North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Highland Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #6 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Best Pitch 'n' Putt in Oregon

1    8/9/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: himynameismatt
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs that show not only basket location and footage, but major obstacles such as larger trees, even gives you a suggested line to take.

Great teepads that are all mostly concrete and are large and grippy.

Nice and creative homemade baskets that feature solar powered lights for rounds of glow golf.

Every single hole is ace-able, ALL OF EM! Even though some are kinda cheap aces there's some really satisfying ones as well.

Varying and challenging basket location where you will throw every shot in your arsenal.

Cons: It's a pitch and putt course you shouldn't be throwing anything but a putter and your favorite midrange, Which is a con for some...

Lots of stinging nettles in the overgrowth. So be careful where you step / reach.

While convenient the row of port of potties on hole 6 REEK! We played on a hot and windy day and could smell them pretty much all over the course.

Although the homemade baskets are very creative, expect to miss some frustrating putts as the chains aren't very forgiving and the baskets love to spit out discs.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play, had so much fun and not only is it challenging but I believe playing here frequently can actually make you better!

I like this course so much I'd much rather play it over the Canyon Course which I just found repetitive and long.

This is probably the perfect course to introduce people to the sport at and the nearby amenities provided by the "Hideout" make it easy to spend all day here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun as a warm up or cool down from the other courses

1    1/16/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Homemade baskets are in great shape and are constantly being repaired and made better.
- Course has an excellent flow, not once did I have to look around for the next tee.
- Holes are short, but some can definitely be difficult.
- Having to throw over a pond is pretty cool.
Cons:
- The homemade baskets don't catch as well as professional baskets.
- Holes are all really short
- The peacocks that live there can be really annoying.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, along with the other courses on the property. Yes, the holes aren't very long, but it is a fun course to play after playing the other courses or to play before hand to warm up. I would definitely recommend this course over the others for beginners.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Start it off right

1    10/24/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Surprisingly fun hole designs.
*Good use of elevation.
*Easy course navigation.
*Quick (I did 18 in under an hour)
*Every hole is an ace possibility.


Update**** 3/15/10.... They have new signs, just like the other two courses made by Houck (sp?) Design. They're really sharp looking, and very accurate.
Cons: *Some tee's are very close to other pins, this is fine if the players behind are courteous and cautious, if not, keep an eye to the sky....
Other Thoughts: What a great, fun way to warm up for the big courses. The neat thing, even though it is kinda just a warm up course, the design is good enough that the round is fun in-and-of-itself.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    6/28/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Ace runs!
-has 2 other 18 hole courses in same place!
-nice homemade baskets!
-Great placements
-Well maintained
-Helping out old lady that runs it
-NIGHT GOLF!!!!
Cons: -Can lose discs...but has a bucket upfront to put them it...
Other Thoughts: It costs $3 and the lady that runs it paid for all the stuff and can't affored to be cheated I suggest you tip her to be nice...

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best short course ever made

5+    4/4/2010   8/16/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Highland course plays up and down on the upper portion of the Hideout. All of the holes are very short with the majority of them being under 200 feet but this course is supposed to be this way because of the other two (one for now but two soon) courses that are built for advanced and pro players so the Hideout has a course for everyone! This course has elevation shots both up and down including a tunnel shot straight down hill about 125 feet and off to the right. There is a water hazard on hole five as you have to throw across the side of a small pond and if you can throw more than 80-100 feet then you are in the clear. In the upper wooded section the course changes from the mostly open earlier part of the course to a more rugged and technial part. Hole eighteen is a short but very fun straight down hill throw that is very easy to bogey if you go long. For a short beginner friendly course I was impressed with the couple of risk vs. reward shots the course has to offer.
Cons: The course is a pitch and putt and the biggest disc you will grab for will be a midrange and most of the time you will use your putter but this course is supposed to be this way and the course is really fun despite the length or lack there of.
Other Thoughts: The Highland was an absolute blast and I would for sure play it again. There are sun powered LED lights built into the top of the baskets here for some fun ace race style night golfing. The work that is done to keep this place so beautiful on a daily basis is amazing to me, I love Horning's Hideout, did I mention onsite camping and fishing?

*****UPDATE*****

I played night golf on the Highland course last night and had a blast! The tee pads and baskets have solar charged L.E.D.'s on the top of them so finding your way around in the dark is easy, though not all of them get charged properly because they don't get enough sun, if you take your flashlight and shine it over the op of them they charge long enough to finish out the hole. I think it's more fun playing this course at night to be honest and it's a blast during the day!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ACE Run Pitch And Putt!

1    8/4/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second of the HH courses, it sits mostly in a lovely forrest enviroment. The first three holes are mostly open, then you play through wooded pinicicking/camping areas with some wonderful elevation changes to contend with. The Highlands course has the same homemade baskets as the Canyon course. I rate them the best homemade baskets I've ever thrown at. And these even have solar LED lights in small cages on top of the baskets for night golf. Many of the teepad signs also have the solar lights for helping you find the tees at night. Although the average hole is perhaps 175 ft., they are very well planned out and IMO, will provide an enjoyable discing experience for all levels of player. Every hole is an ACE op waiting to happen. The tee signs not only give the distance but also the elevation loss or gain. There are a couple of really fun downhill, touch shots like # 18 which is 207 ft. slight anhyser shot with about a 25 ft. elevation drop. The deer and the peacocks add to the ambiance of HH.
Cons: It's a pitch and putt for sure. Natural teepads seem to work well here and fit into the enviromental scheme of the entire complex.
Other Thoughts: Combined with the more middle of the road Canyon course, this makes for a nice disc golf experience. When the third pro-style course is complete this fall, this will make for a truly awesome disc golf destination. With three courses at one destination with three distinct skill levels, what more can you ask for?

