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will have you trekking up and down the hillside. There is great usage of the natural terrain including a cross-pond shot and several 15' up/down elevation shots. There are plenty of fun pins to shoot for at all levels and abilities. It also works as a great warm-up game if you are going to tackle either of the other two courses.
Cons: I don't have any complaints. It is definitely the best pitch'n'putt I have ever played.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great date course if you bring someone who has never played before.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Pitch 'n' Putt in Oregon

1    8/9/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs that show not only basket location and footage, but major obstacles such as larger trees, even gives you a suggested line to take.

Great teepads that are all mostly concrete and are large and grippy.

Nice and creative homemade baskets that feature solar powered lights for rounds of glow golf.

Every single hole is ace-able, ALL OF EM! Even though some are kinda cheap aces there's some really satisfying ones as well.

Varying and challenging basket location where you will throw every shot in your arsenal.

Cons: It's a pitch and putt course you shouldn't be throwing anything but a putter and your favorite midrange, Which is a con for some...

Lots of stinging nettles in the overgrowth. So be careful where you step / reach.

While convenient the row of port of potties on hole 6 REEK! We played on a hot and windy day and could smell them pretty much all over the course.

Although the homemade baskets are very creative, expect to miss some frustrating putts as the chains aren't very forgiving and the baskets love to spit out discs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play, had so much fun and not only is it challenging but I believe playing here frequently can actually make you better!

I like this course so much I'd much rather play it over the Canyon Course which I just found repetitive and long.

This is probably the perfect course to introduce people to the sport at and the nearby amenities provided by the "Hideout" make it easy to spend all day here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/28/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Ace runs!
-has 2 other 18 hole courses in same place!
-nice homemade baskets!
-Great placements
-Well maintained
-Helping out old lady that runs it
-NIGHT GOLF!!!!
Cons: -Can lose discs...but has a bucket upfront to put them it...
Other Thoughts: It costs $3 and the lady that runs it paid for all the stuff and can't affored to be cheated I suggest you tip her to be nice...

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best short course I've ever played

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very strategic use of a small area
Beautiful setting--very serene, picturesque landscape - scores of peacocks strutting around, deer -- old growth forest
Surprisingly close to Portland--about a 30 minute drive
Very friendly hosts, they give very clear directions--they even give you a clean towel for your discs that you just leave when you're done
Tee pads are level, stable and more than adequate--plus they fit into the environmental theme of the resort
Numerous and very clean porta-potties
Good use of elevation changes
Very good signage, with not only distance but elevation changes noted
Great design for such a short course
Very easy to follow course...numerous signs giving direction to the next tee
Homemade baskets are all consistent and solid--they grab even laser putts
Takes "pitch and putt" to a whole new level
Great for beginners
Awesome course to introduce people to the sport
Cons: For what it is, a definate pitch and putt, it has few cons...it doesn't try to be something it isn't
Other Thoughts: This was such an fun course...it would be worth driving to if it stood all by itself, but the GREAT thing is that Horning's 1 is right there :)
This course is a great way to warm up for the other course
To make this course more interesting, try chosing different shots you want to work on...like doing the whole thing forehand if that's not your normal throw.
A few holes in we thought, "let's go double digits below par" and set a goal of par two on every hole...talk about an energized round :)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.