North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Highland Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #11 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course a newer player can play

1    5/20/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I can't think of a more beautiful course that I have played

Great signage

Good transitions
Cons: None. No really I can't think of a bad thing to say about this course
Other Thoughts: You won't find a better pitch n' putt course than this. Beginners will find it challenging, but not too hard. The longest hole is only 245, with 170 being the average hole length. So you are never too far from the basket if you make a poor shot. This shorter distance would be good for older kids too.
Intermediate players will enjoy the shorter technical shots and have fun going after aces. It's probably going to be a lot of putter and mid shots for the int player and they still take skill to hit the lines but it's easy to play well under par out here.

Although there is a good amount of brush and underfoliage it is trimmed back far enough that you shouldn't have a hard time if you have an errant tee shot (I can only think of 1 hole that was pretty thick, I think it's hole 5 or 6, an uphill tight shot).

This is the perfect compliment to their other courses. I like to play this one first to warm up then head down to the others.

You are going to a course in a dense forest. The reason it is dense is they get a lot of rain. Waterproof shoes would be preferable.

Plan on spending all day out here, and if you are visiting the area Horning's Hideout should be your #1 destination, followed by Milo.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2 of 3

5+    8/16/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This a great course for all levels. For the Pro's they should try as an ace race or all holes a par 2. For the non-pro they can play it as a par 3. It is also playable by kids. They is the option to play night golf by lights on tee's and pins. these are all short holes with most under about 200 feet
Cons: There are not many cons with the short course. The one big one is in the winter when it gets wet it can get very muddy and very slick in some spots we have been trying to fix some of that with wood chips and stuff but it is an on going battle. Also in the spring time the nettles can get very very very bad in spots. They teach you to stay on course.
Other Thoughts: This a fun course that I tend to warm up on before i go play #1 course. It works well to be played as glow golf. I have done that twice and both times it was assume but man the trees sucks. you can't see a single tree in the dark.

This is course 2 of Three. This one is for kids or people that are just learning but pros can have fun too. At the house they have a lost disc collection point and they call and hold your disc till you come and get it from them.

Will be a tour Guild out there if you want one shoot me a pm.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hornings Hideout

2-4    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A really fun course to play. Lots of trees and a little bit of water. Not to hard to hike and flows well. Not to crowdedand plays fast. Good chances at some Aces.
Cons: They are still cleaning up the course and there is alot of down branches and the course can get real muddy.
Other Thoughts: I really nice place to play. I must for Disc Golfers. Its The next Best Northwest course around.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 great addition to to make 36!!!

2-4    1/14/2009   11/26/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely wonderful course!!! It starts out in a field makes its way up and down terrain wise. Hole #5 you drive off across a pond, after hole #7 then the fun begins!!! After Hole #14 you make your way back out onto the field again.

Advanced players should par every hole and there is plenty of ace and defiantly birdies opportunities. Hole maps/guides offer elevation and length info and direction to walk to next tee pad.

Short challenging holes w/ custom made baskets w/ huge #'s painted on them that work very well. Each tee pad and basket has a solar powered light allowing night time playability. The course flows very well.

Trash/recycle bins offered every 4 to 5 holes and one porta toilet is located after hole #14.

awesome gong sound that is totally different from any other basket... it catches discs extremely well!!!
Cons: Gravel tee boxes that can get muddy.

Hole map/guides are vague and not very informative navigation wise.

Lots of beer cans people were just leaving them around sometimes inside the baskets!!!

Can be slippery when wet

Some challenging holes for beginner players ( if you are one my advice would be play #5 safely or skip it as you drive over a pond)

The potential to loose discs is very high!!! (it may be a safe idea to use a friend as a spotter.)
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course that was not crowded when I went (3rd day being open). I drink but I was very disappointed in seeing all the beer cans. There were at least 1-3 on every hole some even laying inside the baskets. Take the time to dispose of your trash/recycle in the provided bins. In my opinion the course was only open for 3 days (11-26-08) and it felt as though it had been played for years w/ all the cans. Please do us all a favor and take care of this course. ( I spent time on every hole picking up these cans) Other than that a truly great addition and compliments the adjacent 18 hole course that has been built on the same land. I highly recommend playing this!!!

COURSE photos w/ yellow arrows were shot by Richard Dixon and edited and uploaded by me... contact me if you have any questions or suggestions.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.