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun addition to the original course, allows for a nice putting and approach warm-up to the other course.
Great use of available space to create a very interesting layout.
Great tee signs that direct you around the course.
Capability for great glow golf.
Lots of elevation forces you to try putter shots that might be new to you.
Great for all skill levels from beginner up.
Beautiful natural scenery all around.
Cons: Both Horning's courses have home-made baskets that spit out some good putts.
Very short, and not particularly challenging.
45 minutes from Portland.
Gravel tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was a great addition to the Horning's property, having 36 holes makes it more of a destination for folks on the east side of Portland, this is a very fun, warm-up/ego boost course, birdies are easy, but it trains good up-shots on longer courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best short course I've ever played

1    6/10/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very strategic use of a small area
Beautiful setting--very serene, picturesque landscape - scores of peacocks strutting around, deer -- old growth forest
Surprisingly close to Portland--about a 30 minute drive
Very friendly hosts, they give very clear directions--they even give you a clean towel for your discs that you just leave when you're done
Tee pads are level, stable and more than adequate--plus they fit into the environmental theme of the resort
Numerous and very clean porta-potties
Good use of elevation changes
Very good signage, with not only distance but elevation changes noted
Great design for such a short course
Very easy to follow course...numerous signs giving direction to the next tee
Homemade baskets are all consistent and solid--they grab even laser putts
Takes "pitch and putt" to a whole new level
Great for beginners
Awesome course to introduce people to the sport
Cons: For what it is, a definate pitch and putt, it has few cons...it doesn't try to be something it isn't
Other Thoughts: This was such an fun course...it would be worth driving to if it stood all by itself, but the GREAT thing is that Horning's 1 is right there :)
This course is a great way to warm up for the other course
To make this course more interesting, try chosing different shots you want to work on...like doing the whole thing forehand if that's not your normal throw.
A few holes in we thought, "let's go double digits below par" and set a goal of par two on every hole...talk about an energized round :)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/14/2009   2/14/2009
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Excellent usage of elevation
-Best home-made baskets I've ever putted on
-Great variety of shots including left and right dog-legs
-All holes are short, but the basket placement is very good with moderate sheltering.
-Very good course for skilled players who don't have a lot of distance
-Fantastic place to practice long somewhat technical upshots (here, they are teeshots :) )
-Wonderful chance to practice new throwing techniques; thumbers, grenades, side-arms, etc
-Port-a-Potty available about halfway through the course.
-Trash/Recycling bins available every 4 or 5 holes to empty bag contents
-Great course to bring new players to, or family members, or co-workers
-Great warm-up for the other course
-Well defined fairways, some about the size of hiking paths
-About 500 feet away from HH#1, which is a full size course.
Cons:
-Gravel teepads (not a real big deal on a course with an everage hole length of 170')
-Both courses are at least 15-20 minutes away from the nearest store. If you're going to play both courses, it's a really good idea to get some snacks for between rounds, and a bottle of water.
-Um...I would say it's too short, but with the other course a disc's throw away, the shortness of the holes doesn't bother me at all.
Other Thoughts:
When I heard how short this course was going to be I pretty much lost all expectation of enjoying it. Then it was put in and I kept hearing my friends rave about how much fun it was, some of them being very, very experienced golfers. My interest was piqued. And besides that, my girlfriend is a very experienced player who doesn't have much distance (tops at about 280') so I figured it be a good course for the two of us to play together.

What a blast! I was totally surprised at how much fun this course is. The first few holes start out in the open, but with a lot of elevation, and you slowly work your way into the woods. Every hole is an ace run for experienced golfers, but very few of the holes were boring, due to great basket placement and use of elevation/terrain. One hole is about 180' and pretty much straight off a cliff to the basket 60' of elevation below you.

Like I stated earlier, the average hole length is only 170', with the longest hole at about 240'. Normally this would be a red flag for me to avoid the course, but it's just designed so well, and after you play 18 holes on this course, there is the original course, which is a full size course, just a few feet away!

I shot 13 under par my first round, my girlfriend shot 3 under par, and we both had a blast with it!

I guess this course would fall into the "Don't knock it 'til you try it" vein.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 2 of 3

5+    8/16/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This a great course for all levels. For the Pro's they should try as an ace race or all holes a par 2. For the non-pro they can play it as a par 3. It is also playable by kids. They is the option to play night golf by lights on tee's and pins. these are all short holes with most under about 200 feet
Cons: There are not many cons with the short course. The one big one is in the winter when it gets wet it can get very muddy and very slick in some spots we have been trying to fix some of that with wood chips and stuff but it is an on going battle. Also in the spring time the nettles can get very very very bad in spots. They teach you to stay on course.
Other Thoughts: This a fun course that I tend to warm up on before i go play #1 course. It works well to be played as glow golf. I have done that twice and both times it was assume but man the trees sucks. you can't see a single tree in the dark.

This is course 2 of Three. This one is for kids or people that are just learning but pros can have fun too. At the house they have a lost disc collection point and they call and hold your disc till you come and get it from them.

Will be a tour Guild out there if you want one shoot me a pm.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.